We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Smart Hyde Park View Hostel

16 Leinster Terrace, London W2 3EU, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Smart Hyde Park View Hostel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Smart Hyde Park View Hostel
Add Your Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    57
    48
    25
    28
See reviews for
10
33
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (171)
  • Mar-May only
    (41)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (51)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (36)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (43)
All months
There are newer reviews for Smart Hyde Park View Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

It was my first stay in a hostel and I was a bit vary, however, the staff were nice and friendly. Rooms were a bit short of space since my room had six beds and so it can get a bit cramped - the good part is that they allow you to choose your own bed. The bathrooms and sheets... More 

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caitlin W, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Hyde Park View Hostel, responded to this review

Hi and thank you for review. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. Our goal is to provide clean, comfortable, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. We offer an all-you-can-eat basic breakfast includes fresh toast, cereal and tea and coffee. We... More 

Rovereto, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

I stayed for two days in this hostel and it was a decent experience. I was in a room shared with six people so I couldn't sleep very well due to noise, from the street as well. Breakfast was included and although it was standard I could not complain. It is quite cheap and the location is very convenient: right... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caitlin W, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Hyde Park View Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for taking the time to provide valuable feedback. We have invested into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. We offer an all-you-can-eat basic breakfast includes fresh toast, cereal and tea and coffee. We... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I spent 2 nights here 5th August 2014, 2 adults and 4 children under 10. We hummed and hard whether to spend more cash on a nice hotel or less at a hostel. We were happy we went with the hostel, due to spending sleeping time there only. We had a 6 bed dorm with bunk beds, Kids thought it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Scott P, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Hyde Park View Hostel, responded to this review

Hello. Many thanks for staying with us and for providing your valuable feedback. We hope we will see you again! Ironically it is Health and Safety Regulations which require us to limit the opening of the windows. We really do hope we see you again! Cheers More 

Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I stayed here with 5 other friends and we were in the "6 person dorm room". CONS: It is a clean hostel but the shower wasn't working and we had to notify the hotel staff to get it fixed. Rooms are also VERY hot during the summer, especially when you're stuck in room where the window opens only by 5cm.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Scott P, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Hyde Park View Hostel, responded to this review

Hi. Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review. The recent heat in London has highlighted the need to address ventilation in the rooms. We're working on it. Of course you're always welcome when in London. Cheers. More 

Rome, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

i spent 2 nights here....my room was -2 floors, no windows,smelly, noisy....even if we was only on 4 in that room, it was really small. the door of the room without key or lock! i request also for a room to share with only girls but they assign me a mix room.....only the receptionist was really nice

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Caitlin W, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Hyde Park View Hostel, responded to this review

Hi. Thanks for the feedback. It's unfortunate you didn't enjoy your stay, our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. All of our room doors are fitted with an electronic lock system, if there are any problems during your stay we urge guests to visit the reception. In this instance, security is one of our top priorities... More 

Weert, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We travelled here in May 2014 with a group of 44 students. This hostel offers what most hostels offer: basic accomodation. We have travelled here before so we knew to tell them to bring their own towels. Breakfast is basic but there is little room to eat it; however, there are several small stores and a sandwich bar across from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott P, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Hyde Park View Hostel, responded to this review

Hi. Thanks for your review. We are constantly working on improving ourselves. Hopefully you will see this if we are lucky enough to have you back next year. Cheers. More 

Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Good location, near to underground and hyde park, good atmosphere, the staff isn't so nice, but they are ok. Simply breakfast, but good enough for the price. Shower was hot and bathroom clean. The only thing was he bedroom was too hot, because there was just one window and the bed was blocking it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott P, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Hyde Park View Hostel, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for your review. This summer the temperature's have us working hard to try and improve the comfort of our fabulous guests. Cheers again. More 

Jervis Bay, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Great location and place to base yourself in London. Easy access to multiple underground stations. Quiet venue also being back a few streets from the main street. Good value for money. During our stay, stayed in both the Hotel and Hostel sides of the hotel. Both were clean and secure. Would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Marta K, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Hyde Park View Hostel, responded to this review

Hi! Thank you very much for this positive review! More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

i stayed here for three nights in a six person mixed dorm. i was the only man with five young women in my room, whats not to like about that? i think i was the happiest man in london. the location is good near to kensington and hyde park, tube stations are five minutes away although they were on strike... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Marta K, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Hyde Park View Hostel, responded to this review

Hi! Thanks for your positive review and appreciating our great locations:) We really enjoy our job so it's great to hear that you had a good time with us! Hope to see you back sometime soon! More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Never stay here guys, our room didn't have any of the things that were stated. Staff were rude & couldn't be bothered to help us! Even spoke in their own language whilst dealing with our complaint when they could speak clear English! Nothing more rude than that!!! Eugh. Vile, unclean, unsafe & generally a crap "hotel" I'd rather sleep In... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marta K, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Hyde Park View Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. First of all I would like to say that we are a hostel not a hotel and it is a bit unfair to expect hotel facilities. About your comments: in all our windows there are safety barriers no matter the floor the room is situated in and our lift works perfectly. Though we are really... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question