We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 521 London B&Bs / inns

Melrose House

4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   89 Lennard Road, London SE20 7LY, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Melrose House to your Saves list
Melrose House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
78%
Ranked #158 of 521 London B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Wendy P North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (85)
  • Photos (46)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (11)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    22
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
18
30
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at Melrose House for two nights each week from December 2013 to the end of June 2014, whilst working in Beckenham. I stayed in the majority of the rooms over the 7 months I worked in London and found them all to be very comfortable, they are well colour coordinated with good quality bed linen. The rooms are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stratford, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

So to say I will never recommend this place is the very truth. The second we got there, France made us feel unwelcome and like we were a burden on her. We got to our room which was very small and I got yelled at my Frances for dragging my suitcase up the flight of stairs and down even though... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
melrosehouse, Owner at Melrose House, responded to this review

At Melrose House we do not accept verbal or physical abuse from our guests, and the use of prohibited substances, alcohol abuse, smoking and destruction of our property is not permitted. More

Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I really recommend this B&B! The English breakfast is very good. We stayed in the 3 person room (with 3), nice beds, clean, and a good shower. What else do you need after 10hrs shopping? The B&B is 5 min. from the train station and about 35 min from Oxford street.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We had a good stay at Melrose House recently. As a house rather than a purpose built hotel the whole is full of character. Friendly and helpful family members make the stay a pleasurable experience. The room we stayed in was clean and bright with all we could want. Information including maps was provided. The only tip if in room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Used to be in the serviced accommodation business and know that Customer Care should be paramount. Amazingly sullen service here (apart from Wendy who met us on arrival in a hall filled with dirty washing though). Breakfast service is obviously not a pleasure! Saw 2 rooms in the garden annexe. Plus point they open to the garden. Negative points: TV... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
melrosehouse, Owner at Melrose House, responded to this review

Whilst we accept and even welcome criticism, and act upon rational and well thought out points made, we cannot accept fabrication of the truth. The notice in the room referring to the large leather sofa is requesting that guests do not put their luggage on it because they might damage the sofa, it says nothing about people use only. There... More

Libertyville, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed in the new room 6 (the former dining room). Very clean, comfortable, and most importantly quiet room looking through the conservatory. The bed was comfortable. Breakfasts were cooked to order and were huge and delicious - we weren't hungry until dinner. I was worried about the commute into central London based on some of the other reviews, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I've tried to book here in the past [at short notice] and was unlucky because there were no available rooms. This year I spent several days here whilst visiting family in London and was impressed by the warmth and helpfulness of the owners; the great range of breakfast menu with something for every taste; clean comfortable room and facilities and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gliwice, Poland
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
37 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

we got a twin room close to the breakfast room & overlooking a charming garden. The room was OK - 2 comfortable beds with clean linen. The bathroom was a slight disappointment as it was very small with a shower that had no curtain/door, hence everything was immediately wet. But the room was clean. There is also a very small... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Many thanks to Frances and staff for all your help and hospitality. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and will recommend to anyone looking for clean, affordable, charming, relaxing, comfortable and close to London accommodation. The rooms are so beautiful, the surroundings peaceful and the breakfast delightful. Very close to bus routes and train stations. I wish I could have stayed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Delta Junction, Alaska
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I've read some of the negative reviews and really think that people expect too much out of this lovely B&B. It is not a 5 star hotel after all. My teenaged daughter and myself stayed at this charming home for 3 nights and loved it! We coincided with an Italian group of medical people who made it all the more... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Melrose House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Melrose House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melrose House

Address: 89 Lennard Road, London SE20 7LY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melrose House 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Melrose House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melrose House Hotel London
Melrose House London, England

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Victorian house in quiet area of South London, within easy reach of the centre by train (15 minutes), and a short walk to the station. A pleasant area to return to after the noise of the city centre. All rooms are decorated to a high standard and have ensuite or private bathrooms, and a full english breakfast is included in the price. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
8

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer