We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient

59/61 Borough High Street, Southwark | (reception at St Christopher’s Village, 161-165 Borough High Street), London SE1 1NE, England (Formerly St Christopher's Orient Espresso)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient
Add Photo Write a Review

74 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    5
    15
    29
    13
    12
See reviews for
9
2
32
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (74)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
Brazil
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hostel is very clean, staff are amazing and you can have all the facilities you ever need.It is specially recommended to those who wants to party and have fun. Most important for me : Wifi was actually fast.

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
STCHostels, Front Office Manager at St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient, responded to this review

Hi, So glad that you enjoyed your time with us, we hope that you decide to stay with us again at some point. Safe travels More 

New York City, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

The only advantage of this place is its cheapness. Note that there are different places named "St Christopher's" on the same street. I booked to the "Oasis", but was put into a room in the "Village", where the check-in is as well. It was really bad, very loud all night (street noise and inside noise, people coming in and out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
STCHostels, Front Office Manager at St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient, responded to this review

Hey! Thank you for taking the time for leaving us a review. We do apologize that your stay with us was not very positive. Unfortunately the old Oasis building has been sold, the new Oasis is now located in the village but in a separated wing from the rest of the building, we are still going through refurbishment at this... More 

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Dar Es Salaam Region, Tanzania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

I really enjoyed staying at the Oasis, as it was very quiet and relaxed. It is a quieter than the Village just a block away. It has everything you need in a hostel, including towels. It gets busy and booked out so you need to book ahead of time. Excellent location for everything you might want to do in London:... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beds B, Reception at St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient, responded to this review

Hey, thanks so much for leaving us such a kind review! Great to hear you enjoyed your stay - please come back and see us again soon :) Happy travels! More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

I booked this hostel really last minute for one night in London. My favourite thing about the hostel was its location. It's really near the underground station. A 5-10 minute walk brings you to the Tower Bridge, which is gorgeous at night. (: As for the amenities, they were pretty basic. Space everywhere was rather tight, and cleanliness was average.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
STCHostels, Manager at St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed you stay and took advantage of our great location; right near one of London's most beautiful landmarks! We are sorry the cleanliness did not meet your expectations but, with so many guests, sometimes you make it to the mess before... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

I've stayed at the Oasis before, but this was the first time in an 8 bed dorm here (Stayed in others before). The bedroom was fine as were the linens and beds. The storage lockers are a good size, bring your own keys. The bathrooms were ok; bright and clean. The noise level outside was a little high, but it's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beds B, Reception at St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient, responded to this review

Hey there, thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review. Very glad you enjoyed your stay with us, please come back soon! Happy travels :) More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

I stayed there for nearlly a month on and off. So I have a clear idea what this hostel is like. During my stay there were 2 occasions when there was no hot water ( from around 10am-18pm) so 2 days there was no hot water. You think its bad? Think again, one of these days I couldnt use a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beds B, Reception at St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay at the Oasis. It was a shame you were here when we were having troubles with the heating, since these issues have now been resolved. In regards to the male staff in your hostel, sometimes when no female staff are available the male staff need to enter the Oasis to deal with... More 

Herning
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015 via mobile

I chose to stay at the Oasis all women Hostel. 8 bed bedroom. It served its purpose, a bed to sleep in after havin wandered the city all day. The Hostel included fine lockers for which you need a padlock. Showers and toilets, free towel, shampoo, conditiobers and soap. It was just oppisite London Bridge underground, Borough Market and Southwark... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Beds B, Manager at St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review, we would really like to see you again :) It also sounds like you took advantage of our central location and facilities for guests, which is what we like to hear ;) Thanks again and all the best on your onward travels. More 

Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

Awesome location; close to London Bridge station; bed comfortable and nice breakfast. In the other hand, to have your breakfast and check-in/out you must go to the Village, other hostel (3 min walking on the same street); restrooms sometimes are dirty and disgusting. One day there isnt hot water in the building and they suggested to go to the Village... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beds B, Manager at St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient, responded to this review

We were very sorry to read that your stay with us was not as enjoyable as it perhaps could have been due to some issues that seem to have arose during your stay. As for our toilets and showers we diligently clean them three times a day and once at night but as I'm sure you can imagine, in a... More 

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

This was the fifth St. Christopher's Inn location I'd stayed at, so at this point I knew what to expect from the hostel quality. One of the things that shocked me however, this being my first time at an all-female hostel, was how the other guests treated the room at times; it was a mess when I brought my things... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Beds B, Front Office Manager at St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you liked the location. We are very sorry to hear that you had bad experience with your room mates. We hope to see you again in London next time. Take care ;) More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

73 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (56)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...

Staying in Southwark

Neighborhood Profile
Southwark
Even before the arrival of the instantly iconic Shard, the riverside scene in Southwark had moved well beyond any up-and-coming phase of development. For quite some time, locals and out-of-towners alike have loved browsing the boutiques of Bermondsey High Street, foraging through the bounteous stalls at centuries old foodie haven Borough Market, and flocking to the banks of the Thames to enjoy some of Britain's biggest attractions such as Tate Modern and Shakespeare's Globe. Despite Southwark's many popular draws, instant calm can be achieved easily by turning down almost any side street. For more urban buzz, a quick stroll across famed bridges like the pedestrianized Millennium Bridge or the ever photogenic Tower Bridge yields access to the very core of Central London. And with London Bridge Station as this neighborhood's main transportation hub, getting across town (or to anywhere in England for that matter) is a relative breeze.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay