We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient

59/61 Borough High Street, Southwark | (reception at St Christopher’s Village, 161-165 Borough High Street), London SE1 1NE, England (Formerly St Christopher's Orient Espresso)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    15
    28
    11
    12
See reviews for
9
2
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (70)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
Dar Es Salaam Region, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I really enjoyed staying at the Oasis, as it was very quiet and relaxed. It is a quieter than the Village just a block away. It has everything you need in a hostel, including towels. It gets busy and booked out so you need to book ahead of time. Excellent location for everything you might want to do in London:... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beds B, Reception at St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient, responded to this review

Hey, thanks so much for leaving us such a kind review! Great to hear you enjoyed your stay - please come back and see us again soon :) Happy travels! More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked this hostel really last minute for one night in London. My favourite thing about the hostel was its location. It's really near the underground station. A 5-10 minute walk brings you to the Tower Bridge, which is gorgeous at night. (: As for the amenities, they were pretty basic. Space everywhere was rather tight, and cleanliness was average.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've stayed at the Oasis before, but this was the first time in an 8 bed dorm here (Stayed in others before). The bedroom was fine as were the linens and beds. The storage lockers are a good size, bring your own keys. The bathrooms were ok; bright and clean. The noise level outside was a little high, but it's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beds B, Reception at St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient, responded to this review

Hey there, thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review. Very glad you enjoyed your stay with us, please come back soon! Happy travels :) More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed there for nearlly a month on and off. So I have a clear idea what this hostel is like. During my stay there were 2 occasions when there was no hot water ( from around 10am-18pm) so 2 days there was no hot water. You think its bad? Think again, one of these days I couldnt use a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beds B, Reception at St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay at the Oasis. It was a shame you were here when we were having troubles with the heating, since these issues have now been resolved. In regards to the male staff in your hostel, sometimes when no female staff are available the male staff need to enter the Oasis to deal with... More 

Herning
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015 via mobile

I chose to stay at the Oasis all women Hostel. 8 bed bedroom. It served its purpose, a bed to sleep in after havin wandered the city all day. The Hostel included fine lockers for which you need a padlock. Showers and toilets, free towel, shampoo, conditiobers and soap. It was just oppisite London Bridge underground, Borough Market and Southwark... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Beds B, Manager at St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review, we would really like to see you again :) It also sounds like you took advantage of our central location and facilities for guests, which is what we like to hear ;) Thanks again and all the best on your onward travels. More 

Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

Awesome location; close to London Bridge station; bed comfortable and nice breakfast. In the other hand, to have your breakfast and check-in/out you must go to the Village, other hostel (3 min walking on the same street); restrooms sometimes are dirty and disgusting. One day there isnt hot water in the building and they suggested to go to the Village... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beds B, Manager at St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient, responded to this review

We were very sorry to read that your stay with us was not as enjoyable as it perhaps could have been due to some issues that seem to have arose during your stay. As for our toilets and showers we diligently clean them three times a day and once at night but as I'm sure you can imagine, in a... More 

Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

This was the fifth St. Christopher's Inn location I'd stayed at, so at this point I knew what to expect from the hostel quality. One of the things that shocked me however, this being my first time at an all-female hostel, was how the other guests treated the room at times; it was a mess when I brought my things... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Beds B, Front Office Manager at St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you liked the location. We are very sorry to hear that you had bad experience with your room mates. We hope to see you again in London next time. Take care ;) More 

Roma
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
26 hotel reviews
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

noisy (and I knew it, that's why I take with me my ear plugs), enough clean to be good, the beds are hard enough not to make your back complying about where you have slept. Unfortunately at the first floor there are only 2 toilet for 16 people and when one got blocked I though that they would fix the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beds B, Front Office Manager at St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. We are sorry to learn that you didnt enjoy your stay with us. Unfortunatly some male staff have to go to the room to do their jobs (cleaning, maintenance). We are happy to see that you enjoyed the cleanliness of the place though. Take care and we hope to see... More 

Perth
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

This hostel is very basic but is all you need in London. Secure rooms and in a fantastic location near borough market. Value for money in London and so close to the tube and train stations. Would stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beds B, Front Office Manager at St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us a review, we are delighted to learn that you enjoyed the hostel and the location. Please come to visit us again in the futur take care, safe travel ;))) More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient

Address: 59/61 Borough High Street, Southwark | (reception at St Christopher’s Village, 161-165 Borough High Street), London SE1 1NE, England (Formerly St Christopher's Orient Espresso)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Christopher's Oasis At The Orient London, England

73 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (56)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Staying in Southwark

Neighborhood Profile
Southwark
Even before the arrival of the instantly iconic Shard, the riverside scene in Southwark had moved well beyond any up-and-coming phase of development. For quite some time, locals and out-of-towners alike have loved browsing the boutiques of Bermondsey High Street, foraging through the bounteous stalls at centuries old foodie haven Borough Market, and flocking to the banks of the Thames to enjoy some of Britain's biggest attractions such as Tate Modern and Shakespeare's Globe. Despite Southwark's many popular draws, instant calm can be achieved easily by turning down almost any side street. For more urban buzz, a quick stroll across famed bridges like the pedestrianized Millennium Bridge or the ever photogenic Tower Bridge yields access to the very core of Central London. And with London Bridge Station as this neighborhood's main transportation hub, getting across town (or to anywhere in England for that matter) is a relative breeze.
Explore this neighborhood