We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1,073 London hotels

Caswell Hotel

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Gloucester Street, London SW1V 2DB, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Caswell Hotel to your Saves list
Caswell Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
37%
Ranked #753 of 1,073 hotels in London
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Eric H Amsterdam
  • Overview
  • Reviews (196)
  • Photos (40)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (10)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

196 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    49
    58
    31
    48
See reviews for
48
36
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

You may find the shower down the hallway, and the interior decorator may have left the building back in the late 70's - but the service is outstanding! Welcoming and very helpful staff at reception and at breakfast, and a houskeeping that live up to its name. My daughter and I felt very safe and comfortable during our stay, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The only thing good in this hotel is the location and the outside part of the hotel. Inside is not good , by accident we only stay one night but it was no good! We don't take a bath and we don't use the wc

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I just got off bus at Victoria bus station, travelling all nite, just was looking for somewhere to stay, I found this hotel, just 5 min walk from station, the price so cheap, I am used to paying double for similar accommodation, in london, , If you are looking for cheep, clean comfy bed, tv, tea coffee facility's , warm... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerCaswell, General Manager at Caswell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. It is pleasing to know that you've rested pleasantly in our hotel and that you enjoyed the facilities offered in the rooms. We are looking forward to see you back soon. Yours Sincerely Nour Rahmeh Front Office Supervisor. Caswell Hotel More

UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I had the misfortune of staying here and can honestly say it is the worst place I have ever stayed. As soon as I entered the building my heart just sank and that was before I even reached my room. I decided to stay on the top floor to avoid the noise, however with the constant noise I went to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ManagerCaswell, General Manager at Caswell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and I am so sorry that your experience with us was disappointing. We regret that you have not mentioned anything to us while you were in our hotel, we would have helped to correct the problems you mentioned. This is part of our commitment to our customers. We take all... More

Darlington
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

The only thing preventing this "hotel" getting a rating of 1 is its excellent location near Victoria Station. At a cost of over £130 for the night I would expect so much more than a shared bathroom and toilet, uncomfortable bed, breakfast available before 7:30 and the icing on the cake...what sort of hotel can offer you an iron but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
ManagerCaswell, General Manager at Caswell Hotel, responded to this review

We want to thank you for sharing your comments here, sorry you have not enjoyed your stay with us. I have taken your comments on board and we now have an ironing board available as well. I am disappointed that you did not find us good value for money. We check our rates on a daily basis to ensure that... More

Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Hair in bed, torn sheets, better not look the bed - stains all over. Friendly satff and good location - 15min walk from B. Palace, Big ban, Victoria station... Breakfast so-so (bread and jam and one cup of coffee in a small basement room with no space for all the guests). I guess you get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ft myers, fl
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Great location near Victoria Station. We were able to walk to Buckingham Palace for the changing of the guards. Unfortunately my friend had his wallet stolen there, but he was able to cancel cards with the help from the staff at the Caswell. The staff was also great in getting our luggage to our rooms. The room was small but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ManagerCaswell, General Manager at Caswell Hotel, responded to this review

I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay in your hotel, and the hotel's location has made ​​it ideal to visit tourist areas. I have shared your comments with the team and they are pleased that you appreciated the service that they gave you. I hope that the loss of your wallet does not take away from your... More

Toronto
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

This place wouldn't be on the top of my list but it's an old townhouse conversion so you know what you're getting. Small room with two lumpy twin beds and a 'brother-in-law' bathroom conversion in the room. No light in the bathroom so that made it interesting. Having said that, it was quiet, and the guy at the desk and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Caswell Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Caswell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caswell Hotel

Address: 25 Gloucester Street, London SW1V 2DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Caswell Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Caswell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caswell Hotel London, England

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (41)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in London with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Breakfast Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Value budget Central London stays for cost-conscious travellers at this 19 rooms London Bed & Breakfast hotel with a range of affordable, functional rooms easy on your pocket just a 6 minutes from Victoria station and a short walk from Buckingham Palace. Ideal for families and groups of friends-Basic or Ensuite triple and quad rooms! Elementary comforts, friendly helpful service and well connected to the whole of the capital, with fast direct train links to/from Gatwick airport a short stroll away.Nearest tube station is Victoria (Circle, District, Victoria lines plus regional / national rail links including Gatwick Express, and national / international coach services), 5 minutes from the hotel. Choose from simple, affordable basic rooms with shared bathroom / WC in the hall or en suite options, all equipped with LCD TV and hairdryer. Wi Fi internet is also provided free of charge.Local shops, cafes, pubs and eateries are a short stroll from your London base, and it´s just 10 minutes on foot to Hyde Park and Marble Arch. The Houses of Parliament, the imposing Whitehall and the historic Westminster Abbey are a 15 minute stroll. By tube just 10 minutes to Earl´s Court, fashionable South Kensington (for the Natural History / Victoria & Albert museums), Notting Hill and Portobello Road market, plus the vibrant West End, Piccadilly Circus and Covent Garden. The Tower of London, Tower Bridge and The City are also an easy 15 minute tube journey. Affordable, enjoyable location for your London trip. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
18

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Caswell Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer