We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chamberlain Hotel

#386 of 1,060 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
130-135 Minories | City, London EC3 1NU, England
Special Offer
Trip Advisor 10% OFF
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chamberlain Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Chamberlain Hotel
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    212
    61
    21
    13
See reviews for
63
209
26
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (494)
  • Mar-May only
    (110)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (132)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (124)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (128)
All months
Northants
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My hubby and I stayed over on a Saturday night after watching a show. To be honest we normally stay at The Grange Tower Hill (it has a great pool) but they were fully booked. it was a totally different experience (but not in a bad way). the ambience was very old fashioned , the decor especially was,quite quaint. Room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chamberlain M, General Manager at Chamberlain Hotel, responded to this review

Dear T & R Clark, it is fantastic to see that although originally an unexpected alternative to your usual base, that you have enjoyed yourselves with us and would look to return. Please feel free to contact the hotel direct and check availability for the roof terrace bedrooms, if you are looking for a view then these are hard to... More 

Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Twin bedded room for a solo business trip - nice and clean, comfortable bed. I was awoken during the night by what sounded like a delivery or refuse collection, not sure if this is a regular occurrence, but coupled with the bright light on the outside of the building it did make for an unsettled nights sleep. I didn't eat... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chamberlain M, General Manager at Chamberlain Hotel, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, it seems we have just fallen short of what could have been an overall more enjoyable stay. I am sorry to hear that the refuse collection disturbed you, I can only assume they arrived earlier than the expectation, however I am struggling to establish which night this was from your review. Therefore if you would be as kind... More 

Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Popped in for Sunday lunch. It was quite late about 4 no one else was in. Waited about 45 min for food.. Pies and sandwich was great. Roast dinner veg gravey Yorkshire was great. Beef was very tuff asked for a steak knife. The portions were big though shame about the beef being so tuff. Will order chicken next time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chamberlain M, General Manager at Chamberlain Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kaza, this is a constructive review so I thank you for sharing your experience. I note that on a return visit you will look to order the chicken, as a safer bet. However, please rest assured that the team have both the skill set and equipment necessary to ensure that all roasts are cooked to perfection, it is just... More 

bodmin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is in a safe location and within easy access for tower of london and all the attractions. Five mins from tube. Room was warm, cosy, attractive and felt quite sumptious. Beds were great, the bathroom was very clean and new looking, all in all I was very happy with my choice and wouldn't hesitate to recommend to others.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chamberlain M, General Manager at Chamberlain Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sue, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. One of the real measures of an enjoyable stay is when guests would both return and/or reccommend to others. As you have stated in your review that you would not hesitate to do this then I can only conclude we delivered a great experience for you.... More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After checking into the Chamberlain we were disappointed instantly with our room. After booking an upgraded room we expected an air of luxury - we were left wondering what an earth our extra money had bought us! The room was 'nice' don't get me wrong, but light bulbs didn't work, the TV ariel was rubbish & gave no reception on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chamberlain M, General Manager at Chamberlain Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Steph, this is a valued review as it demonstrates some encouraging areas of the business, however it also demonstrates some areas for improvement in order to continue to improve our offer. It appears that the staff were helpful - which although in itself is great - however it meant that there was a slight delay at check in while... More 

Lanark, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
33 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very impressed with my newly refurbished room. Excellent comfort due to the facilities, including a Nespresso machine. Bathroom very nicely appointed. Staff that I encountered very friendly. Good location for The City

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chamberlain M, General Manager at Chamberlain Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brian, I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in one of our newly refurbished rooms. We worked hard to find a space that is comfortable and practical for all travellers so it is great to hear that this has paid off. I am happy to report that we are also looking to refurbish another entire... More 

Juneau, Alaska
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Kind and accommodating staff and lovely amenities made this a nice stay. I would have preferred larger than twin beds, but we took what they had available. Centrally located and was in walking distance to everywhere we wanted to be. Even the pub downstairs was lovely. Laundry service was wonderful!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chamberlain M, General Manager at Chamberlain Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kristininak, I was happy to read your review and I really do appreciate the fact that you have taken the time to recognise the staff and also the pub downstairs. It is good to see that you found the location to be suitable for your purposes. I note that you would have preferred a larger bed, somthing which I... More 

Basildon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here for one night with a friend to celebrate her birthday. The hotel is within walking distance of Fenchurch Street station and even though we arrived early we were able to check into our room straight away. We went for a coffee in the attached pub ( very nice pub, large and with screens for sports) and while... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chamberlain M, General Manager at Chamberlain Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Georgina, what a delightful review. One of the many rules we try to apply here at the Chamberlain is to "create great memories" and it appears that both Tracey and Sara (the team members who sang) managed to do this for the birthday weekend. I do hope we can welcome you back for another occassion in the near future.... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

Stayed for one night on business, room was beautifully done with wonderful attention to detail, staff very helpful and attentive, breakfast was lovely again served with a smile to get your day off to a great start, Fullers beers so plenty of choice all kept to a very high standard

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chamberlain M, General Manager at Chamberlain Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bobji, beautiful rooms leads to a beautiful review. I am delighted to see we have ticked the boxes of some of the most vital components of an enjoyable stay. The staff, the room, the breakfast and of course (most importantly) the well kept "Fuller's" beers. Thank you for your kind words, Warm regards Chris Kerr General Manager More 

Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015 via mobile

We went with friends and got a great weekend deal through their own website, we were very pleasantly surprised at the quality of the room and it's amenities, we booked the club room which was the cheapest they do, and was so shocked to find, not only did it have a fridge in the room but also supplied bathrobes, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chamberlain M, General Manager at Chamberlain Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jan, this is a lovely review to read, thank you so much for taking the time to do this and also for recognising the staff which assisted in making your weekend getaway an enjoyable one. I do hope we can welcome back to the Chamberlain hotel again soon. With warm regards Chris Kerr General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

151 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (108)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Staying in City of London

Neighborhood Profile
City of London
From its ancient past as a Roman trading outpost to its 21st century status as the wealthiest square mile in the world, the financial district known simply as “The City” is one of London's most historic and fascinating neighborhoods. Here high rise office towers such as Norman Foster’s Gherkin mingle with Roman ruins and architectural marvels from virtually every era in between, including Christopher Wren's glorious St.Paul's Cathedral, and John Soane's dauntingly classicist Bank of England. This neighborhood is also home to some of the finest restaurants and plushest hotels in Europe, in addition to an assortment of of watering holes, upscale shops, and Tube stations. During the week, the City is abuzz with white collar workers going about their business; the weekend sees this area turn into a quiet haven for sightseers.
Explore this neighborhood

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question