We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dover Castle Hostel & Flatshares

6A Great Dover Street, London SE1 4XW, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Dover Castle Hostel & Flatshares
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

194 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Langkawi, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2015

First time travel to London and choose to stay at Dover Hostel. This hostel is really easy to find once you get down from train station. The room was very basic, however i couldn't find any nearby plug or switch for electronic charging, it was far from bed, i feel a bit inconvenience. Other than that all were good...

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
1 Thank Charline K
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2015 via mobile

What can I say, good location, friendly staff, ok breakfast, cheap and safe Cons. sometimes you have to wait for showers/toilets As ANY hostel , always watch out for your stuff and always close the door Even if just over a 'noisy' pub, the rooms are totally quiet, so you won't be disturbed. Stay over at the dover

Helpful?
Thank Umberto B
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2015

I travel to EU in June. I stayed for one night and felt pleasant, great location, friendly staff speaking English, good neighborhood, reliable free wi-fi, relatively low price in London and with bar and restarant facility. I hope to go again.

Helpful?
Thank Paul Y
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2015 via mobile

Went to Dover Castle and took a jacket I'd bought from NYC to watch the football. I'd watched upsetting football result with friend working early doors driving trains. I'd met some lovely people and decided to stay. We all had a brilliant night and as a mention, Gary and the 2 girls behind the bar were very attentive and DC... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve B
Carina I, Manager at Dover Castle Hostel & Flatshares, responded to this review

Hi Steve I'm sorry to hear about the problems you had with the hostel staff and that the girl working that night was not more helpful in finding your jacket. I do apologise on her behalf and I hope that in the meantime you managed to get your jacket (and car keys) back. Hope to see you around in the... More 

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2015 via mobile

First impressions count and this place is awful. Not looked after. Reception is down a flight of stairs which is very unhelpful with a suitcase. No offer to help you on way back up either. Rooms are ok but beds need a bit of tlc. One shower per 4 bedrooms with 6+ sharing - ridiculous. Two toilets one of which... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Xlizzierose
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2015

I have been coming here for nearly 3 years now, and it never changes! Which is fantastic! The staff do not leave and decide to stay, which in itself says a lot about this place. People saying that this area is not safe and such, Well, there is good and bad everywhere. As an experienced backpacker having visited Serbia, Hungary,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Schenky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2015

The facilities here are awful! I would not recommend this hostel to anyone. Plus the staff are very rude and not helpful at all. Definitely dont book this hostel. Made my stay in London very miserable. also Southwark felt like an unsafe area to stay.

Helpful?
2 Thank Kayla F
Carina I, Manager at Dover Castle Hostel & Flatshares, responded to this review

Dear Kayla May I ask why you think our hostel is terrible? According to our booking system you cancelled your booking and you did not actually stay in the Dover Castle Hostel. If you're ever in the area again feel free to stay with us, so we can show you that this hostel actually is a fun place. All the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
St Christopher's Village London Bridge
Queen Elizabeth Chelsea
#165 of 721 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
The Walrus Hostel
#69 of 721 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
St. Christopher's Inn Hostel - London Bridge
Southwark
St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#91 of 721 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay