We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Trafalgar Hotel

#304 of 1,052 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
2 Spring Gardens | Trafalgar Square, London SW1A 2TS, England
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Save 30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Trafalgar Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Trafalgar Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

1,876 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    837
    615
    259
    106
    59
See reviews for
348
767
118
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1876)
  • Mar-May only
    (457)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (537)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (460)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (422)
All months
Lot-et-Garonne, France
Level Contributor
388 reviews
223 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 405 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed here for the weekend. This hotel proudly styles itself as the only unbranded / trendy Hilton but I've no idea why because the branded Hiltons are better! The annoyance here starts pre-arrival with a pretentious message from the concierge, rather than the normal Hilton pre-arrival email that works so well. Our rooms was fine but tired and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
carlisle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here for a long weekend to celebrate my wife's birthday, the hotel was spotless and we found all the staff very helpful, we asked when booking in if we could visit the vista bar and the receptionist did this with no problem. The Vista bar has amazing views of the city and is a definite must do. Breakfast was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Piotr B, Front Office Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mike w, Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We were delighted to see that you found the hotel to be in a perfect location. Thank you very much for your lovely feedback about our breakfast and Vista roof top bar. We were glad to know that you found our breakfast to be delicious.... More 

Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed at the Trafalgar hotel in July and loved how central it was. Right in the corner of the square with its rear towards Buckingham palace. Within 15 minutes you could walk from there to Buckingham palace or Big Ben or Piccadilly Circus, etc, etc My room was great and much bigger than expected (at the front overlooking Canadian... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aurore V, Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jon D, Thank you very much for sharing with us your experience on TripAdvisor. I am very happy that you had a nice stay with us, enjoying our location and our Vista rooftop bar. It is always a pleasure for us to read kind feedback. I look forward to welcoming you soon at The Trafalgar Hotel, Kindest regards, Aurore... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Upon arrival we were really excited as its a great location, right on the square. We were travelling with 2 young children and thought it was brilliant for popping over to see the entertainers in Trafalgar square. Our room was large but basic. No pictures on the wall or a homely feel. The restaurant was very modern which I know... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Piotr B, Front Office Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Theebins, Thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We were glad to hear that you found our concierge team to be helpful and a breakfast choice up to your liking. I am really sorry that you were disturbed by a noise and for the miscommunication related to a Vista booking. If you wish to come back... More 

West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed at this hotel in early July for three nights. The location is perfect, most of London's sites are withing walking distance. Front desk staff was nice but kinda clueless. ON the first night, we arrive around 1030pm and asked the male concierge where we could dine in the area and he basically said no where...everything closes soon or has... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Piotr B, Front Office Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review

Dear beachtrip510, Thank you very much for sharing with us your experience on TripAdvisor. I am glad that you found the location to be great and our reception team members nice. I am sorry for the lack of direction you have received from our new member of staff. I would really like to hear more about your entire stay therefore... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Location is great. Concierge was unprofessional at checkout. Laundry services lost one of my son's personal towels. Room was small and entrance to room was tight. Room furniture was old and dark. View from the room was horrible. Wifi connection was unreliable and slow. Cellular network coverage in the room was non-existent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Piotr B, Front Office Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review

Dear zhwehbe, Thank you very much for sharing with us your experience on TripAdvisor. I am really sorry that you felt that our concierge team was unprofessional however as mentioned to all our guest on the day getting a taxi during a public transport tube strike takes more time then usual due to high demand for this type of services.... More 

Temecula, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Standard rooms are very small by American standards. Must take turns using the bathroom for any reason. Approximately half the rooms have no view, face the back of the hotel and front an office building. Nice to wave to the workers while you're getting dressed! Restaurant is mediocre. Rooftop café has no view of Trafalgar Square, but the London Eye... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Piotr B, Front Office Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Steve M, Thank you very much for sharing with us your experience on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you found the location to be a great. We have a different type of rooms available at the hotel including few overlooking the Trafalgar Square and all our rooms have a double glazing therefore there is no noise issues if a... More 

Upper Saddle River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

While the location of the hotel is great, and the breakfast is OK, there really is not much else positive to say about this establishment. The décor is really dated, the furniture is old (brown wood), the WiFi was poor, and the rooms are very noisy... we heard garbage trucks every day around 6am just outside our window. There were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Piotr B, Front Office Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kevin C, Thank you very much for sharing with us your experience on TripAdvisor. I am really sorry to hear that our decor was not up to your liking . We have variety of internet options including a free internet in a lobby all the way up to a premium internet option. A full and thorough investigation has been... More 

Newtownabbey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My daughter and I stayed here for the weekend for her 18th birthday the staff were so helpful and even left a plate of birthday treats in our room. Breakfast is amazing with all the selection you could wish for. The rooms are well equiped and comfortable we didn't even mind the view of local office blocks from our room.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Piotr B, Front Office Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LGM5, Thank you very much for sharing with us your experience on TripAdvisor. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always our pleasure to enhance our guests experience and we are very happy that you found your daughter's birthday chocolate platter to be a nice treat. We hope to welcome you back... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent 2 nights here for business and had a wonderful time. The room was lovely and quiet, the facilities were excellent and the convenience to the tube and Trafalgar Square isn't too shabby! I was lucky enough to sample a few cocktails in the hotel bar and they were delicious and the staff were incredibly helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Piotr B, Front Office Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LittleJ1489, Thank you very much for sharing with us your experience on TripAdvisor. We were very happy to know that you had a nice stay with us and found your room to be a lovely and quiet and the facilities excellent. Thank you for your feedback about our lovely cocktails. We have just introduced a new menu therefore your... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Rooftop bar(24)
  • Buckingham palace(15)
  • Great location(13)
  • Very nice(12)
  • Friendly and helpful(7)
  • Big Ben(3)
  • Rooms are spacious(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

507 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (354)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (56)
Viewed
Room/suite (114)
Viewed
View from room (27)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (40)
Viewed
1:44
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (95)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (153)
Viewed
Room/suite (42)
Viewed
View from room (29)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (38)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
#316 of 1,052 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 992 reviews
Westminster
Club Quarters, Trafalgar Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Citadines Trafalgar Square London
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#49 of 1,052 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 194 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#4 of 1,052 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in St. James's

Neighborhood Profile
St. James's
Perennially fashionable since the days of Henry VIII, the aristocratic “Clubland” of St James's is a premier destination for high end craft and bespoke design. Here you’ll lose count of the Royal Warrants (which indicate that the Royal Family patronizes the establishment) seen in shop front windows, even during a short stroll to bordering Green Park or St James’s Park. With the brightly lit and constantly buzzing junction of Piccadilly Circus at its northeast corner and none of Central London too far away, this is an surprisingly central and accessible part of town, especially given its prosperous demeanor.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay