We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

PubLove at The Great Eastern

1 Glenaffric Avenue, London E14 3BW, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
PubLove at The Great Eastern
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

80 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    14
    28
    16
    13
    9
See reviews for
Families
0
7
42
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (80)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Rhodes Town, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Beautiful spot with highly trained personnel who are willing to help in any way. Very pleasant my stay here. Highly recommended. I would like to thank all the staff really one by one but you dwell in Charlotte, is very lucky the owner who has such a professional employees like her!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chesterfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was a great stay for my trip to the O2 millennium, it's a great little spot that serves a good range of beer. Anyone who complains about beds or pretty much anything at the price you are paying in this location should simply be ignored, it is a good cheap place and I've paid more and stayed in worse.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alin I, Hostel Lover at PubLove at The Great Eastern, responded to this review

Hi DrWhippy, thanks for taking the time to leave a review! We are glad to hear you had a great time. We look forward to seeing you next time. Thanks for choosing PubLove. The PubLove@ The Great Eastern team More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

The room I booked was tiny and some of the electrical sockets were not properly mounted to the wall. That was not only inconvenient when using my phone charger, but also a potential safety hazard. The toilets and shower facilities in the 2nd floor are among the worst I have ever seen. They were uncleaned, had stains of feces on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alin I, Hostel Lover at PubLove at The Great Eastern, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we are improving our facilities and our hostel environment and we are looking into the cleanliness issues and can guarantee if you came back and gave us a second chance you would see an improvement. The Publove @ The Great Eastern team More 

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

It's cheap and you get a bed with a locker to keep your things in in the bedroom. That's about it. The staff are friendly and the location is alright, but there are no supermarkets in the immediate vicinity of the hostel. There is no kitchen and the whole place is pretty dirty. I had trouble sleeping because people came... More 

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alin I, Hostel Lover at PubLove at The Great Eastern, responded to this review

Hi Alexander, thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we are really sorry to hear that you did not have a great stay with us. We are looking into the cleanliness issues and we are improving our facilities. We can guarantee if you came back and gave us a second chance you would see an improvement. Thanks for... More 

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

The hostel is central and the staff is pretty nice. Thats about it for positives. The beds are terrible, you are basically lying directly on the springs and the bunks are noisy and shaky, everything is worn out, the toilets and showers didnt work at all when i arrived, the day after only one toilet to our 3 * 12... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alin I, Hostel Lover at PubLove at The Great Eastern, responded to this review

Hi Majall, thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we are really sorry to hear that you did not have a great stay with us. Our company policy doesn't include any type of refund after you check in. We are looking into the cleanliness issues and we are improving our facilities. We can guarantee if you came back... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

The Great Eastern is in a good location, staff was friendly and helpful, sleep was restless windows was to small no air to keep the room cool like sleeping in a oven. Would go again despite the rooms ****

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alin I, Hostel Lover at PubLove at The Great Eastern, responded to this review

Hi Matthews, thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we are really sorry to hear that you did not have a great stay with us and unfortunately due to the English Law we can't fully open the windows. We hope to see you again. Thanks for choosing Publove. The Publove @ The Great Eastern team More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

I decided to stay in London for a few days before flying to Greece to allow me to see some friends who've moved to the city and sightsee a bit. I booked at relatively short notice and wanted somewhere cheap. The Great Eastern certainly was cheap at just over £10 a night. This included a free breakfast. However, the price... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alin I, Hostel Lover at PubLove at The Great Eastern, responded to this review

Hi Foghlainte, thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we are improving our facilities and our hostel environment and we are looking into the cleanliness and maintenance issues. We can guarantee if you came back and gave us a second chance you would see an improvement. Thanks for choosing Publove. The Publove @ The Great Eastern team More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

The idea that hostel and pub is good but have no kitchen.The staff are friendly, the beds are not good, but we were really tired, so for 2 nights worked for us.Don't forget your ear plugs, because the beds are made of metal and when you move they make a lot of noise. You have a big pub area to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alin I, Hostel Lover at PubLove at The Great Eastern, responded to this review

Hi Larissa, thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we are improving our facilities and our hostel environment and if you came back and gave us a second chance you would see an improvement. Thanks for choosing Publove. The Publove @ The Great Eastern team More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015 via mobile

Quiet place above a dive bar, so no noise. The wifi was great but yes, there was some mold in the bathroom, and there is no kettle, microwave, or fridge. Breakfast was pretty good, can't complain, and staff were very nice but not very social or very helpful overall, but they did try. The beds are pure springs and yes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alin I, Hostel Lover at PubLove at The Great Eastern, responded to this review

Hi Meghan, thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we are improving our facilities and our hostel environment and if you came back and gave us a second chance you would see an improvement. Thanks for choosing Publove. The Publove @ The Great Eastern team More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

59 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (49)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Venture Hostels
#656 of 1,053 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 61 reviews
The Antigallican Hotel
#235 of 541 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Hotel Strand Continental
Hotel Strand Continental
#314 of 541 in London
2.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel
#88 of 541 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
Globe Trott Inns
#208 of 696 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay