We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 622 London accommodations

YHA London Thameside

2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   20 Salter Rd, London SE16 5PR, England (Formerly Rotherhithe Youth Hostel) (Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added YHA London Thameside to your Saves list
YHA London Thameside
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
39%
Ranked #292 of 622 Specialty lodging in London
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
J B
  • Overview
  • Reviews (113)
  • Photos (20)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (16)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

113 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    31
    41
    17
    15
See reviews for
12
14
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

the staff were very helpful and friendly but the major downside of this hostel is the loud banging noise the doors make if people don't make a conscious effort to quietly shut the doors. A simple soft close mechanism on the doors would solve the issue. loved the walk from the hostel along the canal to the tube station. Sort... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
thamesidemanager, Manager at YHA London Thameside, responded to this review

Hi JB I am so glad you got to see the beauty of this area, It really is lovely around the canal and also by the Thames. Shame about the doors again as you say you will book again when these are fixed so I hope to say it won`t be long. Staff very Friendly and helpful, lets get those... More

Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The only ONE thing great in this place is the staff, who is polite and welcoming. Only that. The rooms and the bathrooms are very outdated, the beds are uncomfortable, and the worst of the worst is the NOISE ! OMG ! the AUTOMATICALLY slamming doors in the night and in the morning, from people constantly entering and leaving the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
thamesidemanager, Manager at YHA London Thameside, responded to this review

Hi Marty M Firstly thank you for taking the time to give me the feedback on your recent stay. It was good to hear that you found the staff polite and welcoming. Surprised about the beds, Not sure if you knew we had bunks . Have 4 doubles in the hostel and obviously these go quickly.The bathrooms are clean and... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I can't expect 5* accommodation but I'd like to think the night patrols mentioned in previous reviews might deter the foreign students from roaming the corridors and shouting outside. The room was clean and presentable but very bog standard. The bed was uncomfortable for 6 ft me but nevertheless I did eventually settle (once the chloroform kicked in) The bathroom... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
thamesidemanager, Manager at YHA London Thameside, responded to this review

Hi Jamie B Thank you for your review. You made me feel really proud when you commended the reception staff for being very polite and cheery on arrival . They really do a great job and it is always great to see that from our customers. The Nighy Duty do go around regularly to check on the floors and we... More

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having never stayed in a YHA place before I wasn't sure what to expect. Our room was on the second floor overlooking the outside seating area. The bunk beds were comfortable although because the outside temperatures were so hot it was difficult to sleep on a couple of nights, windows don't open much but are no different to most hotels.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
thamesidemanager, Manager at YHA London Thameside, responded to this review

Hi Helen H Thank you so much for reviewing YHA London Thameside. All the comments help us to improve our services.What a shame people were knocking on doors which is most annoying. I hope the comfortable beds made up for that . I think with warm weather people are wanting to be outside for longer and it sounds like our... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

We are in the middle of a heatwave so it's hot everywhere but this YHA has huge expanses of glass, no internal ventilation and windows that hardly open. It is a very noisy hostel, we stayed midweek and there were huge groups of very drunk people being stupidly loud on both nights we were there until 4 in the morning.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
thamesidemanager, Manager at YHA London Thameside, responded to this review

Hi Smurggle Sorry to hear that your stay with us was not an enjoyable one. Yes it is is hot everywhere including here. We do have a beautiful glass roof in the Reception area which is usually a great feature. From previous feedback we installed additional fans around the communial areas, and reception to get the air moving and this... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

A big hostel a little way out of London central. A bit of a pain having to pay for WiFi, breakfast etc, but I think that's standard with yhas. We got a private room with a bunk bed for fairly cheap, with a private bathroom even though in our booking it said shared bathroom. There was a large school group... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
thamesidemanager, Manager at YHA London Thameside, responded to this review

Dear Erin G Great to get your feedback about your stay at Thameside recently. I am glad you found your way to us. The bus stops outside the hostel are served by C10 to Canada Water to Victoria and back as well as the 381 which goes to Waterloo (london Eye and London Dungeon and London Aquarium and near Westminster... More

Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed here on a trip with my sixth form for two nights, was staying in a room with five other people, breakfast in the morning etc. and after reading other reviews on this website I was expecting some kind of hellhole, but it was not like that whatsoever! The room was much bigger than expected, plenty of room for all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
thamesidemanager, Manager at YHA London Thameside, responded to this review

Hi Libby W I am so glad you had a great stay with your sixth form and saw first hand what the hostel and the hostels teams are like. We are gradually changing the configured bunks with other styles that are getting positive feedback. Good that you all got a good nights sleep as I know you pack a lot... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Including my self there was nine of us staying here, we had four rooms between us. Day two of staying here we came back from our day out to find that we have had a room change and they have moved all of our stuff for us... Not knowing this was going to happen we did not pack our stuff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
thamesidemanager, Manager at YHA London Thameside, responded to this review

Hi Jennaco I can see reading your review that you experienced a problem with room changing. I am really sorry as these should go well when they do happen.We really try to avoid room changes and there are situations when these are necessary and unavoidable. I would be able to respond fully if I had more information from you. Here... More

Stoke-on-trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I stayed one night out of two that I booked (before and after an Expat Explore trip, this was the recommended place to stay close enough to the very early meeting point). Honestly, I found my stay unbearable. I stayed in a room shared with 5 others. There were two lots of three cramped bunk beds in one room. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
thamesidemanager, Manager at YHA London Thameside, responded to this review

Hi M0njura. Thanks for taking the time to put up a review. I was sorry to read that you did not enjoy the accommodation you had paid for in the 6 bed shared room. Shared accommodation in Youth Hostels is very common. Its not for everyone. It can be bothersome to some with others coming and going in the room... More

Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I had a two-person room that I shared with my mother. Our room was tiny but it was clean and the bed was comfortable. The staff downstairs were friendly and helpful. We skipped the breakfast. The location of this place is OK but not great. you have to walk 10 minutes to get to the tube. But it's a nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
thamesidemanager, Manager at YHA London Thameside, responded to this review

Hi Emma F Thank you for taking the time to review YHA Thameside. I am pleased that you and your mother found the Hostel clean and the staff friendly and helpful during your stay with us. You are right it is a nice 10 min walk to the underground stations of either Canda Water via the Albion Chanel or Rotherhithe... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage YHA London Thameside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to YHA London Thameside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA London Thameside

Address: 20 Salter Rd, London SE16 5PR, England (Formerly Rotherhithe Youth Hostel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — YHA London Thameside 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your YHA London Thameside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha London Thameside Hotel London
YHA London Thameside England

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in London with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
YHA London Thameside. Popular with School Groups from around the world as well as Individuals and families.All 70 rooms Ensuite .Easy to get to using Public Transport. Bus 380 and C10 outside of Hostel. Easy walk to either Canada Water undeground or Rotherhithe Overground. Great Breakfast, Snacks and evening meals available. Free WiFi with England & Wales Membership. Discounts on attractions and theatre shows. Really simple connections to Londons city centre and top attractions or just chill by the river Thames in SE16. Make Thameside part of your London memories. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
70

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from YHA London Thameside staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer