We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

St. Christopher's Inn Hostel - London Bridge

121 Borough High Street, Southwark | (reception at St Christopher’s Village, 161-165 Borough High Street.), London SE1 1NP, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
St. Christopher\\
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

234 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    43
    78
    64
    31
    18
See reviews for
7
24
71
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (234)
  • Mar-May only
    (52)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (81)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (60)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Good location, excellent staff, a very friendly place with a real sense of community. Female part of the hostel with its own bathrooms and toilets is safe. Very good facilities. Excellent breakfast. Good wi-fi. A nice bar. Film screening and walking tours. Rooftop. The only problem is that the female rooms (and probably some other rooms) are facing a very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was in London on business and we were having dinner at Hutong at The Shrad, which has a breathtaking view of London. Knowing, that I'd only be sleeping for 4-5 hours (early morning flight), I opted for buying two beds in a private room at St. Christophers in for £68, rather than the £450.- for a room at The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Daniel D, Manager at St. Christopher's Inn Hostel - London Bridge, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for the review! The shard is an amazing building! right at the backdoor of our hostel too. Our location is great as we have the tube station so close to us and we are on such great lines that can get you all over london! and being only 45 minutes to heathrow is great! yes the... More 

Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good hostel for visiting the local sites. Close to the Borough Market and London Bridge Tube station. Could use a bit of a makeover, but overall fairly priced and toilets kept clean. My room was a bit of a disaster, but I had some untidy roommates. The bar area at night was the highlight of the hostel. I've stayed at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daniel D, Manager at St. Christopher's Inn Hostel - London Bridge, responded to this review

hi there, thank you for the review, its great to read that you took advantage of our awesome location, so close to the tube station is a great help while traveling through london! im sorry to hear you didn't appreciate our sixteenth century building.When any renovations that are made within the Inn, they are done without making to much change... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I would definitely recommend this place if you are visiting London. Great location and it's very close to all the popular attractions such as the Tower Bridge and Tower of London. The bar offers a great selection of beers and the staff is extremely helpful, friendly, and gave great customer service. The food is good there too, they use fresh... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daniel D, Manager at St. Christopher's Inn Hostel - London Bridge, responded to this review

hello, thank you for the wonderful review! It's great to hear that you took advantage of our awesome location! We are lucky to have such an awesome range of fellow travelers in our staff who are more than happy to share their experiences with guests! All our fresh ingredients are local from the Borough Market, and the awesome thing about... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed in the 22 bed dorm which was spacious and had great security - little roller cages that were lockable (bring own padlock) and fit your entire bag. Most bathrooms/showers were spacious and clean 90% of the time (good when sharing with 21+ other people). Wifi was great, free laundry on top floor, small roof terrace and crazy bar.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

Ive stayed in a few hostels now and this is defiantly the best one i've stayed in. The rooms are fairly clean, spacious, I stayed in an 8 person room. Showers and bathrooms are shared which is expected of a hostel, they were clean however one shower was cold! The breakfast was nice, there was a buffet and the food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daniel D, General Manager at St. Christopher's Inn Hostel - London Bridge, responded to this review

hi there, thank you for the fantastic review! It is great to hear you enjoyed our hostel and bar as much as we do! Oh i am so sorry to hear the one shower was not functional over your stay! The shows put on in the evening are great, especially for the guest who are interested in meeting new people... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2015

First impression was rather good. Clean, tidy, with nice surroundings. However, the 4 staff on duty gave the impression they'd rather be somewhere else and didn't make any effort to engage with the few customers that were there. Ordered food which was definitely below par. Asked for English Mustered waited and waited and it never arrived. Not likely to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daniel D, General Manager at St. Christopher's Inn Hostel - London Bridge, responded to this review

hi there, yes we do pride ourselves on the cleanliness of the hostel and bar as our cleaning team work tirelessly to maintain this high standard we've set. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us, its disappointing to hear of the staffs lack of enthusiasm that day. thank you for taking the time to... More 

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2015

First off, this location has two locations, we didn't know the main one was down the street. We go there to check in. We had to rent towels that were each 10 pounds each, we did get 8 back, but as travelers staying in a hostel you are usually on a budget. We go to our room which we learn... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daniel D, Manager at St. Christopher's Inn Hostel - London Bridge, responded to this review

hi there, thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. yes the two locations can get confusing. however, the inn now has its own reception now, which eliminates the need to walk down to the village, which is great! i understand that the £10 deposit can be a bit steep for those traveling on a budget,... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

I love this place! By evening, it is a great ale and live music pub, bearing the look of its heritage as the site of a 16thC travellers stop. By night, the rooms are comfortable and the beds are cosy, with really good bedding. By morning, a varied breakfast buffet is served by Ivan, a sweetie who caters to we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daniel D, General Manager at St. Christopher's Inn Hostel - London Bridge, responded to this review

Hey there! Wow, such a lovely and poetic review!! After reading it even I wanted to book a bed for a night and wake up to the sound of a guitarist playing in the morning. I agree, the whole London is an amazing place to get lost, especially the Borough market ... So many different things you can try. Thank... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015 via mobile

Stayed her on a Saturday night as a female flying solo. The male reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The whole place was so clean and tidy - particularly the washrooms. Would definetely stay here again and recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daniel D, General Manager at St. Christopher's Inn Hostel - London Bridge, responded to this review

Whoaa!! What an amazing review! Thank you for sharing your lovely opinion with us. Happy to hear our staff members could help you out. We have a huge group of amazing people working with us and I hope that next time you travel again you will be able to meet us all! Have an amazing day and happy travels! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
St Christopher's Village London Bridge
Southwark
St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient
The Walrus Hostel
#62 of 698 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Marylebone
Phoenix Hostel
Phoenix Hostel
#120 of 698 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Southwark

Neighborhood Profile
Southwark
Even before the arrival of the instantly iconic Shard, the riverside scene in Southwark had moved well beyond any up-and-coming phase of development. For quite some time, locals and out-of-towners alike have loved browsing the boutiques of Bermondsey High Street, foraging through the bounteous stalls at centuries old foodie haven Borough Market, and flocking to the banks of the Thames to enjoy some of Britain's biggest attractions such as Tate Modern and Shakespeare's Globe. Despite Southwark's many popular draws, instant calm can be achieved easily by turning down almost any side street. For more urban buzz, a quick stroll across famed bridges like the pedestrianized Millennium Bridge or the ever photogenic Tower Bridge yields access to the very core of Central London. And with London Bridge Station as this neighborhood's main transportation hub, getting across town (or to anywhere in England for that matter) is a relative breeze.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay