We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal National Hotel

38-51 Bedford Way, London WC1H 0DG, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal National Hotel
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Royal National Hotel
Write a Review

5,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    1,058
    1,979
    899
    964
See reviews for
1,326
1,253
261
313
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (5111)
  • Mar-May only
    (1266)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (1246)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (1361)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1238)
All months
Naas, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

The first time i stayed in this hotel was in January 2011 before the room renovations took place! back then it was an OK hotel pretty much you got what you booked! upon returning to london this year on the 8th of march and staying through to the 10th i enjoyed it immensely! staff were very polite! it is quite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

I stayed in this 'hotel' last year when my parents were visiting from Ireland. I must say I was embarrassed that this was their introduction to London. We had two rooms, mine a single, theirs a double. The duvet cover on my bed was a completely different design to the curtains. The whole room looked cheap and tacky. There was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

When I read the reviews for this hotel I was extremely nervous as I had just booked a 4 night stay there before my Contiki Tour started. The hotel was very easy to find - only a 2 min walk from Russell Station. Easy check in. TV worked. Bathroom and room was clean but basic. If you need a place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Broadbeach, Australia
2 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

It was my first time to London, and staying at the Royal National. From reading the trip Advisor reviews about the hotel I was unsure of what to expect about the cleanliness and the hotel in general. Some people describe their experiences on here as horrible, although for me it was really not the case. I travelled with my brother... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Northern Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel provides an excellent base to explore London. It's central location means that you are within walking distance of Covent Garden, British Museum and Oxford Street. As Arsenal FC is two more stops up on the Piccadilly Line this hotel is perfect for a game. The Piccadilly line from Heathrow comes through the nearby Russell Square tube station (2... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is amazing massive! Dependant on which block or wing your room is at. The shower was not working in the first room given to us and after hours of caking superbreak because the hotel staff where not very helpful we got moved into a disabled room as there was no more doubles available. The first room with faulty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sompting, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very dull and basic hotel, definitely do not get what you pay for - extremely overpriced! Cannot comment on breakfast as I did not go, very disappointed that there is no free wifi considering what you pay for a room. So much stream came from the shower that a member of staff had to come to my room because it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Royal National Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your feedback on your recent stay at the Royal National Hotel. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. Our Wi-Fi is free in the public area for all our guests and we apologise if you were not aware of this. Equally, we are currently upgrading our systems so that we... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in this area a couple of times now, but the first time at the Royal National. We find the location is ideally situated and very accessible to the Russell Square tube station, which is literally 2 mins walk away. We picked this hotel mainly because we park in the car park underneath the hotel so easier than walking with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Royal National Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your kind comments following your stay at the Royal National Hotel. We are pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay, the central location, and were able to check in smoothly and quickly. Equally, we are concerned about your comments regarding the breakfast, and we will be sure to pass your feedback to our chef.... More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here before a contiki departure and on my own accord afterwards (July, 2014). Lack of cooling in the rooms was a problem, and you couldn't swing a cat in the bathroom. Just had a very cheap feel to it. Will definitely spend the little bit extra and stay in a nicer hotel next time. Concierge were very helpful nonetheless.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Royal National Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on your stay at the Royal National Hotel. Our staff are always glad to hear positive feedback from our guests. Equally, we are sorry to hear that you felt your bathroom was small and we will be sure to pass this on to our design team for when we next renovate. Assuring... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Great location(14)
  • British museum(14)
  • Full english(9)
  • Russell square tube(7)
  • Very busy(6)
  • Kings Cross(6)
  • Very good(6)
  • Breakfast room(6)
  • Continental breakfast(5)
  • Tube station(4)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

726 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (714)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (157)
Viewed
Bathroom (90)
Viewed
Room/suite (213)
Viewed
View from room (29)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (203)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighborhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighborhood

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question