We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

St James House

173 Holland Park Avenue, London W11 4UR, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St James House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
St James House
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
1
12
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (23)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Terrible experience at this apartment! Upon reaching the apartment, we discovered that there was paint works being done at the common corridor and right outside our apartment. This meant that our apartment smelt like wet paint during the 4 nights of our stay! Shower was weak and hot water was erratic! Toilet took at least 3 - 4 flushes and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aaron K, Manager at St James House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Each one helps us improve what we offer and is highly valued. Apologies for the poor experience. We do have a line and email where you can contact us to get any maintenance issues resolved and had you contacted us, all issues would have been dealt with within 24 hours. As for the bed, apologies... More 

Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015 via mobile

There's better out there. I would love to recommend these apartments however I can't. They are not as good as they should be. They are small, noisy and lacking basic amenities. You are provided with the regular kitchen stuff, I stayed in a double, two of us stayed. The kitchen items could not accommodate this. There was one, yes one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aaron K, Manager at St James House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. Apologies for the late response, as we have just recently joined Tripadvisor. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us as much as you should have. Firstly, our Inverness Terrace Apartments are comprised only of Double Studios roughly 18 to 20 Square Meters in size for our budget... More 

brighton uk
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

I have stayed here twice now for work, and can recommend. I found the check-in procedure very easy, with good email info about the access code and where to find the keys etc. the rooms i have had(one in the attic and one in the basement) were both spacious clean and well equipped. The wifi is strong enough to Skype... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

Stayed in these apartments beginning of december for 3 nights. We stayed in one of the larger apartments, on first impressions it was really easy to find using google maps and the check in instructions we were sent were very easy to follow and worked fine. The apartment was spacious modern and clean. The kitchen had everything u needed microwave... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Pros: Decent apartment with clean bed and bathroom and plenty of space. It has a basic kitchen that's user friendly and a small table. The best thing about these apartments is that they are located right in Kensington, one of my favourite areas in London. It's also close to the tube and this makes it ideal for a city trip... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Having read the reviews about stuffy rooms and road noise, I was concerned, especially when we were staying over what was being forecasted to be the hottest weekend of the year so far at 32 degrees. The apartments were a short walk from Shepard's Bush station and the check in process emailed a few days before our trip started worked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hobart
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

These apartments are very well located for the Central line and proximity to gigantic Westfield Centre with eateries, shopping, Waitrose supermarket as well as both overground and underground train stations. Holland Park station very close and nice cafés etc near there. Our apartment was neat and clean with kitchenette but no toaster, missing crockery and no wine glasses. The irons... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I booked the aparmant on booking.com. The photos on the web are not true... The room was in LOWER GROUNDFLOOR! Because of these and the old windows it was very nosy. We could not sleep. We didn't get back the money. We went to the office of the Apartmant to make complaint and get back the money. We have never... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Aaron K, Manager at St James House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you had a bad experience with us. We have recently joined Tripadvisor so apologies for the late response to your review. Firstly the photos on our website and other partner websites are of a number of different studios within the building spanning all floors and may not necessarily be for the apartment... More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

5 min walk from Holland park tube which is on the central line giving access to everything the apartment was lovely and clean and very good value for money. There were plenty of towels and there were plenty of irons and hair dryers in the public area if needed. Along the road was a good pub and plenty of shops.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ireland
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
27 hotel reviews
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Booked these apartments on Hotels.com on a book now pay later. Got email of the hotel within 24 hours saying they could not charge my card? Of course not its pay at the apartments on arrival I booked for. They emailed back saying ok as I said I would deal with Hotels.com. Emailed this month to say it was ok... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities