We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 609 London accommodations

Smart Hyde Park View Hostel

16 Leinster Terrace, London W2 3EU, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Smart Hyde Park View Hostel to your Saves list
Smart Hyde Park View Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
44%
Ranked #269 of 609 Specialty lodging in London
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014
Walch W Lyon, France
  • Reviews (136)
  • Photos (29)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (14)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    46
    31
    23
    27
See reviews for
6
28
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Smart Hyde Park View Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Dundalk, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed in the hotel part of the hostel and booked a double ensuite for 3 nights. There was dust falling from the bathroom fan. We had breakfast included but we had breakfast only once in the hostel, since we had a very bad experience on the first day. If a hotel offers its guests a breakfast, they should also... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marta K, Manager at Smart Hyde Park View Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your room wasn't as expected. We take guests feedback so seriously to improve our services. Our housekeeping/ cleaning staff start as early as 06:30 and finish at 15.30. beside of our hourly check, we rely on guests to report any cleaning issues where we will get it resolved... More

Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

On arrival I was told of the deposit, the fact that there were no provided towels, and that we would be in a basement. This as all a little annoying as I had a frustrating time finding the place as the signage is rather minimal. Once giving in the linen deposit, dealing with the fact that I didn't have a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marta K, Manager at Smart Hyde Park View Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for review. We are sorry to hear that your stay with us wasn't as good as expected. We try to offer cheap accommodation for low budget travellers at very good location, the prices we offer do not include lockers charges and towels as most of our customers do not need to use them therefore they do not end... More

Lyon, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Althoug it was the fisrst time for me to book in a hostel, I felt really safe and fine. I enjoyed the little curtains in the dormatory so that each room mate could have his own privacy. I guess the earlier you go for breakfast, the more you get but it was ok still.

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marta K, Manager at Smart Hyde Park View Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for review. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to see you soon. Now you can check our latest news, offers and photos on Facebook. More

Dover, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

This place was extremely cheap over New Years and my room (private twin room with ensuite) was very clean and cosy. The staff were always happy to help, and free breakfast was included. Highly recommend staying here!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I stayed in one of the 9-bed rooms. I have read about the reviews before I went so I expected the worst, but it was OOOKKK, There is not much space but I guess it was good enough. Just don't expect 5 star, 4 star or even 2 or 3 star hotels. You get a bed and about 20cm of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marta K, Manager at Smart Hyde Park View Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We always take our guests feedback very seriously. We are sorry we run out of the free city maps and the pillowcases, sometimes situations like that are unavoidable but we do our best for them not to happen. Majority of our guests don't expect a hotel when we are a hostel and all our dorms... More

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Booked in for one night with some friends as we were going to a gig. Good central location but that's really all that's going for it. Got there and hit with a £10 deposit each for bed sheets, so £40 down before we even started out weekend. Yes we got it back but that's not really the point if you're... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marta K, Manager at Smart Hyde Park View Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay fully but our organizational solutions are there for a reason: the windows on the ground floor don't open fully for better security of guests belongings, the security deposit is there for a key card and sheets and we mention it on all our booking platforms and we... More

Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

The location of this hotel is very central ( as a hostel ) and is easily accesible both by the tube and by the bus (Closest Tube Queensway or Lancaster Gate). It is very basic with no riches as is expected of a hostel. The bathroom doesn't have any bath mats, and it's 5 pounds to rent a towel, so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We visited this hotel for 3 nights. The location is excellent, accessible easily by foot from Bayswater and Paddington station. The rooms are tiny, however they are clean and reasonable value for money. If you want to see London and only need a bed an a light breakfast then this is for you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
UK
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed in one of the private double rooms just for one night while passing through London. The location was excellent (an easy walk to Paddington Station, Hyde Park and the Victoria and Albert Museum). The staff were friendly and checked us in quickly. The room was nicely and newly decorated and very clean, neat and tidy. The bathroom was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Smart Hyde Park View Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Smart Hyde Park View Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Hyde Park View Hostel

Address: 16 Leinster Terrace, London W2 3EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Otel, Priceline, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Smart Hyde Park View Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smart Hyde Park View Hotel London
Smart Hyde Park View Hostel London, England

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Smart Backpackers! Be smart - stay Smart!Thank you for choosing the Hyde Park View! We aim to provide comfortable, stylish, convenient and affordable accommodation in Central London at a price that can't be beat.We reside in a partially-converted three-star hotel, featuring full en-suite bathrooms in every room. We are the only hostel in London to offer you this spectacular advantage! Our classic, listed building is set on a quiet residential street in the heart of London's bohemian Bayswater, one of London's most beautiful districts.Our private rooms, including doubles, twins, our family triple and quad suites, are three-star accredited and offer in-room colour-televisions with cable reception, direct-dial international phones, full linen services including daily bed making and towels, coffee and tea making facilities, free personal safes and complimentary soaps.There are security lockers in the rooms, available for €1.50 per day key rental.We are also regularly health and safety regulated by the local government, ensuring a comfortable stay for you!Our hostel features free breakfast, FREE WIFI, free linens and a free map! We have currency exchange and on-site self-service laundy facilities. Just ask at reception for pricing details. We also offer free tourist information and 24hr assistance.With a 24-hour guest-only bar that offers drinks specials, theme nights, a high-definition 42 inch plasma television with Sky satellite reception for the sport and movie nights, as well as happy hour from 4pm to midnight, you won't be bored at the Hyde Park View.If you prefer, there's also a spacious common room with comfortable sofas, a colour TV with Sky satellite reception and a book exchange to keep you busy.Our entertainment directors spend all day thinking of ways for you to enjoy yourselves; from movie and game nights to pub crawls, we're there to make sure you enjoy your stay.Of course, even with all of that you may be thinking about your lunch and dinner. Just down the road, we have two eateries that will set your mouth to watering and also keep your budget well sorted.Our Pizza Factory restaurant features more than just pizza. With a menu full of enticing Italian-influenced dishes, we will satisfy your appetite without depleting your funds. And if you plan to visit the attractions of London, save yourself time and money by purchasing your attraction tickets right at reception. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
40

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer