We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1,073 London hotels

The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 - 16 Montpelier Row | Blackheath Village, London SE3 0RW, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village to your Saves list
The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
61%
Ranked #554 of 1,073 hotels in London
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
sweedie uk
  • Overview
  • Reviews (302)
  • Photos (95)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (94)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

302 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    132
    79
    24
    14
See reviews for
74
73
17
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Excellent location only 3 minutes from the train station, just across the Heath from Greenwich . Very friendly staff, comfortable rooms -highly recommended. Compared to our normal hotels we stay in in london, it was excellent value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review

Dear Sweedie Thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased that the hotel ticked all the boxes for you. Situated in quaint Blackheath Village and just across the heath to Greenwich Park does make this part of London very special. I am also so pleased that you found us friendly. More

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is a good hotel, simple, but special. The hotel located in the lovely location with London classic atmosphere. There's the nice restaurants & pubs around that area. And also the restaurant in the hotel is very excellent, the price is reasonable, good foods & professional services.

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review

Dear Anapottachai Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and also the fantastic location we are set in. More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed at this hotel a few weeks ago with work. Staff are very funny and friendly.Just be aware it seems that the hotel has expanded over time, incorporating other hotels so the room numbers dont seem to be in order so its a bit of a maze trying to find your room. Rooms very tidy clean and modern-ish. Just be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review

Dear John R Thank you for your review, I liked your comments about having funny, friendly staff. One thing we do try to do here is keep service natural and let the staff character's come out, and yes we do have a few like Ivo our singing Italian waiter and many more. I am sorry about a baby crying and... More

Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Driven past this place so many times when I was younger. When it came up as a suggestion on a "booking" site and at such a reasonable price for my family of 3, I had no hesitation in booking. Upon arrival, I found that parking was limited so had to park off site. Once inside, the reception staff were so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review

Dear Hthebloke Thank you very much for your review, and thank you for visiting, I am sorry that people in the car park disturbed your morning, I will look into this and maybe put some signage up. More

Pembrokeshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I chose to stay here recently as I was taking part in a charity cycle from London to Paris and the hotel was situated right opposite the start line. Despite paying £109, I felt the room was very dated and the bathroom was small and in need of an upgrade. Many other people taking part struggled to get a good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review

Dear clairejo1984 Thank you for your review, I hope your ride went well and you raised lots of money. I did London to |Paris in June solo, it was great. The hotel is the starting point for many rides esp Paris. I am glad the breakfast set you up for the ride, sorry you did not sleep so well, it... More

Cheshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night to attend a family function. Arrived, knowingly, before the room would be ready so clocked in and left bags at reception. Disinterested was an understatement from the Basil Fawlty school of customer service. We went off to the do and returned at midnight where the night staff were totally different handed us our bags and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review

Dear HappyHombre thank you for your review, I am not sure what container were outside your room, we did have a new lift installed recently, where 1 was parked in the rear car park, but I am unaware of the other one. I am very sorry about your arrival customer service, I would certainly like to follow this up. Could... More

London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Service was ok by night staff much better in the morning. Room which was a single room was nearly 120 pound, so expensive. Room was very basic and very small. No water only from tap. Bar area was ok and quite reasonable for a hotel. I live in this area and used hotel for a last minute need. Never again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review

Dear ads Thank you for your review and your feed back. I am sorry the water was not working correctly, this problem will hopefully be solved by Friday 8th Aug, when a new boiler is commissioned. While installing the boiler, we have had a couple of issues. Once again I am sorry, maybe when passing you can ask for me... More

kent
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for one night only as we wanted to dine at a Restaurant in Blackhealth, and this was the only hotel. It looks great from the outside, but tired on the inside. The staff are welcoming when you arrive, but from there on it is disappointing. The rooms are clean, but dated, and no air conditioning - it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review

Dear Susielou36 Thank you for your review, I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of the hotel. Alas we do not have air conditioning, I can inform you of works taking place - this week a new accessible was installed, new sash Georgian windows, and by the end of this week a 2 year project replacing the boiler... More

Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed here in August 2014...and had literally nowhere to park. We opted for street parking, which will work as long as you don't plan on parking before 7 PM. They had maybe 20 spots for the whole hotel...and if valet had been an option, we would have gladly taken it. Basic service but lifts were out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review

Dear Scott S Thank you for your review. Sorry that you found parking difficult, excellent information can be found on our website, which shows all parking options as there are many. Below is the information.Clarendon Hotel & Blackheath Village Parking Information Hotel Car Park The hotel has a front and rear car park. The front car park has space for... More

East Sussex
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here having booked on booking.com. Room tiny, no air con and you can only open windows about 2 inches. Bathroom so small and shower rubbish. No lift and room was on 3rd floor. Breakfast ok but didn't get toast served to table. No marmalade or cornflakes. Will not stay here again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review

Dear Talon Queen Thank you for your review, I am sorry we had issues with our lift, this was only commissioned on Friday evening, a brand new lift. We have had the company back and it is all working now, but I am sorry that it was not working when you were here. My Head Chef also apologizes regarding the... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village

Address: 8 - 16 Montpelier Row | Blackheath Village, London SE3 0RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village London, England

95 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (39)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in London with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Clarendon Hotel has 180 bedrooms and overlooks Historic Blackheath. This area of London is very special with Greenwich Park the River Thames and many fine attractions to visit. Situated in Blackheath Village the Clarendon offers a village atmosphere close to the O2 Arena (10 mins), Central London and Excel in Docklands. All rooms are en-suite and facilities such as the Meridian Restaurant, Nautical Chart Bar ... more   less 
Number of rooms
176

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer