We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sofitel London St James

#21 of 1,052 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Special Offer
Chic Apéritif by Sofitel
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with ACCORHOTELS.COM to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel London St James
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sofitel London St James
Add Photo Write a Review

2,895 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    2,284
    473
    93
    29
    16
See reviews for
631
1,289
208
447
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (2895)
  • Mar-May only
    (752)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (739)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (707)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (697)
All months
Mooroolbark
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had never been to London before and boy did we make the right choice on this hotel. From the moment we first arrived to when we left, the whole Sofitel experience was wonderful. We had High Tea in the Rose Room. This was just what we needed after a 21 hour flight from Australia. Time to sip our champagne,... More 

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

Dear sir, I was delighted to read your very positive feedback! Thank you for your words of praise with regards to our genuine, personalized high standards of service. As a matter of fact we love to pamper our guests and I am glad to hear that you were impressed. We look forward to welcoming you back with our undivided attention... More 

Paris, France
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Perfect place for a business trip / romantic week-end. Rooms are large, really quiet and they have a large and beautiful bathroom with shower and tub. The mybed concept still is one of the best in the world, and the air conditioning is silent enough. Great food for breakfast with efficient staff and cook if you need a special diet.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for this positive feedback! Thank you for complimenting our breakfast as we proud ourselves in offering the freshest products on the market. I can tell that you have had wonderful nights of sleep thanks to our MyBed system which takes our guests to sleep like onto fluffy clouds. We look forward to your next... More 

Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Sofitel St James is a 3 - 5 minute walk to Piccadilly Circus, Bond Street, Regent Street, Shaftsbury Avenue..West End Theatres and just off The Mall. You could not find a better location for a Five Star Hotel in London. The check-in/check-out process is seamless and very pleasant. Every staff member from Housekeeping, Room Service, Reception to Porter make... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

Dear guests, Thank you so much for this wonderful feedback. Indeed every single guest is very special to us therefore we look after each of them with all our heart. We look forward to welcoming you back in our centrally located hotel. A bientot, Nicolas Pesty More 

Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Our family of 5 recently stayed at the Sofitel St James - this property is truly lovely. It is elegant, beautifully appointed in the common areas and guest rooms and all staff members are extremely polite, professional, friendly and more than happy to help with anything you require. The breakfast room is gorgeous and the breakfast options are very good.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your excellent feedback. We like our guests to feel all special and to have a memorable experience. I am really pleased that you enjoyed every moment of your stay at Sofitel London St James and you liked everything from the décor, service and breakfast to the relaxing drinks in the bar. We look forward to... More 

Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Before our stay, I was not familiar with Sofitel hotels. But after our recent stay at the St. James, this hotel has become one of my favorites. Literally from the moment we arrived there, the service was top-notch; all of the staff members that we encountered were friendly and helpful. The attendant who brought our luggage up to the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your excellent comments. I am very pleased that you had such a lovely experience for your first stay in a Sofitel hotels. Good service and service from the heart is essential and all the teams work hard to make sure all the guests have a memorable stay. I am glad that you also... More 

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I recently stayed at the Sofitel London St James and it has gone straight to the top of my favourite hotels. The moment we arrived we were met by one of the nicest door men I have ever met. He remembered our names and greeted us cheerily every time we arrived back. The whole hotel is beautifully decorated and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your excellent feedback. I am very pleased that you had such a pleasant stay and enjoyed our service as much as our facilities and location. I will share your comments with my team and particularly the Concierge. We look forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards Nicolas Pesty More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Although the room was small, it was plenty big enough for the three of us for a night. The hotel staff were very attentive and welcoming. There are great restaurants nearby, and we had a lovely cocktail in the restaurant bar after dinner. It was a great location for Buckingham Palace.

Was this review helpful? Yes
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your nice comments. I am glad you enjoyed our location and the excellent service we offer. I am pleased to know you found time to enjoy a cocktail in our St James Bar; our Bar Manager creates a new list of cocktails regularly. Hopefully you will sample an other one at your next... More 

Adelaide
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel is really classy and front desk staff were very helpful. Wifi is free and the speed is really good! 2 min walk to Trafalgar Square, lovely walk through St James Park, 5-10 mins walk to Buckingham Palace and Big Ben. My only complaint would be how difficult it is to work the heritage looking shower heads but we got... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your excellent feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed our superb location and appreciated the efficiency of the Front Desk team. However, I am sorry to hear that you had some difficulties managing the shower. I hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Nicolas Pesty More 

Fremont, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotels, as in real estate, it is location, location, location. The Sofitel St. James has it in spades! As well as excellence in personalized, kind and attentive service. The St. James was our choice to avoid automobile traffic tie ups. We were able to walk to our fav museums at Trafalgar Square et al. Helpful concierge staff were wonderful. Loved... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your excellent feedback. I am so pleased that you had a fantastic stay, enjoyed the location, the quality of our service and the amenities. I hope we have the pleasure to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards Nicolas Pesty More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Piccadilly circus(20)
  • Great location(19)
  • Very good(16)
  • Trafalgar square(7)
  • Buckingham palace(6)
  • Rooms are spacious(5)
  • Comfortable bed(5)
  • Room service(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

627 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (579)
Viewed
Room/suite (172)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (96)
Viewed
Dining (47)
Viewed
Bathroom (70)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
1:34
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (172)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (48)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#6 of 1,052 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 546 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#45 of 1,052 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,485 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#12 of 1,052 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#23 of 1,052 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 2,045 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#18 of 1,052 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in St. James's

Neighborhood Profile
St. James's
Perennially fashionable since the days of Henry VIII, the aristocratic “Clubland” of St James's is a premier destination for high end craft and bespoke design. Here you’ll lose count of the Royal Warrants (which indicate that the Royal Family patronizes the establishment) seen in shop front windows, even during a short stroll to bordering Green Park or St James’s Park. With the brightly lit and constantly buzzing junction of Piccadilly Circus at its northeast corner and none of Central London too far away, this is an surprisingly central and accessible part of town, especially given its prosperous demeanor.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Back to top