We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Melrose House

4.0 of 5 89 Lennard Road, London SE20 7LY, England
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Melrose House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Melrose House
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    28
    11
    6
    4
See reviews for
21
32
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (95)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (37)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014 via mobile

B and B in beautiful surroundings managed outstanding well by the owner Frances Roberts with assistance from her family. Good transport links to central London. Especially recommended are the garden rooms leading on to the beautiful, restful and calming garden with its water features. Thoroughly deserving of its four star status.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Osseo, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

This was our first trip to London, so Francis and her adult children were the first innkeepers that we experienced. The three of them were very cordial and helpful to us during our stay! Our room, #11, was clean and bright. However, during our visit the weather was very warm, and our room was HOT as it did not have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I stayed at Melrose House for two nights each week from December 2013 to the end of June 2014, whilst working in Beckenham. I stayed in the majority of the rooms over the 7 months I worked in London and found them all to be very comfortable, they are well colour coordinated with good quality bed linen. The rooms are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Stratford, Canada
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

So to say I will never recommend this place is the very truth. The second we got there, France made us feel unwelcome and like we were a burden on her. We got to our room which was very small and I got yelled at my Frances for dragging my suitcase up the flight of stairs and down even though... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
melrosehouse, Owner at Melrose House, responded to this review

At Melrose House we do not accept verbal or physical abuse from our guests, and the use of prohibited substances, alcohol abuse, smoking and destruction of our property is not permitted. More 

Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I really recommend this B&B! The English breakfast is very good. We stayed in the 3 person room (with 3), nice beds, clean, and a good shower. What else do you need after 10hrs shopping? The B&B is 5 min. from the train station and about 35 min from Oxford street.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We had a good stay at Melrose House recently. As a house rather than a purpose built hotel the whole is full of character. Friendly and helpful family members make the stay a pleasurable experience. The room we stayed in was clean and bright with all we could want. Information including maps was provided. The only tip if in room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Used to be in the serviced accommodation business and know that Customer Care should be paramount. Amazingly sullen service here (apart from Wendy who met us on arrival in a hall filled with dirty washing though). Breakfast service is obviously not a pleasure! Saw 2 rooms in the garden annexe. Plus point they open to the garden. Negative points: TV... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
melrosehouse, Owner at Melrose House, responded to this review

Whilst we accept and even welcome criticism, and act upon rational and well thought out points made, we cannot accept fabrication of the truth. The notice in the room referring to the large leather sofa is requesting that guests do not put their luggage on it because they might damage the sofa, it says nothing about people use only. There... More 

Libertyville, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed in the new room 6 (the former dining room). Very clean, comfortable, and most importantly quiet room looking through the conservatory. The bed was comfortable. Breakfasts were cooked to order and were huge and delicious - we weren't hungry until dinner. I was worried about the commute into central London based on some of the other reviews, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I've tried to book here in the past [at short notice] and was unlucky because there were no available rooms. This year I spent several days here whilst visiting family in London and was impressed by the warmth and helpfulness of the owners; the great range of breakfast menu with something for every taste; clean comfortable room and facilities and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gliwice, Poland
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
44 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

we got a twin room close to the breakfast room & overlooking a charming garden. The room was OK - 2 comfortable beds with clean linen. The bathroom was a slight disappointment as it was very small with a shower that had no curtain/door, hence everything was immediately wet. But the room was clean. There is also a very small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Melrose House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melrose House

Address: 89 Lennard Road, London SE20 7LY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melrose House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Melrose House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melrose House Hotel London
Melrose House London, England

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay