We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1,065 London hotels

The Dover Hotel

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42-44 Belgrave Road, London SW1V 1RG, England (Victoria)
Hotel amenities
The Dover Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Dover Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #665 of 1,065 Hotels in London
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Dawnie742013 Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    90
    121
    50
    26
See reviews for
68
99
19
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (310)
  • Mar-May only
    (74)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (78)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (83)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (75)
All months
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

we visited London as a group of 5 so the quint room was ideal. Room was clean and breakfast was served promptly. Location of Hotel was near to Station and underground and within walking distance to Westminster, Buckingham Palace and Shopping.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saratov
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at the hotel for 4 days! Location is great- less than 5mins to Victoria station and about 15 to the main attractions. Rooms are spacious enough, beds are quite big! Clean bathroom, good service! Breakfast is ok, for me it was enough for a morning meal) some local shops are just out of the corner, we got almost everywhere... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DoverLondon, Manager at The Dover Hotel, responded to this review

We take this opportunity to thank you for your kind review about our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you soon. More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Wanted l night in London paid very little considering London prices, however, I am a Senior Citizen and I found it hard going, with people showering at 2.30 a.m. and people using toilet all hours. Hotel well situated, 5 mins for Victoria Station, king size bed, clean sheets and pillows, TV and coffee making facilities in the room, just wish... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DoverLondon, Manager at The Dover Hotel, responded to this review

We take this opportunity to thank you for your kind review about our hotel. For your information, we have commenced a floor by floor refurbishment programme at the hotel. This will address all the issues that you have raised and the hotel will be significantly better than it is now. The works should not affect the day to day running... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Well situated bed and breakfast type accomodation. Very small rooms and a tiny bathroom that you have to step up into. No plug in the sink, plaster in ceiling of room was becoming detatched. Room in need of repair. Clean linen and towels, bed made daily and room cleaned daily. Good continental breakfast options. Friendly and professional staff at reception.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DoverLondon, Manager at The Dover Hotel, responded to this review

We take this opportunity to thank you for your kind review about our hotel. We are please that you enjoyed your stay with us. For your information, we have commenced a floor by floor refurbishment programme at the hotel. This will address all the issues that you have raised and the hotel will be significantly better than it is now.... More 

Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

Pros: bed, pillows, location, price. Cons: I read from reviews that they are ongoing renovation so that would be a big help for quite meticulous people but not me. the hotel is ok for me. Location: perfect. I stayed in this hotel for four nights and it felt like I was not in a hotel but just inside my bedroom.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DoverLondon, Manager at The Dover Hotel, responded to this review

We take this opportunity to thank you for your kind review about our hotel and your recent visit. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. More 

toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

The hotel itself is not the greatest. If you're looking for somewhere VERY central and clean enough to sleep in then it's perfect. The size of the room was fine for the 2 of us, the size of the bathroom was REALLY small but we managed. Linens were clean and beds were comfy. TV worked fine. Breakfast in the morning... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DoverLondon, Manager at The Dover Hotel, responded to this review

We take this opportunity to thank you for your kind review of our hotel. For your information, we have commenced a floor by floor refurbishment programme at the hotel. This will address all the issues that you have raised and the hotel will be significantly better than it is now. The works should not affect the day to day running... More 

Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

Thank you Dover Hotel. We had a lovely stay in your hotel. It was clean and basic but that is what we needed. The location is excellent. The price is reasonable too. The staff were pleasant too. My friend and I got to meet the owner and it was kind of him to chat with us. We will definitely go... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DoverLondon, Manager at The Dover Hotel, responded to this review

We take this opportunity to thank you for your kind review about our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you soon. More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

Great value hotel in the heart of Victoria and is 5 mins away from the underground station. The hotel provides a good value for money in this part of London. There are many shops and restaurants in this area that open until late. The location is great if you need to get to the airport, the city or the west... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DoverLondon, Manager at The Dover Hotel, responded to this review

We take this opportunity to thank you for your kind review about our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you soon. More 

Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

We had the room no. 33 and our experience was really bad. The toilet was not flushing, there was no warm water at any time and the blanket was dirty. The breakfast was pretty plane. Six pieces of toast with butter and some jam - thats it. When i come back to london, i would not sleep here. 1 stae... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DoverLondon, Manager at The Dover Hotel, responded to this review

We take this opportunity to thank you for your kind review about our hotel We are sorry that we were not up to your standard. Our breakfast menu contains , 6 choices of hot drinks, choices of juices , yogurt, choices of cereals, butter , jam etc. We are situated in old Victorian building and due to restrictions by local... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014 via mobile

Great location, room was clean and tidy, staff were always friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good, plenty of toast, shame they had coco pops instead of rice crispies though! Overall a very good hotel and good value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DoverLondon, Manager at The Dover Hotel, responded to this review

We take this opportunity to thank you for your kind review of our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you soon More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Dover Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dover Hotel

Address: 42-44 Belgrave Road, London SW1V 1RG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Dover Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and EasyToBook so you can book your The Dover Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dover Hotel London, England

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Staying in Pimlico

Neighborhood Profile
Pimlico
Time spent in Pimlico is a slower-paced affair than most other Central London neighborhoods. This largely residential area orderly arranged beside the Thames, is a treasure trove of quaint pubs, subtle architectural charms and local boutiques. Here, art lovers thrill at the chance to visit the world class Tate Britain gallery for its collection of British art from the 1500s to the present. For peace and quiet and some downtime spent along the Thames, Pimlico is highly recommended.
Explore this neighborhood