We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

International Students House

229 Great Portland Street | Marylebone, London W1W 5PN, England
International Students House
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    26
    12
    4
    12
See reviews for
3
1
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (63)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
There are newer reviews for International Students House
See the most recent reviews
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I had stayed at ISH for two nights whilst I was visiting London. This was my first time staying there and visiting London. This place impressed me as it is near the tube, Great Portland Station. The room is clean; the towel was changed everyday as well. The service is good; they provide you breakfast. The price is also reasonable.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Graz, Austria
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The location is excellent if you are really sleeping at the given address. It's just a few meters from the next Underground station. However, they have a second building which is 5min walk and is located in 10 York Terrace East. Internet is free and speed is definitely ok. They provide you with a towel and you have a washbasin... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

I think this is one of the cheapest place to host in London.It is quite far by walking from the downcenter but you can easily get there by train.Is near to the Great.Portland Street tube stop. Another point is that you receive a ticket for breakfast of £2.19 to change it for meal. Clean place during my stay. You can... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This hostel is mere meters away from Great Portland Street Underground station, so proper central London. The price is supposed to include breakfast (starting at 07:30 on week days and 08:00 weekends) so this can be inconvenient if you need to leave early. But in reality it only includes a £2.90 voucher which will not get you a full breakfast.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
ISH_London229, Marketing at International Students House, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us feedback on your recent stay at International Students House We appreciate your comments, and all of them will be discussed and investigated further. In regards to some of your comments: Breakfast - All of our catering is done in-house and we always endeavour to have as much variety as possible in order to appeal to... More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I was looking forward to the stay at the ISH after we checked out the beautiful pictures on the site. However, the room was dark and dirty, floor uncleaned. Furthermore, the staff at the counter told us that there were hairdryers to be found along the corridor, but these were nowhere to be found. If not for the affordable price... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
229ISH, Manager at International Students House, responded to this review

As our website clearly states the images are only a selection of our rooms and we cannot guarantee that this will be the room you will be allocated. We are very sorry to hear that you did not find your room clean and this will be investigate further. With regards to the hair-dryers, they are available on a selection of... More 

Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We booked a quad room. The picture/video on the website showed four single beds and four wardrobes. When we checked in, we were firstly given a room with 2 single beds. Subsequently, upon realising their mistake, the reception rechecked us into another room (smaller than the original room given to us) with 2 sets of bunk beds and one wardrobe.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
229ISH, Manager at International Students House, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that you were not happy with the room you were allocated. As it clearly states on our website the room images and videos are only of a selection of our rooms. Summer is one of our busiest periods and we cannot guarantee what room you will be allocated during your stay. Please accept our... More 

Buckingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

A friend of mine was visiting from Holland and was his first time in London, we wanted to stay somewhere central and cheap. The location of the hostel is perfect as it is across the street from Great Portland underground station and bus stops. Also down the street you can find a local tesco as well as restaurants. This place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Holt, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Always stay here when staying in London with my male friends and we get a room according to group size, drink vouchers help us start our night out off well and the bar is good to head back to to finish!

Was this review helpful? Yes
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Clean tidy rooms, very basic but at these prices wjat can you expect.. Great bar which was so cheap which we never expected given the location!!! All the staff were lovely except in the breakfast bar where they were plain rude, but when youre having a good time you cant let a grumpy over worked cook spoil things!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

I stayed at ISH for a few days in early July and my first impressions were pretty good. I stayed in an 8 bunk female dorm - the room was quiet and each bed had a curtain for privacy, as well as a little shelf and power outlet set into the bedhead so you never had to fight over the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
 

Staying in Fitzrovia

Neighborhood Profile
Fitzrovia
This sophisticated and sociable slice of Central London is a shopper’s paradise, offering the latest fashions, gadgets, and souvenirs. Fitzrovia is conveniently located between the major retail thoroughfares of Regent Street to the west and Tottenham Court Road to the east, with a handful of well connected Tube stations dotted around the area for easy transport. This neighborhood is a favorite among foodies as well, with an impressive number of quality restaurants, pubs, cafes and food shops vying for your patronage – especially along Charlotte Street and near Goodge Street Station.
Explore this neighborhood

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question