We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1,065 London hotels

Devonport House

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   King William Walk | Greenwich, London SE10 9JW, England (Greenwich)
Hotel amenities
Devonport House
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Devonport House to your Saves list
Ranked #346 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Dutch1505 The Netherlands
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    271
    117
    35
    7
See reviews for
110
370
29
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (732)
  • Mar-May only
    (166)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (202)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (184)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (180)
All months
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
98 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This was my second stay here and the positive rating is the same. This time I was given a room overlooking the Courtyard which solved the noise problem I had last time. Walking distance to the DLR and the centre of Greenwich and immediately below the Observatory and next door to the Maritime museum. The overall quality is 4 star... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amersham
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
54 hotel reviews
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

All staff you meet are always very polite, very proper and good at their jobs - and of course a mention to Everton for always making breakfast more than memorable. If Greenwich is your weekend destination then Devonport House is perfectly located, and the parking charge at £5/day is cheap by local standards. We visit family nearby and often stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Luton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Just spent 2 nights at the De Vere and was not impressed, all night party, exceptionally noisy guests, noisy plumbing and the constant hum of machinery on our over looked room made for a wonderful stay! The room was overlooked by a conference room, which we did not think would be a problem at the weekend, but it was, check... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim G, Operations Manager at Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear tonrey, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you did not enjoy your time with us. We did have a lifestyle seminar on over the weekend, which did increase their numbers and needed the bigger room. Sadly with the venues layout this required the inner facing room. Hope fully you come back on day and we are able... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

This hotel did almost everything I needed during my stay - I need to be close to who I was visiting without breaking the bank - 100% 0n both counts. As I went with a price focus - I was okay with a room at the back. But the noise around 5 am woke me two night running - the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim G, Operations Manager at Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear kengmack, Thank you for your review. I am very sorry to read that you had a harsh waking from the bin company.We have spoken to the riubbish collectors as this is impacting our guests and they should not start before 7.30am. They are looking into their scheduling and I hope this improves things. We hope to welcome you back... More 

Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

When you arrive in Greenwich you see the history everywhere. From the historic Alms houses and new Uni buildings you can understand the vast variety of people that are drawn to this location. If indeed you are one of them then there is certainly no other place to stay but here. The hotel is in easy reach of all the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim G, Operations Manager at Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear vegetarian1980, Thank you very much for your review. I am very pleased you had a great time and our staff could contibute to this. Hopefully we see you again very soon. Kind regards, Tim Gehrke More 

westyorkshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our first visit to Greenwich but certainly not the last. We usually stay in central London but decided to try South of the river on this visit. Our journey from the north of England could not have been easier. Plenty of parking spaces at only £5 per night. Breakfast was fabulous with plenty of choice. The location of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tim G, Operations Manager at Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear timetable, Thank you very much for your review. I am pleased we and our location could surprise you and also encourage you to come back so soon. We look forward to see you in March. Kind regards, Tim Gehrke More 

Castle Donington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Kate must be an extremely proud manageress at this venue. Every single member of staff lives and breathes the De Vere culture centred on customer service. Nothing is too much for any of them from simple conference requirements like speakers and scissors to taking time to make one of my delegates that was unwell feel truly special. Bringing her camomile... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim G, Operations Manager at Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear KarenC, Thank you very much for your kind review. It is nice to read when we get it right and not only if something has gone wrong! Thank you for mentioning the effort our staff made to ensure even the poorly are looked after. We look forward to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Tim More 

Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for a couple of nights to visit Greenwich and the surrounding area. This hotel is in a perfect location for this. Right next door to Greenwich park and the maritime museum, observatory and Greenwich market. There are plenty of pubs and restaurants in the area and all of this is wishing a few minutes of the hotel. The staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim G, Operations Manager at Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear Buzznsmoo, Thank you very much for your kind review. I am delighted you had a nice time and our staff could fix a challenge whilst you were on site. We do aim to get things right but are only human after all. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Tim Gehrke More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fabulous, Wonderful, Fantastic, Helpful I could go on.These are merely a few words that I would say describes the staff at The Devonport. Having used The Devonport on many occasions for celebrations and Sunday Dinners- It seemed the obvious choice for Christmas Dinner with family. Not being the most organised of people I was most grateful to Angela & Eileen... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tim G, Operations Manager at Devonport House, responded to this review

DearFar, Thank you very much for your kind review. It look's we clearly have found a fan and the whole family of yours will be joining soon. It is always nice when so many nice comments about staff and food quality are made. We look frward to see you again soon. Kind regards, Tim Gehrke More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014 via mobile

Totally fabulous location, ok rooms are a bit tired mostly the floor tiles in bathroom but everything was clean and for the price we paid I was more than happy. Reception staff very nice and welcoming even checked us in early so we could leave our luggage and head into the city to return later in evening. Found room to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim G, Operations Manager at Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear imarshy, Thank you very much for your kind review. It's very factual and does not need further comments from me but to say we look forward to welcome you back in March. Kind regards, Tim Gehrke More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Devonport House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonport House

Address: King William Walk | Greenwich, London SE10 9JW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Greenwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Devonport House 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Devonport House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonport House Hotel London
Devonport Hotel London
Devonport House London, England
Hotel Style:
#221 Business Hotel in London
#232 Luxury Hotel in London
#287 Romantic Hotel in London
#317 Family Hotel in London

102 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (81)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Staying in Greenwich

Neighborhood Profile
Greenwich
Greenwich Mean Time starts here, so to speak, as the very concept of global time was established at Royal Observatory, just one of several buildings of architectural interest in Greenwich. Indeed, the whole of Greenwich's historic town center, its Royal Park and a number of related buildings (and one world famous ship, the Cutty Sark) make up the UNESCO World Heritage site known as Maritime Greenwich. Today a laser beam is shot out across the night sky from the Observatory to mark the location of the Prime Meridian. Other bold (some say brash) 21st century additions to the area include landmarks such as The O2 entertainment complex (previously known as the Millennium Dome) and the Air Line cable cars, which offer scenic transport across the Thames between North Greenwich and the Royal Docks.
Explore this neighborhood