We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Columbus

141 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 2RX, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Columbus
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

222 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    51
    106
    31
    21
    13
See reviews for
84
49
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (222)
  • Mar-May only
    (69)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (69)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (52)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (32)
All months
Greece
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Me and my family had planned a 7day journey to London for mid August. What we didn’t planned is to get scammed by Columbus hotel. Just after our flight tickets reservation, the Central Bank of Greece imposed capital controls to all banks in Greece, as a result we couldn't use our credit/debit cards abroad or for internet usage. At the... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

From the moment we arrived, our experience of this hotel was better than just average. We had arrived on an early flight, so we were at the hotel way before check in time. This was not a problem. The receptionist gave us a map of the town, told us to leave our bags and come back later. On our return,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

So we had a triple, which really should have been a double. There was absolutely no room for us to move, let alone put our suitcases anywhere. We've been in tight rooms before but this was something out of a bad nightmare. Plus, it felt like this hotel was stuck in the 1970s, nothing was updated and everything seemed really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My room was nice and the location of the hotel is good. The service however is very annoying. Just to get the booking right, it took nearly ten e-mails with the hotel. On arrival I had as usual to fill in some forms. The next day I was asked to sign the same forms again. A pair of trouser were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is cozy, but has indeed need for improvements. The tiny bathroom had an intense smell of urine - despite daily cleaning (was it cleaned at all?). The Water tap were missing the air-filter, hence the Water splashed "all over", and there were no toilet brush. We lived in the Family room on 3rd floor, which is desperately missing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yenny S, General Manager at Hotel Columbus, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. Regarding... More 

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in one of their apartments for three nights. These are situated in an adjacent building from the hotel itself. The room at first glance looked great, but their were faults. The bedroom was furnished with mirror units, most were damaged. The dressing table had a huge crack on its top, the mirror was broken above it with shards... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yenny S, General Manager at Hotel Columbus, responded to this review

Dear Madame, Unfortunately you have made a mistake by posting your review in our property. The reason I know this review is not for us is because we do not have any apartments, we are a single building, bed and breakfast hotel. We do not have any mirrored furniture, neither granite in our bathrooms, nor chrome button flushes on the... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Arrived at hotel and while unpacking bags, noticed there was an unwanted guest in our room... A rat! After contacting the reception, the question was asked 'dead or alive'... while they seemed to be 'Shocked' to hear about this intruder, there was mousetraps under the beds (Not ideal when staying in a family room with a young child from a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Yenny S, General Manager at Hotel Columbus, responded to this review

Dear Sir, First of all I would like to apologise for the unfortunate incident we had in our hotel. I do understand it was not a pleasant welcoming, but unfortunately this can happen in big cities such London, taking into account that the buildings are old and some of the hotels around the area are under building construction. That same... More 

Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived late when the reception was unmanned and had to walk to another hotel over the street to get assistance. When we got the keycard, this did not work so we had to run over the street 3-4 times to the other hotel to solve this problem. The bathroom smelled bad and the room was very warm, without any... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yenny S, General Manager at Hotel Columbus, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. On behalf of all the team I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. I am very sorry the key card did not work on your arrival to the hotel, and you had to go back to our sister hotel across the road to solve the... More 

Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

We had a very nice weekend with our grandchild at the hotel. I had booked a familyroom with one double and two single beds. The room was good, clean,not too small with tv, wi-fi and tea tray. Good breakfast. Very good situated with buses and underground just around the corner. The staff was extremely nice and helpful However, there are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Yenny S, General Manager at Hotel Columbus, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We understand it was very hot in London during your stay, but unfortunately we do not have air conditioning or the possibility to install one as our property is a listed building. That is the same reason why we do not have a lift either. However we are... More 

Karmiel, Israel
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

Pleasent and clean, located 5 minutes from paddington station and 10 minutes from hyde park and Oxford street. Awesome staff, friendly and accomodating made a perfect stay. Highly recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yenny S, General Manager at Hotel Columbus, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review. On behalf of all the team I would like to thank you for your kind comments towards the hotel and its Staff. We look forward to welcoming you again to Hotel Columbus. Regards, Yenny Souto Lopez General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

77 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (67)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
The Darlington Hyde Park
#199 of 1,054 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,636 reviews
Tune Hotel - Paddington
#303 of 1,054 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,225 reviews
Rhodes Hotel
#332 of 1,054 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#476 of 1,054 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay