We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nell Gwynn House Apartments

Sloane Avenue, London SW3 3AX, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Nell Gwynn House Apartments
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

101 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    36
    32
    16
    9
    8
See reviews for
43
9
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (101)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (33)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Lahore, Pakistan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We chose this two bedroom apartment for a five days stay. The location was great very near every thing, we got daily cleaning service and the amenities were good. One negative is that this building does not have air-conditioners, so in the summer with the hot weather the apartments can be suffocating. Luckily we only experienced one hot day during... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
nellgwynnhouse, Public Relations Manager at Nell Gwynn House Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Ms Humayan, many thanks for your comments. We are quite puzzled however, as we do not rent our apartments for less than 7 nights, and have absolutely no record of your stay or your booking in a two bedroom apartment. We also have no record of a complaint regarding our housekeeping staff. All our staff are carefully vetted, and... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed here since 2009. This is an unbeatable location which is why it gets relatively good reviews. As a previous reviewer mentioned, if you get a clean and well-maintained unit, it is fine. However, if you encounter problems, as I did on this stay about housekeeping and the poor conditions of some of the units, you need to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
nellgwynnhouse, Public Relations Manager at Nell Gwynn House Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Ms Pooran, many thanks for your review of Nell Gwynn House Apartments. We are sorry to read that you were dissatisfied with your stay. As mentioned in your review, we did offer you a full refund for your stay including the days that you had already stayed in the apartment as we are currently fully booked and had no... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just about the most disgusting place I have ever stayed in. The rooms are terrible. Very old and dirty. The bathroom smells. They said the sheets would be changed once a week and they were not. The bathroom was never cleaned although we paid for cleaning service every day. What ever you do, do not stay here!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
nellgwynnhouse, Public Relations Manager at Nell Gwynn House Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Alia, many thanks for your review of Nell Gwynn House Apartments. We welcome all feedback as it helps us to understand how and where we can improve our services. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. All linens and towels in the apartments are changed once a week, and all the apartments are... More 

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
138 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015

Going to London for one day or one year and dont want to pay much, stay in this extraordinary building of 1930 in the heart of Kensington - Sloane Avenue, near everything you may need. They have studios, one bedrooms, 2 bedrooms.. very well decorated, very clean, very convenient.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
nellgwynnhouse, Public Relations Manager at Nell Gwynn House Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Kikinsg, thank you so much for your lovely review of Nell Gwynn House Apartments. The building is original 1930s Art-Deco designed, we agree that it is indeed extraordinary! We look forward to seeing you again soon on your next visit to London. Many thanks More 

Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

I recently spent a week at Nell Gwynn House, in a small studio flat. I spend several weeks in London every summer and walked past this property last summer, and googled the name to get more information as I liked the location. I bit the bullet and booked a flat for this summer and it worked out beautifully. I get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
nellgwynnhouse, Public Relations Manager at Nell Gwynn House Apartments, responded to this review

Dear SweetBabyJames, thank you so much for your review of Nell Gwynn House Apartments. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. Our apartments are all individually owned and therefore are all slightly different , however we are confidant that all our apartments meet our exacting standards. We are sorry to hear that your Wi-Fi speed was... More 

Astana, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

It's our first week in this apartments, and we have a different feeling about services, Firstly, and very surprisedly, the office does not work in weekends, no any due or emergency officer, our internet access was expired on Friday and we could not extend until Monday because of no one in office. Housekeeping is another story - you have to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
nellgwynnhouse, Public Relations Manager at Nell Gwynn House Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Sherkesh, thank you for your review of Nell Gwynn House Apartments. Our office hours are Monday - Friday 9.00am - 6.00pm. However, if you refer to the welcome pack in your apartment you will find an emergency contact number which will be answered when the office is closed. The porters desk in the main reception will also be able... More 

san francisco
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2015

Arranged for a suite through flipkey smallish suite with a large bathroom and tiny kitchen. Our suite was on the second level and so there was traffic noise when the windows were open. We did not interact with staff much but the maid service ( mon through fri) was nice. Everything worked but overall the place was a bit tired... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
nellgwynnhouse, Public Relations Manager at Nell Gwynn House Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Chris, many thanks for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a satisfactory stay, however please note that as you booked privately through Flipkey you did not stay in one of our apartments. We manage over 200 luxury apartments in Nell Gwynn House and are committed to providing our guests with a bespoke service.... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2015

I have been this hotel for shopping. As ı love shopping there is a pharmacy in front of the hotel. Also there are Boots, Sainsbury and Gap. Anyway the hotel room was very small for 3 adults. When me and my family entered the hotel we saw 2 mans working for reception. They are soo rude and also our room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
nellgwynnhouse, Public Relations Manager at Nell Gwynn House Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Emre, many thanks for your review. We welcome all feedback from our guests as it helps us to improve on the services we provide. We are sorry to read you did not have a good experience with the desk porters and will be sure to pass this complaint on to the main building office who manage the front desk... More 

Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015

My husband, 3 children, mother, father and I stayed here in May 2015, for close to 2 weeks. The level of care and consideration shown to my family was incredible. My mother has mobility issues and NGH made certain that her stay was as flawless as possible - I cannot commend them enough for this. Further, my daughter celebrated her... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
nellgwynnhouse, Public Relations Manager at Nell Gwynn House Apartments, responded to this review

Hi Rhiannon, thank you so much for your lovely review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, your family were so lovely and we loved being part of your daughter's birthday! We hope to see you again soon, many thanks More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

We rented an apartment from an owner at Nell Gwynn House privately through Homeaway.com but we really were so fortunate. The woman that we rented from could not have been easier to deal with; even when I had to cancel our original booking because of a serious fall. Graciously she accommodated me so that I could change it for several... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
nellgwynnhouse, Public Relations Manager at Nell Gwynn House Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We look forward to seeing you again soon, and hope you managed to catch your flight in the end! Many thanks More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Chelsea
Sydney House
Sydney House
#176 of 1,054 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 241 reviews
Chelsea
My Chelsea
My Chelsea
#308 of 1,054 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 417 reviews
Chelsea
San Domenico House
San Domenico House
#198 of 1,054 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Sloane Square Hotel
Sloane Square Hotel
#250 of 1,054 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 686 reviews
Chelsea
The Apartments by The Sloane Club
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#183 of 1,054 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Chelsea

Neighborhood Profile
Chelsea
Wealth courses through The King's Road, Chelsea's upmarket artery of West London life packed with shops, eateries and glitzy nightspots. For people-watching at its best and luxury retail therapy that's largely unrivalled, this area cannot be missed. But if this showy street starts to overwhelm or a moment of price tag shock sends you reeling, a quick detour down pretty much any of many King's Road veins will reveal a quieter side of Chelsea. Here the stately Royal Hospital hosts its world-famous flower show, and the Thames rolls along at a lazy pace, with leafy Battersea Park and its Peace Pagoda beckoning from across the river.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay