We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1,071 London hotels

Melbourne House Hotel

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   79 Belgrave Road, London SW1V 2BG, England (Victoria)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Rates Book Direct
Save Saved
You added Melbourne House Hotel to your Saves list
Melbourne House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Expedia.com Agoda.com
and 6 more sites!
86%
Ranked #310 of 1,071 hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
BrigitaP_13 Ljubljana, Slovenia
Write a Review

371 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    198
    45
    10
    6
See reviews for
67
113
38
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights since I came to London for business. I had one of the single bed rooms and I was really pleasantly surprised after reading some weird reviews about the two single bed rooms in this hotel. The room was big enough for one person, it was spotlessly clean, it had free wifi which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A nice place to stay when in London. Good installations, very clean, nice breakfast and good service. Bathroom with tub and shower. Well placed, close to British Parliament, Big Ben and Westminster Abbey. I recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Drammen, Norway
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I arrived a bit earlier than the check-in time, so I was able to leave my luggage by the reception. I was warned that London follows a lower standard when it comes to hygiene compared to what I´m used to in Norway and other countries, but the first thing I noticed was how clean everything was. I was assigned room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

This place was worse than awful. The room was last decorated and furnished in 1940's. The bedspread was older and was full of holes. There was a wooden folding chair that Peter Kay would have referred to as an "emergency chair" as the only form of seating in the room and the TV was square- when did you last see... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
manuelaLondon, Owner at Melbourne House Hotel, responded to this review

We were disappointed and sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We try to provide the best possible accommodation for our guests, our rooms are renovated frequently and kept up to date on a yearly basis. We understand that tastes and opinions will differ from guest to guest and therefore we always advise to use... More

Aalsmeer, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Location of the hotel is very good. Close to Victoria station. The room was very small but this is London. The hotel serves a continental breakfast which was very good. Staff was very friendly. Restaurents and pubs are close by. If you are looking for an hotel in London I certainly recommend this one.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stirling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed here for 5 days with a friend in mid- October. The hotel was spotlessly clean and very comfortable and the staff were extremely courteous and helpful at all times. The continental breakfast was ample. I would however would have liked to have seen some herbal tea/ decaffeinated tea/ decaffeinated coffee. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saarbrucken, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

A nicely run place with polite and very helpful people. Armed with your Oyster card you can quickly reach any point in London from there starting from the tube station nearby. Shops and diverse eateries are also close by. Kudos for the great breakfast: here you will find much more than the minimal "continental" breakfast served in comparable establishments in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
boston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay. Hotel has a great location, is sparkling clean,new bathroom and excellent breakfast. Wifi is spotty in hotel rooms but fine in lobby. Be careful if stairs are a problem, no lift . We would stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were coming to London for the Billy Elliot musical and were leaving the next day with the National Express for Bristol. This small and service-minded hotel was perfectly located for those two purposes (Close to Victoria Palace and Victoria Station). The hotel's owner was very service-minded and helpful. We had a room which consisted of two parts, making it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Worthing
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
10 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Having read reviews of many hotels along Belgrave Road, we chose to stay here. We were on the third floor and yes, there are 65 steps up from the entrance to this level but we already knew that we may be high up (after reading the reviews). On booking the room we were asked to state any preferences and we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Been to Melbourne House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne House Hotel

Also Known As:
Melbourne Hotel London
Melbourne House Hotel London, England
Address: 79 Belgrave Road, London SW1V 2BG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Victoria
Hotel Style:
#322 Family Hotel in London
#333 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Melbourne House Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Melbourne House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.