We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Arsenal Tavern Hostel

175 Blackstock Road, London N4 2JS, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arsenal Tavern Hostel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Arsenal Tavern Hostel
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    18
    21
    12
    33
See reviews for
4
8
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (86)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Athens, Greece
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was my first hostel experience and I can't say it was the best. The hostel was really dirty, the staff not helpful (almost rude) and the the bunks were triple (even in army there are double), to save space in a room that was already too small for 9-12 people. I stayed there because it was cheap and i... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

The location of this hostel is great, just in between Finsbury park and arsenal station makes it very convienet to get to the City centre, there are plenty of bars and places to eat around and only a 5 min walk to arsenal stadium! The staff were very friendly and informational. Will definitely be staying here again :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Its certainly an experience.good times n bad.although the good outweigh the bad.only problem with the hostel is one of the staff.managers cool.don't have sex in the toilets...emmm the staff don't like it...or don't like the fact that they're not getting any..either way they won't be impressed :p emmmm don't leave your phone charger unattended.they seem to have a mind of... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

At that price i found a better hostel but it is quite fine, except for the noise of the air conditioner in the room and the lack of changing the air in crowded room, that, when are full, smell a bit. But except for those two things, it was good, the breakfast and the toilets were okay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Economic, very close to Finsbury Park and Arsenal tube which makes it easier to reach the center. Staffs are very friendly, supportive and comply well with their duties. The hostel need some repairs to be done, however, during my stay the showers were getting repaired.Hygiene standards a bit poor. Hopefully, new manager will make it more modern looking.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Prato, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked this place through hostelworld.com. The lobby looked nice but after we paid and went to the room me and the group of girls i was with actually had to sit in the lobby for 2 hours and find a hotel to stay in because it was that DIRTY and we felt UNSAFE staying there. The pictures on hostel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arsenal H, General Manager at Arsenal Tavern Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Gabbie and thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very sorry to read that you had a bad experience with us. A lot of work is currently taking place in the hostel upgrading the showers and toilets and significant improvements have already been made. The pictures on Hostelworld are very recent and up to... More 

Gdansk, Poland
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hostel was located in convenient distance from Finsbury Park and Arsenal metro stations which made it easily accessible from city center. We enjoyed our stay there but only because we were there in a group for the project. First impression of almost everybody was it's too dirty. There were also problems with with hot water in room bathroom and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArsenalHostel, Manager at Arsenal Tavern Hostel, responded to this review

Hello and thanks for taking the time to write your review. How is life in Gdnask? I thought it was a great city when I visited. I would like to apologise for the cleanliness of the hostel when you stayed in January. The hostel is now under new management and we have made major improvements to the standards of cleaning... More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I created this account in order to give this property a one star review. It was THAT bad. So, let me tell you about the bad reviews: I stayed here a few times last year and not only was the place filthy but the manager had long-term residents coming and going out of his room (he lived there) at all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArsenalHostel, Manager at Arsenal Tavern Hostel, responded to this review

Hello and thanks for taking the time to write your review. I can see you did not have a pleasant stay while here previously, but I am confident that if you were to stay again you would have a much better experience. A lot of changes have taken place recently and we are working very hard to improve the hostel... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good Hostel. I usually come to see the Arsenal games. Its 5min walk to Emirates stadium. Nice and big common area, Pub is next door =) , lots of takeaway shops around. I was surprised this time, the general cleanliness of the hostel improved, bathroom and toilets much cleaner now and dorms are tidier. The hostel staff told me, there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ArsenalHostel, General Manager at Arsenal Tavern Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Rustam Thank you for the great review and the recommendation, it really is appreciated! Take care and we hope to see you again someday More 

Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

Incredibly cheap, but it doesn't pay off, on the contrary, your general cost will be higher cos you will not feel good there. Bathroom doesn't work, I saw many girls complaining they couldn't take a bath for 2 days. The place smells bad, it is dirty, specially the toilet, which is what you need the most for a simple bath.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ArsenalHostel, General Manager at Arsenal Tavern Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Diego. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I would like to apologise for the poor experience you had here. The hostel is now under new management and we are working very hard at cleaning the place and carrying out various repairs including the showers as you mentioned. We are confident that if you returned today... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question