We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lord Jim Hotel

23-25 Penywern Road | Earls Court, London SW5 9TT, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Lord Jim Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

39 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    1
    10
    9
    10
    9
See reviews for
9
10
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (39)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (0)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Well I did not book this hotel. I would not of choose it if I read the reviews. However the positives are, it's clean and close to the subway. Nice pubs close by and shops very handy. The entrance us a bit sad but reception were friendly enough. Negative. The room is to small you can only stand next to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms are small and myself and my friend had to do some creative manoeuvring a few times but it was fine. Did what we needed. The rooms were clean and the staff were friendly. Can't complain really.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Baia Mare, Romania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

They gave us ground floor rooms. Avoid especially rooms 801 and 802. These are in front of the Breakfast room and beginning with 6 AM you will hear all the preparations being made ( plates thrown, forks, knife, staff etc.). I reserved 4 rooms at this hotel and even though in the reservation was stated that no deposit was needed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lordjimhotelmanager, Operations Manager at Lord Jim Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cristian C, Thank you for sharing your comment on TripAdvisor, your opinion helps to improve service to the future guests. I'm sorry that you found rooms 801 and 802 noisy, staff starts to work at 7 AM in breakfast room and I would try to investigate the noise you heard at 6 AM, this wasn't a staff preparing breakfast.... More 

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Canberra
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

1-There was a water-tank in the room exactly on top of my room, which reception says it needs to be filled till morning everyday. Because people need it for showering!! It makes a terrible noise and the walls are thundering! Anyway if you have to stay in this hotel, before paying check that your room isn't close to this water... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lordjimhotelmanager, Operations Manager at Lord Jim Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MarcoPolou, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on Tripadvisor. We review all the feedback we get daily as it is very useful for me to hear what people are saying about their experience and how we can improve it. i'm so sorry you didn't enjoy the stay with us. I have noted the... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked this accommodation on Booking.com after our previously booked hotel had informed us the room (triple) that we had originally requested was not available. The price was £125 for a triple room which included a free continental breakfast. After I had read the previous reviews on this hotel I looked into cancelling it at it sounded pretty awful, however... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

The Lord Jim was booked as it was in a convenient location for me, and the booking included breakfast. First impressions were good with a warm welcome on reception. I stayed in a single room, which was so small there wasn't even room to put a suitcase on the floor and open it. The sink was unusable as it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lordjimhotelmanager, Operations Manager at Lord Jim Hotel, responded to this review

Dear andilouuk, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Lord Jim Hotel on Tripadvisor . These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continuously. I appreciate your comments about the size of the room. As we are an old building each room has a unique size and layout.... More 

Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015

My two friends and I stayed here last summer while down in London for the Libertines gig at Hyde Park. From the moment we got there until the moment we left the staff couldn't have been more polite and helpful unlike most small hotels nowadays. The rooms were comfortable, fairly spacious and perfect for a few nights' stay. Would definitely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lordjimhotelmanager, Operations Manager at Lord Jim Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Matt M., Thank you for taking the time to share you recent experience with us on Tripadvisor This is not only a very valuable tool for us in improving the hotel for future guests but also for our guest about making an informed decision on where to stay in London. . Thank you for complimenting staff team, i will... More 

Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

If you're considering hotels in London, skip this one. The location is great, but that's where the good times end. The hotel is old and run down. My room stunk of mold and the bed was hard and uncomfortable. I booked a room with a shared toilet. They neglected to mention that the toilet is on another floor of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lordjimhotelmanager, Operations Manager at Lord Jim Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Akchope, Thank you for taking time to place you review on Tripadvisor. I am sorry that on this occasion we did not live up to your expectations. I have noted your disappointment about the wi-fi not working unfortunately Earl's court are experiencing very low speed and connection issues and as an area haven't been upgraded to the fiber high... More 

Northern Poland, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015

Hi, I just came back from a 5-day trip to London, where I stayed at Lord Jim Hotel. We booked a triple room, but due to unknown reasons it wasn't ready to accommodate us, so for the first night we were given one single room and a twin. The twin was tiny, I didn't even have enough space to open... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Lordjimhotelmanager, Operations Manager at Lord Jim Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Su M, Thank you for taking the time to share you recent experience with us on Tripadvisor This is not only a very valuable tool for us in improving the hotel for future guests but also for our guest about making an informed decision on where to stay in London. I appreciate your comments about the size of the... More 

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015 via mobile

Bad rooms extremely small our bed Hardly fit with little space to walk around as well as hard mattresses,worst bathrooms literally only about 3 feet by 4 feet for a toilet, sink and shower which didn't work properly and scalded our skin, as well as noisy neighbors. They lie about fixing things, do not stay here!

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Lordjimhotelmanager, Operations Manager at Lord Jim Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Karen A, Thank you for taking time to place you review on Tripadvisor. I am sorry that on this occasion we did not live up to your expectations. I appreciate your comments about the size of the room. As we are an old building each room has a unique size and layout. We are trying our best to make... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#646 of 1,055 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 342 reviews
Earls Court
City Continental London Kensington
Earls Court
Garden View Hotel
Garden View Hotel
#576 of 1,055 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Oliver Plaza Hotel
Oliver Plaza Hotel
#480 of 1,055 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 423 reviews
Earls Court
BEST WESTERN The Boltons
BEST WESTERN The Boltons
#394 of 1,055 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 767 reviews
Earls Court
London Town Hotel
London Town Hotel
#505 of 1,055 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay