We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Devonport House

#360 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
King William Walk | Greenwich, London SE10 9JW, England
Hotel amenities
Devonport House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #360 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Slukey Barnsley, United Kingdom
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    281
    121
    37
    8
See reviews for
110
389
29
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (757)
  • Mar-May only
    (183)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (202)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (184)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (188)
All months
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I have stayed before at this hotel and it's as good as ever. The staff are the most delightful helpful and courteous as anywhere I have ever stayed. I had a slight problem when checking out but this was solved instantly and with a smile by a manager. The room was lovely and overlooked a court yard. No noise and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim G, Operations Manager at Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear Slukey, Thank you very much for your review. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay here at Devonport House a lot. I am sorry you did not enjoy our coffee, which is a big international brand (Tchibo coffee) hence we serve this in all our outlets. This is the first time we had any feedback... More 

Farnham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed her last night on a Travelzoo deal of £99 for bed, dinner, breakfast, bottle of wine. Location is absolutely perfect .... town is 100 Yards one way, park is the same the other way. Room was very small and chilly, managed to get heating on and warm it up but not the bathroom, needed to jog in the shower... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim G, Operations Manager at Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear Jo C, Many thanks for your feedback. We can only imrpove when guests like yourself give us constructive feedback! We will be looking into the raised points and start a re-training sessions as it is very important to guide our guests in an incident like you experienced. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in thenear future.... More 

Scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Excellent hotel friendly staff clean room. Good breakfast quite location car parking available if required within walking distance 10 minutes of docklands light railway near cutty sark old sailing ship and Greenwich univesity.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tim G, Operations Manager at Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear GGHD, Thank you very much for your kind review. Here at Devonport House we aim to ensure our guests have a good time and clearly we impressed you enough! We are looking forward to welcome you back at Devonport House again soon. Kind regards, Tim Gehrke More 

Oxford
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Paid £89 for a double room in March. The location is good, close to Cutty Sark and DLR, and right next to the observatory. Room was very comfortable, but a tad small. Bed was good, pillows comfortable and they had an iron and tea and coffee facilities, a 32" flatscreen and reasonable cupboard space, but no minibar or fridge. Bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim G, Operations Manager at Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear pds_oxfordshire, Thank you for your feedback. All our rooms are individually sized as this is a Grade 1 listed building and not a purpose build hotel. Sorry if you feel the room space was not large enough for your stay. Hopefully you will be able to return to us again soon. Kind regards, Tim Gehrke More 

Somerset, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Devonport House Hotel has a lovely friendly atmosphere. Our bedroom was directly over the bar. Very late on Saturday evening there was a birthday party and we could hear the noise in our room. I rang reception who seemed very concerned and the problem was dealt with immediately. The only potential down side to this hotel is the possibility... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tim G, Operations Manager at Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear Jane A, Thank you very much for your kind review. Here at Devonport House we are very proud of our staff and reading your feedback proof's this again. Whilest we make every effort to ensure our guest have a good stay, sometimes noise from outside just can not be controlled. We look forward to welcome you back here at... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Chose this hotel for its location as we were visiting the 02 arena , The hotel was distinctly average by apearance the room we got was not good, stains on the carpets and bed throw , the bathroom was dirty looking with stained grout around the edges . the windows were old draughty and noisey , however in there defence... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim G, Operations Manager at Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear Nick S, Thank you very much for your review. I am sorry we let you and ourselves down by not looking the best. We are a Grade 1 listed building but that is no excuse for not having looked after the room better! I am very pleased you enjoy your breakfast and our Averton - he is one in... More 

Essex
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Check in was quick and easy . Room was very nice , the complimentary bottles of wine and water were a nice touch along with a small box of chocolates . Dinner on our second night was not very good however , Seafood pie was bland and the steak was tough . The staff were all very friendly an Averton... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim G, Operations Manager at Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear BiffEssex, Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read you did not enjoy your dinner. I am also very thankful that you mentioned something positive as well - and our staff are great! Hopefully we have the chance to welcome you back to impress you again with our new menu. Kind regards, Tim Gehrke More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My company booked me if here because prices in London for the days I needed were outrageous! My colleagues kept telling me it was "far" out but I have no idea what they were talking about! It was only a train ride to the Bank tube stop in the morning 20 minutes and I was in the Center of London!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim G, Operations Manager at Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear Amy J, Thank you very much for your review. You are a very brave traveller coming out to our lovely counrty side...and yet you are only 20min away from Central London! I am glad you enjoyed your meal in the restaurant and hopefully we will be able to welcome you back here soon. Kind regards, Tim Gehrke More 

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What great location to stay for the O2, with loads to do the next in Greenwich, great location for shopping, food n drinks. Hotel staff were very helpful, rooms were a good size for a short stay, a little loud as windows weren't great but would definitely stay again. Breakfast was a fab option and glad we took it. Well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim G, Operations Manager at Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear cavan2015, Thank you very much for your kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed your time here and we are looking forward to welcome you back. Kind regards, Tim Gehrke More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When we were approaching the hotel I thought it looked great, but I can't say I thought the same on the inside. The room was really needing some updating, the walls were dented with paint coming away, stains on the carpets, even the top of the tap was missing. I can't say the room was dirty, but all of these... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim G, Operations Manager at Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear Laura M, Thank you for your review. I am sorry we did not life up to your expectations and I take on board there were a few minor things not right. I will be getting this corrected and have shared your review with the team. Apologize again for the shortfalls and hopefully we are able to impress you if... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

102 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (81)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Staying in Greenwich

Neighborhood Profile
Greenwich
Greenwich Mean Time starts here, so to speak, as the very concept of global time was established at Royal Observatory, just one of several buildings of architectural interest in Greenwich. Indeed, the whole of Greenwich's historic town center, its Royal Park and a number of related buildings (and one world famous ship, the Cutty Sark) make up the UNESCO World Heritage site known as Maritime Greenwich. Today a laser beam is shot out across the night sky from the Observatory to mark the location of the Prime Meridian. Other bold (some say brash) 21st century additions to the area include landmarks such as The O2 entertainment complex (previously known as the Millennium Dome) and the Air Line cable cars, which offer scenic transport across the Thames between North Greenwich and the Royal Docks.
Explore this neighborhood

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question