We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Arsenal Tavern Backpackers

175 Blackstock Road, London N4 2JS, England (Formerly Arsenal Tavern Hostel)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Arsenal Tavern Backpackers
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

119 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    11
    24
    24
    19
    41
See reviews for
4
11
38
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (119)
  • Mar-May only
    (45)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (40)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stay here 2 night every week. The toilet room is tiny its hard to get through the door. The rooms are ok, little rundown. Some duvets had blood stains on, however mine was fine. Lockers in the rooms are reasonable sizes. Wifi isn't on the 3rd floor, which is a huge disappointment, as I have to sit and do things.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zapopan, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015 via mobile

We wait more than one hour for check in. We shared the room with 12 people, with no air conditioner. The living room was nice, but sleeping was the worst part. And it's faaaaar away of the city centre. Don't go there if you're gonna pay the metro.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

Due to the price I paid to stay on a Saturday night I wasn't expecting too much, but I was pleasantly surprised.The staff were super friendly and welcoming, location was good, and it was very chilled out. Must say that the showers and dorm weren't the cleanest, but they weren't terrible. Would deffo stay there again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015

The location is too far from the airport and the city centre. so you will have to take the tube or change the buses to get to the city centre.(basically the money you save in this hostel, will be paid in transportation). The rooms are small & the bathrooms are really really small. you can barely do anything in any... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArsenalHostel, General Manager at Arsenal Tavern Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for the review. Our location is only 60 minutes or less from all of London’s airports, which is pretty good by London standards. London’s size can catch new visitors by surprise. The nearest tube line to us has direct links to Heathrow airport, something only a handful of hostels can claim. Numerous couples will disagree with... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015 via mobile

(12-men beds dorm) Friendly staff and good location, that's it. Feels relieved after stepping out the hostel and still regretting for not paying more to get a better hostel with my friends. Room: You know what, after checking in and got our beds, I immediately found that those bed sheets and cover are dirty with those dirts on it as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArsenalHostel, General Manager at Arsenal Tavern Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for the thorough review. It’s clear from the pictures and your comments that you were allocated a bed that had not been cleaned and was still in use by another guest; we don’t make the beds and guests dress the beds themselves with the clean linen we provide. That should not have happened and I apologise... More 

Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

The staff working there are all very friendly and while I choose this place because of the cheap prices I was very surprised about how good its location was. Hyde Park etc are only 10 minutes away by public transport, but the hostel itself is surrounded by some really nice cafes, which I liked. I was a bit disappointed with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArsenalHostel, General Manager at Arsenal Tavern Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for the review. Yay a happy guest! Our location is very good and people are slowing beginning to realise it. Thanks again for the great review. Kind Regards More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2015 via mobile

Firstly the staff were very attractive.. A little distracting tbh... The toilet paper was incredible, like wiping with a cloud, will be back after burrito Tuesday just for the luxury! I loved the music they played made the common room a great atmosphere! The only down side was I didn't like how the bartender tried to root my missus. But... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArsenalHostel, General Manager at Arsenal Tavern Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for the review. Our toilet paper goes down very well with our guests. Market research has shown that today’s backpacker has very high standards and wants a squeaky clean bum all the time. It's this fine attention to detail that we pride ourselves on. Apologies about the bartender. But having seen your missus myself I can’t... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2015

Horrible service, dirty bathrooms and the worst beds you will ever sleep on. It was a thoroughly crappy experience. I would not recommend this place to my worst enemy. No atmosphere and the hostel breeds a feeling of despair. Avoid at all costs. The internet was fast though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArsenalHostel, General Manager at Arsenal Tavern Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for the review. We are very happy to read that you found our internet to be fast, glad you enjoyed something about our backpackers! All you other criticisms have been noted and we will work harder to improve the hostel. Kind Regards More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2015

I booked this hostel for two reasons. It was close to where I planned to work and the price was reasonable. The main problem with the hostel is the current staff. Extremely unhelpful and often rude. Much more interested in socializing between each other and sitting on their phones than helping guests. Showers are awful, beds are not the best... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArsenalHostel, General Manager at Arsenal Tavern Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for the review. However I have to strongly disagree with what you say about my team, who always get excellent comments from guests here on Tripadvisor, Hostelworld, Hostelbookers and Booking.com. I appreciate you were upset about not getting a refund. I have taken on board all your other comments and we will work hard to improve the... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

Thi hostel is a terrible place because the rooms are very very small, u can't open the window for refreshing air because of the beds, that are in front of it. I didn't dare use the showers because they were very dirty and on the floor grew some mushrooms.. I'll never come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArsenalHostel, General Manager at Arsenal Tavern Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for the review. I notice from it that you stayed with us back in August 2014. I am happy to report that the hostel has greatly improved since then and would invite you to take advantage of the discount I have sent to your email address if you come back to London again. Kind Regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (47)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN London Highbury
BEST WESTERN London Highbury
#512 of 1,053 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#546 of 1,053 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pembury Hotel
Pembury Hotel
#764 of 1,053 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Globe Trott Inns
Globe Trott Inns
#208 of 696 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 193 reviews
7.1 mi away
Queen Elizabeth Chelsea
Queen Elizabeth Chelsea
#155 of 696 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
0.7 mi away
Milestone Apartments
Milestone Apartments
#377 of 696 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay