We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 513 London B&Bs / inns

Melrose House

89 Lennard Road, London SE20 7LY, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Melrose House to your Saves list
Melrose House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
80%
Ranked #139 of 513 London B&B and Inns
A recent review
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    22
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
18
30
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I really recommend this B&B! The English breakfast is very good. We stayed in the 3 person room (with 3), nice beds, clean, and a good shower. What else do you need after 10hrs shopping? The B&B is 5 min. from the train station and about 35 min from Oxford street.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We had a good stay at Melrose House recently. As a house rather than a purpose built hotel the whole is full of character. Friendly and helpful family members make the stay a pleasurable experience. The room we stayed in was clean and bright with all we could want. Information including maps was provided. The only tip if in room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Used to be in the serviced accommodation business and know that Customer Care should be paramount. Amazingly sullen service here (apart from Wendy who met us on arrival in a hall filled with dirty washing though). Breakfast service is obviously not a pleasure! Saw 2 rooms in the garden annexe. Plus point they open to the garden. Negative points: TV... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
melrosehouse, Owner at Melrose House, responded to this review

Whilst we accept and even welcome criticism, and act upon rational and well thought out points made, we cannot accept fabrication of the truth. The notice in the room referring to the large leather sofa is requesting that guests do not put their luggage on it because they might damage the sofa, it says nothing about people use only. There... More

Libertyville, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed in the new room 6 (the former dining room). Very clean, comfortable, and most importantly quiet room looking through the conservatory. The bed was comfortable. Breakfasts were cooked to order and were huge and delicious - we weren't hungry until dinner. I was worried about the commute into central London based on some of the other reviews, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I've tried to book here in the past [at short notice] and was unlucky because there were no available rooms. This year I spent several days here whilst visiting family in London and was impressed by the warmth and helpfulness of the owners; the great range of breakfast menu with something for every taste; clean comfortable room and facilities and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gliwice, Poland
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

we got a twin room close to the breakfast room & overlooking a charming garden. The room was OK - 2 comfortable beds with clean linen. The bathroom was a slight disappointment as it was very small with a shower that had no curtain/door, hence everything was immediately wet. But the room was clean. There is also a very small... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Many thanks to Frances and staff for all your help and hospitality. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and will recommend to anyone looking for clean, affordable, charming, relaxing, comfortable and close to London accommodation. The rooms are so beautiful, the surroundings peaceful and the breakfast delightful. Very close to bus routes and train stations. I wish I could have stayed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Delta Junction, Alaska
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I've read some of the negative reviews and really think that people expect too much out of this lovely B&B. It is not a 5 star hotel after all. My teenaged daughter and myself stayed at this charming home for 3 nights and loved it! We coincided with an Italian group of medical people who made it all the more... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Minnetonka, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My Sister, her husband and I spent a delightful 2 nights in this lovely Guest House. It was so comfortable and the breakfasts were the best I have had in a B & B - SO many choices and when having a cooked breakfast, it was cooked to perfection! The location was excellent, with access to the train just a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I am very sorry to say that I cannot recommend this B&B as it does not hold what it promises. Overall, we made more bad than good experiences. When we arrived, we were surprised how small the room was (room 9 in the Garden House) so that we did not have enough space for our luggage. This cannot be seen... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
melrosehouse, Owner at Melrose House, responded to this review

I am sorry we did not get rid of the spiders, however whilst they are rather creepy they do keep our garden free of undesirable insects that destroy our roses, and it is impossible to keep spiders and other insects out of ground floor rooms that open onto a garden! Please be assured our rooms are thoroughly cleaned every day.... More

Been to Melrose House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melrose House

Also Known As:
Melrose House Hotel
Melrose House Hotel London
Melrose House London, England
Address: 89 Lennard Road, London SE20 7LY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 513 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian house in quiet area of South London, within easy reach of the centre by train (15 minutes), and a short walk to the station. A pleasant area to return to after the noise of the city centre. All rooms are decorated to a high standard and have ensuite or private bathrooms, and a full english breakfast is included in the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Melrose House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melrose House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.