We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Novotel London City South

4.0 of 5 53-61 Southwark Bridge Road, London SE1 9HH, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Up to 40% OFF THIS WINTER
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
GreenLeadersSilver level
Novotel London City South
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Novotel London City South
Write a Review

1,321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    684
    220
    65
    28
See reviews for
689
216
61
197
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1321)
  • Mar-May only
    (324)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (336)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (325)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (336)
All months
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed in the in this hotel in January 2015. Disappointed that room has separate room for toilet and washroom. Also the hotel charges water for the minibar. Expensive drinking water in this hotel. Also, rooms are noisier, i could hear road traffic from the roof, in spite of the fact that room had double glazed windows.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I'm sorry you were disappointed with your experience. Whilst our superior rooms do have a separate toilet and bathroom, if you wish to book our exepcutive rooms in future the bathroom and toilet are not separated and you have complimentary water with the room. The double glazin does minimise noise, however if you prefer we... More 

Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here 24 january, good sized rooms clean tidy and very nice staff, only gripe was that for £16.00 the cooked breakfast was not very hot and not a lot of choice of items, apart from that an enjoyable stay, close to londin bridge and southwark tube stations also bus stops outside.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your positive feedback, I have taken note of your comments regarding breakfast and informed our food and beverage manager to invesigate. We hope to welcome you back to the Novotel London City South soon. Kind regards, Victoria Phillips Rooms Division Manager More 

Godalming, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here with my wife for a birthday night out in London. Our room was on the 6th floor right at the end of the hotel. The lifts weren't great, jolting and taking us up and down, then back up before eventually letting us out. Room clean and comfortable and when we came back in the evening, room was still... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here as a group of friends were having a evening out.Rooms are a good size and clean.Nice sized bathroom also.Room was quiet,warm and nicely decorated.Reception is spacious and staff are welcoming.Good location for bars and restaraunts..Did not try the restaraunt in the evening as we all had dinner out.Cant comment on breakfast either as we went into central london... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Victoria Phillips Rooms Division Manager More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed one night for business. Beautiful hotel. Rooms lovely and spacious with great views and comfy bed However.... Avoid the restaurant at all costs! We were joined by an extra visitor at dinner....A RAT!!! To our horror we even discovered four mouse traps at the far end of the restaurant behind the soup station. When we mentioned this to our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent experience at the Novotel London City South and for your postive comments about the hotel. Firstly, I would like to offer my apologies for the shock you must have experienced at the sight of a mouse in the restaurant, we have a preventative programme in place at... More 

Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms were quite nice. It was a very simple and easy layout to the hotel. And I realled liked the close proximity to great restaurants, the tube, pubs, grocery, shopping, walking to the bridges and closeness to the city.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully! Kind regards, Victoria Phillips Rooms Division Manager More 

Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
301 reviews 301 reviews
29 hotel reviews
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When travelling for business I don't have great expectations as long as the hotel meets good hygiene standards, the room is comfortable and located in a quiet area, and the breakfast is satisfying. I found all these requirements during my stay, and the only drawback was the poor wifi. I shall consider this place for a future leisure trip but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dreieich, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

no pillows. disgusting bath rooms. looked like a 2star hostel. room was not ready at 2pm. complimentary WLan is slower than GPRS. in close distance are the citizenM and a mercure that offers clean stylish rooms with boutique style service.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review

Thank you again for your comments, I hope you received my email directly regarding your stay. Kind regards, Victoria Phillips Rooms Division Manager More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We enjoyed our stay in Novotel hotel during new year s eve period. The room was big and the bed very comfortable. The bathroom offered both a bathtub and a shower with a separate room for toilet. The room was equiped with all the necessary facilities and the staff was very nice and welcoming. It is a very international place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Victoria Phillips Rooms Division Manager More 

Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is well situated for anyone wishing to explore the Southbank and Central London. Ideal location for trips to the Tate Modern and National Portrait Gallery. The hotel is clean, comfortable, and has a range of great facilities including a comfy bar and restaurant area and health spa and gym. Rooms were immaculately clean with well stocked mini bar.... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Victoria Phillips Rooms Division Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Novotel London City South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel London City South

Address: 53-61 Southwark Bridge Road, London SE1 9HH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > London Bridge , Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel London City South 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Novotel London City South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel London City South Hotel London
Accor London City South
London Novotel
Novotel London City South England
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in London
#262 Luxury Hotel in London
#277 Family Hotel in London

142 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (90)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (52)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Staying in Southwark

Neighborhood Profile
Southwark
Even before the arrival of the instantly iconic Shard, the riverside scene in Southwark had moved well beyond any up-and-coming phase of development. For quite some time, locals and out-of-towners alike have loved browsing the boutiques of Bermondsey High Street, foraging through the bounteous stalls at centuries old foodie haven Borough Market, and flocking to the banks of the Thames to enjoy some of Britain's biggest attractions such as Tate Modern and Shakespeare's Globe. Despite Southwark's many popular draws, instant calm can be achieved easily by turning down almost any side street. For more urban buzz, a quick stroll across famed bridges like the pedestrianized Millennium Bridge or the ever photogenic Tower Bridge yields access to the very core of Central London. And with London Bridge Station as this neighborhood's main transportation hub, getting across town (or to anywhere in England for that matter) is a relative breeze.
Explore this neighborhood