We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Smart Camden Inn Hostel

55 - 57 Bayham Street, London NW1 0AA, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Smart Camden Inn Hostel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Smart Camden Inn Hostel
Add Photo Write a Review

164 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    6
    30
    39
    36
    53
See reviews for
8
15
30
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (164)
  • Mar-May only
    (42)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (48)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I'm not sure about the others but our room (8 bed dorm) was so small that I think claustrophobic people might have some problems in there. I didn't feel very comfortable either. We also had a bathroom inside the room which was at the same time good and not really - pretty dirty. Breakfast was okay but in general I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Smart Hostels L, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, We apologies that you did not enjoy your experience with us thoroughly. Some of our rooms may seem a little over crowded, but we do offer a range of dormitories to suit different travelers. Also we are in the process of upgrading our rooms, it is taking longer than expected because of strict laws, however it's just a minor... More 

Bad Liebenzell, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hey guys. This was my 4th And my last stay in the Hostel. This Time our room was in the upper Floor. Sleeping was not possible because it was to hot in the Room. Next Time i will stay in a Hotel with air condition..

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Smart Hostels L, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Sorry to hear about your experience with us, we are trying our best to fix the problem. We have recently installed some fans in rooms and are working to place them into all the rooms. Unfortunately we were not fully equipped for such a heatwave, however trying our best to be. Best Regards, Smart Hostel Team More 

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Sure, the location is 'ideal'. But that is as far as it goes. We were (un)welcomed by a horrible male receptionist (you know who you are). One out of four of us could not stay an extra night but tried calling (which was not answered) and sent an email to cancel few days before we got here. We did not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Smart Hostels L, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, We're sorry about the experience that you had at our hostel. I can assure you that they did not receive an email to cancel the booking, the reception desk is open 24 hours and there is always somebody there to answer the calls. Our staff had to charge your friend, as our terms and conditions state that we need... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015

I felt completely uncomfortable in this hostel as myself and my friend seemed to be the only people staying in this hostel on holidays. Everybody else seemed to be living in the hostel and working. We were placed in a 14 bed attic dorm. It was so hot in there we found it difficult to sleep. We were two young... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Smart Hostels L, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, We appreciate your feedback, and rest assured that we will address the issues that you have just raised. Our employees are constantly getting trained with customer service, we're work to get more plugs in our rooms, but because of health and safety concerns there has been some delays. Regarding the hot rooms, this summer has been one of the... More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

Best thing I can say about this is that the location is spot on, and there is a cheap parking garage round the corner. As for the rooms, ive seen better cells. If you visit in the summer or any time the weather isn't below freezing then you'll most likely melt in the rooms as they reach about 5000 degrees... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Smart Hostels L, Public Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are saddened that there were aspect of your stay you did not enjoy. Our aim is to offer cheap clean accommodation, close to the centre of Camden Town. Your issues with the room temperature will be not be ignored and I am please to inform you that new measure to increase ventilation in our... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

I used to stay in hostels quite a lot when travelling/visiting. This place has totally put me off. The room was essentially a cupboard with 2 very squeaky bunk beds shoved in. I felt my bed would collapse any moment and had to sleep with all my bags on the bed because there was nowhere to put them. I didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Smart Hostels L, Public Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for you review. We are saddened that you had a negative experience with us. With our excellent location and aim for cheap accommodation, floor pace is limited. The hostel is cleaned daily by our talented cleaning staff and any problems can be reported to our 24 hour reception for a speedy resolution. Our free all you can eat... More 

Nottingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

Worst nights sleep ever, myself and 4 friends shared a 4 bed dorm. *Staff on the whole - rude and unwelcoming *Very small, felt very on top of each other - too many beds in too small a room *Shower had no heat control, was so small (like a caravan shower) *Unclean (hairs in the linen, tissues in the beds... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Smart Hostels L, Public Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for you review. It is unfortunate that your experience with us was not a good one. With our ideal location at the heart of Camden, floor space is at a premium, our aim is to provide cheap, clean and hygienic accommodation with our housekeepers cleaning the rooms daily. If there are any issues our well trained staff are... More 

Dar Es Salaam Region, Tanzania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

I needed accommodation the same night and London hostels were booked out, this was my only option. When I arrived I was handed some sheets to make my own bed. Not a deal breaker, but not overly welcoming. Then I went to the room (up 4-5 flights of stairs) and found out from my roommates that if want to access... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015 via mobile

'Smart' it is not. An irony. I am an experienced traveller and have stayed in all sorts of accommodation across Europe and throughout Africa. We were greeted by a gentleman who wasn't particularly friendly or helpful and it felt as though he was just going through the motions and didn't engage with us. We checked in and went up to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
10.8 mi away
The Continental Hotel
The Continental Hotel
#18 of 24 in Hounslow
3.0 of 5 stars 470 reviews
4.1 mi away
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#714 of 1,052 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 319 reviews
11.5 mi away
Croydon Park Hotel
Croydon Park Hotel
#6 of 23 in Croydon
3.5 of 5 stars 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Viking Hotel
Viking Hotel
#592 of 1,052 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 386 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hilton London Croydon
Hilton London Croydon
#11 of 23 in Croydon
3.5 of 5 stars 635 reviews
2.6 mi away
Smart Hyde Park View Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Camden

Neighborhood Profile
Camden
Famous for its sprawling cluster of markets and shops as well as for an embrace of all things counter culture, Camden offers a concentrated version of London street life. From bargain shopping and people watching to rubbing elbows in its abundance of pubs and bars, Camden is the place to be for many a Londoner. It is also home to some of the hottest live music venues in Europe. As packed as Camden High Street and its tributaries can get during the weekends, this neighborhood is right next to some of the city's most beloved outdoor spaces, namely Regent's Park and Primrose Hill.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay