We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Smart Hyde Park View Hostel

16 Leinster Terrace, London W2 3EU, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Smart Hyde Park View Hostel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

197 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    18
    65
    55
    29
    30
See reviews for
13
36
40
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (197)
  • Mar-May only
    (49)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (68)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (37)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (43)
All months
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Thee beds aren't comfortable, the bathroom wasn't clean. The rooms were too small even when compared to budget hostels in poorer countries, I wouldn't recommend staying in this hostel for more than one night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Recently stayed here for one night in a private double room with an en-suite. The room was lovely, even had tea making facilities and a TV, which I wasn't expecting. Also had complimentary toiletries and towels provided. The location is great, close to the tube station and just up the road from Hyde Park. Reception staff were very helpful and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Essen, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Located right next to Hyde park in an upmarket area and very close to 2 tube stations. Noisy street with bars and takeaways so bring earplugs for sleeping. The staff at reception and the bar and in the dining room are always friendly, ready to assist and diplomatic specially the receptionists. I stayed in a 6 bed female dorm which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Smart Hostels L, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Hyde Park View Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, We're very glad that you had a good stay with us, and that our services were up to your standards. We apologies about the noise level, please note there are free ear plugs at reception for all our guests to take. Best regards, Smart Hostels Team More 

Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Best Hostel in London so far, nice staff, loved the private lockers in the room, good breakfest and with a nice greek restaurant the other side of the road with awsome breakfeast as well. Great localization in central London

Was this review helpful? Yes
Smart Hostels L, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Hyde Park View Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for the awesome review, we take pride in the service that we provide our customers. We hope to see you stay with us again soon. Best regards, Smart Hostels Team More 

A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in one of the 6 bed dorms. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the lobby area and the common room had good seating which was nice after a long day of walking because you are basically unable to spend time in the dorm rooms as they are so small and very hot. Only one plug socket in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Smart Hostels L, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Hyde Park View Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will let the staff know your compliment and are happy the training they receive is paying off. Sorry about the plug issue, we are introducing new beds with build in socket in each one, this is being delayed slightly. The towels at reception are sold for £% each,... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

One of the nicest hostels I have stayed in in Europe. I really enjoyed it. There are some really friendly staff, nice rooms. It's basic like a hostel should be so you shouldn't expect the Ritz. The beds are a bit small when you are used to a king size but there are cool little privacy curtains on the bunks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Smart Hostels L, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Hyde Park View Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you soo much for the amazing review that you have left for us, and we are very proud of the service we provide our valued guests. We hope to see you again really soon. Best regards, Smart Hostels Team More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hello, I recently stayed for one night at the hostel, in a six-berth room (#307), and I would say that my overall experience was a positive one. Considering such positives as low price, good location, and so on, I really think that this place couldn't be beaten. That's not to say that this place is perfect, though, but then again,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Smart Hostels L, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Hyde Park View Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for the review and we're happy you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to see you again soon. we're very proud of everything positive that you pointed out in the review. We appreciate not everything is perfect, we will take everything you said negative on board and do our best to fix this. We are in... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I slept there for 5 nghts. I got the bed on the top, so the third . it was a little scary the first night but the other 4 days i slept verry well. Everything was clean and the staff was really friendly. Maybe the bed are a little bit short but no problem. Everything great

Was this review helpful? Yes
Smart Hostels L, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Hyde Park View Hostel, responded to this review

Hey, Thank you for the review. We are pleased that you were happy with our staffs customer service, and the cleanliness of our hostel. These are two things we take very serious and are proud they are to a high standard. We would like to see you again soon! Best regards, Smart Hostels Team More 

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2015

My sister and I stayed here for two nights. It's a really great hostel! We stayed in the private ensuite twin room. Very clean, we had towels and linens provided. Very small, but we spent almost no time in our room (aside from sleeping) so it didn't bother us! Only one small downsides, we were in London on apparently the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Smart Hostels L, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Hyde Park View Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to see you again soon. Unfortunately the heatwave that hit London was unexpected, but rest assured we doing our best to be ready in case another one comes our way. Have a great summer :D ! Best Regards Smart Hostels Team More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015

No air conditioner. Not enough space. And pay extra 3% if you pay by credit card. Don't believe any photos! Anyway, i'm suffering 34 degree without air conditioner. Hopefully i can find a good thing of this hostel. Good luck all the people who are gonna stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Smart Hostels L, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Hyde Park View Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, We're very sorry that you had this experience with us. Last week London was hit by a huge heatwave, the biggest heatwave since 2006 and it was one of the key reasons why some rooms were too warm. However, we have purchased some fans and placed them in our rooms and are looking to purchase a lot more for... More 

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
Viking Hotel
#614 of 1,054 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 408 reviews
Kensington West Hotel
#722 of 1,054 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 324 reviews
The Continental Hotel
#18 of 24 in Hounslow
3.0 of 5 stars 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
#64 of 698 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,072 reviews
Clerkenwell
Clink78 Hostel
Clink78 Hostel
#191 of 698 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay