We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Citadines Barbican London

#511 of 1,052 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hotel website
7-21 Goswell Road, London EC1M 7AH, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Citadines Barbican London
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Citadines Barbican London
Add Photo Write a Review

377 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    71
    185
    74
    24
    23
See reviews for
56
115
32
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (377)
  • Mar-May only
    (92)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (105)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (100)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (80)
All months
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed two nights last week. The place is basic as far as the rooms are concerned when compared to alternatives of equivalent price. I unfortunately forgot a couple of items in the fridge in a bag that were a gift to take home. Only half of the contents were food (there were non-food gift items also). When I called... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Orsi T, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review

Dear Stephenkemp1, I am extremely sorry to see your experience at Citadines Barbican was negative. Please rest assured this is not the general service we provide, our Team is polite and helpful on similar occasions. The policy is, in fact, to throw away food items and as far as I have been informed, this was the case with your left... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
289 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We chose Citadines as a good basic hotel for a Friday and Saturday night, located only 15 minutes walk from Liverpool Street Station and not far from some good restaurants and pubs in Liv St and Whitechapel area. The rooms include a small kitchenette but are very small. There didn't seem to be any housekeeping (cleaning room, making bed etc)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paris, France
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed with my nephew 3 nights there. The staff were very friendly and professional. We arrived 2 hours before the check in and they gave us the key earlier which I really appreciated. It's true there is no air conditionning, we didn't really needed it but if it was the case we would be bad. Internet connection worked perfectly.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Orsi T, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review

Dear MB752015, Thank you for taking the time to give your opinion. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our Team looked well after you. It is good to read you were not affected by the missing air conditioning -in fact, in London it is unfortunately even in Summer time only rarely needed- but for your... More 

Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've been there 1 night and I won't go there any other time. The rooms are poor and very antiquate, it reminded me a 70's house. The bathroom as well. i asked for a conversion plug as I'm not a UK resident and there wasn't any available. Finally i got oine at the end. Very expensive, for sure not a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Orsi T, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review

Dear Carloassorti, Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to read you liked the location and the size of the apartment but I am truly sorry to hear the property itself did not match your expectations. I am delighted to inform you that a full refurbishment is planned for the next future and we would be happy to have... More 

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were there during our 40th wedding anniversary. My sister called them (from USA) to arrange champagne/sparking juice to be sent to our room. They made all the arrangements and said they would do it. They LIED and did nothing. During our visit the front desk said "I don't know" to every question we asked. The gentleman who brought us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Orsi T, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review

Dear Tom, I am very sorry to hear about your disappointment with Citadines Barbican and that we could not make your stay more comfortable. I also appreciate that you have given us another opportunity to address your concern. We welcome feedback such as yours as they indicate the areas where we can further improve. I would like to apologise for... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at Citadines Barbican for 4 nights in the first week of July 2015. I chose the hotel as it was close to my conference at Guildhall. The reviews and hotel publicity did not prepare me for the shock of learning that there is no air-conditioning in the rooms. It did not help that London was going through a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Orsi T, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review

Dear BGHows, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Citadines Barbican. We welcome suggestions such as yours as they indicate the areas where we can further improve. I have noted your observations and recommendations. In regards to the air-cooling system, we are certainly aware this cannot provide the same quality as an air-conditioning would. Therefore we advertise our... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We are in a nice compact apartment. It is clean and well maintained. Only downside is that there is no air conditioning and it's 31 degrees at 10.30 pm. Apart from that and it is a minor issue, I'm happy with the area and the accommodation. Good value for central London.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Rooms are very big we had a twin 4 adults shared a bathroom no probs . Kitchen well set up and was great for drinks snacks or light breakfast b4 hitting the sights each day ! Very clean and excellent security , staff were very very helpful, 1 min walk to tube station was the best ! Use laundry service... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed 3 nights and I found this a good business hotel. The staff is really fast, both at check-in and check-out and the room was the right size, clean and comfortable. The only downside is that the daily housekeeping is an extra and the walls are a bit too thin if you have a noisy neighbor. If you are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

Stayed 4 nights and the check in was efficient and quick except that the rooms with queen sized bed were not ready and hence settled for a twin bed room. Staff were helpful but very curt except for Mehmed who helped with the tube n bus schedule. Location ideal as next to bus stand and Barbican tube station. It is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

99 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (80)
Viewed
Room/suite (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Thistle City Barbican
#611 of 1,052 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 2,067 reviews
Clerkenwell
Malmaison London
Malmaison London
#260 of 1,052 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 808 reviews
Holborn
Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
City of London
London City Suites By Montcalm
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#272 of 1,052 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Clerkenwell

Neighborhood Profile
Clerkenwell
Owing to its proximity to Smithfield Market – the site of an ancient meat market which remains in operation today – Clerkenwell boasts a plethora of globally renowned restaurants, fabulous local eateries, and some of London's favorite pubs. This isn't merely a focal point for all things foodie though. Spend enough time wondering through the area's maze of streets and you might become accustomed to the litany of slinky models passing between Clerkenwell's handful of fashion houses. Far outnumbering the models are craftspeople and designers, many of them are more than happy to welcome visitors into their studios and showrooms.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay