We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Travelodge London Central Aldgate East

6 - 13 Chamber Street, London E1 8BL, England
Hotel amenities
Travelodge London Central Aldgate East
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #637 of 1,052 Hotels in London
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
andycK1708JZ London
Add Photo Write a Review

154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    46
    37
    31
    13
    27
See reviews for
41
37
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (154)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (72)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (30)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Need to renew the hotel room tables, they are bit worn, ideal for the ride100 event, above all excellent location , we were even allow to leave our bags, in order to get to the excel,and on the event,

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel is close to a tube station and only about a 15 minute walk to Liverpool Street itself, great for getting round London.The rooms were clean and tidy, but you might like to take your own hairdryer as they are not in the room you have to go to reception to borrow one. It is next to a train... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

After reading some of the reviews about this Travelodge,i wasn't too enthusiastic about staying there.However having stayed there i would have no hesitation staying there again.For the price it cannot be faulted.Staff were very helpful,the rooms were very good,breakfast was more than adequate and the location was excellent for the tube.Yes it was down a side street but it wasn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Staying at the Travelodge Aldgate East may not be the most luxurious event but value for money, convenience and privacy are more important. It was slap bang in the City, perfect if you just want somewhere safe, clean and comfortable to lay your head if you intend to be out and about in London. Excellent for tourists and travelling Brits... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Dont believe any 5 star ratings for this hotel it really is bad.Tucked away in a back street under railway arches this hotel is one of the worst I've stayed in.Massive noise from a busy railway from 5am to midnight and scorching stifling rooms are the biggest problems. No air con these days is a definite no no for London... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stay in Travelodges all the time. This was the worst. The train line is so close that the room shook from 5am onwards. Staff were as helpful as they could be in finding an alternative room for second night but when website says "some external noise", it would be more accurate to claim "offers authentic earthquake experience". For a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Positives: Very clean Friendly staff (especially Stacey on Reception) Good breakfast Negatives: Mirror on wall over dressing table is hung far too high and I had to stand to put on my make up and style my hair, (not good when you have arthritis in lower spine. No noise in hotel whilst sleeping but plenty of noise outside from revellers... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having used Travelodges many times, I was particularly disappointed with my stay here. The cleaning staff are apparently unaware that the bathroom floor had corners - they were filthy (I have photos to support this) and the toilet seat had unpleasant yellow stains. The Receptionist who checked me in just after 3pm (their check-in opening time) was extremely unhelpful when... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TravelodgeUK, Niki from the Social Media Team at Travelodge London Central Aldgate East, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We’re truly sorry to learn that your room was not cleaned to a high level of cleanliness as we pride ourselves in delivering this exceptionally well to every customer every day. It’s really important to us that our staff provide a fantastic service to our customers so we are sorry to learn that you feel... More 

Great Yarmouth
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Id been here before and knew how noisy it was so rang the main no. to ask for a room on the other side to the trains but didn't get it.Also no aircon so had to open the window. Got 4 hours sleep.Awful.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
TravelodgeUK, Amy from the Social Media team at Travelodge London Central Aldgate East, responded to this review

Many thanks for submitting your review. We understand that your overall experience was not exceptional and we do apologise for this. We’ll be sure to pass your valuable feedback directly to our colleagues in our hotel as this is the best way for us to improve the service we offer. If you wish to contact us directly to give us... More 

Taunton, United Kingdom
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

No functioning air con. Room unbearably hot and badly ventilated despite normal ambient temperature. Was unable to sleep most of the night. Opening window not a practical option due to traffic and railway noise. No bedside lights, if you like to read in bed go elsewhere. Towels for one despite booking was for two. No phone so unable to contact... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TravelodgeUK, Amy from the Social Media team at Travelodge London Central Aldgate East, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our London Aldgate East Hotel. We are sorry to hear that external noise and the temperature of your room has affected the comfort of your stay. Where possible, our room are provided with fans and we are taking measures to ensure our rooms are cooler. In any case we would like to apologise if... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Travelodge London Tower Bridge
Whitechapel
Premier Inn London City - Tower Hill
Whitechapel
Premier Inn London City (Aldgate)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Whitechapel
Ibis Budget London Whitechapel Hotel
City of London
Travelodge London Liverpool Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Whitechapel

Neighborhood Profile
Whitechapel
Whether you're here for its dynamic street life, world class galleries or famed curry houses, you're bound to be wowed by the uniquely cosmopolitan flavor of Whitechapel. Long gone are the days when Jack the Ripper stalked its streets. And despite his mysterious legacy bringing throngs of curiosity driven tour groups to its back alleys and otherwise serene garden squares, these days you're more likely to catch a cutting edge fashionista scurrying through its age old lanes than criminals of any sort.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay