We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blades Hotel

122 Belgrave Rd, London SW1V 2BL, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blades Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Blades Hotel
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    141
    38
    22
    14
See reviews for
78
83
33
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (294)
  • Mar-May only
    (67)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (93)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (87)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (47)
All months
Florida
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
69 hotel reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We arrived early after a long flight from America, but our room was ready and we were able to check in. It was a nice surprise when we were upgraded to a larger room; however, if stairs are a problem, request a lower floor as there is no lift. The ensuite bathroom is really small. Breakfast was a simple buffet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leiden, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had an early check in time (11.00 a.m.) and our room was ready for us! We were on the top floor, but were helped with our luggage. Do take in mind there is no elevator! Very friendly and flexible staff. I agree the wifi is not super but it works most of the time, and I found out it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff is very friendly and helpful - especially Antonella. I've stayed at this hotel 4 times in the last few years and will continue to come back. This hotel is always clean and the breakfast is plentiful - it's a great value for what you pay plus its conveniently located to the museums and near Buckingham Palace.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

Stayed here for one night only and was checking in late and checking out early. As I needed to leave before they started serving breakfast, I was offered something delivered to my room in the evening. I was very impressed with the tray with different foods: bread, cheese, hams, orange juice, milk with cereals, and three yoghurts (photo attached). Having... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

I had a quick stop over in London and chose this hotel to stay at because of its great value. It was in a safe and quiet part of the city with lots of great cafes, bars, restaurants and take aways close by. It was a 2 minute walk to the underground tube station from the hotel and there were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

Warm and welcoming staff but the internet did not work properly for me. The staff told me I was the only to have problems yet when I spoke with two other guests they said they also had problems. The neighborhood is nice. It is an old fashioned hotel. It would be good value if the internet worked. I stayed four... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
bladeshotel, Manager at Blades Hotel, responded to this review

This guest was very demanding and not only with the internet. The staff spent many “hours” with her trying to fix her laptop which was the only computer we were not able to connect to our wifi. Despite what she says we didn't receive any other complaint at the time. We understand it can be frustrating not to get connected... More 

Lowestoft, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
80 hotel reviews
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

I stayed here for one night as I was on business in the area the next day. The hotel is located conveniently just a few minutes walk from Pimlico Tube station and about 10 minutes walk from Victoria Station. Landmarks such as Buckingham Palace and Westminster Abbey are 20-30 minutes walk away so it's a nice location. Welcome was friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Galway
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

I stayed here for a single night lately on a business trip. Great night's sleep, comfy room and very quiet. A lot of stairs so you need to be up to climbing as the hotel is a narrow, tall building with about 3 rooms per floor. But I would happily stay here again. Very pleasant receptionist who was very warm... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

Stayed 1 night. We were on the top floor, quite the climb and with no lift. It was nice that we were able to check in early and front desk agent was very warm and welcoming. Location good. Breakfast better than I expected, with cereal, cheese, cold cuts, coffee... Bed decently comfortable. Problems: Internet not working on the upper floors.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
bladeshotel, Manager at Blades Hotel, responded to this review

We offer the wifi for free to our guests, and it's a very good fibre optic connection which usually works very well, but as in all London areas can be funny sometimes and the issue can't be solved in a short period of time, however we invited the guest to refresh her device as we had no complaints and also... More 

Wales
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

Small and dated budget hotel but in a great location for exploring the sights. Staff were pleasant and welcoming. Continental breakfast was good. Bed was very comfortable. All in all, we would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

75 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (69)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Staying in Pimlico

Neighborhood Profile
Pimlico
Time spent in Pimlico is a slower-paced affair than most other Central London neighborhoods. This largely residential area orderly arranged beside the Thames, is a treasure trove of quaint pubs, subtle architectural charms and local boutiques. Here, art lovers thrill at the chance to visit the world class Tate Britain gallery for its collection of British art from the 1500s to the present. For peace and quiet and some downtime spent along the Thames, Pimlico is highly recommended.
Explore this neighborhood

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question