We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Caswell Hotel

25 Gloucester Street, London SW1V 2DB, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Caswell Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

265 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2016

The Caswell Hotel is in Pimlico, a great location. It is a few minutes walk to Victoria Station or a 5 min bus ride on the #24 to Westminster Abbey, Parliament Square and The Embankment. It is a bare minimum hotel. If you are a single traveler or a couple, under 5' 8" and who spend most of the time... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tom D
ManagerCaswell, Manager at Caswell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TOM D Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your recent stay with us. I appreciate all the feedback that we get as it helps us improve the stay for future guests. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We also have some en suite rooms which may have... More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2015

Let's start with the positives: it's in a nice part of London, it's close to Pimlico and Victoria underground stations and it is safe. BUT the corridors, stairwells and reception seem very run down, the rooms are quite cramped ( hardly any desk space for working and once I had drawn a chair up to the desk I couldn't get... More 

Helpful?
Thank politicsandrew
ManagerCaswell, Manager at Caswell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Politicsandrew Thank you for your feedback. We review the feedback on a regular basis as this helps us improve the service that we give to future guests and also understand what is important to the people that stay with us. I am sorry that you had problem with size of room. Yes our property has old decor, but we... More 

Scarborough, Tobago
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2015

I didnt mind the small room, nor the physical location of the building. I booked the night to get a small room, I arrived and got an ensuite bath, no need to use the shared ones downstairs. I appreciate the attention of the staff during the short stay.

Helpful?
Thank Joel A
ManagerCaswell, Manager at Caswell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Joel A Thank you for taking the time to post your recent experience on trip advisor. Your feedback is very important to me as it highlights where we need to make changes to give everyone comfortable stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am especially grateful for your positive feedback. I look forward to... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2015 via mobile

My boyfriend booked this place for an overnight stay as we went to see Billy Elliot and it was nearby. However, upon arrival, I could immediately tell that the hotel would not be entirely pleasant - the interior is extremely dated and the reception is a like stepping into Harry Potter's cupboard under the stairs! Our room was number 18,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Becky L
ManagerCaswell, Manager at Caswell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Becky L Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. I appreciate your feedback and also the fact that we are not are not to everyone’s tastes. We aim to provide great value budget accommodation in the heart of London. Our decor is very dated but we ensure that we keep it clean so... More 

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2015

A very nice night in a cheap , clean & confortable hotel, close to Victoria station & also Pimlico st. Staff very friendly.... Everything was good.... I think My next time in London i'll book again!!!

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Iurilli C
ManagerCaswell, Manager at Caswell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Iurilli C Thank you for taking time to write your comment. We appreciate all the feedback we get as we use it to improve the experience for future guests. I am really pleased that you enjoyed the stay and finding the location to be good. We are looking forward to welcome you again! Kind regards Nimesh Patel Operations Manager... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2015 via mobile

Booked cheap at last minute so wasn't expecting much but wasn't prepared for how, small, dirty and inhospitable the place was. Voted with my feet and didn't stay. Room 17 was right at the top, no lift, shared shower room which was smaller than any broom cupboard I've ever seen and filthy. The room was equally tiny, felt damp and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bodminpete
ManagerCaswell, Manager at Caswell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bodminpete Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and I am so sorry that your experience with us was disappointing. We regret that you have not mentioned anything to us while you were in our hotel, we would have helped to correct the problems you mentioned. This is part of our commitment to our customers. We... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2015 via mobile

Extremely small like a prison room for £150 it is a joke! worst hotel on the world small bed no space! dirty! location is ok but if you don't need to stay here don't book. breakfast poor to expensive for poor standard no shower, no bathroom. room was a size of single bed.

Helpful?
Thank Dr-M213
ManagerCaswell, Manager at Caswell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dr-M213 Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so sorry to learn that your recent stay was disappointing. Every day we study the market with the aim to provide clean and reasonable accommodation for best available rates in Victoria area. We also have some Ensuite rooms with private shower and toilet which will be... More 

pernik
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2015 via mobile

I stayed there with my parents in a triple room. The room was on the ground floor, so it was convinient, given there is no lift in the hotel. It was a really decent room with private bathroom and wc( i mean in the room, not shared, though the hotel has such rooms). The room was a little oldish furnished,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kalin_sokolov
ManagerCaswell, Manager at Caswell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kalin_sokolov Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your recent stay with us. I appreciate all the feedback that we get as it helps us improve the stay for future guests. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Also, thank you for mentioning our staff and yes our reception is open 24... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2015

The location is really good - close to the main sites, subway and buses to airport. Open at any time. I lived on the last floor in a small room which wasn't of course luxury but was quite nice. The furniture is old of course, but everything is clean. There is one shower and toilet for about 5 rooms but... More 

Helpful?
Thank OneDayL
ManagerCaswell, Manager at Caswell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear OneDayL Thank you for taking the time to post your recent experience on trip advisor. Your feedback is very important to me as it highlights where we need to make changes to give everyone comfortable stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am especially grateful for your positive feedback. I look forward to welcoming... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (55)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Enrico Hotel
Enrico Hotel
#868 of 1,058 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 441 reviews
Caring Hotel
#473 of 1,058 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 677 reviews
Pimlico
The Dover Hotel
The Dover Hotel
#649 of 1,058 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Victor Hotel
Victor Hotel
#659 of 1,058 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 313 reviews
Whitechapel
Ibis Budget London Whitechapel Hotel
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Tune Hotel Kings Cross
Tune Hotel Kings Cross
#338 of 1,058 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 2,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Pimlico

Neighborhood Profile
Pimlico
Time spent in Pimlico is a slower-paced affair than most other Central London neighborhoods. This largely residential area orderly arranged beside the Thames, is a treasure trove of quaint pubs, subtle architectural charms and local boutiques. Here, art lovers thrill at the chance to visit the world class Tate Britain gallery for its collection of British art from the 1500s to the present. For peace and quiet and some downtime spent along the Thames, Pimlico is highly recommended.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay