We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sumner Hotel

4.0 of 5 54 Upper Berkeley St. | Marble Arch, London W1H 7QR, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
#64 of 1,054 Hotels in London
1,129 Reviews 4.5 of 5 stars
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Sumner Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Sumner Hotel
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    747
    321
    41
    15
    5
See reviews for
204
595
80
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed at The Sumner Hotel last week and was very happy with everything. The hotel is very well located in a safe neighborhood, not too large, quiet and the staff especially sweet and willing to help with everything we needed. Our room was spacious and very nice. Thanks so much for us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review - “A Good Choice”. We are so pleased to know that you had a great time with us.We truly appreciate your positive feedback and we are grateful for your lovely thoughts about our team work, facilities & services. We certainly hope to welcome you at The Sumner on your next trip... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

having to travel for a minimum of four months a year, picking a decent and reasonably priced accommodation that is in a convenient location isn't as easy as it sound, unless budget isn't a constraint. Sumner has been pleasant surprise and yes i will return…..

Was this review helpful? Yes
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Teong, Thanks for your comments posted on Trip Advisor. I am truly delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay here with us & the location, price, services & facilities of our hotel perfectly suited your requirements. We always try our best to maintain the high standards. It's our main priority & responsibility to make your stay pleasant... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Sumner Hotel exceeded our expectations in terms of comfort, location and price. We stayed for 10 days in August/September 2014. The room was at the rear of the hotel and very quiet. We were able to open the window up wide each day which gave us some fresh air and kept the room from getting too stuffy. The bathroom... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for posting your feedback on the TripAdvisor - “Great hotel in great location”. We always try our best to provide you the best customer service & make you feel comfortable through out stay. Glad to know that you liked our Breakfast. You were absolutely right - Seymore Leisure Centre is the one on Seymore place where... More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We recently stayed 6 nights in room 100 on the lower ground floor of this fabulous boutique hotel. It was a larger room than expected for London with double glazed windows which kept the room quiet at night as it was next to the street and very close to pedestrians walking by. It had an extra large tv which was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for posting your review as- "Location Plus". I am really pleased to know that my team were able to provide you with our excellent services & facilities throughout your stay. We always make sure that we do our best to improve the quality of services & maintain the high standards at The... More

New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have been to London numerous times, and always like to stay in the area near Marble Arch. I have never stayed at the same hotel again. The Sumner is a true find and treasure. It is in a residential part of Central London, 2 blocks from Marble Arch, a 5 minute walk to the shops and restaurants in Marylebone,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Janice, Thank you for your kind review on TripAdvisor -“A Jewel in the Crown in the Heart of London”. I am so pleased to read thru your detailed feedback. I & my team, all of us felt really proud to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. As we do the best selection of breakfast here &... More

Philadelphia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Sumner Hotel is a very good, albeit pricey choice for London. Very clean, room was a very good size (especially for London), bed was comfortable, location excellent. Buffet breakfast was good. Only criticism is that the morning coffee was undrinkable all three days we were there. Bitter and sour.

Was this review helpful? Yes
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the lovely feedback on trip advisor, your review is noted and appreciated. We are really pleased to hear that you liked our services & facilities at The Sumner. And of course our central location perfectly suited your requirements. It was a great pleasure to have you here at The Sumner. We'll look forward to welcome... More

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A good location near Edgeware restaurants and others on the neighborhood. Short walk to Marble Arch underground and buses. Staff always available and helpful. Coffee and tea brought up to room -- a treat. Breakfast is well presented, with eggs, meat, beans and standard stuff. Quibbles? Breakfast is served in a windowless basement room that could not be called pleasant.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the lovely feedback, your review is noted and appreciated. We are really pleased to hear that you had a Fabulous stay in London at The Sumner. Everyday we serve continental & full English breakfast with a huge selection & different variety of breads, cheese fresh fruits etc. And of course our location is the best... More

New Delhi, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed a very pleasant stay at the Sumner for 5 nights in June. Its an excellent hotel - very comfortable and welcoming. The staff go out of their way to make you feel at home. Our room was clean and comfortable with efficient wifi. Breakfast was good, with a nice variety of cold cuts and fresh... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comment posted on Trip Advisor as A lovely surprise in the heart of London. I am truly delighted to hear that our freshly cooked breakfast has perfectly suited your requirements & you have enjoyed your stay here with us. We are really glad to know that we were able to provide you with our... More

Durham England
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We booked this hotel because we were meeting some friends from California and it had been recommended by their travel agent. The hotel isnt cheap but it is overpriced for what you get. Although the location is great and the staff are very friendly and helpful the quality of the accommodation is what disappoints. It is looking tired and in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review here on TripAdvisor. Well I am really sorry to hear that we could not meet your expectations at this time. But I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in future so that we can get a chance to show you our high level of service & to fulfill... More

Whitehaven, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

We had a pleasant stay at this hotel. The staff are very helpful and friendly! The hotel room was rather small and the on suite was tiny with no bath. The window was jammed open during our three night stay so glad it was summer! The dining room was small and breakfast choice was limited. I would consider it more... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Amanda, Many Thanks for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor. I am truly delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you had during your stay with the jammed windows. Sometimes its really difficult for us to fix those kind of major issues due to unavailability of the parts... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Sumner Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Sumner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sumner Hotel

Address: 54 Upper Berkeley St. | Marble Arch, London W1H 7QR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sumner Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Sumner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumner Hotel London
The Sumner Hotel London, England

362 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (183)
Viewed
Room/suite (74)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (45)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (136)
Viewed
Amenities (11)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)
Viewed
King Executive Room (32)
Viewed
Queen Standard Room (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (38)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in London with
any amenities