We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 649 London accommodations

Journeys London King's Cross Hostel

2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   54 - 58 Caledonian Road, London N1 9DP, England
Hotel amenities
Journeys London King's Cross Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Journeys London King's Cross Hostel to your Saves list
Ranked #327 of 649 Specialty Lodging in London
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    39
    24
    22
    31
See reviews for
1
21
39
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (123)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (39)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
Bangor, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Not the worst hostel I've stayed in, but not the best, either. I stayed in one of the seventeen bed dorms for four nights. I was out for most of the day and night, so I can't speak to the quality of the hostel during those hours. However, I will say that the hostel is cramped. Tiny staircases, tiny beds,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KingsCrossOperations, Manager at Journeys London King's Cross Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, we value your honest opinion. We are pleased that you had a good stay in our hostel and that our staff was helpful when you needed. Our hostel is situated in the centre of London, therefore we need to make the most out of the space we have in order to keep our prices low. If you ever... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I spent eight nights here in a five-bed dorm, and although I was able to tolerate the shoebox-sized room and the rather dingy bathrooms equipped with dirty floors and showers devoid of water pressure, I definitely can't recommend this hostel for such a long period of time. Its cheapness, coupled with its prime location (about a five minute walk from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

This place was great for us, its a hostel, so be prepared, the staff are fantastic gave us maps and directions for everything we needed. also gave us storage for when we checked out for like 6 hours Thanks for that :), the bunk beds were bunk beds that is all, over would i go back YES. so much fun... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seravezza, Italy
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

One of the worst hostels I ever been! The showers are dirty, with a very bad smell, the same for the toilets, without soap and paper. The breakfast room is small, with dirty surfaces and poor cutlery. Relax room is a great place if you're a mouse, because there's a big mice family living there!! And I'm finished yet, let's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KingsCrossOperations, Manager at Journeys London King's Cross Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your valuable feedback. We are sorry to hear that you have not enjoyed your stay in the dormitory room, however we have plenty of pictures on our website and we also have private rooms which would give you more privacy during your stay. Our shift managers work on the reception 24/7 and they would always... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

Was almost impossible to carry my luggage down the stairs, once in the overcrowded room I could not store my bag. My bed was the bottom of three bunk beds, I felt claustrophobic and left. I would not recommend it to anyone with a normal suitcase and space issues, it was far too small for the amount of people. If... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KingsCrossOperations, Manager at Journeys London King's Cross Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, we are sorry to read that your experience at Journeys wasn't as you expected. We do have a free luggage room for all our guests to store their bags and suitcases. Due to the high rental costs we need to make the most of the space we have in order to keep the prices down, some dorms are... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014 via mobile

Makes the infamous Hans Brinker in Amsterdam look like a luxury resort. Bring ear plugs and a peg for your nose. The place smells old and musty and the bathrooms have their own unique funky smell. Kitchen facilities were unkempt and provided the worst breakfast offerings I have come across in any hostel. Showers were filthy and the shower heads... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KingsCrossOperations, Manager at Journeys London King's Cross Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your valued opinion, we are happy that you were pleased with the curtains and private electricity on each bed. As our hostel is located in the heart of London, it is possible that you could have hear some noise from the street outside. However we will forward your suggestion about preventing the noise to our... More 

Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

Very cramped and a bit unkempt. It's OK for a stopover but I would not recommend it for longer stays. Excellent location (5 minutes from Kings Cross and St Pancras). I found it difficult to sleep but luckily I needed to be up early anyway.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KingsCrossOperations, Manager at Journeys London King's Cross Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your feedback. Due to high rental costs we need to make the most out of the space we have n order to keep the prices down. We also have some more spacious dorms if you would prefer to book one next time. I am sorry to read that your sleep was affected, if you come... More 

Milwaukee
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

I stayed here with my husband recently. Be advised that the hostel has an age restriction of under 35, but they will waive this if you book a private room. I booked through a hotel site and didn't find out about the restriction until I happened to check the hostel's website. The room was small but fairly clean ( I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

Journeys King's Cross is what it represents itself to be: an economy lodging option for the 18-35 year old backpacker. Weekday rates are very affordable, and weekend rates are substantially higher since the hostel is usually fully booked. Wifi is included with the basic rate, and was reasonably fast and reliable on the main floor and common areas. A luggage... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

good value for the money nice location surrounded by beautiful pubs great location breakfast is ok not bad the only place you can sit is in the common lounge in the kitchen area apart from that its great got a tesco outside the hostel easy to get some food or drinks at any time its good, staff were friendly. Definitely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Journeys London King's Cross Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Journeys London King's Cross Hostel

Address: 54 - 58 Caledonian Road, London N1 9DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Journeys London King's Cross Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Journeys London King's Cross Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Journeys London King`s Cross Hotel London
Journeys London King's Cross Hostel England

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay