We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Westpoint Hotel

168 - 172 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 1TP, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Westpoint Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

551 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    47
    177
    174
    69
    84
See reviews for
158
134
30
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (551)
  • Mar-May only
    (130)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (156)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (147)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (118)
All months
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I just stayed a week at Westpoint Hotel, Paddington on a short trip with my mum. The location is great, as it is a short walk to/from Paddington station, which has direct trains from Heathrow - very handy, and is around a 45 min train ride. It is also close to cafes, pubs and there are a few shops worth... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The overall stay was OK, basic facilities, small bathroom and even smaller sink. We were highly disappointed when we found out the wi-fi was NOT free and we had to pay a daily fee in order to get internet access. Only 15' free wi-fi were allowed for the entire stay! This was indeed unpleasant..

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for leaving your review about your stay with us. Let us inform you that the wifi is provided from an external system and they charge accordingly, you provide computers in the lobby café’ that you are welcome to use for free. Thanks again, Regards Westpoint Hotel More 

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I was here for a week and had a great stay. It's close to Paddington station, so that's very very helpful if your coming from Heathrow like I was. My room was clean and well kept; my only complaint is the room was really really small. I have been to London many times and all over Europe...this was the smallest... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we are happy to read your feedback. The Hotel is convenient and as hystorical building the room are not standard size, therefore you are always welcome to request a bigger room depending on the availability our reception staff is always happy up 24 h to satisfy your need. We are looking forward to welcome you again in the... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

The room we saw on the pictures was already quite small, but to have 3*3 meters was still a negative surprise. The answer from the reception "that's marketing". Staff was unfriendly, the sheets not really clean (hair on the blanked!) Already at 8.30am the housekeeping is knocking on the door to clean the room. Noisy hotel, doors are not at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for review us in trip advisor, let me inform you that this comment is really disappointing having receiving such positive comments about the reception staff. We apologize that the cleaning staff knocked your door by mistake, it is not usual. We are disappointed you did not feedback your experience to the staff during your stay as we could have... More 

Baku, Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

I have to say that I don't understand the bad reviews given to this hotel. before booking and making my choice I read them all and I was a bit scared the room could have been too small, noisy and whatever. it is not like that. First of all the staff is very polite and kind. We came two hours... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Westpoint Hotel. It is always an encouragement to receive such positive feedback and that you enjoyed a hassle free experience. This is greatly appreciated and we are delighted that the location is suited to your requirements. Thank you very much again Best Regards Westpoint... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

I stayed at this hotel on my last vacation and only when I got home I realized that I had been charged twice for our stay. I called the hotel and the person who got the call made me wait forever to listen to my complain. She simply told me to send an e-mail explaining what happened. I did so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

I booked to stay in this hotel from July 5 to 10 through booking.com. Just after the period of free cancellation, I fell seriously ill and had to be hospitalised. I was charged the entire tariff of £428 for the 5 nights. I realize that the cancellation policy stated that the money was not refundable if cancelled after June 29,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are really sorry to hear about your illness, but we must follow our terms and conditions in all situations. Please note that our website and booking.com state that to confirm the booking we charge the full amount in advance and with regard to the cancellation policy: five days notice is required for cancellations and in the event... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015

It is what it is a small London hotel that is reasonably priced, its location is brilliant near Paddington and Hyde Park. The rooms are small and warm in the summer. They have all what you need and were spotlessly clean as was the whole hotel. We found the staff freindly and service minded, they tried very hard, you get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your comment and we are elated that you have had an enjoyable time with us at the Westpoint Hotel. We are so happy to hear that you have found our hotel to be extremely well located which it certainly is! We are also happy that you were very satisfied with the cleanliness of... More 

Washington Dc, District Of Columbia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

My husband had booked a room at Westpoint Hotel through Booking.com. He fell very ill two days before the stay had to be taken to the emergency and was hospitalized. We were under a lot of stress and forgot to cancel. Booking.com charged us for the whole stay of five days :( After he came back from the hospital we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are really sorry to hear about your illness, but we must follow our terms and conditions in all situations. Please note that our website and booking.com state that to confirm the booking we charge the full amount in advance and with regard to the cancellation policy: five days notice is required for cancellations and in the event... More 

Socorro, New Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

We paid only £89 a night to stay at this hotel and for the price we paid, It was well worth the stay. Some of the staff were superb and others were a bit rude, but the rude ones were easily ignored. Our room was on the 4th floor and was a little warm, and we were pleased to find... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. As you mention unfortunately we do not have air conditioning or the possibility to install one as our property is a listed building therefore all rooms are equipped with a fan and you are always welcomed to require an extra one at reception. We are sorry to hear... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Very small(5)
  • Paddington station(4)
  • Hyde park(4)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

103 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (97)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (31)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Abbey Court Hotel
#654 of 1,055 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Tudor Court Hotel
#632 of 1,055 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 500 reviews
Notting Hill
The Abbey Court Notting Hill
The Abbey Court Notting Hill
#404 of 1,055 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Falcon Hotel
#579 of 1,055 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 369 reviews
The Darlington Hyde Park
#202 of 1,055 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,642 reviews
Hotel Edward Paddington
#748 of 1,055 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay