We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 630 London accommodations

Smart Camden Inn Hostel

1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   55 - 57 Bayham Street, London NW1 0AA, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)
Hotel amenities
Smart Camden Inn Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Smart Camden Inn Hostel to your Saves list
26%
Ranked #343 of 630 Specialty Lodging in London
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    26
    32
    29
    36
See reviews for
5
11
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (128)
  • Mar-May only
    (38)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (42)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hostel is cheap, and, basically, you get what you pay for. The mattresses are bad, it could be cleaner, and there's barely any room for you to move, but it's ok. What it's not ok is that the staff at reception tried a couple of times to overcharge me. For somebody who knows English that's no problem, but bearing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caitlin W, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We have invested alot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. Thank you for your... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hostel is the worst place I stayed in all of europe, and I stayed in some really scummy places. Honestly honestly I'm not a fussy traveler, I slept on a tiled lounge room floor in a un-air-conditioned sauna in greek summer (I dont care about anything) but I would never stay here again. Its horrid, its so uncomfortable to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caitlin W, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for you feedback! Our reception team are continually receiving training on customer service and care. We take the safety, wellbeing and comfort of all our valued guest very seriously! We will pass on your comments to our hostel manager to address further. As you mentioned, we offer an all-you-can-eat basic breakfast includes fresh toast, cereal and tea... More

Paris
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Run people, run away!!!!!! Horrible hostel, you have to pay for everything and they are rude! My best friend and i booked 2 beds from sunday to thuesday. We arrived one day before and ask for 2 beds, they said the hostel is fully booked like all the others we tried before in london, so we spent the night outside... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caitlin W, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for your feedback. It is unfortunate that our hostel was fully booked when you arrived. I can see by your comments though, that our reception staff tried their hardest to accomodate you (offering you the beds). Our check in time is from 11am, however this is also the same time our cleaning service begins. I'm sure... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I stayed here for one night with my boyfriend. As soon as we entered a faecal scent invaded our nostrils. We checked in and were thankful to be placed on the top floor, hopeful to be away from the smell. We were wrong. It was everywhere. Sitting on the bed there was an awkward silence, then a flushing sound as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caitlin W, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay. We have invested alot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central... More

Newport, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

Stayed in this hostel many times and will do again its cheap and in a great location in Camden with shops and food places very close by. There are always people in the tv room downstairs so great for making friends. The only minor downside is that the 4 bed rooms are a bit small but that's ok for the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Caitlin W, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Hi thanks for taking the time to post a review! As you mentioned, we are situated very well situated in the lively Camden Town. We are situated very close to two major tube stations; one being Camden Town and one from Mornington Crescent which give you conventient links into other areas of Central London. We pride ourselves on our central... More

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

As me and my friend arrived at this hostel at 10pm at night there was a group of 40-59 year old drunk men on the steps to go into the hostel which wasn't nice. Then as we checked in and went into the room, it was very clean etc but the beds were very uncomfortable which mad it very hard... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott P, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Hi. Thanks for the feedback. It's unfortunate you didn't enjoy your stay. We will pass your comments on to the Management team to follow up. More

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Even though the smart Camden inn is very cheap it's still not worth it. The rooms are extremely small and there isn't even enough room to sit up straight on the beds.. The lockers in the room will not open unless you pay a fee to the people at reception and the breakfast only included cornflakes and toast which i... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caitlin W, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback. We do apologize if you weren't completely satisfied with your stay. We try to offer affordable accommodation for budget-minded travellers. We hope to see you soon. More

Dublin
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

I seriously regret booking this hostel. It's cheap and it's in a great location but there in a bar very near that BLASTS music until 4am. I am love to bar hop and stay out too, but I got no sleep because of the noise. Because of the noise, I would not recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Scott P, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Hi. Thanks for the feedback. It's unfortunate you didn't enjoy your stay. Camden is renowned as being a lively area. Next time if you are after a quieter area can we suggest our Hostels in Hyde Park? Cheers More

Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

For the cost per night charged in London the place. Is worth it. I will recommend maximum stay of one night. The service was god the staff were ver friendly. The space is very small only one person can use the stairs.

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott P, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We continue our endeavour to provide clean, low-cost, budget accommodation in Central London. Hope to see you again. More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Upon arrival, we were told that our booking was cancelled. They offered almost zero information as to how/why it was cancelled and blamed us. We spent about 45 minutes waiting as they sorted it out. They ended up splitting the group and having us switch rooms after the first night. Rooms and bathroom were tiny, could barely use the toilet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott P, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. As you mention, our Hostel is very conveniently located in fabulous Camden. It is unfortunate there was some mix up with your check-in and you didn't really enjoy your stay with us but at least you enjoyed the local area. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Smart Camden Inn Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Camden Inn Hostel

Address: 55 - 57 Bayham Street, London NW1 0AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Smart Camden Inn Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Smart Camden Inn Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smart Camden Hotel London
Smart Camden Inn Hostel London, England

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay