We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 615 London accommodations

YHA London Thameside

2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   20 Salter Rd, London SE16 5PR, England (Formerly Rotherhithe Youth Hostel)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added YHA London Thameside to your Saves list
YHA London Thameside
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
40%
Ranked #278 of 615 Specialty lodging in London
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Erin G
  • Overview
  • Reviews (108)
  • Photos (20)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (16)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    30
    39
    16
    14
See reviews for
10
13
21
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

We are in the middle of a heatwave so it's hot everywhere but this YHA has huge expanses of glass, no internal ventilation and windows that hardly open. It is a very noisy hostel, we stayed midweek and there were huge groups of very drunk people being stupidly loud on both nights we were there until 4 in the morning.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
thamesidemanager, Manager at YHA London Thameside, responded to this review

Hi Smurggle Sorry to hear that your stay with us was not an enjoyable one. Yes it is is hot everywhere including here. We do have a beautiful glass roof in the Reception area which is usually a great feature. From previous feedback we installed additional fans around the communial areas, and reception to get the air moving and this... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A big hostel a little way out of London central. A bit of a pain having to pay for WiFi, breakfast etc, but I think that's standard with yhas. We got a private room with a bunk bed for fairly cheap, with a private bathroom even though in our booking it said shared bathroom. There was a large school group... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
thamesidemanager, Manager at YHA London Thameside, responded to this review

Dear Erin G Great to get your feedback about your stay at Thameside recently. I am glad you found your way to us. The bus stops outside the hostel are served by C10 to Canada Water to Victoria and back as well as the 381 which goes to Waterloo (london Eye and London Dungeon and London Aquarium and near Westminster... More

Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here on a trip with my sixth form for two nights, was staying in a room with five other people, breakfast in the morning etc. and after reading other reviews on this website I was expecting some kind of hellhole, but it was not like that whatsoever! The room was much bigger than expected, plenty of room for all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
thamesidemanager, Manager at YHA London Thameside, responded to this review

Hi Libby W I am so glad you had a great stay with your sixth form and saw first hand what the hostel and the hostels teams are like. We are gradually changing the configured bunks with other styles that are getting positive feedback. Good that you all got a good nights sleep as I know you pack a lot... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Including my self there was nine of us staying here, we had four rooms between us. Day two of staying here we came back from our day out to find that we have had a room change and they have moved all of our stuff for us... Not knowing this was going to happen we did not pack our stuff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
thamesidemanager, Manager at YHA London Thameside, responded to this review

Hi Jennaco I can see reading your review that you experienced a problem with room changing. I am really sorry as these should go well when they do happen.We really try to avoid room changes and there are situations when these are necessary and unavoidable. I would be able to respond fully if I had more information from you. Here... More

Stoke-on-trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed one night out of two that I booked (before and after an Expat Explore trip, this was the recommended place to stay close enough to the very early meeting point). Honestly, I found my stay unbearable. I stayed in a room shared with 5 others. There were two lots of three cramped bunk beds in one room. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
thamesidemanager, Manager at YHA London Thameside, responded to this review

Hi M0njura. Thanks for taking the time to put up a review. I was sorry to read that you did not enjoy the accommodation you had paid for in the 6 bed shared room. Shared accommodation in Youth Hostels is very common. Its not for everyone. It can be bothersome to some with others coming and going in the room... More

Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I had a two-person room that I shared with my mother. Our room was tiny but it was clean and the bed was comfortable. The staff downstairs were friendly and helpful. We skipped the breakfast. The location of this place is OK but not great. you have to walk 10 minutes to get to the tube. But it's a nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
thamesidemanager, Manager at YHA London Thameside, responded to this review

Hi Emma F Thank you for taking the time to review YHA Thameside. I am pleased that you and your mother found the Hostel clean and the staff friendly and helpful during your stay with us. You are right it is a nice 10 min walk to the underground stations of either Canda Water via the Albion Chanel or Rotherhithe... More

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed one night during late May at the end of a two week trip to England. We'd been at two other hostels (YHA Oxford Street and YHA Cambridge) and this one was by far the worst. Our hostel room was shabby and in need of a thorough scrubbing. The bathroom was clean-ish, but looked dated and dirty after years... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
thamesidemanager, Manager at YHA London Thameside, responded to this review

Hi Penny D Thank you for taking the time to give feedback. We do see feedbacks as constructive and very helpful to improve or add services. I am sorry you were not happy at Thameside. I am glad that you have enjoyed stays at both YHA Oxford Street and YHA Cambridge both of whom have had major refurbishments . I... More

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

On first impressions, this Youth Hostel looked rather promising with a newly furbished reception and restaurant area. The rooms however were VERY basic. The beds themselves were cupboards taken apart and fitted back together in the shape of beds. The windows were draughty and let in alot of noise. The bathroom was in some ways unclean with grime around the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
England, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Stayed for 1 night group of over 20 with a youth group. We booked rooms that ensured the group had its own area and privacy but one of the rooms in the corridor was booked by another group. We didn't have the chance to check the room setup before allocating the kids to the rooms and that caused some hassle.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saarbrucken, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Ecellent for this price. People at the reception very helpfull, even offered to call to reserve a restaurant. Cleanliness is sufficient, nothing to say about the beds (good). 2 beds bedroom offers a little privacy for couples. Possibility to lock your suitcase before checking in (or after checking out). English breakfast worth it. Not that close to London but only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage YHA London Thameside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to YHA London Thameside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA London Thameside

Address: 20 Salter Rd, London SE16 5PR, England (Formerly Rotherhithe Youth Hostel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — YHA London Thameside 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your YHA London Thameside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha London Thameside Hotel London
YHA London Thameside England

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Amenities

Restaurant
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
33

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer