We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Arsenal Tavern Hostel

175 Blackstock Road, London N4 2JS, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Arsenal Tavern Hostel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Arsenal Tavern Hostel
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    22
    23
    16
    39
See reviews for
4
11
35
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (110)
  • Mar-May only
    (47)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Thi hostel is a terrible place because the rooms are very very small, u can't open the window for refreshing air because of the beds, that are in front of it. I didn't dare use the showers because they were very dirty and on the floor grew some mushrooms.. I'll never come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Right first off front of house reception are very friendly, tall guy, little Italian guy and the lady was always nice, but what I did realise was the management/manager Gerry? Introduced himself but that was about it has he circle of friends and if you are not in his "circle" he will not give you the time of day, seems... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

It was right on for the price and it's in a convenient part of the citY. The staff is really nice and this one Australian gent was very helpful and nice and always played good music. For the price you can't beat it unless you want to spend a fortune at a hotel. You get what you pay for but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Has great potential if the owners had the right vision for what a hostel should be. Too often things are done to the bare minimum standard, with no real effort put into make the place amazing. The location is pretty good, and there are big common spaces, but not much going on, and there are too many people crammed into... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArsenalHostel, General Manager at Arsenal Tavern Hostel, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for the review. All of your points have been noted and we are working hard to improve the hostel on a daily basis. Thanks again More 

Barcelona, Spain
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I went to Arsenal Tavern in saturday and I left the friday. There were all kinds of people, strangers, gothics, frikis and any normal person like me. The common zones are old buy comfortable, also when was raining there were leaks. The rooms are terribles, dusty and with a bad smell. The beds did noise and the pillows and mattress... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArsenalHostel, General Manager at Arsenal Tavern Hostel, responded to this review

Hello and thanks for the review. You'll get all sorts of people staying in a backpackers; its what makes them fun. But we are very sorry to read that you did noit enjoy your stay. We have noted all of your criticisms of the rooms and we will make improvements on them. Regards More 

Erfurt, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arsenal tavern is cheap, staff is friendly, but thats it. Don't expect a clean hostel or good beds (matresses sucked) and sleeping dorms could use some fresh air. So only go if you want to save money!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArsenalHostel, General Manager at Arsenal Tavern Hostel, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for the review. Sorry to read that you did not have a good time. We will improve our dorms and we have ordered new matteresses. Regards More 

Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

good price for the dorms if you okay with other people, location makes you close to London city center and all attractions/your own plans too, bathrooms fine too and nice people. So a great hostel for a cheap money :)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArsenalHostel, General Manager at Arsenal Tavern Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review! Very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks again we we hope to welcome you back in the future. More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was looking for a room to rent in Lonndon. The price/quality is very good. The biggest advantage is the staff. Very nice people with who you can have a laugh, very helpfull. I recommend this hostel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArsenalHostel, General Manager at Arsenal Tavern Hostel, responded to this review

My man we miss you! Thanks for the review and rememeber you can come back and stay anytime. Regards More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I was there with my friends, and we hate the experience. It was the worst hostel we have ever been.. The rooms are small, and don't have windows, so imagine the smell.. There was a toillet in the room, but it was broke, and no one fixed. The shower bathrooms was always dirty, and there was no place to change... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArsenalHostel, General Manager at Arsenal Tavern Hostel, responded to this review

Wow you really had a bad time here. Very sorry to read that. I would like to apologise for the poor experience you had, but be assured we have noted everything you have said and we will work even harder to improve the hostel Regards More 

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

even though it was cheap, I wish I could get my money back. within 5 minutes of trying to set up my bed I noticed SNOT crusted on my washed(?) sheets! I was disgusted. in a room of 9 where everything is crammed in I did not sleep one bit. my partner and I had to set up camp on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArsenalHostel, General Manager at Arsenal Tavern Hostel, responded to this review

Hello and thanks for the review. Sorry to read about the poor experience you had. We can’t find any nails or sharp wire sticking out from any of our windows. Apologies about the linen. We will double check our sheets to make sure they are fully cleaned in future. Regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

61 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (43)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay