We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 643 London accommodations

YHA London Thameside

2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   20 Salter Rd, London SE16 5PR, England (Formerly Rotherhithe Youth Hostel) (Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark)
Hotel amenities
YHA London Thameside
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added YHA London Thameside to your Saves list
Ranked #267 of 643 Specialty Lodging in London
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
sandwickersworld Sandwick
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    38
    47
    21
    16
See reviews for
15
15
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (132)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (41)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
Sandwick
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

First of all - This was cheap as we could find in London for a school group and it IS suitable for young people. The area is not too central but easily accessible by bus into city centre or 10 minutes to Canada Water underground station. The rooms leave a lot to be desired with a strange damp smell and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Weymouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I stayed here for a w/e in Oct as part of a group booking. We found the reception staff welcoming and helpful. Being a light sleeper I was up in the early hours and was able to get a pot of tea from a cheerful member of staff. if I'd wanted I could have used the self catering kitchen. As... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
thamesidemanager, Manager at YHA London Thameside, responded to this review

Hi Karen Great Feedback from your Group Stay in October 14. I have passed on all your wonderful comments to the night duty , catering and housekeeping and reception teams. They loved it. Your feedback is so helpful to show us and others that we are flexible and are looking after your needs at the times you need them. The... More

Truro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My 15 year old daughter stayed here last w/e with her Orchestra Group, she is a coeliac and was very worried about whether the hostel would be able to cater for her dietary requirements . Before she arrived at the hostel I spoke to a staff member on reception who was very helpful and gave me the Chef's mobile number.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
thamesidemanager, Manager at YHA London Thameside, responded to this review

Hi Bethyten66 I have been away for a couple of weeks. What a lovely feedback to come back to. I felt very proud to read it. I heard that When Jean-Claude saw it, he kept re-reading it , he was so happy even more so that usual. To have your reservations evaporated by talking to the Chef must have been... More

chester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at YHA London Thameside (Previously known as YHA Rotherhithe) 31st October 2014. I wanted a cheap city break stay, my normal hotel had increased its prices so I was looking for an alternative cheap accommodation as close to the City of London as possible. I booked a family private room over the phone. Had slight trouble finding the location... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
thamesidemanager, Manager at YHA London Thameside, responded to this review

Thanks for your review on your stay at YHA London Thameside. I am glad you found us value for money and we hope you will be a regular visitor. You know where we are now. The signage is still there. We have 4 very large Green YHA signs on each corner of the building up higher. Also we have the... More

Southsea
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've done my fair share of youth hostels, both in the UK and abroad. We arrived, to be greeted by Claire, quite possibly one of the rudest human beings I've met. No enthusiasm or indeed friendliness to greet us, or indeed make us feel welcome to our native capital city. Our room was a 10 bed dorm room which had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
thamesidemanager, Manager at YHA London Thameside, responded to this review

Hi TobiasReeks Thank you for your full feedback on your stay. You have highlighted some very positive points about staying at YHA London Thameside. I am sorry if you did not get the warm friendly welcome at Reception from one of the team. I would be grateful if you would email me the particulars so I can follow on that.... More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The people in the yha where really friendly with a warm welcome and the crush hall was very cosy, but when you get into the room you are staying at - it doesn't look like the best room in the Hostel. As we entered the room, a stench loomed from the bathroom and lingered there for quite a while. There... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
thamesidemanager, Manager at YHA London Thameside, responded to this review

Hi Lauri212 I am so glad that you got a very warm welcome from the staff at YHA London Thameside and found the reception cosy. I was concerned to read your comments on your room . Of course we both expect high standards and I apologise if you did not get these. I also see there are feedbacks from others... More

1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014 via mobile

I visited this hostel on a school trip, as we knew it was a hostel and we were on a budget weren't expecting anything too luxurious. When we arrived we were unable to go to our 'rooms' not a good start. Te reception was not too bad apart from a few dirty old sofas. When we were finally allowed to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
thamesidemanager, Manager at YHA London Thameside, responded to this review

Hi Julieann45 It is always disappointing to read about an unhappy experience. I was really concerned with a number of you comments about cleanliness. I had not been made aware of any complaints to the hostel reception. It would be really helpful to my investigation if you were or your leader would contact me to give me dates, room etc..... More

Maribor, Slovenia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

So maybe i wont produce the best opinion becouse I stayed in this hostel only for cheek in and 1 hour sleep :) But still we were forced to find this hostel after we had argument with manegment of 1 hotel we were having reserved. For the price of the hostel you get everything you need. Ok staf, ok rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
thamesidemanager, Manager at YHA London Thameside, responded to this review

Hi Nik H Thank you for taking the time to review us at YHA London thameside. Your visit was all too short. I am pleased we able to be there for you and your fellow travellers when you needed us. You spied correctly a great buffet breakfast on your way past, all for only £4.99. I hope you will return... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014 via mobile

I had stayed in this accommodation for a trip with my school and we were not expecting something luxurious, but something comfortable and clean. Although being pleasantly surprised at how well the hostel looked in the reception, the rooms were a different story. There were many problems, only 2 electric plugs for a 6 person room, unpleasant smell in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
thamesidemanager, Manager at YHA London Thameside, responded to this review

Hi LoganV1998 It is always difficult when you read that everything was not as it should be. I am so sorry that you experienced something less than our normal high standards. I am reviewing with the housekeeping and mainenance teams. I can not identify your group and I do not know if this was hightlighted at the time of the... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

It was generally clean coz and quite. But the staff are a lil rude and the rooms have no air conditioning at all...For that price I wasn't expecting a 5star just something decent at least. I am trully disappointed in it all,and the cupboards were broken,the shower has no curtain and the door doesn't close well,and there is just alot... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
thamesidemanager, Manager at YHA London Thameside, responded to this review

Hi Monica-Sheeli A Thank you for reviewing us at YHA London Thameside. I was concerned to read your comments on the staff. If you see the other comments we get they are really friendly so I would like to know what your experience was. and apologise now if you did not get that wonderful welcome we are known for. It... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to YHA London Thameside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA London Thameside

Address: 20 Salter Rd, London SE16 5PR, England (Formerly Rotherhithe Youth Hostel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — YHA London Thameside 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your YHA London Thameside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha London Thameside Hotel London
YHA London Thameside England

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay