We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Melrose House

Hotel website
89 Lennard Road, London SE20 7LY, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Melrose House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Melrose House
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    32
    11
    6
    4
See reviews for
22
35
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (100)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (37)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 2 nights with my husband, daughter and mum. Initial contact with Frances v helpful as we would be arriving late she left the key available and excellent directions to our room. Room was v clean and spacious, however disappointed that only 3 beds were made up. Had no bed linen so just threw a duvet over to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a family-run b&b ,very charming ,very "english"!Beautiful rooms,clean and spacious with complimentary tea and biscuits.Breakfast cooked to order,delicious!!Fast wi-fi,attentive staff. The area is very quiet,not much to do around,there are a few pubs and restaustants but in about 15 minutes walking distance.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Esperia, Italy
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

We are a group of friends who came to London from Italy in October! This B & B was recommended by a friend English, had a great time at this B & B. Both as cleaning, breakfast (abundant), comfortable rooms! Comfortable position to reach the center of London! Recommended! If we return to London, we will return to this B... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

B and B in beautiful surroundings managed outstanding well by the owner Frances Roberts with assistance from her family. Good transport links to central London. Especially recommended are the garden rooms leading on to the beautiful, restful and calming garden with its water features. Thoroughly deserving of its four star status.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Osseo, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
39 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

This was our first trip to London, so Francis and her adult children were the first innkeepers that we experienced. The three of them were very cordial and helpful to us during our stay! Our room, #11, was clean and bright. However, during our visit the weather was very warm, and our room was HOT as it did not have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I stayed at Melrose House for two nights each week from December 2013 to the end of June 2014, whilst working in Beckenham. I stayed in the majority of the rooms over the 7 months I worked in London and found them all to be very comfortable, they are well colour coordinated with good quality bed linen. The rooms are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Stratford, Canada
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

So to say I will never recommend this place is the very truth. The second we got there, France made us feel unwelcome and like we were a burden on her. We got to our room which was very small and I got yelled at my Frances for dragging my suitcase up the flight of stairs and down even though... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
melrosehouse, Owner at Melrose House, responded to this review

At Melrose House we do not accept verbal or physical abuse from our guests, and the use of prohibited substances, alcohol abuse, smoking and destruction of our property is not permitted. More 

Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I really recommend this B&B! The English breakfast is very good. We stayed in the 3 person room (with 3), nice beds, clean, and a good shower. What else do you need after 10hrs shopping? The B&B is 5 min. from the train station and about 35 min from Oxford street.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We had a good stay at Melrose House recently. As a house rather than a purpose built hotel the whole is full of character. Friendly and helpful family members make the stay a pleasurable experience. The room we stayed in was clean and bright with all we could want. Information including maps was provided. The only tip if in room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Used to be in the serviced accommodation business and know that Customer Care should be paramount. Amazingly sullen service here (apart from Wendy who met us on arrival in a hall filled with dirty washing though). Breakfast service is obviously not a pleasure! Saw 2 rooms in the garden annexe. Plus point they open to the garden. Negative points: TV... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
melrosehouse, Owner at Melrose House, responded to this review

Whilst we accept and even welcome criticism, and act upon rational and well thought out points made, we cannot accept fabrication of the truth. The notice in the room referring to the large leather sofa is requesting that guests do not put their luggage on it because they might damage the sofa, it says nothing about people use only. There... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question