We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Generator Hostel London

Hotel website
Hotel deals
37 Tavistock Place | Russell Square, London WC1H 9SE, England
Special Price
20% off room rate
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Generator Hostel London
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Generator Hostel London
Add Photo Write a Review

886 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    279
    397
    138
    37
    35
See reviews for
48
80
222
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (886)
  • Mar-May only
    (302)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (222)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (152)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (210)
All months
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed at the Generator for two nights in February. The main reason for choosing that hostel was its convenient location, a five minute walk to Russell Square tube station, from where you can go straight for most sights and Heathrow airport. There's a huge Wairose supermarket close by as well as lots of small cafes and restaurants. The hostel looks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Genlon, Guest Relations Executive at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hello AlSnow, Thank you for your lovely review after your recent stay with us here in London, We appreciate feedback from all of our guests and I will definitely be sharing yours with the whole team here, who will be delighted. We hope to be able to welcome you back to Generator London again soon and thanks again for choosing... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Exceptionally large hostel, lots of people coming and going. Be aware that the basement level rooms have a lack of ventilation and thus lead us to sleep with the main door open, which for security conscious people could be an issue - however the hostel has such excellent perimeter security there was no concern for unauthorised people to enter during... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Genlon, Guest Relations Executive at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hi OB893, Thanks for getting in touch after your recent stay at Generator London. I was delighted to read your feedback and glad to hear that you had enjoyed your time with us here at Generator. All of our showers on every floor have curtains, so I'm a little confused as to why you found none in the basement. I... More 

Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Definitely aimed at the younger crowd, but just fine for us older folks too. Tight quarters but you're provided with a nice lockers and a place to stow your luggage if you arrive before check in. Beware the one small, slow elevator that's generally used by the staff. Be prepared to climb the stairs! Breakfast is passable and filling. Definitely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Genlon, Guest Relations Executive at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hey Travel61OR, Thanks so much for your wonderful review after your recent stay with us. It's great to hear from you and to understand you enjoyed your time with us. I will pass along your fantastic feedback to Lubo our Bar Manager, I know he will be delighted to hear this. We hope you come back and see us again... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hostel is quite hard to find at first but is quietly tucked away in the streets of London. Location was good, train stations nearby and walking distance to town. Staff were very helpful and friendly and door staff provided a good sense of security. The room was quite small, our room consisted of two single beds which were pretty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Genlon, Guest Relations Executive at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hi miss_nat09, Thanks so much for taking some time to share your Generator Experience with us after your recent stay here in London. It's great to hear that the team here made you feel welcome and comfortable while you were with us and I will pass along your lovely comments to the team here. My apologies if you faced and... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Second time I've stayed here now and I've not been disappointed on either occasion. Admittedly the first time we booked, it was a last minute thing as we were in London to watch Premiership Darts at Alexandra Palace. We were pleasantly surprised, Lovely Staff, Very clean and the rooms were real good as were the beds. The place was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Genlon, Guest Relations Executive at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hey Verno_10, It's great to hear from you after your second stay with us here at Generator London! We aim to create memorable stays for all of our guests and it's wonderful to hear that we been able to do this for you on both occasions. I will share your lovely feedback with the whole team here who will be... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hostel was a bit hard to find at first, but worth the search when I got there. The bed was really comfortable and the staff was super helpful with anything I needed. The lounge area downstairs was really nice and made it easy to meet new people. Great location and close to most of the attractions in London! I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Genlon, Guest Relations Executive at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hey Tayler H, Wow! Thanks so much for your amazing review. It's so great to hear from you and to know that the team here have created such a memorable stay for you. We would love to see you back again soon and in the meantime please keep spreading the #GenLove :-) Best Wishes, Nathan Roberts, Guest Relations - Generator... More 

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I liked staying there. Very well located, clean and with some facilities that most hostels don't. The only thing I didn't like is that the bunk beds aren't equipped with plugs and lights like in generator dublin.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Genlon, Guest Relations Executive at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hey Erica R, Thanks for getting in touch with us after your recent stay. I was delighted to hear that we had met your expectations during your trip and we really appreciate your feedback and comments. We hope to be able to welcome you back to Generator London again in the near future. Best Wishes, Nathan Roberts, Guest relations -... More 

Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've stayed in several Generator and this was the worst, The bathrooms were just NOT clean, also my bed sheets were dirty "eww". There was just one bathroom for the entire floor. staff was nice tho. Also It was very Hot in the rooms no AC

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Genlon, Guest Relations Executive at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hi Tania M, Firstly can I thank you for taking some time to share your Generator London experience with us. I was pleased to hear that the team made you feel welcome during your stay with us. I was sorry to read that perhaps we had not quite met your expectations on this occasion in some areas and I would... More 

Heidelberg
Level Contributor
47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having visited already three other Generator Hostels I was sure I picked the right location to stay in London. But due to quite noisy nights, it did not turn out that way- the entrance during day and night differs, so all people where passing my room during night. Additionally I was not as happy with the bathroom as taking a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Genlon, Guest Relations Executive at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hi StudentenkussHD, Thanks so much for taking some time to share your Generator experience with us after your stay here in London after staying in some of our sister properties around Europe. Your feedback and comments really matter to us as they will help us to offer the best possible service we can for all of our guests. I was... More 

Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Common areas show better than the usual 'factory' hostel: A great effort to create an original, inventive interior. They have an incorporated pub, guest DJs and karaoke nights, billiards, a real playable vertical piano, a little screen with cinema twice a day as well as two more relaxed, chill-out spaces. I felt the place was perfect for a buddies' group... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Genlon, Guest Relations Executive at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hello seasonedvoyager2015, It's lovely to hear from you after your stay and great to hear your wonderful comments about the property and the Team. Here at Generator London we strive to create comfortable and memorable stays for all of our guests, so reading your feedback is an absolute pleasure and I will be sharing it with the whole Team here.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

276 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (141)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Family/play areas (10)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
1:40
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (46)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (110)
Viewed
Quad Non-Ensuite (12)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (20)
Viewed
Six Bed Ensuite (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (31)
Viewed
Twin Ensuite (14)
Viewed
Twin Non-Ensuite (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighborhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay