We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1,064 London hotels

Devonport House

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   King William Walk | Greenwich, London SE10 9JW, England (Greenwich)
Hotel amenities
Devonport House
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Devonport House to your Saves list
Ranked #358 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
rhoMom anchorage
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    272
    118
    36
    8
See reviews for
110
377
29
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (741)
  • Mar-May only
    (167)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (202)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (184)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (188)
All months
anchorage
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

From check-in to our last cuppa in the lounge, we loved this mostly-modern hotel with a twist of old-style English hospitality. The room was spacious (executive double), well-appointed and clean as a whistle. Our weekend in Greenwich was a cold and rainy one, so we took frequent breaks to stroll back for a warm-up in the ground floor lounge. Warm... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Devonport House Hotel is located next to Greenwich Park and is only a few minutes walk away from The Maritime Museum and the Cutty Sark. Getting to Central London is easy: either you take the DLR and the Underground or you get on one of the Thames Clippers ( if you want your trip to be overground). The hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tim G, Operations Manager at Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear onkeljonn, Thank you for your very kind review. I am delighted you had a good stay and could enjoy all our facilities. We hope to be able to welcome you back soon here at Devonport House. Kind regards, Tim Gehrke More 

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Ok, let me start off with the basics....this is NOT a Premier Inn, so if you are expecting everything shiny and new and freshly painted and the same as every other hotel in the chain, this hotel is not for you. If however you don't mind a room which is steeped in history and, yes, maybe has a few scuffs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tim G, Operations Manager at Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear GoB2013, Thank you very much for your kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Devonport House is full of history and has got a world heritage site within the grounds...which is the graveyard site. Once people explore the naval history of Greenwich, there is a lot to be found. Hopefully we will see you again... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just returned from 2 night stay at Devenport House Greenwich. Used as a base for visiting central London and a football match at Leyton Orient. excellent positiin. 5 min walk to underground station and plenty of places to eat in Greenwich Village. Had a couple of drinks in hotel bar and found the young lady serving delightful. in fact all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tim G, Operations Manager at Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear laticsjan, Thank you very much for your kind review. I am pleased you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to your next visit here. Kind regards, Tim Gehrke More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Hotel reception and dinning area is as expected, unfortunately the room 414 we stayed in on 13,14th of this month had a vial stench of sewerage, there had been an issue in the next room the night prior to our stay. This was discussed with duty managers and again at check out, I would of expected to be moved... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Tim G, Operations Manager at Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear Graig R, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Unfortunately we did have a issue the room next to you, but could not move you on the day as we were fully booked. This should have been explained and sadly now I can only again apologize that... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location is amazing, close to the Cutty Sark and backing on to Greenwich Park. However the sad fact was that the room was small and poorly maintained (I have stayed in nicer Travelodges), the towels had marks on them and the room service was ghastly. I didn't mind the wait too much as it was a Saturday night around... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tim G, Operations Manager at Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear Myles S, Thank you for your feedback. I am sad to hear you did not enjoy your stay with at all. There have been a few points raised which we will internally look at to improve on. Thanks for bringing this to our attention. Kind regards, Tim Gehrke More 

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I chose to stay in Greenwich area for convenient links to the O2 and quiet surrounding after busy couple of days in central part of London. The hotel has a great location near Greenwich Park and very easy, short distance walk to DLR train station. DRL offers a quick and straight link to London underground Central Line. The hotel itself... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tim G, Operations Manager at Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear Katarynka_Kate, Thank you very much for your kind review. I am very pleased you had a good time staying with us and we are looking forward to welcome you back here again soon. Kind regards, Tim Gehrke More 

Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have stayed at the Devonport on a number of occasions, and thought it was time to comment. For location, price and friendliness of the staff this hotel cannot be beaten. The rooms are great, we have stayed in various ones and have never experienced any problems or issues. It always seems that nothing is to much trouble for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tim G, Operations Manager at Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear tokcox01, Thank you very much for your kind review. I am ery pleased that we clearly have found a fan in you and we have be consistant every time you visited us. We are looking forward to welcome you back again. Kind regards, Tim Gehrke More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent location, not that clean for a supposed 4* hotel judging by the cobwebs in the bathroom . everything worked, ironniro and ironing board, hair dryer and a fan were provided. We paid £8.50 for breakfast each but was worth it. Parking on site was a big help. Situated right next to greenwich Park

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tim G, Operations Manager at Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear Mark L, Thank you very much for your review. I am sorry to read that we did not impress you during your stay with us. I have passed your feedback on to the housekeeping department to get fixed immediately. Thank you for highlighting all the other things provided in the room. Hopefully you will give us a chance to... More 

The Netherlands
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
98 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

This was my second stay here and the positive rating is the same. This time I was given a room overlooking the Courtyard which solved the noise problem I had last time. Walking distance to the DLR and the centre of Greenwich and immediately below the Observatory and next door to the Maritime museum. The overall quality is 4 star... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tim G, Operations Manager at Devonport House, responded to this review

Dear Dutch1505, Thank you very much for your review. I am pleased that we have impressed you again and the location could not be more central to Greenwich. We look forward to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Tim Gehrke More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Devonport House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonport House

Address: King William Walk | Greenwich, London SE10 9JW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Greenwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Devonport House 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Devonport House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonport House Hotel London
Devonport Hotel London
Devonport House London, England
Hotel Style:
#217 Business Hotel in London
#234 Luxury Hotel in London
#306 Romantic Hotel in London
#332 Family Hotel in London

102 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (81)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Staying in Greenwich

Neighborhood Profile
Greenwich
Greenwich Mean Time starts here, so to speak, as the very concept of global time was established at Royal Observatory, just one of several buildings of architectural interest in Greenwich. Indeed, the whole of Greenwich's historic town center, its Royal Park and a number of related buildings (and one world famous ship, the Cutty Sark) make up the UNESCO World Heritage site known as Maritime Greenwich. Today a laser beam is shot out across the night sky from the Observatory to mark the location of the Prime Meridian. Other bold (some say brash) 21st century additions to the area include landmarks such as The O2 entertainment complex (previously known as the Millennium Dome) and the Air Line cable cars, which offer scenic transport across the Thames between North Greenwich and the Royal Docks.
Explore this neighborhood