We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Devonport House

King William Walk | Greenwich, London SE10 9JW, England
Hotel amenities
Devonport House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #351 of 1,052 Hotels in London
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
annie m Birmingham, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

825 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    336
    308
    132
    40
    9
See reviews for
120
433
31
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (825)
  • Mar-May only
    (232)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (221)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (184)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (188)
All months
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We visited Greenwich 40 years ago and wondered how changed we would find it. Apart from the new facade to the Maritime Museum and some posh new shops in the centre, it was as lovely as we remembered. The Devenport Hotel is fabulously located right behind the museum and a couple of minutes stroll from the Cutty Sark. On-site secure... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We felt that this was a fantastic location because of the ease of travel by the Thames Clipper, Cutty Sark DLR and Greenwich railway station. In addition,within easy walking distance is the Cutty Sark, Old Royal Naval College, Maritime Museum, Greenwich Observatory and Greenwich Park. We found our room to be very comfortable and the bed was perfect. Our major... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milton Common, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

visited on a hot summer day(27th june).the night was uncomfortable despite constant running of fan.security a little excessive requiring the use of your room card on lifts and internal corridor doors.car parking at £5 a day is reasonable considering the cost of london parking.breakfast was generally tasty and well cooked with the sad exception of some sausages still uncooked in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim G, Operations Manager at Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear Richard H, Thank you very much for your feedback. We are aware that our rooms can get a little warmer during the summer time as we are a Grade2 listed building and can not fit air-conditioning in the bedrooms. We have provided a table van in each room to combat this however with the latest high temperatues we struggle.... More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed there recently, checked in late because i was on a business trip. I stay in many hotels and this by far has to be the worst. The receptionist seemed quite grumpy, didn't smile or greet me in a professional manor. All they want is a signature on the paper so that they can redeem the costs. The hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim G, Operations Manager at Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear Steve T, Thank you very much for your feedback. I am very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. I have shared your feedback with the team to highlight the shortfall during your visit so we can make improvements to avoid a repeat. The car parking is charged as it is operated by a third party, which... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Hotel stay was a one night deal with Travelzoo. Only available Sundays. But for £16 more I found it on the hotel website for any night without the free bottle of wine. Hotel is a conference centre and rooms would be great for this function. They are very dated and basic with no aircon and utilitarian looking furniture. But... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim G, Operations Manager at Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear RSLFUE, Thank you very much for your review. We had the TravelZoo available on all different dates and days, they must have been sold out for your requested date. As we are a Grade 1 listed building on a world heritage site, we are unable to offer airconditioning due to the limitations and restrictions on the building. We have... More 

Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked this hotel on a Travelzoo deal, dinner, bottle of wine, bed and breakfast. I arrived at 19.00 and was checked in quickly, lady at reception was charming and asked for my dining time. A full bottle of red wine in my really clean, comfortable room, 2 pillows on my bed which was lovely and comfortable, I had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim G, Operations Manager at Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear Sandra C, Thank you very much for your kind review of Devonpoart House. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and could make the most out of a great offer for this stay. Keep your eyes open, as there are loads of other goods offers available again. Kind regards, Tim Gehrke More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Found this hotel by accident but it has lovely grounds free parking free wifi good location walking distance to everything in Greenwich . But there is a downside to this hotel Bed are very hard and uncomfortable We was told we had a courtyard view and it was the motors on the roof view and very load at night No... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim G, Operations Manager at Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear Travelhotel55, Thank you very much for your kind review of Devonport House. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay here in Greenwich and will pass your feedback on to Monica, our lady from the bar. It's always nice when guest highlight staff and their performance as they are the best credit to our venue. Kind regards, Tim... More 

Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here on a Travelzoo deal as we were attending a concert at the O2. Our deal was dinner, bed and breakfast with a bottle of wine. On arrival we found out that dinner did not start until 7 pm and we wanted to be at the O2 by then. This problem was resolved quickly by the staff and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim G, Operations Manager at Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear Hibby, Thank you very much for your review of Devonport House. I am delighted to read that we were able to accommodate your special request for an earlier dinner, so you could enjoy the show at the O2. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you again soon. Kind regards, Tim Gehrke More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night as we were seeing Take That at the O2. Good points: comfy beds, clean and quiet rooms, friendly service, lovely breakfast and great value parking. Website directions were helpful as Google wanted to send us via the park! 35 min walk to O2, and then we got the bus back very easily. Bad points: dated... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tim G, Operations Manager at Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear clairey16, Thank you very much for your feedback. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. I will be speaking to my housekeeping team as to why this happened. Thank you againfor your feedback as this is the only way we can improve our service. Kind regards, Tim Gehrke More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for just one night on a Travelzoo deal. We turned up at 7am and no problem, we could park the car (just £5 per 24 hours), and get a breakfast which was added to our extras bill. Location is very good. During our two day stay we used the bus, Thames clipper, and docklands light railway to get to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim G, Operations Manager at Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear Stephen S, Thank you very much for your kind review of Devonport House. I am delighted you enjoyed your time in Greenwich and could make the most of our central location. It was also very nice to read you enjoyed our food offering in general. Kind regards, Tim More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

310 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (90)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (199)
Viewed
Amenities (16)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (50)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (34)
Viewed
Standard Double Room with Garden View (29)
Viewed
Standard Twin (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...

Staying in Greenwich

Neighborhood Profile
Greenwich
Greenwich Mean Time starts here, so to speak, as the very concept of global time was established at Royal Observatory, just one of several buildings of architectural interest in Greenwich. Indeed, the whole of Greenwich's historic town center, its Royal Park and a number of related buildings (and one world famous ship, the Cutty Sark) make up the UNESCO World Heritage site known as Maritime Greenwich. Today a laser beam is shot out across the night sky from the Observatory to mark the location of the Prime Meridian. Other bold (some say brash) 21st century additions to the area include landmarks such as The O2 entertainment complex (previously known as the Millennium Dome) and the Air Line cable cars, which offer scenic transport across the Thames between North Greenwich and the Royal Docks.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay