We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Avo Hotel

#100 of 525 B&Bs / Inns in London
Certificate of Excellence
82 Dalston Lane | Dalston Hackney, London E8 3AH, England
Avo Hotel
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    38
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
19
51
12
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (124)
  • Mar-May only
    (38)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (40)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I had a double bed in a single sized room. I had to keep leaning over the bed when walking past the television as it was so tight. TV, bathroom, comfortable bed is usually all I need for a business trip. This hotel was trying to do more than the area would expect as there were nice touches such as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sunsk8, Manager at Avo Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for your review, we're chuffed that you noticed our triple UV filtered water and free WiFi, amongst other things. We hope you come back again some time :) Sunny More 

Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
55 hotel reviews
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here for a total of 8 nights. The first six nights were booked when our flat rental cancelled three days before our stay. Avo's kitchenette suite turned out to be less room but a good substitute for a flat rental. The area is not a tourist area. St. Paul’s Cathedral is about 3 miles south, for example. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sunsk8, Manager at Avo Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, We really appreciate your detailed review and are so glad that we were able to help when the other place fell through. I know that you were with us for a while and were able to take advantage of our extra facilities (how odd about the knife - it must have been 'borrowed' by a previous guest - we'll... More 

Romanshorn, Switzerland
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
27 hotel reviews
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for 4 nights last June 2014. Our room was tiny, with very homey design, great toiletries from elemis (made in china not in the u.k.). The stairs were very narrow and it was quite noisy during the night. Although the metro was just a few steps away, the hotel was still faraway from the main city. It was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sunsk8, Manager at Avo Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review, and your helpful feedback on our staff which I have passed along. I hope you come and visit us again and stay in one of our larger, quieter rooms :) Sunny More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed on a Saturday night in the top floor suite which was compact, but bijou. Comfy bed, clean room, amazingly peaceful & quiet. Breakfast was good quality basic stuff, more than adequate. Staff helpful & friendly. Overall great value for money

Was this review helpful? Yes
sunsk8, Manager at Avo Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review. We also love that you use the word 'bijou'! :) Do come back soon, Sunny More 

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed for a night and the staff were so accommodating and friendly. Also the station is very close to the station which is incredibly convenient. However, the couple in the next room was having the loudest and most animated sex and it went on forever - the walls were so thin I felt like they were in the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sunsk8, Manager at Avo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Susanna, I'm so sorry that you could hear the unfortunate noises! We appreciate you noting that it's not quite our fault but we still know it must have been frustrating. If this ever happens again, please know that telling reception puts the onus on us to do something about it, and we would happily oblige and ask the noisy... More 

Bromsgrove, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015 via mobile

Stayed one night as we were going to a gig in Hackney. Room was small, as advertised, but perfectly adequate for a short stay. Warm welcome, good continental breakfast, great value and immaculately clean. Everywhere smelt nice! The shower cubicle was on the small size for the great shower within, and the pillows too hard for our liking, but we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sunsk8, Manager at Avo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Emma, Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review - we try hard and were delighted you thought everywhere smelt nice! We'd love to host you again so come back soon, Sunny More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

I unfortunately booked a room here costing £99.00. I opted for the small rather than "tiny" room but was not prepared for how small it actually was. I wacked my head on the telly trying to shuffle around the bed and past my partner. I get that it is a family run hotel however boutique it is not! Someone has... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
sunsk8, Manager at Avo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Teresa, We're really sorry you didn't like our decor; our throws and curtains are hand-made in India by relatives so that is a shame. We understand our dark and sparkly bathrooms weren't to your taste, but if you had tried the rainshower we think you would have been pleasantly surprised :) Our beds are often remarked upon also, as... More 

Surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

Booked for my birthday, as we were going to a gig nearby. Wonderful staff, so friendly and helpful. Small cosy rooms, with decent sized mugs for a cuppa, dressing gowns, slippers, toiletries all provided. Champagne was brought up after the owner had shown us to our room. A younger man was on the desk when we arrived back and was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sunsk8, Manager at Avo Hotel, responded to this review

We're so pleased you had a good visit for your birthday! Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a lovely review :) Sunny More 

lincolnshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

My husband and I are senior citizens and whilst visiting our son in London for a family Christmas celebration we stayed at the Avo hotel for 4 nights. Nothing appeared to be too much trouble for the staff and we were welcomed with a smile. On Christmas day night we returned to our room to find a bag full of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sunsk8, Manager at Avo Hotel, responded to this review

It is such a delight when guests enjoy the little touches we go out of our way to furnish! The Xmas presents complete with organic chocolate, were Dad's idea and I have to say they were really well-received! We're very touched that you enjoyed your stay at Avo and want to encourage others to visit :) Many thanks, Sunny More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

We were pleased with the personal service from this delightful family hotel. Compact and comfortable room with memory foam mattress and pillows, we stayed in 102 which was quiet. Friendly welcome on arrival and nothing was too much trouble, guidance with bus and tube routes. Quirky area with lots to see and do. Freshly baked croissants would have made it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sunsk8, Manager at Avo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sue, Thanks for writing us a review. We love it when people take the time to note how Dalston is such a quirky area, and we were happy to help with extra directions etc. We look forward to seeing you again! Sunny More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question