We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clink 261 Hostel

Hotel website
261 - 265 Gray's Inn Road | Kings Cross, London WC1X 8QT, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clink 261 Hostel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Clink 261 Hostel
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    115
    80
    29
    36
See reviews for
8
39
105
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (308)
  • Mar-May only
    (78)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (76)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (76)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (78)
All months
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were in clink for three nights, the location is awesome (close to Victoria's Station, wich is pretty much connected to everywhere in London), the price was fair, staff was pretty nice, breakfast was good and the common areas are pretty good. The bedroom, however, is below the expectations. The room is small for 18 people, so it's always crowded... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hostel_Clink261, Reception Supervisor at Clink 261 Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for your feedback. I'm sorry to read you didn't enjoy your stay. On your next stay here in Clink I will suggest you to try one of our smaller dorms in order to fulfill your needs. I hope to see you again very soon. Have a safe journey to your next destination. Kind regards,... More 

Hamburg, Germany
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we got disappointed of the selfish guests. They left the kitchen in disgusting conditions and wouldn't let us get some sleep. You could hear the people in the next room snorring. Although we turned of the heater it was constantly running, so we had to sleep with windows opened

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Management response:

Dear guest, Thank you for your time to rate us. I am sorry to read your stay at Clink didn't meet your expectations. As you know our reception is 24 hours open, so next time just come to us and report any issue; regarding the noise in reception we also provide earplugs for free, all you have to do next... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Enjoyed my stay here, friendly staff I really appreciate that every bunk has a shelf and plugins to charge you devices, many hostels don't. The WiFi however, is slow and unreliable. The proximity to Kings Cross and Pancras stations is really convenient. For more of a party environment you can go to the other clink, a couple blocks away, which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hostel_Clink261, Reception Supervisor at Clink 261 Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Regarding the wifi, on your next stay, come to reception at any time and report this to us. Looking forward to welcoming you again. Have a great day! Kind regards, Federica More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was in London for 4 nights and I had a 6:50am train on my last day so I wanted to stay near King's Cross. It's was very easy to get around London from Clink, and also easy to just walk around the area and find dinner or a snack for the day. I stayed in a 10 bed all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hostel_Clink261, Reception Supervisor at Clink 261 Hostel, responded to this review

Good morning, thank you very much for your feedback and your nice words. I'm glad to read you enjoyed your stay at Clink; on your next stay feel free to use one of the lockers in reception area, there are plenty of them :) Looking forward to see you back here soon. Enjoy your future travels. Kind regards, Federica More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Definitely designed for backpackers but I suggest that for female SOLO travellers you try to book an all-female room else you will be surprised when you get back after a long day your roomies are already all big blokes :-) breakfast is just OK but the same each day offerring cereals, breads, jams and toasts and coffee/milk/juices/hot choco. Staff are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hostel_Clink261, Reception Supervisor at Clink 261 Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for you feedback and the time leaving us a review. On your next stay don't hesitate to go to reception and ask to change the room, I am sure we can always find a better solution. Have a great day :) Kind regards, Federica More 

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I spent there just one night with my boyfriend and we found it really good! Clean and comfortable close to king's cross train station!! Breakfast included, nice common area with sofas and tv, huge kitchen and nice stuff! We slept in a 18 beds room but actually was not that bed! I would go there was again! Cool

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hostel_Clink261, Reception Supervisor at Clink 261 Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for your amazing review! I am really happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and we are all more than happy to have you here back soon! :) I hope you will enjoy your future travels. Have a great day! Kind regards, Federica More 

Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was in London for one night and stayed here in a 15 bed dorm room. The bunks were 3 high, and my travel partner was right on the top while I was on the bottom. The bed was not bad, but the room got very hot at night (and this was in winter) so it was somewhat uncomfortable. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hostel_Clink261, Reception Supervisor at Clink 261 Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for your feedback. I would like to clarify first, that in Clink 261 we don't have any room with 3 beds high, but I am sorry to read about the heat in your room; did you report this issue to reception? Don't forget that the reception area is working 24hrs just for you :)... More 

Batley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
63 hotel reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015 via mobile

I just had to stay here (it was supposed to be 3nights and I was lucky to last 1!). On arrival at the hostel there was a card box to get in but no buzzer so another guest let me in!! I checked in to stay in the 16 bed dorm...it was bunks...fine except...no luggage storage, I put my rucksack... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hostel_Clink261, Reception Supervisor at Clink 261 Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback and time leaving us a review. I am really sorry that you didn't have a pleasant stay at Clink 261, but just to remind you, we have lockers in reception area as well as at the top of your bed, where you could have locked up your valuables, all you needed to do... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

I stayed at the Clink for about a month. It was absolutely incredible. The staff were all super friendly and felt like friends, the kitchen was huge and the beds were really comfy. At the Clink, I made about 5 or 6 really great friends. We were all long term stayers and we all enjoyed spending our nights in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hostel_Clink261, Reception Supervisor at Clink 261 Hostel, responded to this review

Good Morning, your words literally draw a smile on my face, thank you! I am happy you enjoyed your stay at Clink, it's nice to hear that you felt the hostel as your home. Regarding the wifi, we are now working on the installation in the whole building, in order also to improve this and have a better connection. I... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Clean, friendly and in a good location. The beds are comfortable and sharing a room is not that bad either. The downstairs area is really nice to hang out with people. The only bad thing is the hot water issue and it not being available the whole time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hostel_Clink261, Reception Supervisor at Clink 261 Hostel, responded to this review

Good morning, thank you for your review and your nice words, I am really glad to hear you loved your stay. Regarding the hot water, the issue was already reported and our maintenance team is working on it. I hope to see you back here soon. Have a nice day. Kind regards, Federica More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question