We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1,065 London hotels

Devonport House

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   King William Walk | Greenwich, London SE10 9JW, England (Greenwich)
Hotel amenities
Devonport House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Devonport House to your Saves list
Ranked #355 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Andrew B Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    269
    115
    35
    7
See reviews for
108
367
28
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (722)
  • Mar-May only
    (166)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (202)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (184)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (170)
All months
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Firstly, I have to mention when dealing with staff during the booking for our stay was a pleasure. Eileen was attentive, helpful to any question asked and even made special arrangements for our stay which was beyond our expectations. Thank you. We used Devenport House as a base to visit London, however the emphasis was to do something we have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We decided to stay at Devonport House as we'd stayed there a number of years ago and found it handy for all the sights in Greenwich, however, after two dreadful nights having to endure an unbearably loud disco just yards away from our room we certainly wouldn't recommend this to anyone in the future. After a long day travelling and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Went to a concert last night staff at hotel very helpful with bus numbers for transportation numbers 129 & 188 be aware you cannot buy tickets on the bus so go to newsagent or use contact less card Now for the hotel great location for all of London, easy links by train, bus or Thames clipper, well trained staff. Be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim G, Operations Manager at Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear Lynne5460, Thank you very much for your kind review. I hope we are able to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Tim Gehrke More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here after a concert at the O2. The location was great and the hotel was easy to get to. The room was clean and homely it also had a great view of the park. We had breakfast in the morning too which was as equally lovely. Nice, comfortable hotel. Would recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim G, Operations Manager at Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear Poppy D, Thank you for your kind review. I hope we can welcome you again soon. Kind regards, Tim Gehrke More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room, overall appearance of the hotel, breakfast, and other amenities of this hotel are all fine, very average. Room size is generous compared to continental standards, average or small by American standards. WiFi is free and worked well, iron and ironing board provided. The staff set this place apart: check-in was very friendly and fast and I was promised... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim G, Operations Manager at Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear 1stClassLounge, Thank you for your kind review. As a venue we are aiming to ensure everybody has a good night sleep, but sometimes other guests forget they are not in their own house. I guess this could also be seen as a comliment to how comfortable they are. I do hope we will be able to welcome you back... More 

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

.. South London location. Brilliant for Greenwich parks and tow centre. And ideal for a London tour based. Great hotel with a strong customer focus. Go for it stay here! This is my second stay - I have no issues.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tim G, Operations Manager at Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear WakefieldDB, Thank you very much for your kind review. I am very pleased the team here at Devonport makes you return and I hope we see you again soon. Kind regards, Tim Gehrke More 

Norwich
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The object of staying in an hotel is for a decent night's sleep. In spite of occupying a room at the rear (southern) side of the building with no adjacent road, and passing traffic, I did not sleep the entire night because of aircraft and traffic noise. The following day I had to drive to Kew, through central London, on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim G, Operations Manager at Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear EsmereldaNorwich, Thank you for your review. I am sorry you were unable to sleep in our quieter side of the building. We will be looking into this as it had not come up before. Kind regards, Tim Gehrke More 

Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This De Vere hotel is in the heart of Greenwich and is in easy reach of all the main sites and the town itself. The hotel is well appointed, rooms modern and clean and has complimentary tea and coffee available 24 hours in the lounge and Internet cafe. The breakfast was OK but not great, but was spoilt by an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim G, Operations Manager at Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear Phil M, Thank you very much for your review. We will speak to the staff member and thank you for your feedback. Kind regards, Tim Gehrke More 

Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A great location, wonderful old building, convenient for all in Greenwich. After that it was disappointing. Should be three star then it would have Rated at the right standard. The room was small, very basic, but adequate. Two very flat pillows, no spares in the wardrobe. The heating was off when we arrived on a frosty evening, so the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim G, Operations Manager at Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear Amelia M, Thank you very much for your feedback. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us as much as you might have wanted. We are looking at some of the points you raised as our aim is to deliver to the highest standards and clearly you did not feel that. We do have a full... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We choose deVere Devenport House for our Christmas party and was very disappointed with the 'buffet' Christmas diner, the food was cold and lacking in vegetables they had run out! The brussel sprouts inedible and roast potatoes were like boiled potatoes in oil. Gave up by time pudding came as very little left. Not good value for money. Comfortable lounges.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim G, Operations Manager at Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear The_hammonds_11, Thank you very much for your comments. I am sorry to hear that your christmas party was not to your satisfaction. We are currently speaking to your event organiser and looking into the points raised. As with every buffet service, there are times we have to top-up and this will cause a small dealay in the service flow.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Devonport House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonport House

Address: King William Walk | Greenwich, London SE10 9JW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Greenwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Devonport House 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Devonport House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonport House Hotel London
Devonport Hotel London
Devonport House London, England
Hotel Style:
#235 Luxury Hotel in London
#242 Business Hotel in London
#297 Romantic Hotel in London
#333 Family Hotel in London

101 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (81)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Staying in Greenwich

Neighborhood Profile
Greenwich
Greenwich Mean Time starts here, so to speak, as the very concept of global time was established at Royal Observatory, just one of several buildings of architectural interest in Greenwich. Indeed, the whole of Greenwich's historic town center, its Royal Park and a number of related buildings (and one world famous ship, the Cutty Sark) make up the UNESCO World Heritage site known as Maritime Greenwich. Today a laser beam is shot out across the night sky from the Observatory to mark the location of the Prime Meridian. Other bold (some say brash) 21st century additions to the area include landmarks such as The O2 entertainment complex (previously known as the Millennium Dome) and the Air Line cable cars, which offer scenic transport across the Thames between North Greenwich and the Royal Docks.