We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Arsenal Tavern Backpackers

175 Blackstock Road, London N4 2JS, England (Formerly Arsenal Tavern Hostel)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Arsenal Tavern Backpackers
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Arsenal Tavern Backpackers
Add Photo Write a Review

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    11
    24
    23
    17
    41
See reviews for
4
11
37
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (116)
  • Mar-May only
    (45)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Due to the price I paid to stay on a Saturday night I wasn't expecting too much, but I was pleasantly surprised.The staff were super friendly and welcoming, location was good, and it was very chilled out. Must say that the showers and dorm weren't the cleanest, but they weren't terrible. Would deffo stay there again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location is too far from the airport and the city centre. so you will have to take the tube or change the buses to get to the city centre.(basically the money you save in this hostel, will be paid in transportation). The rooms are small & the bathrooms are really really small. you can barely do anything in any... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArsenalHostel, General Manager at Arsenal Tavern Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for the review. Our location is only 60 minutes or less from all of London’s airports, which is pretty good by London standards. London’s size can catch new visitors by surprise. The nearest tube line to us has direct links to Heathrow airport, something only a handful of hostels can claim. Numerous couples will disagree with... More 

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

(12-men beds dorm) Friendly staff and good location, that's it. Feels relieved after stepping out the hostel and still regretting for not paying more to get a better hostel with my friends. Room: You know what, after checking in and got our beds, I immediately found that those bed sheets and cover are dirty with those dirts on it as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArsenalHostel, General Manager at Arsenal Tavern Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for the thorough review. It’s clear from the pictures and your comments that you were allocated a bed that had not been cleaned and was still in use by another guest; we don’t make the beds and guests dress the beds themselves with the clean linen we provide. That should not have happened and I apologise... More 

Munich, Germany
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff working there are all very friendly and while I choose this place because of the cheap prices I was very surprised about how good its location was. Hyde Park etc are only 10 minutes away by public transport, but the hostel itself is surrounded by some really nice cafes, which I liked. I was a bit disappointed with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArsenalHostel, General Manager at Arsenal Tavern Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for the review. Yay a happy guest! Our location is very good and people are slowing beginning to realise it. Thanks again for the great review. Kind Regards More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Firstly the staff were very attractive.. A little distracting tbh... The toilet paper was incredible, like wiping with a cloud, will be back after burrito Tuesday just for the luxury! I loved the music they played made the common room a great atmosphere! The only down side was I didn't like how the bartender tried to root my missus. But... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArsenalHostel, General Manager at Arsenal Tavern Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for the review. Our toilet paper goes down very well with our guests. Market research has shown that today’s backpacker has very high standards and wants a squeaky clean bum all the time. It's this fine attention to detail that we pride ourselves on. Apologies about the bartender. But having seen your missus myself I can’t... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Horrible service, dirty bathrooms and the worst beds you will ever sleep on. It was a thoroughly crappy experience. I would not recommend this place to my worst enemy. No atmosphere and the hostel breeds a feeling of despair. Avoid at all costs. The internet was fast though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArsenalHostel, General Manager at Arsenal Tavern Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for the review. We are very happy to read that you found our internet to be fast, glad you enjoyed something about our backpackers! All you other criticisms have been noted and we will work harder to improve the hostel. Kind Regards More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I booked this hostel for two reasons. It was close to where I planned to work and the price was reasonable. The main problem with the hostel is the current staff. Extremely unhelpful and often rude. Much more interested in socializing between each other and sitting on their phones than helping guests. Showers are awful, beds are not the best... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArsenalHostel, General Manager at Arsenal Tavern Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for the review. However I have to strongly disagree with what you say about my team, who always get excellent comments from guests here on Tripadvisor, Hostelworld, Hostelbookers and Booking.com. I appreciate you were upset about not getting a refund. I have taken on board all your other comments and we will work hard to improve the... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

Thi hostel is a terrible place because the rooms are very very small, u can't open the window for refreshing air because of the beds, that are in front of it. I didn't dare use the showers because they were very dirty and on the floor grew some mushrooms.. I'll never come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArsenalHostel, General Manager at Arsenal Tavern Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for the review. I notice from it that you stayed with us back in August 2014. I am happy to report that the hostel has greatly improved since then and would invite you to take advantage of the discount I have sent to your email address if you come back to London again. Kind Regards More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015 via mobile

It was right on for the price and it's in a convenient part of the citY. The staff is really nice and this one Australian gent was very helpful and nice and always played good music. For the price you can't beat it unless you want to spend a fortune at a hotel. You get what you pay for but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArsenalHostel, General Manager at Arsenal Tavern Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Thank you so much for the great review. I’ll pass on your comments to Luke. He sure is a little trooper. Nice to read he's been using my playlists again :) Thanks again for the review, it helps a lot. More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

Has great potential if the owners had the right vision for what a hostel should be. Too often things are done to the bare minimum standard, with no real effort put into make the place amazing. The location is pretty good, and there are big common spaces, but not much going on, and there are too many people crammed into... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArsenalHostel, General Manager at Arsenal Tavern Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for the review. All of your points have been noted and we are working hard to improve the hostel on a daily basis. Thanks again More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

64 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (46)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay