We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clink 261 Hostel

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
261 - 265 Gray's Inn Road | Kings Cross, London WC1X 8QT, England
Special Offer
Get 15% off this Summer
Clink 261 Hostel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ranked #177 of 684 Specialty Lodging in London
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
Wyattou
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    118
    84
    29
    38
See reviews for
11
39
106
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (318)
  • Mar-May only
    (88)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (76)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (76)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (78)
All months
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Check-in was efficient and quick. The male member of staff appeared genuinely interested in serving me. The dorm (a four bed mixed dorm) was small. Each bed has a light, USB point and power socket. There is a small sink and clothes hooks on the wall. Luggage Storage was poor. The bedding was poor quality; thin pillow and a small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hostel_Clink261, Reception Supervisor at Clink 261 Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Paul, Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to hear that the staff was friendly and welcoming, but I am sorry to hear you found our dorm too small, on your next stay I suggest you to try one of our private rooms which are more spacious and will meet your expectations. Regarding pillow and duvet, the team... More 

Lenoir City, Tennessee
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is one of my least favorite hostels in Europe. The kitchen is understocked in pots and pans and most of it is over-sized. Only one pot a decent size to boil water for pasta (for fewer than 10 people). The free breakfast consists of cereal and toast. Don't plan on using the kitchen to make lunch. It is closed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hostel_Clink261, Reception Supervisor at Clink 261 Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Wyatt, Thank you feedback and taking the time to leaving us with your comments. I am sorry to read that your stay didn't meet your expectations. I would like to clarify that one of the reasons why our breakfast is served from 7am - 10am is to allow our cleaning team to tidy up and prepare the kitchen in... More 

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I spent 4 days in London with a friend of mine. Clink was the cheapest option as London is quite expensive. The staff is welcoming and smiling. They all speak at least 2 or 3 languages. They gave us all the directions and tips we needed to discover London. That was really a good point. There were 6 beds in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hostel_Clink261, Reception Supervisor at Clink 261 Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It seems like your stay at Clink didn't entirely meet your expectations. As you probably know, we always ask to our guests to not leave any of their valuables unattended and in order to avoid any unpleasant situation we provide lockers, inside the room or in reception area,... More 

Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

We were in clink for three nights, the location is awesome (close to Victoria's Station, wich is pretty much connected to everywhere in London), the price was fair, staff was pretty nice, breakfast was good and the common areas are pretty good. The bedroom, however, is below the expectations. The room is small for 18 people, so it's always crowded... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hostel_Clink261, Reception Supervisor at Clink 261 Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for your feedback. I'm sorry to read you didn't enjoy your stay. On your next stay here in Clink I will suggest you to try one of our smaller dorms in order to fulfill your needs. I hope to see you again very soon. Have a safe journey to your next destination. Kind regards,... More 

Hamburg, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

we got disappointed of the selfish guests. They left the kitchen in disgusting conditions and wouldn't let us get some sleep. You could hear the people in the next room snorring. Although we turned of the heater it was constantly running, so we had to sleep with windows opened

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Management response:

Dear guest, Thank you for your time to rate us. I am sorry to read your stay at Clink didn't meet your expectations. As you know our reception is 24 hours open, so next time just come to us and report any issue; regarding the noise in reception we also provide earplugs for free, all you have to do next... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

Enjoyed my stay here, friendly staff I really appreciate that every bunk has a shelf and plugins to charge you devices, many hostels don't. The WiFi however, is slow and unreliable. The proximity to Kings Cross and Pancras stations is really convenient. For more of a party environment you can go to the other clink, a couple blocks away, which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hostel_Clink261, Reception Supervisor at Clink 261 Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Regarding the wifi, on your next stay, come to reception at any time and report this to us. Looking forward to welcoming you again. Have a great day! Kind regards, Federica More 

Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

I was in London for 4 nights and I had a 6:50am train on my last day so I wanted to stay near King's Cross. It's was very easy to get around London from Clink, and also easy to just walk around the area and find dinner or a snack for the day. I stayed in a 10 bed all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hostel_Clink261, Reception Supervisor at Clink 261 Hostel, responded to this review

Good morning, thank you very much for your feedback and your nice words. I'm glad to read you enjoyed your stay at Clink; on your next stay feel free to use one of the lockers in reception area, there are plenty of them :) Looking forward to see you back here soon. Enjoy your future travels. Kind regards, Federica More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

Definitely designed for backpackers but I suggest that for female SOLO travellers you try to book an all-female room else you will be surprised when you get back after a long day your roomies are already all big blokes :-) breakfast is just OK but the same each day offerring cereals, breads, jams and toasts and coffee/milk/juices/hot choco. Staff are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hostel_Clink261, Reception Supervisor at Clink 261 Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for you feedback and the time leaving us a review. On your next stay don't hesitate to go to reception and ask to change the room, I am sure we can always find a better solution. Have a great day :) Kind regards, Federica More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

I spent there just one night with my boyfriend and we found it really good! Clean and comfortable close to king's cross train station!! Breakfast included, nice common area with sofas and tv, huge kitchen and nice stuff! We slept in a 18 beds room but actually was not that bed! I would go there was again! Cool

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hostel_Clink261, Reception Supervisor at Clink 261 Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for your amazing review! I am really happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and we are all more than happy to have you here back soon! :) I hope you will enjoy your future travels. Have a great day! Kind regards, Federica More 

Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

I was in London for one night and stayed here in a 15 bed dorm room. The bunks were 3 high, and my travel partner was right on the top while I was on the bottom. The bed was not bad, but the room got very hot at night (and this was in winter) so it was somewhat uncomfortable. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hostel_Clink261, Reception Supervisor at Clink 261 Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for your feedback. I would like to clarify first, that in Clink 261 we don't have any room with 3 beds high, but I am sorry to read about the heat in your room; did you report this issue to reception? Don't forget that the reception area is working 24hrs just for you :)... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay