We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1,063 London hotels

Caswell Hotel

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Gloucester Street, London SW1V 2DB, England
Hotel amenities
Caswell Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Caswell Hotel to your Saves list
32%
Ranked #775 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    52
    59
    34
    49
See reviews for
52
36
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (205)
  • Mar-May only
    (50)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (64)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (54)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed with 3 friends at the beginning of September. The Caswell is a decent budget hotel VERY CLOSE to Victoria Station and some excellent pubs and restaurants (recommended - Grumbles, 35 Churton St. and St. George's Tavern, 14 Belgrave Rd.). It is close to the bus station as well for tours of Stonehenge and other attractions. We all enjoyed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Really great, friendly and helpful service!!! We stayed for 6 nights and were very comfortable. Fantastic location!! Great for a budget stay, nothing fancy about the interior but it was very comfortable and suitable. It was also very clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

The Caswell was a horrible place to stay, there was mold growing in the showers and bedbugs at night. Your kids, if any, will be guaranteed to hate it. The breakfast was decent, expect it was mostly carbohydrates. Namish, the hotel man, is rather friendly. The kids slept in full-clothed gear because they didn't want to get bitten by the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

You may find the shower down the hallway, and the interior decorator may have left the building back in the late 70's - but the service is outstanding! Welcoming and very helpful staff at reception and at breakfast, and a houskeeping that live up to its name. My daughter and I felt very safe and comfortable during our stay, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerCaswell, Front Office Manager at Caswell Hotel, responded to this review

On behalf of all staff at Caswell Hotel, thank you for taking the time to write your comment it’s helps us to know the points we need to improve our hotel. I understand what your mean about the age of the building and decoration. We are currently in the process of looking at how we3 can modernise it and expect... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The only thing good in this hotel is the location and the outside part of the hotel. Inside is not good , by accident we only stay one night but it was no good! We don't take a bath and we don't use the wc

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I just got off bus at Victoria bus station, travelling all nite, just was looking for somewhere to stay, I found this hotel, just 5 min walk from station, the price so cheap, I am used to paying double for similar accommodation, in london, , If you are looking for cheep, clean comfy bed, tv, tea coffee facility's , warm... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerCaswell, General Manager at Caswell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. It is pleasing to know that you've rested pleasantly in our hotel and that you enjoyed the facilities offered in the rooms. We are looking forward to see you back soon. Yours Sincerely Nour Rahmeh Front Office Supervisor. Caswell Hotel More

UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I had the misfortune of staying here and can honestly say it is the worst place I have ever stayed. As soon as I entered the building my heart just sank and that was before I even reached my room. I decided to stay on the top floor to avoid the noise, however with the constant noise I went to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
ManagerCaswell, General Manager at Caswell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and I am so sorry that your experience with us was disappointing. We regret that you have not mentioned anything to us while you were in our hotel, we would have helped to correct the problems you mentioned. This is part of our commitment to our customers. We take all... More

Darlington
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

The only thing preventing this "hotel" getting a rating of 1 is its excellent location near Victoria Station. At a cost of over £130 for the night I would expect so much more than a shared bathroom and toilet, uncomfortable bed, breakfast available before 7:30 and the icing on the cake...what sort of hotel can offer you an iron but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
ManagerCaswell, General Manager at Caswell Hotel, responded to this review

We want to thank you for sharing your comments here, sorry you have not enjoyed your stay with us. I have taken your comments on board and we now have an ironing board available as well. I am disappointed that you did not find us good value for money. We check our rates on a daily basis to ensure that... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Caswell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caswell Hotel

Address: 25 Gloucester Street, London SW1V 2DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Caswell Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, HostelBookers, Agoda, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Caswell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caswell Hotel London, England

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (41)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay