We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sofitel London St James

5.0 of 5 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Magnifique Breakfast
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sofitel London St James
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sofitel London St James
Write a Review

2,654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,075
    448
    89
    27
    15
See reviews for
574
1,186
194
402
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (2654)
  • Mar-May only
    (612)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (636)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (709)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (697)
All months
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

I loved the Sofitel Spa, and the staff were very nice and friendly. The only complaint I would say is that although I enjoyed my pedicure and facial I thought that it was a little expensive for the treatments.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brasília, Distrito Federal, Brazil
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel is very comfortable, breakfast is well served, with plenty of options of breads, yogurts, eggs, among others. The location is excellent, walking distant from Picadilly Circus and many touristic spots. Service although could be improved. I was spending vacations in London, so I used to wake up a little late but I used to be disturbed by the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Thank you for your positive feedback. I am glad to hear that you have very much enjoyed your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back. A bientôt, Nicolas More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Sofitel St. James Hotel is located at 5 mins. walking distance from Piccadilly Circus or Charing Cross tube stations. Many famous sites are nearby, as well as bars/restaurants, nightclubs and the West End theatres. The staff here get top marks for friendliness and customer service. I would like management to acknowledge in particular the great service that Soraya at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

Dear guest, I thank you for your detailed, positive feedback. I thank you also for pointing out some members of the team who are indeed an asset for the hotel and our restaurant The Balcon. As a matter of fact we genuinely love to look after and to pamper our guests. I am therefore very glad to hear that you... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed in this hotel once again for a short business visit to London. Service from the moment of my arrival was outstanding: doorman, reception staff and restaurant. My junior suite was clean, well appointed with plenty of sitting and working space. I had an excellent dinner in the Balcon restaurant. The hotel is ideally located for business, being just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

Dear Sir, I thank you for this great feedback! I thank you also for pointing out your positive impressions on both your room and our restaurant The Balcon. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Nicolas More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Pleasant stay. Nice room, great deco. I love the bar (low key) with great snacks cocktails àd service. Staff overall is v good. Location is amazing. I heard restaurant is great too but didn t get the chance to try it yet

Was this review helpful? Yes
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your words of praise regarding our high standards of service. We look forward to your next visits. A bientôt. Nicolas More 

Kuwait City, Kuwait
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Best location and services & Staff .. Clean room and bathroom .. Exellant food and restaurant ( the balcon ) .. Wormful staff , helping hands concierge , safe and clean area , excellent for the tourist and vacations .

Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for this positive feedback. I am really happy to hear that you have loved your experience all throughout the hotel. We look forward to your next visits. A bientôt, Nicolas More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

An amazing hotel. The decor and amenities are fab. We had a luxury room and it was VERY nice indeed. This is to understate the hotel experience though. Probably the best part of the whole experience, is the staff. They are outstandingly polite, cheerful, obliging and go well beyond the call of duty. The difference between one 4/5 star hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Thank you so much for this wonderful feedback. We genuinely love to look after our guests and it is always a pleasure for us to hear extremely satisfied guests. We then look forward to welcoming you back with our undivided attention. A bientôt, Nicolas More 

Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I've just returned back from Sofitel today. We attended for my mums 60th birthday. The service at this hotel us absolutely fantastic, phenomenal. We couldn't of been treated any better. There were 3 of us in one room, room was lovely, clean, although a little on the small side for 3 people. We had an issue with the 3rd bed,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

Dear guests, I thank you for your wonderful feedback. It was a true pleasure for us to treat all of you for this special occasion. I thank you for your words of praise regarding our high standards of service. We look forward to your next visits. A bientôt, Nicolas More 

Vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My husband and my son love this hotel when travelling for business. I had high expectations and was quite disappointed. The first 2 rooms we were shown were quite small with a queen size bed, tiny bathrooms, very dim lighting and an overall sense of brown drabness. We are used to king size beds and when we complained we were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

Dear guest, I thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you have found that the rooms allocated to you were dark as this is quite an unusual comment. I do apologize for the issue with your TV. This has been fixed and will not happen again. With regards to breakfast, the quality of food served in... More 

Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Regrettably we only spent one night at this hotel. It was very comfortable with the junior suite we booked being quite large with a comfortable seating area. The bed was very wide and the bathroom had both a shower stall and bath. The location is very good being convenient for the both shopping and theatre land. The building is magnificent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

Dear guest, I thank you for this positive feedback. It was a pleasure for us to welcome you. We look forward to your next visits. A bientôt, Nicolas More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Piccadilly circus(25)
  • Great location(19)
  • Very good(17)
  • Buckingham palace(10)
  • Trafalgar square(8)
  • Comfortable bed(6)
  • Room service(6)
  • Rooms are spacious(5)
  • Friendly and helpful(3)

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, Odigeo, ACCOR, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London St James England
London Sofitel St James
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in London
#10 Spa Hotel in London
#12 Business Hotel in London
#22 Romantic Hotel in London
#23 Luxury Hotel in London

580 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (532)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (80)
Viewed
Room/suite (163)
Viewed
Bathroom (69)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
1:34
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (156)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (48)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Staying in St. James's

Neighborhood Profile
St. James's
Perennially fashionable since the days of Henry VIII, the aristocratic “Clubland” of St James's is a premier destination for high end craft and bespoke design. Here you’ll lose count of the Royal Warrants (which indicate that the Royal Family patronizes the establishment) seen in shop front windows, even during a short stroll to bordering Green Park or St James’s Park. With the brightly lit and constantly buzzing junction of Piccadilly Circus at its northeast corner and none of Central London too far away, this is an surprisingly central and accessible part of town, especially given its prosperous demeanor.
Explore this neighborhood