We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1,073 London hotels

The Royal Cambridge Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   124-126 Sussex Gardens | Paddington, London W2 1UB, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Royal Cambridge Hotel to your Saves list
The Royal Cambridge Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
20%
Ranked #962 of 1,073 hotels in London
  • Overview
  • Reviews (148)
  • Photos (42)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (17)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    19
    36
    31
    60
See reviews for
33
46
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (148)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (54)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
Halstead, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We recently stayed at The Royal Cambridge Hotel. The hotel is dark and stuff and in great need of a revamp. The rooms are very small and not very clean, our bathroom mat had mould all over it and we only had one towel for the two of us. The air conditioning consisted of one small fan. We had a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked hotel through booking.com and paid in advance for a triple room for 2 nights. Had a delay leading up to our stay so I emailed the hotel in advance to notify them we would only stay the 2nd night. Received no reply. When we arrived the receptionist advised the room was occupied by other guests and suggested we look... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coimbra, Portugal
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

It's terrible! The rooms are in really bad conditions and the staff is horrendous. It's a NO NEVER PLACE to even pass nearby! The breakfast is all plastic. There are dirt everywhere and hoorible noise and smell. It is not worthy 3 stars...not even 1. It's low, really low service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This Hotel was awful, dirty bed linen, dirty floors, no staff, no food. I would advise that no-one should stay here until they fully refurb the building, total waste of money, i would have rather chucked money away then stay here again. SHOULD BE CLOSED DOWN.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
RoyalCambridge, Manager at The Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are sorry you had felt this way during your stay with us. We are keen to take on all feedback on board and we are in the process of making improvements with service and facilities. However even through the refurb we are providing the full continental breakfast with a choice of pastries, fresh fruit and yoghurt and... More

Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

the location was very good , the breakfast was poor just eggs or sausage , the room was ok not to big , very quiet location .The lavabo mixer dose-not have mixer !I have problem when I arrived they dont find my reservation even was payed all !But inn 10 minutes they discover reservation .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

No water on arrival. No electric sockets for entire stay. I complained to both Night Duty Staff and morning Receptionist and still nothing done. Building work carried out directly outside room. Tripping over planks of wood, plaster dust and debris plus cables and electric drills. They should never have let the room whilst this was in operation. Workmen arrived early... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dublin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Do not stay here! Rooms are terrible - no air conditioning and far too hot. The walls are paper thin and noisy. The food is greasy and to be avoided at all costs. You wited for ages to be served at the bar and quite often you had to go to reception or into the restaurant to find someone to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Any positive reviews of this hotel have got to be either a joke or orchestrated by the hotel staff! I cannot believe that the hotel is still allowed to take people's money, when the rooms are so filthy, the lift is so dysfunctional and the staff members are so rude and unprofessional. I don't even have the energy to go... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coimbra, Portugal
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Dear Sirs, I'm Luísa Almeida and I have stayed at the Royal Cambridge Hotel, London, from the 2nd till the 5th of March and I would like to present you a complaint about the hotel but mainly about the manager of the hotel - Heleny Othman. The hotel is in very bad conditions of conservation and mainly of cleanliness. When... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
RoyalCambridge, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

As soon as the client made her comments to reception, we immediatley assisted with her requirements. Although the client may have assumed staff was being rude by asking her if she would like a curatin to cover the sky light, please be assured this is not the case. The hotel does not allow for breakfast to be taken out of... More

Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

I stayed here mid week and found the hotel perfectly acceptable for my needs. Positives were location - close to both Cambridge Station and the City Centre (walking distance to each), good WiFi and TV choice. Negative was the décor. It was a little old fashioned. Would I stay again - YES.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Royal Cambridge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Royal Cambridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Cambridge Hotel

Address: 124-126 Sussex Gardens | Paddington, London W2 1UB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Cambridge Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Royal Cambridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Cambridge London
Royal Cambridge Hotel London
The Royal Cambridge Hotel London, England

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in London with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
30

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Cambridge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer