We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
8 - 16 Montpelier Row | Blackheath Village, London SE3 0RW, England
The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #494 of 1,052 Hotels in London
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
edwig186220 Bristol, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

447 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    93
    196
    114
    29
    15
See reviews for
109
122
26
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (447)
  • Mar-May only
    (109)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (134)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (114)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (90)
All months
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very enjoyable stay. Our room was upgraded on arrival and we had a lovely view of the garden. Staff were exceptionally cheerful and helpful. Food in bar great and breakfast was very good also. Great location for visiting Greenwich village and even O2. We will be staying again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newry
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here for a big family occasion in July. A little old-fashioned but a period piece. Wi-fi absolutely useless and that REALLY is poor considering how much we depend upon it and how foreign travellers in particular need to avoid roaming charges. My main gripe is the get-out time. I have NEVER before been asked to vacate by ten-thirty am.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review

Dear Alfonsus Thank you for your review, I am sorry about the wi-fi, we have just changed over to a new supplier this week, with new stronger lines. With regards to check out, we do try to accommodate most requests, however when we are busy often on Fridays and Saturdays, we would find it difficult due to the amount of... More 

common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great location for the Royal Observatory, Cutty Shark, Naval Museum and Naval College. Good Room. But the staff could not be asked.......for anything. When I arrived there was no parking in the front. I was told I would need to park on the street. On the way to my room I saw a sign for rear parking, when I asked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review

Dear James L I am very sorry to read that we did not provide you with better service during your stay. With regards to parking, we do have the two car parks, and more local parking information is available on our website. I have also attached it below.Clarendon Hotel & Blackheath Village Parking Information Hotel Car Park The hotel has... More 

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

First time staying at this hotel while we were at a conference at the O2. We were very pleased with our room and the breakfasts were lovely. The staff were very helpful and it was great to have the bus right outside the front of the hotel to get to the o2 arena. Rooms were clean and spacious enough, they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review

Dear claire e Thank you for your email, I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Clarendon. many guest use us for the O2 arena as we are nearby, but set in a nice village. More 

Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Booked in for 2 nights to accompany NZ friends on their visit to London. Reception welcoming but told room (311) was "2 floors by lift and then some stairs". This was inaccurate, it took me ages to find the 2 flights of stairs that lead after 60 (yes 60!) paces to the furthest room in the hotel. Be warned if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review

Dear Yovillss Thank you for your review, I am sorry that you were on the 3rd floor, our lift only services the first 2 floors, and I will certainly review our signage. The front part of the hotel being a Georgian does have a few corridors, and I appreciate this can be lengthy and tiring when not using the lift.... More 

newport south wales
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in this hotel for a weekend away in London . lovely hotel , food good quality good and very well priced , had evening meal there , breakfast included in the price full English all you could eat . Staff very friendly and helpful .

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review

Dear Nigel M Thank you for taking the time to send in your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed the Clarendon , our food, lovely staff and this amazing secret part of London area. Thank you again. More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We travelled to London Kings Cross, caught underground to Charing Cross, then train to Balckheath station. Just a 5 minute walk took us to The Clarendon Hotel. Check in was from 2pm but we arrived at about 9am with the intention of dropping off our bags, but happily we were actually able to check into our room as it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review

Dear TraceyJM135 Thank you for your review and you continued custom. I am so pleased to read you enjoy your stay with us, the hotel has been busy refurbish our rooms we are well over half way now and moving fast. More 

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a twin room, this was at the back of the hotel, the room although clean was tired and dingy. We were very hot and the window only opened a little as it was sealed with paint The net curtain was or certainly looked dirty. The painwork around the windows internally was chipped and flaking. The bed was not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review

Dera Joe C Thank you for your review, I am sorry that your room was not fully working, I have just spoken to our Housekeeping department to establish which room it might be. If you could email me the details of your stay and allow me to look into this further. As you say we certainly cannot afford to be... More 

Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
249 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I, have passed this Hotel many times over the years, while visiting London. On our last trip we decided to stay over in the Greenwich, Blackheath area, booked on line, good price, for a Saturday night stay. We drove up earlier than expected, the Hotel staff said it was fine to park in the hotel till we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review

Dear Marty W, Thank you for your review, and thank you for deciding to stay with us. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The bar was designed by the founder Micheal O'Donnell who sadly passed away in May, he used to love sailing, and the charts in the bar are actually the ones he used to navigate.... More 

Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for one night and we were a little disappointed that the bottom sheet on the bed had what looked like oil on it and two of the towels in the bathroom were also stained. The room was not especially clean and the window did not shut; which was a little worrying as we were on the ground floor.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review

Dear Petra W I am so sorry about the sheet and towels, this certainly should not be the case. If you could email me your stay details, as I would like to follow this up. Ken@clarendonhotel.com More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

397 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (76)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (268)
Viewed
Crown Double Room (29)
Viewed
Crown Triple Room (33)
Viewed
Crown Triple Room - Alternate Style (28)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (27)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (30)
Viewed
Suite (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Greenwich
Devonport House
Devonport House
#374 of 1,052 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 842 reviews
Greenwich
Ibis London Greenwich
Ibis London Greenwich
#432 of 1,052 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 791 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#434 of 1,052 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Glenlyn Hotel
#199 of 1,052 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 430 reviews
Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich
#280 of 1,052 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,341 reviews
East End / East London
Mercure London Greenwich
Mercure London Greenwich
#224 of 1,052 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay