We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 513 London B&Bs / inns

Central Hotel

2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   16 Argyle Street, London WC1H 8EQ, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Central Hotel to your Saves list
Central Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
61%
Ranked #180 of 513 London B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Carolyn V New Plymouth, New Zealand
Write a Review

296 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    125
    83
    34
    18
See reviews for
44
76
33
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Outside looked lovely, inside reception area was cluttered with boxes (obviously items for hotel) staff were friendly on reception. The room itself was tiny, with the bed pushed under the window and up to the wall, the room was not well maintained, plaster showing where pictures had been put up etc. the bathroom was extremely small barley able to turn... More

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Rooms clean and nicely furnished, nice staff and well situated for tube and mainline stations. The breakfast room is small so you may not get a seat, not good if you needed to be somewhere early as I did. Staff sent me back my expensive jacket I stupidly left in the room, which was really good of them! Thank you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked 2 nights but after the first we could not bare staying and changed to another hotel. the hotel is in a good location but apart from that there is no reason to stay here. we where directed to our room (number 5) which was in the basement sharing a toilet with rooms 1-6. toilet was very shabby and noisy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Central_Hotell, Front Office Manager at Central Hotel, responded to this review

The room you booked was with a shared bathroom and for your information the toilet and shower is only shared with one other room (Single Room) and not as you mentioned. The rest of the rooms on the lower level are ensuite (Toilet and shower inside the rooms). We take peoples comments very seriously and we do our utmost to... More

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Delux double room, no 21 on the 2nd floor = 2.4 x 2.4 approx (& v hot) with ensuite 75 x 1.8. Poor shower pressure. New doors etc still unpainted as was the staircase. Room decor new & tasteful. TV, kettle etc (but too large to fill from the tap!), plenty of coffee/tea etc, canvas wardrobe, no bedside tables, v... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Central_Hotell, Front Office Manager at Central Hotel, responded to this review

Dear de-da 2014, Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review on our hotel. Our bedroom sizes are a reflection of our location, however, we hope you found all the amenities you required and wish to welcome you back in the future. Since your visit, the staircase is now painted, and as regards the room, a... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

staff are nice, and bedrooms are clean, however the shower and toilet cubicle in the corridor is the most uninviting one I have seen for 20 years, Stair carpets are very dirty, trains rumble underneath once a minute. There is no bedside lamp. Breakfast is very mediocre Admittedly they are doing some improvements to the reception, but currently that only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Central_Hotell, Front Office Manager at Central Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Suzanne q, Thank you for taking the time to write your review on our hotel. We have taken note of your comments. We will be upgrading the room and the common toilet and shower in the very near future. We apologize for any inconvenience caused. Many Thanks and Kind Regards. More

Dingwall, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

The rooms were clean obviously recently done... 4 tables with 4 place settings.. ..the smell of breakfasts getting cooked was disgusting...the smell filtered Into the bedroom....i dont know what kind of hen layed the egg i had...the bacon was stone cold.would have been nice if i was offered scrambled egg...didnt go for breakfast 2nd morning..eating out was better option....

Was this review helpful? Yes
Central_Hotell, Front Office Manager at Central Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fiona R, Thanks for taking the time to write your review on our hotel. We do apologize about the smell of cooked food. As you might have noticed, we are currently refurbishing our hotel. Unfortunately we cannot complete everything in one go, but we are currently in the process of upgrading our Kitchen, and when it is complete, I... More

natalie2110
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here early February as we were going to Harry Potter studios in Watford on the Saturday. The location was EXCELLENT, it is literally over the road from King's Cross station, and about a 10ish minute walk to Euston Station (where we got the train to Watford). The room is quite small but absolutely fine. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Central_Hotell, Front Office Manager at Central Hotel, responded to this review

Dear NatalieR21, Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review on our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your short stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Many Thanks and Kind Regards. More

Loughborough, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed at the central hotel for 1 night everything perfect room excellent and the staff were very helpful. Breakfast although not massive was just enough to keep you going till lunchtime. The location of the hotel was amazing straight off the train at kings cross cross the road and you are there. Would definitely return to this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
clwyd
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
48 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

This small B&B Hotel is in an excellent position close to many facilities and rail connections including the Euro Star. Defiantly a one night only location but with welcoming reception / kitchen / cleaning staff and quite good breakfasts. Although no lift or air com and subject to some degree of street noise - it is upgrading and getting better.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel

Also Known As:
Central Hotel London
Central Hotel London, England
Address: 16 Argyle Street, London WC1H 8EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #180 of 513 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Central Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central hotel is a family run bed and breakfast conveniently located in the heart of central London offering superb value for money accommodation. The hotel is situated barely a minutes walk from Kings Cross Tube Station, St Pancras international and offers easy access to all of London's tourist sights, shopping districts and theatres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Budget Places and Venere so you can book your Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.