We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 522 London B&Bs / inns

Somerset Hotel

3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   6 Dorset Square | Gloucester Place, London NW1 6QA, England (Marylebone)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Somerset Hotel to your Saves list
Somerset Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
20%
Ranked #394 of 522 London B&B and Inns
  • Overview
  • Reviews (247)
  • Photos (151)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (19)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

247 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    37
    51
    57
    97
See reviews for
47
64
12
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

One could write a well balanced review of this hotel, which has advantages as much as deficiencies. Overall one has to admit that the professional staff is working at an indefensible position. No matter how much they care, the hotel is bad. You cannot make a lady's handbag from a pig's ear. Most important point is that there are bedbugs... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I really didn't expect too much but this hotel is dreadful. It was like stopping in a cell, three grey walls, one black wall, thread bear brown carpet and a sani-flow bathroom. The window was rotten, the curtains were ill-fitting. The room was stiflingly hot even with a fan. The place need a complete re-fit, it was dingy and smely.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed one night here because we arrived a day earlier than initially planned and the hotel we had originally booked was full for this night. Location is great but the rooms very dingy, uncomfortable bed/pillows and it seemed like the smell from the toilet/pipes was coming up through the drains every time you flushed the toilet. Shower curtain was mouldy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having used booking.com on previous occasions and always been happy, I was some what surprised to see that they would put their name to such a hotel. My room was not as pictured in booking.com The carpet was ripped across the middle of the room which could cause a potential accident. The window was really rotten and you had to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nether Stowey, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

One of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in. We were told the hotel is open all night. Unsurprising really, as the front door's lock was entirely missing. You couldn't even shut it. We were told there was no reception presence from 5.30pm - 10.30am. Our room had a TV, but it was in a stinking corridor room unviewable... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
somersetLondon, Manager at Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

Hi David First of all I would like to apologise for the negative experience you have had during your stay. However I am disappointing in you comments especially as at no point did you come back to me at the reception to raise any concerns. The room you where in had two parts to it, the bedroom and the front... More

Tampere, Finland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

After reading rewievs here I wasn't expecting much, but this hotel was okay for a short visit. Location is excellent! Staff was nice and reception area clean. Room was not very nice, but clean and good size. Beds were comfy enough. Bathroom was small and seemed like the renovation wasn't quite finished... Overall ok hotel, but I won't be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wales
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Basic is one thing, but this hotel is not even classifiable as basic. It was like something out of a horror movie. No one ever answers the phone, no one on reception. Creepiest place I've been ever, torn carpets, really dodgy cellar to get drinks/ breakfast. The doors in the room shake as though someone is trying to get in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Merikarvia, Finland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

This B&B was a pleasant surprise. After reading reviews here we almost cancelled our booking, luckily we didn´t. Our room was clean and big enough. Great location, comfy beds, clean newly tiled bathroom. At this price one can´t get a better hotel in central London.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

This hotel was booked for me by my company as I was attending a meeting in London the following day; the reviews I read concerned me however I said as long as it was clean, I wouldn't mind. On arrival I was pleasantly surprised as the decor was lovely and it looked clean (!) however as described by others there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Somerset Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Somerset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Hotel

Address: 6 Dorset Square | Gloucester Place, London NW1 6QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Somerset Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Venere, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and EasyToBook so you can book your Somerset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Hotel London, England

151 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (139)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Somerset Hotel was established during the Georgian Times in 1885, it is a traditional, comfortable and safe hotel ideally located in the heart of Central London. Situated in the leafy and affluent borough of Marylebone, Somerset Hotel is a charming 2 star Bed & Breakfast townhouse hotel. The rooms are medium sized and have all the basic facilities which allow for a comfortable stay for all our guests. Historic surroundings such as Dorset Square, which used to be the original Lord's Cricket Ground, Harley Street and Regent's Park are all but a few minutes away. We are a family run hotel and believe that we offer a great base for tourist and avid city explorers at affordable rates compared to other hotels in the area. The hotel is family and child friendly offering a secure and safe environment. The staff are always welcoming and on hand to help out whenever requested. If you are looking for a cheap city break or a family holiday then we are the place to stay. Furthermore, all 27 en-suite guestrooms at the Somerset Hotel London are nicely decorated to guarantee you a comfortable and pleasant stay, ideal for both the business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
27

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer