We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 615 London accommodations

Smart Hyde Park View Hostel

16 Leinster Terrace, London W2 3EU, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Smart Hyde Park View Hostel to your Saves list
Smart Hyde Park View Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
44%
Ranked #275 of 615 Specialty lodging in London
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014
MeikeW217 Weert, The Netherlands
  • Overview
  • Reviews (137)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Photos (29)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (14)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    46
    32
    23
    27
See reviews for
6
28
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

i spent 2 nights here....my room was -2 floors, no windows,smelly, noisy....even if we was only on 4 in that room, it was really small. the door of the room without key or lock! i request also for a room to share with only girls but they assign me a mix room.....only the receptionist was really nice

Was this review helpful? Yes
Weert, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We travelled here in May 2014 with a group of 44 students. This hostel offers what most hostels offer: basic accomodation. We have travelled here before so we knew to tell them to bring their own towels. Breakfast is basic but there is little room to eat it; however, there are several small stores and a sandwich bar across from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott P, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Hyde Park View Hostel, responded to this review

Hi. Thanks for your review. We are constantly working on improving ourselves. Hopefully you will see this if we are lucky enough to have you back next year. Cheers. More

Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Good location, near to underground and hyde park, good atmosphere, the staff isn't so nice, but they are ok. Simply breakfast, but good enough for the price. Shower was hot and bathroom clean. The only thing was he bedroom was too hot, because there was just one window and the bed was blocking it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott P, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Hyde Park View Hostel, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for your review. This summer the temperature's have us working hard to try and improve the comfort of our fabulous guests. Cheers again. More

Jervis Bay, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Great location and place to base yourself in London. Easy access to multiple underground stations. Quiet venue also being back a few streets from the main street. Good value for money. During our stay, stayed in both the Hotel and Hostel sides of the hotel. Both were clean and secure. Would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Marta K, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Hyde Park View Hostel, responded to this review

Hi! Thank you very much for this positive review! More

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

i stayed here for three nights in a six person mixed dorm. i was the only man with five young women in my room, whats not to like about that? i think i was the happiest man in london. the location is good near to kensington and hyde park, tube stations are five minutes away although they were on strike... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Marta K, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Hyde Park View Hostel, responded to this review

Hi! Thanks for your positive review and appreciating our great locations:) We really enjoy our job so it's great to hear that you had a good time with us! Hope to see you back sometime soon! More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Never stay here guys, our room didn't have any of the things that were stated. Staff were rude & couldn't be bothered to help us! Even spoke in their own language whilst dealing with our complaint when they could speak clear English! Nothing more rude than that!!! Eugh. Vile, unclean, unsafe & generally a crap "hotel" I'd rather sleep In... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marta K, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Hyde Park View Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. First of all I would like to say that we are a hostel not a hotel and it is a bit unfair to expect hotel facilities. About your comments: in all our windows there are safety barriers no matter the floor the room is situated in and our lift works perfectly. Though we are really... More

Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

The six beds dorm is a small room, size of a single, with a locked window and the bunk beds are composed by three vertical beds each. I am glad I am not claustrophobic otherwise I could have died there. The bathroom in 4 days has never been cleaned and neither has been the room. The only bin was in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marta K, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Hyde Park View Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for review. We try to offer cheap accommodation for low budget travellers at very good location, the prices we offer do not include lockers charges and towels as most of our customers do not need to use them therefore they do not end up paying for things they do not need. We also offer free simple continental breakfast... More

Braga, Portugal
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

The picture of the room are very different from what the reality is. The breakfast is only bread and butter?! We were a group of 5. The toilet was not working properly. If it is a backpack hotel, than this info should be in the website.

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marta K, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Hyde Park View Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that your stay with us wasn't as good as expected. We love what we do and we try to do it the best we can. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. We offer a cheap and competitive accommodation at... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

This is a hostel meant for one kind of people and one kind of people only, those who have come to get drunk. The owner must know this because there is a deposit on your sheets of ten pounds, the sheets which you have to put on yourself. Guess why? The PC's in the main area are not easy access... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marta K, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Hyde Park View Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there! We are sorry to hear that your stay with us wasn't as good as expected. We love what we do and we try to do it the best we can we have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. We offer a cheap and competitive accommodation at very good location. If... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Smart Hyde Park View Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bar/Lounge, Hos...
Show More
Paddington / Maida Vale
Equity Point London Hotel
Equity Point London Hotel
#201 of 615 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 305 reviews
Lodge, Kitchene...
Show More
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#82 of 615 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Hostel, Lodge...
Show More
Camden / Primrose Hill
Palmers Lodge
Palmers Lodge
#59 of 615 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hostel, Lodge...
Show More
Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea
Free internet...
Show More
London Bridge
Safestay at Elephant & Castle
Bar/Lounge, Fre...
Show More
Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
The Walrus Hostel
The Walrus Hostel
#31 of 615 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart Hyde Park View Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Hyde Park View Hostel

Address: 16 Leinster Terrace, London W2 3EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Otel, Priceline, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Smart Hyde Park View Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smart Hyde Park View Hotel London
Smart Hyde Park View Hostel London, England

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Smart Backpackers! Be smart - stay Smart!Thank you for choosing the Hyde Park View! We aim to provide comfortable, stylish, convenient and affordable accommodation in Central London at a price that can't be beat.We reside in a partially-converted three-star hotel, featuring full en-suite bathrooms in every room. We are the only hostel in London to offer you this spectacular advantage! Our classic, listed building is set on a quiet residential street in the heart of London's bohemian Bayswater, one of London's most beautiful districts.Our private rooms, including doubles, twins, our family triple and quad suites, are three-star accredited and offer in-room colour-televisions with cable reception, direct-dial international phones, full linen services including daily bed making and towels, coffee and tea making facilities, free personal safes and complimentary soaps.There are security lockers in the rooms, available for €1.50 per day key rental.We are also regularly health and safety regulated by the local government, ensuring a comfortable stay for you!Our hostel features free breakfast, FREE WIFI, free linens and a free map! We have currency exchange and on-site self-service laundy facilities. Just ask at reception for pricing details. We also offer free tourist information and 24hr assistance.With a 24-hour guest-only bar that offers drinks specials, theme nights, a high-definition 42 inch plasma television with Sky satellite reception for the sport and movie nights, as well as happy hour from 4pm to midnight, you won't be bored at the Hyde Park View.If you prefer, there's also a spacious common room with comfortable sofas, a colour TV with Sky satellite reception and a book exchange to keep you busy.Our entertainment directors spend all day thinking of ways for you to enjoy yourselves; from movie and game nights to pub crawls, we're there to make sure you enjoy your stay.Of course, even with all of that you may be thinking about your lunch and dinner. Just down the road, we have two eateries that will set your mouth to watering and also keep your budget well sorted.Our Pizza Factory restaurant features more than just pizza. With a menu full of enticing Italian-influenced dishes, we will satisfy your appetite without depleting your funds. And if you plan to visit the attractions of London, save yourself time and money by purchasing your attraction tickets right at reception. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
40

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer