We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

St James House

173 Holland Park Avenue, London W11 4UR, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St James House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
St James House
Add Photo Write a Review

25 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    5
    8
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
2
13
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (25)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Milan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

from High Street Kensington, Portobello Market and Notting Hill, well connected with the rest of London. The apartment's location was great, the tube station was very close, very close to High Street Kensington, Portobello Market and Notting Hill and Holland Park. There was an internet connection, the studio was very nice and clean, everything worked adequately (microwave, heating, shower, cooking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015

Terrible experience at this apartment! Upon reaching the apartment, we discovered that there was paint works being done at the common corridor and right outside our apartment. This meant that our apartment smelt like wet paint during the 4 nights of our stay! Shower was weak and hot water was erratic! Toilet took at least 3 - 4 flushes and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aaron K, Manager at St James House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Each one helps us improve what we offer and is highly valued. Apologies for the poor experience. We do have a line and email where you can contact us to get any maintenance issues resolved and had you contacted us, all issues would have been dealt with within 24 hours. As for the bed, apologies... More 

Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015 via mobile

There's better out there. I would love to recommend these apartments however I can't. They are not as good as they should be. They are small, noisy and lacking basic amenities. You are provided with the regular kitchen stuff, I stayed in a double, two of us stayed. The kitchen items could not accommodate this. There was one, yes one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aaron K, Manager at St James House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. Apologies for the late response, as we have just recently joined Tripadvisor. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us as much as you should have. Firstly, our Inverness Terrace Apartments are comprised only of Double Studios roughly 18 to 20 Square Meters in size for our budget... More 

brighton uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

I have stayed here twice now for work, and can recommend. I found the check-in procedure very easy, with good email info about the access code and where to find the keys etc. the rooms i have had(one in the attic and one in the basement) were both spacious clean and well equipped. The wifi is strong enough to Skype... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

Stayed in these apartments beginning of december for 3 nights. We stayed in one of the larger apartments, on first impressions it was really easy to find using google maps and the check in instructions we were sent were very easy to follow and worked fine. The apartment was spacious modern and clean. The kitchen had everything u needed microwave... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aaron K, Manager at St James House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are very grateful to you for posting it. We are glad to hear you enjoyed some aspects of your stay. With regards to the mattress, we apologize that it was too hard for a comfortable sleep. had you let us know we would have been happy to supply something to try soften... More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Pros: Decent apartment with clean bed and bathroom and plenty of space. It has a basic kitchen that's user friendly and a small table. The best thing about these apartments is that they are located right in Kensington, one of my favourite areas in London. It's also close to the tube and this makes it ideal for a city trip... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Aaron K, Manager at St James House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, it is greatly appreciated. We are very glad you enjoyed the area and apartment. Our apartments are on a number of floors from lower-ground to 4th floors and are allocated via availability and a number of our studios have photos available online. We are currently looking at ways to improve what the apartments... More 

Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Having read the reviews about stuffy rooms and road noise, I was concerned, especially when we were staying over what was being forecasted to be the hottest weekend of the year so far at 32 degrees. The apartments were a short walk from Shepard's Bush station and the check in process emailed a few days before our trip started worked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aaron K, Manager at St James House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are sorry to hear you were not comfortable because of the heat! Had you let us know we would have happily supplied a fan or 2 for your room to help relieve you from some of the heat. Regrettably, as you say, when windows are open it can let in traffic noise.... More 

Hobart
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

These apartments are very well located for the Central line and proximity to gigantic Westfield Centre with eateries, shopping, Waitrose supermarket as well as both overground and underground train stations. Holland Park station very close and nice cafés etc near there. Our apartment was neat and clean with kitchenette but no toaster, missing crockery and no wine glasses. The irons... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aaron K, Manager at St James House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. It is very helpful knowing your good and bad points to help us improve. We are glad you liked the area and that your apartment was clean. Apologies that there were missing items. Had you informed us we would have happily replaced/supplied extras as everything should have been there. In regards to the... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I booked the aparmant on booking.com. The photos on the web are not true... The room was in LOWER GROUNDFLOOR! Because of these and the old windows it was very nosy. We could not sleep. We didn't get back the money. We went to the office of the Apartmant to make complaint and get back the money. We have never... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Aaron K, Manager at St James House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you had a bad experience with us. We have recently joined Tripadvisor so apologies for the late response to your review. Firstly the photos on our website and other partner websites are of a number of different studios within the building spanning all floors and may not necessarily be for the apartment... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

5 min walk from Holland park tube which is on the central line giving access to everything the apartment was lovely and clean and very good value for money. There were plenty of towels and there were plenty of irons and hair dryers in the public area if needed. Along the road was a good pub and plenty of shops.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay