We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 684 London accommodations

Smart Camden Inn Hostel

1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   55 - 57 Bayham Street, London NW1 0AA, England (Camden)
Hotel amenities
Smart Camden Inn Hostel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Smart Camden Inn Hostel to your Saves list
Ranked #453 of 684 Specialty Lodging in London
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    28
    35
    32
    48
See reviews for
7
14
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (149)
  • Mar-May only
    (38)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (48)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
Dar Es Salaam Region, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I needed accommodation the same night and London hostels were booked out, this was my only option. When I arrived I was handed some sheets to make my own bed. Not a deal breaker, but not overly welcoming. Then I went to the room (up 4-5 flights of stairs) and found out from my roommates that if want to access... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

'Smart' it is not. An irony. I am an experienced traveller and have stayed in all sorts of accommodation across Europe and throughout Africa. We were greeted by a gentleman who wasn't particularly friendly or helpful and it felt as though he was just going through the motions and didn't engage with us. We checked in and went up to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Centelles, Spain
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here with a friend, paid way too much for what it is. We wanted some drinkable water, the vending machines...out of order. The toilet next to our room, to put it nicely, you could here a VERY quite cough from. I don't know how they could call the mattress a mattress it was more like sleeping on the floors,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here with a friend, paid way too much for what it is. We wanted some drinkable water, the vending machines...out of order. The toilet next to our room, to put it nicely, you could here a VERY quite cough from. I don't know how they could call the mattress a mattress it was more like sleeping on the floors,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

+ Good Location close to euston station (Thats really the only reason I stayed here) + Free Breakfast was good - Only cold water in shower - Toilet was blocked / flooded - Staff weren't exactly friendly - The room was tiny/ cramped, and not exactly clean - The door was not closed properly on arival. So I would definatly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight with two friends after a gig in the Electric Ballroom (a mere 2 minute walk from the hostel) check in took less than 5 minutes, pleasant member of staff, we tried to go in with open minds despite all the bad reviews, so glad we did as the rooms were nothing like the negative reviews on here, very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

The hostel is cheap, and, basically, you get what you pay for. The mattresses are bad, it could be cleaner, and there's barely any room for you to move, but it's ok. What it's not ok is that the staff at reception tried a couple of times to overcharge me. For somebody who knows English that's no problem, but bearing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Caitlin W, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We have invested alot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. Thank you for your... More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

This hostel is the worst place I stayed in all of europe, and I stayed in some really scummy places. Honestly honestly I'm not a fussy traveler, I slept on a tiled lounge room floor in a un-air-conditioned sauna in greek summer (I dont care about anything) but I would never stay here again. Its horrid, its so uncomfortable to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Caitlin W, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for you feedback! Our reception team are continually receiving training on customer service and care. We take the safety, wellbeing and comfort of all our valued guest very seriously! We will pass on your comments to our hostel manager to address further. As you mentioned, we offer an all-you-can-eat basic breakfast includes fresh toast, cereal and tea... More 

Paris
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014 via mobile

Run people, run away!!!!!! Horrible hostel, you have to pay for everything and they are rude! My best friend and i booked 2 beds from sunday to thuesday. We arrived one day before and ask for 2 beds, they said the hostel is fully booked like all the others we tried before in london, so we spent the night outside... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caitlin W, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for your feedback. It is unfortunate that our hostel was fully booked when you arrived. I can see by your comments though, that our reception staff tried their hardest to accomodate you (offering you the beds). Our check in time is from 11am, however this is also the same time our cleaning service begins. I'm sure... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

I stayed here for one night with my boyfriend. As soon as we entered a faecal scent invaded our nostrils. We checked in and were thankful to be placed on the top floor, hopeful to be away from the smell. We were wrong. It was everywhere. Sitting on the bed there was an awkward silence, then a flushing sound as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caitlin W, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay. We have invested alot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Smart Camden Inn Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Camden Inn Hostel

Address: 55 - 57 Bayham Street, London NW1 0AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Smart Camden Inn Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Smart Camden Inn Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smart Camden Hotel London
Smart Camden Inn Hostel London, England

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Staying in Camden

Neighborhood Profile
Camden
Famous for its sprawling cluster of markets and shops as well as for an embrace of all things counter culture, Camden offers a concentrated version of London street life. From bargain shopping and people watching to rubbing elbows in its abundance of pubs and bars, Camden is the place to be for many a Londoner. It is also home to some of the hottest live music venues in Europe. As packed as Camden High Street and its tributaries can get during the weekends, this neighborhood is right next to some of the city's most beloved outdoor spaces, namely Regent's Park and Primrose Hill.
Explore this neighborhood