We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Smart Camden Inn Hostel

55 - 57 Bayham Street, London NW1 0AA, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Smart Camden Inn Hostel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

194 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

I stayed here while going to a few gigs in London. The man on reception seemed preoccupied on arrival and quite blunt. The room was clean and nice with a small toilet/ shower area. It became extremly hot at night. Nothing is labeled or signed so you end up going back to the guy on reception who looks at you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Zak W
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The worst hostel i've ever been trough out all Europe. The location is bad, streets filled with garbish and shady looking people everywhere. Everything is small in this hostel, seriously, the bathroom is so small, a person can barely move in there. The shower is only freezing ice or boilling water (I've burned myself in the shower and the reception... More 

Helpful?
Thank André R

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It was a good location for the time when we landed in London but that was the only good part of this place, me and my friend stayed here for a week when we got there the receptionist was very cold and not welcoming, we had different receptionists every time and each one was just as rude as the last,... More 

Helpful?
Thank etraveler23524
Smart Hostels L, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, we are sorry you didn’t have a pleasant experience staying here :(. We always train and review our staff, the experience you had will be pointed out and will be investigated, thank you for your review. We are always improving our services and we hope that next time you will have a more pleasant stay with our hostels. Best... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed on saturday night with my friend in a 6 bed dorm, room is not big, but with a small ensuite bathroom and lockers fairy large, also there is a locker next to the Ned, btmut need to ask for the key I think. The girl at the reception was really welcoming and helpful. The guy working at night no.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alessandro T
Smart Hostels L, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Hi! Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about the hostel. We are happy to hear that you had an overall good stay. Your feedback about the bed linens and room not being so clean will be taken into account in order to improve our standards. Have a lovely day, Smart Hostels Team More 

Berlin, Deutschland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2015

I stayed here in November during a weekend. The hostel has 4 levels and a very narrow staircase. On the bottom floor is the common room with a TV and a playstation and the Kitchen where they also serve breakfast in the mornings and a garden which was quite nice. The Room was very cramped and there were also people... More 

Helpful?
Thank Thywen
Smart Hostels L, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Hello and thank for your review! :) We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We try to offer cheap accommodation for low budget travelers at very good location. So, please come back any time, we're looking forward to see you soon :). Best regards, Smart Hostel Team More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2015

I'll start with a positive - good location right in the middle of Camnden town. Can't fault it. But that's where anything positive stops. The welcome was less than warm, and we were pointed to our room, up 4 stories of the narrowest stairwell you have ever seen - it was near impossible to carry bags up. How that is... More 

Helpful?
Thank always_Itchy_feet27
Smart Hostels L, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you very much for your honest review! We're sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, we'll definitely use your review to improve our services and to change things around the hostel. We really hope to see you come back after we've made the changes. Have a lovely day and best regards from Smart Hostels Team More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2015

We were looking to say in Camden for a hen night but this hostel was an absolute disaster! We satyed on the top floor but were worried if a fire breaks out wed never get out alive. We moved to a different hostel!

Helpful?
Thank Jamie M
Smart Hostels L, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Jamie, We're very sorry you did not enjoy your stay and had to leave our hostel. I can assure you that we have undergone all the correct fire safety procedures, we do have pre-planned fire safety drills so that our staff are well trained. The fire safety authorities have checked our hostels, fire safety steps and fire drills, and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Camden
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock
Camden
York & Albany
York & Albany
#654 of 1,059 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 205 reviews
Camden Lock Hotel
#543 of 1,059 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camden
St Christopher's Inn Camden
Camden
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Camden

Neighborhood Profile
Camden
Famous for its sprawling cluster of markets and shops as well as for an embrace of all things counter culture, Camden offers a concentrated version of London street life. From bargain shopping and people watching to rubbing elbows in its abundance of pubs and bars, Camden is the place to be for many a Londoner. It is also home to some of the hottest live music venues in Europe. As packed as Camden High Street and its tributaries can get during the weekends, this neighborhood is right next to some of the city's most beloved outdoor spaces, namely Regent's Park and Primrose Hill.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay