We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1,073 London hotels

Europa House Hotel

151 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 2RY, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Europa House Hotel to your Saves list
Europa House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
53%
Ranked #724 of 1,073 hotels in London
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014
andrewcbn Sheffield, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (162)
  • Photos (71)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (9)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

162 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    60
    47
    24
    18
See reviews for
43
59
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked not knowing what hotel we where staying in due to booking with national holidays! You can only imagine the disappointment we came to, the rooms are clean but carpets are stained, the food is atrocious I wouldn't let a pig eat it and down staires it's 10 pounds per person for a few chips and chicken... Alcohol is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Miss B, Guest Relations Manager at Europa House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Courtney, You have reviewed the wrong hotel. We are the Europa House Hotel on Sussex Gardens (London). We are a small bed and breakfast, we do not sell "chicken and chips" nor do we sell alcohol. Please could you take the appropriate steps to remove your review from our page. Many thanks in advance, Kind Regards, More

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our travel agent put us in there before and after a tour. First stay - tiniest room ever up 4 flights of stairs, no air con and a single bed for the both of us. Second stay - in the basement, the toilet flush was broken, cracks in the shower, no air con and crappy mattress. This place definitely needs... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Potsdam, Germany
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

From outside, it looks nice and cosy... - but the room was DIRTY - both Windows were directed to different kitchens, thus kitchen SMELL from 6h in the morning in your room - rooms are not noise-reduced, so you hear every word from your neighbours - Service - not available at all: didn't manage to Change a bulb within 4... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Clean but very very basic, if you are looking for a no frills accommodation this one is for you! The hotel was clean but really needs attention to detail, pillows one per person and they were so flat we had to fold them in half, floor in the room was on a slant, no bulbs in the over bed lights,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Japan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Good points; Quiet area / Close to the station / Safety / Free wifi / Staff are friendly Horrible points; Cups we used didn't wash in the second day. Towels were not clean and SMELLY. We didn't have right sets of towels in the first day, and second day there was only one set without bath mat!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bergen, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 5 days in July 2014. It was a shock to arrive there and see how worn down it was. Got a room on the top floor (room 16) with a very narrow and steep stair and corridor up. During our stay it was very warm in London, 30 deg C and higher witch meant the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

A small hotel, reasonably priced and in a good location. Claem but tired interior with lots of stairs to climb to the upper floors. Room was basic and quite small, with a very small bathroom. Good breakfast and friendly staff

Was this review helpful? Yes
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Very small top floor room with even smaller bathroom; too hot but fan supplied. Breakfast ("full English") was small portion of beans, egg, rasher, Hash brown!!!. However enough toast and jam thankfully. Staff helpful. short walk to our venue Hyde Park.

Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Put in attic room very very small room the blinds on window broken reported told me they already were aware. Bathroom extractor fan did not work and the bathroom was tiny 180 cm by 80 cm had to have door open to use basin the toilet was a tight fit I am a medium size person 86 kilo a large... More

Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

Make no mistake, this very basic accommodation. Location is exceptional as it is just a five minute walk from Paddington. Breakfast is very good as is the internet, but ask for the password at the desk on check-in. After that the property reflects the price. Dated furniture, ceiling fan not functioning (no air-conditioning) shower curtain was a chore to close,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Europa House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Europa House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa House Hotel

Address: 151 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 2RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Europa House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel London
Europa House Hotel London, England

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (56)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in London with
any amenities

Amenities

Shuttle Bus service
Number of rooms
20

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Europa House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer