We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

St James House

173 Holland Park Avenue, London W11 4UR, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
St James House
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

28 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    5
    10
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
2
16
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (28)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

The apartment is lovely, tidy and clean! Nice position near Holland Park. Minimum noise! You can found hairdressers, iron and ironing boards. Well furnished! Only one flaw, the mattress is quite hard! Recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sallins
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

Just returned from a two night stay here. While the location is very good and generally the apartment is fine I was so disappointed with the bed. It was like sleeping on a concrete slab. I emailed the management company but as it was the weekend i got an out of office reply.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aaron K, Manager at St James House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. Your feedback is very important to us. We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay and are sorry to hear the mattress was unsatisfactory. They are relatively new and are still breaking in a bit. We would have gladly tried to help you if you phoned the out of office number... More 

Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

stayed for 3 nights and were very satisfied with the instructions mailed beforehand. They were accurate and easy understandable. The apartment was clean, bed was good and you have what you need. Location is great, but there are noise from the street, but it is London, so that was expected. Wifi was fine and free. There is a big mall... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

from High Street Kensington, Portobello Market and Notting Hill, well connected with the rest of London. The apartment's location was great, the tube station was very close, very close to High Street Kensington, Portobello Market and Notting Hill and Holland Park. There was an internet connection, the studio was very nice and clean, everything worked adequately (microwave, heating, shower, cooking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015

Terrible experience at this apartment! Upon reaching the apartment, we discovered that there was paint works being done at the common corridor and right outside our apartment. This meant that our apartment smelt like wet paint during the 4 nights of our stay! Shower was weak and hot water was erratic! Toilet took at least 3 - 4 flushes and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aaron K, Manager at St James House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Each one helps us improve what we offer and is highly valued. Apologies for the poor experience. We do have a line and email where you can contact us to get any maintenance issues resolved and had you contacted us, all issues would have been dealt with within 24 hours. As for the bed, apologies... More 

Level Contributor
47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015 via mobile

There's better out there. I would love to recommend these apartments however I can't. They are not as good as they should be. They are small, noisy and lacking basic amenities. You are provided with the regular kitchen stuff, I stayed in a double, two of us stayed. The kitchen items could not accommodate this. There was one, yes one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aaron K, Manager at St James House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. Apologies for the late response, as we have just recently joined Tripadvisor. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us as much as you should have. Firstly, our Inverness Terrace Apartments are comprised only of Double Studios roughly 18 to 20 Square Meters in size for our budget... More 

brighton uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

I have stayed here twice now for work, and can recommend. I found the check-in procedure very easy, with good email info about the access code and where to find the keys etc. the rooms i have had(one in the attic and one in the basement) were both spacious clean and well equipped. The wifi is strong enough to Skype... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

Stayed in these apartments beginning of december for 3 nights. We stayed in one of the larger apartments, on first impressions it was really easy to find using google maps and the check in instructions we were sent were very easy to follow and worked fine. The apartment was spacious modern and clean. The kitchen had everything u needed microwave... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aaron K, Manager at St James House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are very grateful to you for posting it. We are glad to hear you enjoyed some aspects of your stay. With regards to the mattress, we apologize that it was too hard for a comfortable sleep. had you let us know we would have been happy to supply something to try soften... More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Pros: Decent apartment with clean bed and bathroom and plenty of space. It has a basic kitchen that's user friendly and a small table. The best thing about these apartments is that they are located right in Kensington, one of my favourite areas in London. It's also close to the tube and this makes it ideal for a city trip... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Aaron K, Manager at St James House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, it is greatly appreciated. We are very glad you enjoyed the area and apartment. Our apartments are on a number of floors from lower-ground to 4th floors and are allocated via availability and a number of our studios have photos available online. We are currently looking at ways to improve what the apartments... More 

Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Having read the reviews about stuffy rooms and road noise, I was concerned, especially when we were staying over what was being forecasted to be the hottest weekend of the year so far at 32 degrees. The apartments were a short walk from Shepard's Bush station and the check in process emailed a few days before our trip started worked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aaron K, Manager at St James House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are sorry to hear you were not comfortable because of the heat! Had you let us know we would have happily supplied a fan or 2 for your room to help relieve you from some of the heat. Regrettably, as you say, when windows are open it can let in traffic noise.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Hilton London Kensington
#540 of 1,054 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 2,607 reviews
Notting Hill
Prince's Square Apartments
Prince's Square Apartments
#136 of 1,054 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 143 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
Ibis London Shepherds Bush
Ibis London Shepherds Bush
#219 of 1,054 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Hyde Park Executive Apartments
Notting Hill
London House Hotel
London House Hotel
#326 of 1,054 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,587 reviews
Bloomsbury
Studios2Let Serviced Apartments - Cartwright Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay