We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient

59/61 Borough High Street, Southwark | (reception at St Christopher’s Village, 161-165 Borough High Street), London SE1 1NE, England (Formerly St Christopher's Orient Espresso)
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    13
    25
    11
    11
See reviews for
8
2
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (64)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Herning
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

I chose to stay at the Oasis all women Hostel. 8 bed bedroom. It served its purpose, a bed to sleep in after havin wandered the city all day. The Hostel included fine lockers for which you need a padlock. Showers and toilets, free towel, shampoo, conditiobers and soap. It was just oppisite London Bridge underground, Borough Market and Southwark... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beds B, Manager at St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review, we would really like to see you again :) It also sounds like you took advantage of our central location and facilities for guests, which is what we like to hear ;) Thanks again and all the best on your onward travels. More 

Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Awesome location; close to London Bridge station; bed comfortable and nice breakfast. In the other hand, to have your breakfast and check-in/out you must go to the Village, other hostel (3 min walking on the same street); restrooms sometimes are dirty and disgusting. One day there isnt hot water in the building and they suggested to go to the Village... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beds B, Manager at St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient, responded to this review

We were very sorry to read that your stay with us was not as enjoyable as it perhaps could have been due to some issues that seem to have arose during your stay. As for our toilets and showers we diligently clean them three times a day and once at night but as I'm sure you can imagine, in a... More 

Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

This was the fifth St. Christopher's Inn location I'd stayed at, so at this point I knew what to expect from the hostel quality. One of the things that shocked me however, this being my first time at an all-female hostel, was how the other guests treated the room at times; it was a mess when I brought my things... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beds B, Front Office Manager at St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you liked the location. We are very sorry to hear that you had bad experience with your room mates. We hope to see you again in London next time. Take care ;) More 

Roma
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
26 hotel reviews
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

noisy (and I knew it, that's why I take with me my ear plugs), enough clean to be good, the beds are hard enough not to make your back complying about where you have slept. Unfortunately at the first floor there are only 2 toilet for 16 people and when one got blocked I though that they would fix the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beds B, Front Office Manager at St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. We are sorry to learn that you didnt enjoy your stay with us. Unfortunatly some male staff have to go to the room to do their jobs (cleaning, maintenance). We are happy to see that you enjoyed the cleanliness of the place though. Take care and we hope to see... More 

Perth
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This hostel is very basic but is all you need in London. Secure rooms and in a fantastic location near borough market. Value for money in London and so close to the tube and train stations. Would stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beds B, Front Office Manager at St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us a review, we are delighted to learn that you enjoyed the hostel and the location. Please come to visit us again in the futur take care, safe travel ;))) More 

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff at check in upon arrival. They have many large lockers to store your packs in. They have a "chill room" where we met some people we spent the rest of our time with. A little far from most sights however

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Beds B, Front Office Manager at St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us this lovely review, we are happy to know that you liked the atmosphere and the hostel. We hope to see you again in the futur ;)) More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

The hostel was in a good location, but there were no kitchens in the hostel. We were confused by their "welcome backpackers" motto with no place to store food. This is Better for people who have lots of money to spend on food (not like us who have to budget.) Might I also add that I got sick during my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beds B, Front Office Manager at St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to leave us a review, we like to know how you felt during your stay to improve our facilities. Unfortubatly we dont have any kitchen but a microwave and kettle are free to use in our chill out room. We are glad that you liked the location . See you soon ;)) More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I really appreciated the location of the hostel (near London Bridge and the underground), the WiFi was reliable and breakfast was included. The 8-bed dorm was of a good size, but there was nowhere to hang out in the Oasis, which was a bit of an inconvenience. It meant that we had to go to the main building down the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beds B, Front Office Manager at St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us a review, we are happy that you liked the location, they were no hangers in the room but we are working on it. We wish you all the best, take care ;)) More 

Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I went with high expectations after staying at the St Christopher's in Paris and those expectations were not met. I went knowing that check in was at another location which I didn't mind. But arriving at 10pm with a heavy luggage and facing 3 flights of narrow stairs was a horrible nightmare. Bed was relatively comfy but sleeping in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beds B, Front Office Manager at St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us a review, we are happy to know that you like the location and the comfy beds. Unfortunatly we dont have a lift but a member of reception is always ready to help. See you in the futur take care More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient

Address: 59/61 Borough High Street, Southwark | (reception at St Christopher’s Village, 161-165 Borough High Street), London SE1 1NE, England (Formerly St Christopher's Orient Espresso)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > London Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Christopher's Oasis At The Orient London, England

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (53)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Staying in Southwark

Neighborhood Profile
Southwark
Even before the arrival of the instantly iconic Shard, the riverside scene in Southwark had moved well beyond any up-and-coming phase of development. For quite some time, locals and out-of-towners alike have loved browsing the boutiques of Bermondsey High Street, foraging through the bounteous stalls at centuries old foodie haven Borough Market, and flocking to the banks of the Thames to enjoy some of Britain's biggest attractions such as Tate Modern and Shakespeare's Globe. Despite Southwark's many popular draws, instant calm can be achieved easily by turning down almost any side street. For more urban buzz, a quick stroll across famed bridges like the pedestrianized Millennium Bridge or the ever photogenic Tower Bridge yields access to the very core of Central London. And with London Bridge Station as this neighborhood's main transportation hub, getting across town (or to anywhere in England for that matter) is a relative breeze.
Explore this neighborhood