We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Devonport House

King William Walk | Greenwich, London SE10 9JW, England
Hotel amenities
Devonport House
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #355 of 1,050 Hotels in London
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
ellekay27 Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    296
    127
    39
    8
See reviews for
117
413
30
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (794)
  • Mar-May only
    (220)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (202)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (184)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (188)
All months
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great rooms, great price, ideal for everywhere in London, we used the river taxi, highly recommend. Greenwich is a wonderful location would definitely go back. There a a number of pubs and restaurants close by so go visit soon

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kent
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I booked a weekend break at Devonport House for our wedding anniversary. We arrived early on the Friday morning and were able to book our car into the hotel carpark before going off to explore London for the rest of the day. The hotel is located in a beautiful location within easy reach of all local sights... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel looks beautiful and is so well placed to explore the lovely area of Greenwich. The Observatory, Park, Cutty Sark and Maritime museum are all very handy. Good to travel to Central London on the Thames. It did seem very much a business hotel. There was little personalisation at Reception and no interest in whether the stay had been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim G, Operations Manager at Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear GinneyRose45, Thank you very much for your review. I am very sorry you think we do not care if guests enjoyed their stay. Clearly we need to improve our fairwell from the reception. I will speak to the manager myself to improve this as we do care for everybody of our guests. I hope you come back and we... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Attended my brother & now sister-in-law 's wedding on the 16th May and then stayed overnight. The wedding was absolutely amazing. The venue,food, drink & staff were all great and the ensuite bedroom was very clean and comfortable. Hardly any noise heard from outside the hotel, other than birdsong. Difficult to believe that we were in the centre of Greenwich.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim G, Operations Manager at Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear ju2511, Thank you very much for the kind review of Devonport House. We are delighted you took the time and put onto TripAdvisor the great feedback we had from a lot of your fellow guests. I hope the travel home was not too bad and hopefully you all can share many happy memories about the wedding day. Kind regards,... More 

Norfolk
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
35 hotel reviews
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I got lost driving in and found myself parked beside the Cutty Sark. A quick call and I was talked in to the hotel car park, all of 3 minutes away. That was just the start of an excellent experience! Booked here as speaking at the university, it was very convenient. I'm a keen runner so being right on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tim G, Operations Manager at Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear RobertAshton, Thank you very much for your kind review of Devonport House. We are perfectly located for the joggers and runners that want to benefit from Greenwich Park, one of the biggest parks in London. Our staff is a great asset and we are trying to fulfill all requests and information needs as good as we can. Thank you... More 

Telford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked this hotel for my Wife's birthday, its a wonderful hotel and the room was very spacious even could see the Cutty Sark if i was to be really picky about the room just the windows perhaps needed a clean but the room had everything you needed . Everton who ran the dining room was on duty on the Sunday... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tim G, Operations Manager at Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear nicholson_11, Thank you very much for your kind review of Devonport House. I am very pleased you had a great stay and enjoyed everything Greenwcih has got to offer. Belated birthday wishes to your wife again. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you both back soon again. Kind regards, Tim Gehrke More 

Polegate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed at Devonport House before, and loved it. When we saw the Travelzoo deal for this hotel, we jumped at the chance to go again. I love the building and the location. The room was very nice. We got a free bottle of wine with the deal, which was left in the room for us. I thought that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tim G, Operations Manager at Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear happytraveller65_, Thank you for your kind review of Devonport House. I am sorry you did experience some delays with the food service, which was based on a busy restaurant. I am glad you have experienced our high custommer service before, so you know we do generally better than on that night. Do keep your eyes open as there are... More 

Hampshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our third stay at Devonport House and this time we were lucky enough to have a room that overlooked the lovely grounds outside the front of the hotel. We arrived after a long day walking round London to our room which, as above, was nicely appointed. The room was a good size for a family of three. Given... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tim G, Operations Manager at Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear MoosHampshire, Thank you very much for your kind review of Devonport House. I am sorry you had a minor issue with the ordering of your room service and we have been addressing the training needs with this. I am very pleased to read you have been with us before and clearly like the things we can offer. The room... More 

Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

You know you're in for a disappointing experience when the unprofessional receptionist hasn't got your correct details from booking.com, and insists the charge is £50 more than the email you have printed off. No offer to contact booking.com, no sympathy, no pen for us to sign in with, no porter for the bags. The room was poky with eaves so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim G, Operations Manager at Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear Bridgenut_63, Thank you for your review. I am sorry we let you and us down against your expectations. We do not have a dedicated porter, however there are is always somebody available to help with luaggage if required. I do hope you will return to give us a chance to show the improved standards we are aiming to fulfill... More 

Wolverhampton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at this hotel over the May bank holiday having stayed there about 4 years ago. Since the first time we stayed the hotel has deteriorated in a few ways. Room service, bin was not emptied on daily basis and tea bags were not replenished. Service in the bar was slow and food in the restaurant not as good as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim G, Operations Manager at Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear Barry B, Thank you very much for your feedback. I am very sorry you feel we are not up to your last impression of our venue. Thank you for the feedback provided which will be shared with the relative departments.Hopefully we will have turn things around when you come and visit us again. Kind regards, Tim Gehrke More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

304 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (84)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (199)
Viewed
Amenities (16)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (50)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (34)
Viewed
Standard Double Room with Garden View (29)
Viewed
Standard Twin (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...

Staying in Greenwich

Neighborhood Profile
Greenwich
Greenwich Mean Time starts here, so to speak, as the very concept of global time was established at Royal Observatory, just one of several buildings of architectural interest in Greenwich. Indeed, the whole of Greenwich's historic town center, its Royal Park and a number of related buildings (and one world famous ship, the Cutty Sark) make up the UNESCO World Heritage site known as Maritime Greenwich. Today a laser beam is shot out across the night sky from the Observatory to mark the location of the Prime Meridian. Other bold (some say brash) 21st century additions to the area include landmarks such as The O2 entertainment complex (previously known as the Millennium Dome) and the Air Line cable cars, which offer scenic transport across the Thames between North Greenwich and the Royal Docks.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities