We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 650 London accommodations

YHA London Earl's Court

3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   38 Bolton Gardens, London SW5 0AQ, England
Hotel amenities
YHA London Earl's Court
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added YHA London Earl's Court to your Saves list
Ranked #199 of 650 Specialty Lodging in London
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Jeff O
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    88
    42
    17
    15
See reviews for
20
31
56
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (183)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (55)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (51)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (38)
All months
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good location in quiet side street off a very lively part of London quite close to an underground hub. It is clean, the staff appear helpful and professional and the showers quite usable. On the other hand, the hand washing basins are incredibly poky -their size might be suitable for young children, if even that, but definitely not for adults.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sassari, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Hostal is very central and offers a good place to stay for those who travel with friends and want to spend some nights in London without paying much. We didn't try the breackfast but it seems very good. A lot of young people and mostly very clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hermanus, South Africa
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Having just discovered youth hostels, even though I'm in my late "youth", the YHA as a group of hostels is excellent value, generally clean and staff have been very friendly. The Earls Court venue is a lovely old house. The rooms are clean, beds comfortable, bathrooms generally clean and staff helpful and friendly. The kitchen is well equipped and everyone... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The location of this hostel is excellent, very close to museums etc. The rooms are a bit tired but generally clean and the service was brilliant - all staff were very helpful especially the (deputy?) manager who helped fix our pram tyre puncture!! We stayed in a family room upstairs with our 2 young daughters for 2 nights during October... More 

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caroline H, Manager at YHA London Earl's Court, responded to this review

I'm delighted you all enjoyed your stay with us and I've passed on your kind comments to our Deputy Manager and the rest of the team - we all look forward to seeing you again for your next holidays! More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Nice staff, really clean, good luggage storage facilities and really good coffee! Bathrooms a bit small and dorm rooms really overcrowded, but private rooms are good value for money. Good location and really safe environment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Celle, Germany
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

The room was okay, if very cramped for six people. The ventilation of the bathrooms next to our room was very noisy. But what I really did not like was that the common areas very really run down. The furniture in the lounges is a disgrace! Please invest in some new chairs and durable couches?!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Caroline H, Manager at YHA London Earl's Court, responded to this review

Hi PW, thank you so much for taking the time to review our hostel. You'll be pleased to hear we've been planning to put a bit more of a sparkle into all our common areas and we've already painted the self-catering kitchen. New furniture is on it's way for both lounges and the kitchen, which we're hoping will be with... More 

Bristol
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

Stayed here numerous times. Lovely hostel. Very clean. Hot water always on. Kitchen available if you want to make own food. Large garden out back with lots of picnic benches. Perfect in good weather some showers need a bit of maintenance but overall no complaints. Location great. 10 mins from underground.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Quezon City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

The walls have bad sound proofing. Woke up 230 AM (!!) with lots of continuous door banging, heavy walking in the corridors (wooden floor makes it louder), and suitcases rolling and dropping in the steps at 0230 in the morning!! There is no way to open the window in our room, even the maintenance went to check and was apologetic.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Caroline H, Manager at YHA London Earl's Court, responded to this review

Hi VictoriaTim, I'm really sorry we weren't at our best when you stayed with us; from your review it seems sleep quality was the thing that you were least happy with and I'm sorry you were disturbed. This is a very busy 24-hour hostel and one of the reasons people stay with us is ease of getting to/from Heathrow and... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

One of the disappointments of staying in a large city hostel environment is the overwhelming sense of anonymity; traveller's from so many different countries merging in one place rarely seem interested in talking to fellow travellers, helped along by the ubiquitous tablet or smartphone at the end of everyone's fingers these days; a great atmosphere killer. In contrast, you would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to YHA London Earl's Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA London Earl's Court

Address: 38 Bolton Gardens, London SW5 0AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA London Earl's Court 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your YHA London Earl's Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Earl`s Court Yha Hotel London
YHA London Earl's Court England

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Staying in South Kensington

Neighborhood Profile
South Kensington
With its ivied mews, row upon row of Poppins-esque white washed mansions, and placid garden squares, it's easy to see the charms of South Kensington. And with superb access to Hyde Park, Holland Park and Kensington Gardens, as well as the largely child-friendly and mostly free Museum Quarter (not to mention more major attractions like Royal Albert Hall) such charms are easy to make the most of. As welcoming and cosmopolitan as it is reserved and residential, South Kensington is always a hit with visitors.