We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Royal Cambridge Hotel

3.0 of 5 124-126 Sussex Gardens | Paddington, London W2 1UB, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Cambridge Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Royal Cambridge Hotel
The Royal Cambridge Hotel
The Royal Cambridge Hotel
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    21
    40
    32
    63
See reviews for
34
50
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (158)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (54)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (48)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked this place Last minute for a spontaneous trip to London picked out judging by the first couple of fotos seen... however as I skimmed through more and read reviews I thought I had made a big mistake! Not knowing what to expect ..but When me and my wife arrived it made sense,, the newer photos are the ones we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
West Thurrock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

I stayed at this hotel on 8th December as we wanted to be local to covent garden. They charged us £179 for 1 night without breakfast which I feel was a rip off. They obviously know they can charge this because of location! The look from the outside and the ground floor was ok but the room was tiny, my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

Booked up to stay here as it looked nice, not the cheapest but was kind of last minute so it was fine. When we got there we were told our room was having building work done (sorry but surely that level of building work would have been in the diary well before I booked up!) was told they had booked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

We arrived on Saturday 13th sept, to be told there was no room. We were allocated a hotel nearby, the pacific, which was terrible. The price did not fit the standard of the hotel. Wish we had stayed in a b&b. No information given to us about anything. Missed breakfast on Sunday at 10am, because finished at 0900, which we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

I went to stay at Royal Cambridge Hotel in early September based on the recommendation of my friends. The hotel was recently refurbish and the room I stayed was nice and modern . In addition, the hotel is within walking distance to Paddington train and tube station which is convenient for me. I would definitely stay at this hotel again... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Halstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We recently stayed at The Royal Cambridge Hotel. The hotel is dark and stuff and in great need of a revamp. The rooms are very small and not very clean, our bathroom mat had mould all over it and we only had one towel for the two of us. The air conditioning consisted of one small fan. We had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Booked hotel through booking.com and paid in advance for a triple room for 2 nights. Had a delay leading up to our stay so I emailed the hotel in advance to notify them we would only stay the 2nd night. Received no reply. When we arrived the receptionist advised the room was occupied by other guests and suggested we look... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Coimbra, Portugal
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

It's terrible! The rooms are in really bad conditions and the staff is horrendous. It's a NO NEVER PLACE to even pass nearby! The breakfast is all plastic. There are dirt everywhere and hoorible noise and smell. It is not worthy 3 stars...not even 1. It's low, really low service.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This Hotel was awful, dirty bed linen, dirty floors, no staff, no food. I would advise that no-one should stay here until they fully refurb the building, total waste of money, i would have rather chucked money away then stay here again. SHOULD BE CLOSED DOWN.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
RoyalCambridge, Manager at The Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are sorry you had felt this way during your stay with us. We are keen to take on all feedback on board and we are in the process of making improvements with service and facilities. However even through the refurb we are providing the full continental breakfast with a choice of pastries, fresh fruit and yoghurt and... More 

Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

the location was very good , the breakfast was poor just eggs or sausage , the room was ok not to big , very quiet location .The lavabo mixer dose-not have mixer !I have problem when I arrived they dont find my reservation even was payed all !But inn 10 minutes they discover reservation .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Royal Cambridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Cambridge Hotel

Address: 124-126 Sussex Gardens | Paddington, London W2 1UB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Cambridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Royal Cambridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Cambridge London
Royal Cambridge Hotel London
The Royal Cambridge Hotel London, England

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay