We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 684 London accommodations

Arsenal Tavern Hostel

175 Blackstock Road, London N4 2JS, England
Hotel amenities
Arsenal Tavern Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Arsenal Tavern Hostel to your Saves list
Ranked #521 of 684 Specialty Lodging in London
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    15
    18
    11
    31
See reviews for
4
8
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (76)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
1 review
4 of 5 stars NEW

Good Hostel. I usually come to see the Arsenal games. Its 5min walk to Emirates stadium. Nice and big common area, Pub is next door =) , lots of takeaway shops around. I was surprised this time, the general cleanliness of the hostel improved, bathroom and toilets much cleaner now and dorms are tidier. The hostel staff told me, there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Incredibly cheap, but it doesn't pay off, on the contrary, your general cost will be higher cos you will not feel good there. Bathroom doesn't work, I saw many girls complaining they couldn't take a bath for 2 days. The place smells bad, it is dirty, specially the toilet, which is what you need the most for a simple bath.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ArsenalHostel, General Manager at Arsenal Tavern Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Diego. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I would like to apologise for the poor experience you had here. The hostel is now under new management and we are working very hard at cleaning the place and carrying out various repairs including the showers as you mentioned. We are confident that if you returned today... More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
65 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

I decided not to stay in the hoster again. Though the price of staying is cheap, there were some negative moments. Rooms are cold, blankets are thin. And the water in the shower can stop suddenly. Then you should wait for another portion of water for 10 minutes (as a clerk told me). And the location is pretty sad.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ArsenalHostel, General Manager at Arsenal Tavern Hostel, responded to this review

Hello my friend. Thank you for taking the time to write this review it’s really appreciated. I see you’ve been on a tour of London hostels. The hostel is now under new management and we’re making improvements on a daily basis and upgrading the hostel, including the blankets. Sorry to read that you did not like our location. Most guests... More 

Redhill, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

Dirty, terribly smelly and old facility. It seriously needs proper refurbishment. I stayed in a 11 bedroom female dorm for 4 nights and I can't really say it was a nice experience: room was too small, always messy because of so many people and luggages around, totally lacking of privacy (but that wasn't a huge problem for me cause I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Maribor, Slovenia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

We stay here for weekend. It was good, no complaining. But still breakfast need improvment, the toilets are terrible, too small, showers are also needing lot of improvment. Room provides you with avarege sleep. Then becouse of some grouš of people they throw us out even soo we didnt do nothing wrong. So stupid menegment or what can i say... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I spent there two nights and fortunately only two.. Overall the atmosphere seems nice specially in the pub and common room below. The rest,not at all. Just some facts I'll write down here: Rooms are creepy somewhere the plaster was falling down,mattresses are too tiny easily feeling the metal frame. Secondly we had a fan for heating running all night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I actually had a very nice stay here. I'm used to the average hostel standard, and this was just as good as the price gives impression of. I was actually pleasantly surprised, concidered the horrible ratings below. The room was quiet and the beds so good (slept like a baby). Even though the showers were more like boiling high pressure... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rio Claro, SP
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

It's a very cheap hostel. However the bathrooms and bedrooms smells bad. There's some kitchen facilities like a microwave and a refrigerator. Very close to underground and a bus stop. If want one of the cheapests places, you find it. If you can afford a little more, i advice to get a clean one.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We found our 9-person room cheap online, and snatched the deal when we saw it came with a private bathroom. We stayed at Arsenal for four nights, and we weren't disappointed. The room was cleaner than I expected, even our bathroom wasn't too bad. Mattresses were thin, but then again it was a hostel, and the bunk beds were three... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This is the best bang for the wee buck…don't expect much. Good stuff: great hardworking staff. Clean linen, peaceful rooms: Locker included with good lock (no pad lock required), brekkie included (very basic of course, coffee/tea/bread/butter/jam/cornflakes/milk) The hostel is pretty near the Tube. Trip to downtown 30 mins. Food stores & cafes just there. Bad stuff: the men´s shower is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Arsenal Tavern Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arsenal Tavern Hostel

Address: 175 Blackstock Road, London N4 2JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Arsenal Tavern Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arsenal Tavern Hostel London, England

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay