We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 616 London accommodations

Generator Hostel London

3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   37 Tavistock Place | Russell Square, London WC1H 9SE, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book a bed from £21
Save Saved
You added Generator Hostel London to your Saves list
Generator Hostel London
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
77%
Ranked #61 of 616 Specialty lodging in London
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
BesudesuAbroad Hong Kong, China
  • Overview
  • Reviews (243)
  • Photos (105)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (27)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

243 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    106
    39
    13
    6
See reviews for
12
16
58
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We booked a private room and were pleasantly surprised. The room was pretty basic with bunk beds, but it was spacious and clean. Upon our arrival we the room was ready so we were allowed to check in early-- this was great as we didn't want to pay to lock up our bags, and the first time I've ever been... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed in July 2011 in a triple private room. The beds were average, and the room was tiny. The communal showers were below average (no where to hang up your toiletries kit in the shower so it ends up getting soaked). Main pluses of the hostel was that I felt safe leaving my belongings in the private room and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great location, very fresh and incredible decor. BUT, with five security guards making you show your keycard (sometimes ID) it feels more like a prison, that would be ok but the security staff and the reception staff have been nothing but rude and unpleasant. We also orderd three identical cocktails from the bar at the same time and all ended... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Genlon, General Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hey rudimental1, Firstly can I thank you for taking some time to share your thoughts after your recent stay with us. I am saddened to hear that you felt the security measures we have in place are restrictive. As I am sure you can understand, with over 800+ guests at any given time, the security and comfort of not only... More

St-Bruno
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I wanted to show my children the experience in a hostel and found the decor to be very cool. Also, the hostel is very well located, halfway between King's Cross and Russell station. Our room (6 dorm) was large enough for our 3 night stay. Room was clean, as well as showers, that are too small to change though. Generator... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Genlon, General Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hello MartinRL2014, Many thanks for your comments after your recent stay with us. I can appreciate that at this time of year the weather can get a little frustrating and I can only apologise for the inconvenience you have faced during your stay. This is not the kind of service we aim to achieve and I hope you were able... More

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The decor of the hostel is very appealing...there is a great common area with bar and restaurant. The rooms were clean and bright, but tiny! Ive stayed in a hostel tent that was bigger than the room I stayed in! To top it off no air conditioning in the middle of summer means a stuffy and uncomfortable sleep. The bathrooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Genlon, General Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hello Andi P, Thank you for your comments after your recent trip, I’m disappointed to hear you had some concerns during your stay. As the summer months approach it can get quite warm in London. With that in mind we do have a selection of fans available for our guests and I apologise if you were not offered one during... More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Only the decoration is good, other things suck, the male bathroom do not have hot water so I took a extremely cold shower, then, when I checked in, the reception staff told me I can lent a fan cause there is no air conditioning system, and when I came down at night for fan, the only thing the staff could... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Genlon, General Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I’m very disappointed to hear that you felt we had not met your expectations when you stayed with us. I hope you were offered the option to speak with one of our Managers on Duty who are available 24/7 for the comfort of all our guests. They would hopefully have been able to resolve your concerns and offer... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Generator Hostel in London was in prime location, very modern, I wouldn't say family friendly but perfect for friends traveling together or solo travelers, younger individuals in their 20s. The common area on the main floor is very appealing, during our stay there was a Bachelorette party happening there and it seemed like the perfect setting for the occasion.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Genlon, General Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hello Melissa W, Thank you so much for taking the time to get in touch after your recent stay, it’s great to hear from you. It sounds like overall you had a great stay, enjoying our design – led social spaces and also experienced our friendly Team, thank you for your mentioning this. I also noted your comments regarding the... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great little Hostel which isn't far from the Underground and centre of London. Comfy bed, but rooms a little on the small side and no plugs near the beds. Overall all though, a great stay and would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Genlon, General Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hey Jamie TV, Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay at Generator London. I have passed on your comments to our wonderful Team here and I really hope we will be seeing you again soon for your next trip to our Great City. Please keep spreading the Generator word. Thanks again Lenny Hughes – GM Generator London More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Loved the stay here, great atmosphere. Everything was more than expected from the clean rooms to the awesome bar!! The staff were not only friendly but told us great advice, helping us out as much as possible! Would recommend as many people to come here for their stay! P.s the security was A+++

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Genlon, General Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hey Amy B, Wow, what a fantastic review! Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your Generator experience. I will pass on your great feedback to the Team and they will be thrilled! Please keep spreading the word and we really cant wait to see you at Generator London again soon. Best Wishes Lenny Hughes... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Friendly staff and security, modern and funky hostel! After 11pm you cant be Noisy or setcurity will give you a littlet hush, but works out well if you are an early riser! Besides, the bar is open until 2am so party goers can party without issue!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Genlon, General Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hello Caitlyn B, Thank you so much for touching base after your recent visit to London! It’s always great to hear about our guests experiences after their stays and particularly rewarding for us to hear that we are meeting expectations. We would love to see you back soon and please keep spreading the #genlove Best Wishes Lenny Hughes – GM... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Generator Hostel London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Generator Hostel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Generator Hostel London

Address: 37 Tavistock Place | Russell Square, London WC1H 9SE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Generator Hostel London 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, HostelBookers, Agoda, Expedia, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Generator Hostel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel London Hotel London
Generator Hostel London England

105 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
1:40
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
1:40
Videos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (6)
Viewed
Other (5)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (51)
Viewed
The Hotel (31)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Generator London was the very first Generator and you’ll find it in the area of Russell Square in the heart of the West End. It’s the ideal spot to enjoy London from, everything you need to see is minutes away by tube. You’ll never run out of things to do in the UK’s capital. You just have to decide where to start and we can help you with that. When you have seen and done it all for the day head back to Generator and unwind. It’s a destination in its own right and a great place to socialise and reflect on your experiences of the day. Head to the bar and chill out areas to get yourself a well deserved drink or two. It’s lively, friendly and un-missable. We’ve also got great beds for sleepy heads and of course you’ll be enjoying London life in the most authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private rooms with innovative mod cons. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay visit the travel shop and our city experts will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. You’ll have to stay longer to fit it all in but you’ll not need convincing of that. We’ll see you there soon. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
214

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer