We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Arsenal Tavern Backpackers

175 Blackstock Road, London N4 2JS, England (Formerly Arsenal Tavern Hostel)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Arsenal Tavern Backpackers
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

141 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015

Very cheap considering I booked last minute during the Christmas period in London, and well within walking distance of the local tube stations (Arsenal/Finsbury Park) But this was not a nice hostel to stay in and I would not stay there again. There was a bar over the top bunk which made it difficult to get in and out of... More 

Helpful?
Thank TSC993
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2015 via mobile

Best value for the money.Good atmosphere.Very friendly staff.Ive been there for one week in october.It is good located with two tube stations near to the hostel.Finsbury Park tube and Arsenal tube station.Ive got many friends in this hostel thanks to the great atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank Timur S
ArsenalHostel, General Manager at Arsenal Tavern Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review! We’re very happy to read that you had a good time More 

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2015

Firstly, it is important to remember this is a basic hostel so guests should not expect hotel-like facilities. I was staying overnight in London and wanted a cheap place to stay so booked the Arsenal Tavern from Google research on affordable accommodation. The price for a single bed is £18 which I feel is very reasonable by London standards. Both... More 

Helpful?
Thank NathanHazlett
ArsenalHostel, General Manager at Arsenal Tavern Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for the review! It’s a very thorough review and it gives an accurate description of the hostel. To respond to your concerns; we are updating our lockers to a more secure padlock system. With regards to the passport; we do this as an extra security measure and since introduced incidents in the hostel have reduced dramatically. We hope... More 

Calvenzano, Italy
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2015

I've been here for a long time, more than 3 weeks. 1) The locations is excellent, close to Finsbury Park underground stn or Arsenal, in addition to many supermarkets and restaurants. Moreover, bus 19 stop stn is only 20 meters far (or less). 2) The staff is the best one ever met and known. It make you feel like at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roberto N
ArsenalHostel, General Manager at Arsenal Tavern Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review. It’s great when a guest focuses on the positives of what we provide and not just the negatives of the old building. Your comments about the team will be passed on. We hope to see you again someday and you will always be welcome! More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2015 via mobile

I have been one month Good value for money and freidly staff. Clean and secure made me feel safe..close to all amenities and no restrictions. .thoroughly enjoyed the time I have spent their and will definitely be recommending you to others. .

Helpful?
Thank Nicola N
ArsenalHostel, General Manager at Arsenal Tavern Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review. We hope to see you again someday and you will always be welcome! More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2015

First of all, the staff at this hostel are brilliant, I absolutely won't fault that. The young guy that showed me to my room was a really lovely guy, taking time to learn about where I was from, etc. So big ups for this! However, I really think this place would be fantastic if you just upgraded those rooms. I've... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank CourtneyMagann

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2015

I’ve lived in Europe for 9 months now and travelled around quite a lot, but never stayed in a hostel like this one. There was an unfriendly atmosphere; the rooms were dirty, old and badly lit; the mattress was thin and uncomfortable; the toilet was completely awful and small, and also there were too much people for too little toilets.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel F. P
ArsenalHostel, General Manager at Arsenal Tavern Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello I’m very sorry to read that you had such a poor experience here, but I’m also very surprised that you found our location to be bad as this is not something guests ever complain about; our location is actually very good. We will continue to work hard to improve the hostel. Kind Regards More 

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2015 via mobile

The hostel is cool when you walk in, the staff Josh, Cleo & matt are fantastic and the common room is large and full of fun. Those are about the only redeeming features... The mattresses are paper thin, the rooms are hot as hell cos there are no windows and the place leaks! Also, Because the rooms are so large,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brenten E
ArsenalHostel, General Manager at Arsenal Tavern Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for the review and your kind comments about the staff; it really is appreciated. I have noted all of you other points and I can only apologies about the snorer. Unfortunately we have no control over this but we do offer free ear plugs at reception. Regards More 

Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2015

First of all the location is not central at all and the hostel is not that close to the tube either (a 10 min. walk more or less). The common room is okay but the room I was in was terrible. Too many people stuffed inside, no room for our suitcases and the worst no ventilation or windows!This means that... More 

Helpful?
Thank olgaki29
ArsenalHostel, General Manager at Arsenal Tavern Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for the review. I do notice that you stayed here in October 2014, almost a year ago. While we are still a work in progress but we have improved a lot since then. Correct we are not in Central London but we don’t state that we are. However once you are on the tube it takes less... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (52)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Venture Hostels
#599 of 1,058 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
BEST WESTERN London Highbury
#487 of 1,058 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
#90 of 722 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,494 reviews
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#92 of 722 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 383 reviews
RestUp London
#297 of 722 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay