We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Dover Hotel

42-44 Belgrave Road, London SW1V 1RG, England
Hotel amenities
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Dover Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

360 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    31
    107
    138
    56
    28
See reviews for
80
116
25
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (360)
  • Mar-May only
    (95)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (99)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (83)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (83)
All months
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Dover Hotel is in a great location - close to Victoria station and walking distance to Buckingham palace and Big Ben. But the rest of the experience was very average. Tight is how I would describe the place - a very small reception area, a narrow hallway and stairway, and a very tight room. Even the breakfast area is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DoverLondon, Manager at The Dover Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments. We have tried very hard to maintain a delicate balance between space and the facilities that our guests require. We would love to provide more space but that is impossible in Central London. You have to choose between space and our excellent location. More 

Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Planned a 2 night stay for 2 adults and 3 children, booked their quint room as the 3 children were under 12, and it's extremely difficult to find family rooms for 5 people. On arrival I was informed that they were having refurbishments and that the quint room was unavailable, but they had given us 2 rooms next door to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DoverLondon, Manager at The Dover Hotel, responded to this review

We thank you for your lovely detailed response and are glad to note that you enjoyed your stay and will visit us again. There is no need for me to add anything as you have very eloquently highlighted all our strong points. We are planning to incorporate a locked luggage room when we refurbish the reception. Having said that we... More 

Torquay, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Easy walking distance to Victoria Rail Station and also Victoria Coach station if you are travelling by bus. Rooms very clean and comfortable but a little on the small side. We were in room 7 which had its own ensuite bathroom. Breakfast was of the continental variety but sufficient. wi fi available in room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DoverLondon, Manager at The Dover Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments and pointing our strong points. We have almost completed our renovation and your review is a proof of that work. In future all our visitors will enjoy the same way as you did and we look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night in July 2015 6 flights of stairs and no lift make Anthony a very tired and cranky boy Poor shower, little hot water at night, better in morning Bed very soft Good location near Victoria Station

Was this review helpful? Yes
DoverLondon, Manager at The Dover Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write a response. We believe that you are being a little unfair to us as we have only three stories above ground and not six. I am surprised about your comments on the hot water because we have a fully pumped system in the hotel and no other guests has complained about this. More 

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Wanting to find a place close to Butler's place and under £160 which is the limit I am allowed with my company I found Dover hotel at £105. Why did I not check tripadvisor. The hotel is undergoing refurbishment. The first room I was given was room 10. Very small but clean. I could not stay here it was so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DoverLondon, Manager at The Dover Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments. Our refurbishment is now almost complete and most of your comments relating to the works will now be resolved. At some stage we had to undertake the renovations and we apologise to all our guests who felt that this affected their stay. Our reduced tariff reflected this. More 

Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

The room was a good size, clean, comfortable bed and the staff was helpful. It is close to Victoria station and not far from Buckingham Palace.No AC but keep cool with the fan and cool night air from open window. The breakfast could use some help. I would stay again if going back to London.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DoverLondon, Manager at The Dover Hotel, responded to this review

We thank you very much for taking the time to post a response and mentioning our good points. Our refurbishment is almost complete and we are now receiving positive reviews from our guests. We will, of course, try and improve our services at all time. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

Considering the standard of the hotels in Victoria, it was a great surprise to find such a great hotel! The hotel is being remodelled and it is very clean and modern. Even though the rooms are quite small, it is all wonderful! It is very comfortable and the location is great! I truly recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DoverLondon, Manager at The Dover Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a response and listing our strong points. Our refurbishment is almost complete and very soon we will be posting our new pictures on the website for all to see and hopefully book with us. .We look forward to seeing you again soon More 

Narre Warren, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

This hotel is very close to Victoria station and lots of attractions but hasn't got much else going for it. The rooms are tiny with no space to put clothes or anything else. Bathroom is very nice but once again nowhere to put anything. Very noisy with creaking floorboards and paper thin walls. Not great when people come back in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DoverLondon, Manager at The Dover Hotel, responded to this review

We thank you for your response and listing our strong points. We will also take your comments in to account and improve our services where possible We have tried very hard to maintain a good balance between space and services that our guests require in the Central London Victorian buildings. More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2015

For the price in Central London this is reasonable value. Very close to Victoria Station rooms are very clean, smell fresh and the staff are helpful. Rooms are a decent size and I got a good nights sleep. Ideal for one or two days. Breakfast needs to be better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DoverLondon, Manager at The Dover Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a response and listing our strong points. We will take your comments in to account and improve our services. We hope that other visitors will book with us when they come to London and look forward to seeing you again soon More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015 via mobile

Came for the who concert in Hyde Park and stayted at the Dover Hotel, the service is great staff are very nice and our room was lovely We was very pleased and will book again the next time we come to London Location is perfect and prices reasonable Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
DoverLondon, Manager at The Dover Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and sincerely hope that your comments will encourage other guests to book with us while they are visiting London. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

73 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (61)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#323 of 1,053 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 956 reviews
Pimlico
Stanley House
Stanley House
#666 of 1,053 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 793 reviews
Pimlico
St George's Inn Victoria
St George's Inn Victoria
#730 of 1,053 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
BEST WESTERN Victoria Palace
Pimlico
Comfort Inn Buckingham Palace Road
Pimlico
Premier Inn London Victoria
Premier Inn London Victoria
#174 of 1,053 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Pimlico

Neighborhood Profile
Pimlico
Time spent in Pimlico is a slower-paced affair than most other Central London neighborhoods. This largely residential area orderly arranged beside the Thames, is a treasure trove of quaint pubs, subtle architectural charms and local boutiques. Here, art lovers thrill at the chance to visit the world class Tate Britain gallery for its collection of British art from the 1500s to the present. For peace and quiet and some downtime spent along the Thames, Pimlico is highly recommended.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay