We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Citadines Barbican London

#453 of 1,059 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hotel website
7-21 Goswell Road, London EC1M 7AH, England
Special Rate
City Winter Escape
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Citadines Barbican London
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

467 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for a week as i had work in Holborn. This was my first time in London, so i don't have much of a comparison. The staff were very friendly and helped me with every little thing. The rooms however were very small and was just enough for one. There isn't really any walking space. Just walk in directly... More 

Helpful?
Thank diliprs
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I appreciate London prices are more expensive however this hotel is not worth the extra cost. I could have got a travelodge room for £40 cheaper and the room and service would be a lot better. I wanted to collect my VAT receipt the night before as I had an early start the next morning. They took my money on... More 

Helpful?
Thank BRM73
Portugal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was essentially an aparthotel that has ben recently renovated. Now it has real beds (instead of the old sofa beds). Rooms are small, equiped with fridge, microwave, full kitchenette, dishes, cutlery, etc. Has an ok working table. Heating is electrical and does the trick. Has a small tva and dvd player. Free wi fi. Bathroom is ok. Breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paulo P
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very handy City of London location, reception and housekeeping staff excellent but apartments in need of complete overhaul, as very dated compared to others in the same location. Apartments require as a minimum a proper oven and individual washing machine in each room.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank janesmith402
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed this property couple of times for few weeks. Location is excellent and near barbican tube center. Staff was courteous. This place is widely used by fellow business visitors so advised to book early. Food is expensive and overpriced. Rooms are specious but you will not get beautiful view of city from this place

Helpful?
1 Thank suyog k
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016

Spending a week in London on business? If so this hotel may be for you. The room was very clean with all the amenities for a short stay. A small kitchen which included a dishwasher, hob, oven and microwave as well as a fridge with cool box. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was ideal. Just a short... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lance T
Orsi T, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review

Dear Lance T, Thank you so much for sharing your review, which will be certainly a good advice for fellow travellers. It actually included the majority of our services and amenities and I am truly grateful for your appreciation towards these. Nothing left to say, except from the fact that we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back... More 

Alexandra Headland, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2015

London is expensive - if you don't have high expectations you won't be disappointed. As with most rooms of 'average' cost they are small, we had studio apartment but this didn't include daily service.

Helpful?
Thank Julie M
Orsi T, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review

Dear Julie M, Thank you for your review. I am glad you found our accommodation worth its price. As you say, we include one cleaning per week as part of the serviced apartment concept, any further service can be requested for an extra charge. We hope that you will return to us in the future. Kind Regards Orsi Asst. Residence... More 

New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015

I have stayed at the Citadines Barbican on a few occasions, usually for 2 nights at a time on business trips. It is a no-nonsense, well located and clean hotel and I intend to return on future trips. The front desk staff are excellent and have gone above and beyond for me on a number of occasions. The only complaint... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank blankey958
Orsi T, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review

Dear Blankey958, Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. First of all, let me thank you for your valued patronage and for returning to us on more occasions. I am extremely glad to see how much you liked the location and the cleanliness and grateful for your appreciation towards our Team. I also understand your concern towards the noise,... More 

Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2015 via mobile

We booked this for our final trip of the year to London - which included the closing night of Hamlet at the Barbican. It couldn't have been a better location for us, and the room itself was absolutely brilliant. A huge hallway, a massive - but oddly shaped - room, a good view of the city, comfortable bed, and my... More 

Helpful?
Thank clarewall_iow
Orsi T, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review

Dear Clarewall_iow, Thank you so much for this amazing review and the perfect score on the TripAdvisor scale. I am extremely happy to see how much you appreciated the location and the apartment style including the kitchen facilities. In fact, London is very expensive, it can help a lot if you can prepare some meals in the apartment. I am... More 

Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

The 'apartment' style with kitchen was appealing, but continental breakfast was included so not really necessary in the end - although the fridge and sink were useful. We were there 2 nights and very disappointed that room changeover did not happen, so no cleaning or change of towels, making of bed etc for whole weekend. If this was an extra,... More 

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Helpful?
Thank Helen P
Orsi T, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review

Dear Helen P, Thank you for sharing your opinion with fellow travellers on TripAdvisor. While I am glad to read your satisfaction regarding our staff and the location, I am sorry for the inconveniences you encountered. As you mention there is one weekly cleaning included as per the serviced apartment concept and although we try to inform our guests wherever... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

111 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (92)
Viewed
Room/suite (36)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Citadines Trafalgar Square London
Clerkenwell
Malmaison London
Malmaison London
#240 of 1,059 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,062 reviews
Thistle City Barbican
#624 of 1,059 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 2,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holborn
Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Clerkenwell

Neighborhood Profile
Clerkenwell
Owing to its proximity to Smithfield Market – the site of an ancient meat market which remains in operation today – Clerkenwell boasts a plethora of globally renowned restaurants, fabulous local eateries, and some of London's favorite pubs. This isn't merely a focal point for all things foodie though. Spend enough time wondering through the area's maze of streets and you might become accustomed to the litany of slinky models passing between Clerkenwell's handful of fashion houses. Far outnumbering the models are craftspeople and designers, many of them are more than happy to welcome visitors into their studios and showrooms.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay