We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1,073 London hotels

Sofitel London St James

5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique breakfast
Save Saved
You added Sofitel London St James to your Saves list
Sofitel London St James
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
95%
Ranked #21 of 1,073 hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
MiaMew Sydney, Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (2,369)
  • Photos (502)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (152)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

2,369 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,844
    406
    82
    26
    11
See reviews for
503
1063
181
368
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed for 2 nights! The staff make this hotel very pleasent and helpfull and look happy to be working there. Breakfeast are amazing great start for the days ahead. Stayed in a classic room not big however bed very nice good showers. It was our Anversery and on the second night the hotel laid on a lovely cake in our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed for six nights at this hotel in June. We arrived by Eurostar into St. Pancras Railway station and took the underground to Piccadilly Circus Tube Station. The hotel is a short, two block walk from Piccadilly Circus Station. The staff were very helpful and after a quick check in(we arrived early, around 10:30 am and our room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

Dear guest, I thank you for your words of praise. I am truly happy to hear that you have very much enjoyed your stay at Sofitel London St James. I thank you also for pointing out our attentive staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in our central yet quiet hotel. Au revoir, Nicolas More

Quechee, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great location - a little off the main roads so surprisingly quiet at night but close to all the main central London activities. Service was absolutely first class and we wre well taken care of at every part of our stay from checking in, to getting a taxi to service in the bar. Rooms are nicely decorated but ours was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

Dear guest, I am happy ot hear that you have very much enjoyed staying at Sofitel London St James. Indeed our location is perfect as it is central yet on the quiet Waterloo Place. I thank you for pointing out our excellent service as we strive in genuinely providing high standards. We look forward to your next visits. Au revoir,... More

Buderim, Australia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We booked a "luxury room" @ £360 per night. London has always offered poor value for money compared with other great cities. So our room expectation was lowered but we focussed on the 32m2 and the fast internet. The actual bedroom is 3.5 x 4 m for about 14 m2. The hall ( containing 2 small wardrobes is over 10m2.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

Dear guest, I thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your room. As a matter of fact our rooms do not have the same layout and shape so each and every one is different however Luxury Rooms are spacious and much much larger than the measurements mentioned in your message. Usually our... More

Austin, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is one of the best hotels I have ever visited in London! The beds were incredibly comfortable and soft. The great food at the Balcon was an added bonus. I highly recommend staying here at the Sofitel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for complimenting Sofitel London St James as well as its restaurant The Balcon! We look forward to welcoming you back. Au revoir, Nicolas More

Cheshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Sofitel London St James Hotel for 4 nights in July. We were on a family holiday to London to see the sights. The hotels location was absolutely perfect for seeing the sights of London, right next to Piccadilly Circus and Trafalgar Square would really recommend for this. When we were checking in we all got complimentary... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

Dear guest, I am truly happy to hear that you and your family have very much enjoyed your stay at Sofitel London St James. Indeed all of our guests are very important to us and we genuinely love to pamper them. We look forward to many other visits of yours. Au revoir, Nicolas More

Valencia, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Planning our 35th anniversary to London we picked the Sofitel St. James because of it's reputation. We were overwhelmed with their staff and service and not disappointed. We had arrived from Los Angeles after a long delayed flight tired, hungry and weary. Since the Tour de France was in London that day our transfer from Heathrow was cancelled plus no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

Dear guests, Thank you very much for this great feedback! Thank you for pointing out the very attentive staff as our priority is to pamper all of our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back with our undivided attention. Au revoir, Nicolas More

Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The location (close to the Theatre Royal), décor, helpfulness of the staff and the evening meal in The Balcon were excellent. We expected a 'cooked to order' breakfast not a disappointing buffet. The rest of the breakfast choices were very good. If you cannot get hot water in the bath; ask where the safety button is.

Was this review helpful? Yes
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

Dear guest, I thank you for your positive feedabck. I am happy to hear that you have had an enjoyable stay with us. With regards to breakfast, you can definitely have it ordered A La Carte if you wish so. We also have this option appart from our fresh buffet. Looking forward to your next visits. Au revoir, Nicolas More

Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a business trip and had a fantastic time. The hotel staff couldn't do enough for us, from the moment I booked the stay through to the time we left. The location is perfect - the peace of St James Park where we ran every morning and the hubbub of Piccadilly and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

Dear guest, I thank you for this great feedback! I am truly happy to hear that you have had a very enjoyable stay. I look forward to welcoming you back for leisure purposes too. Au revoir, Nicolas More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Sofitel London St James, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Piccadilly circus(25)
  • Great location(19)
  • Very good(18)
  • Buckingham palace(10)
  • Trafalgar square(8)
  • Room service(6)
  • Comfortable bed(6)
  • Rooms are spacious(5)
  • Friendly and helpful(3)

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London St James England
London Sofitel St James

502 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (482)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (68)
Viewed
Room/suite (152)
Viewed
Bathroom (64)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
1:34
Videos (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (154)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#8 Family Hotel in London #9 Spa Hotel in London #9 Business Hotel in London #18 Luxury Hotel in London #19 Romantic Hotel in London
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features "The Balcon" French brasserie, the St James Bar elegant cocktail bar and the sumptuous Rose Lounge. It is also the perfect place to unwind with the gym and relaxation space, So FIT by Sofitel, and So SPA by Sofitel, a new kind of Spa experience. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
184

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer