We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Citadines Barbican London

#484 of 1,053 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hotel website
7-21 Goswell Road, London EC1M 7AH, England
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Citadines Barbican London
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

386 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    76
    188
    75
    24
    23
See reviews for
58
118
34
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (386)
  • Mar-May only
    (92)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (114)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (100)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (80)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We choose Citadines Barbican for our 16 day stay in London as it had a kitchen unit. It had a kitchen unit and so much more. All staff, front desk, housekeeping and maintenance were very pleasant with smiles and friendly hellos. Our room was small but clean and efficient. The bathrooms are great. Our room was to the front of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had a studio room, and it was excellent for our needs - cooking facilities, a comfortable chair to sit in, excellent bed, double-glazing to keep out the street noise. The staff were excellent - really helpful, and courteous - and they jumped on the internet when they couldn't answer any question. Continental breakfast was fabulous - a great way... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Strasbourg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very good service, pleasant people and convenient location. Come and salient during night time. I stayed in the hotel just for one night but enjoyed it a lot. Next time I will be in London I will definitely consider booking a room there.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This motel was clean and spacious and very well located but the best thing was the staff, they were so helpful and friendly. I was amazed at how well we were treated. The underground is a few minutes walk away but you could easlier walk to the Thames in less then a half hour.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Really nice 'chain hotel'; a cut above Premier Inn-type places. Really nice fellow on reception; all staff very friendly. Couple of plugs in the room didn't work, but room itself was spick and span. Really no major complaints.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The reception opens for 24 hours, and the staff is very kind. Transportation is convenient, and the location is good, too. A computer and the printer in the lobby are usable free. I recommend Citadines Barbican.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The worse, the wifi. Bad to work. The rooms were nice and clean, but there's no a nice view. The staff very nice and friendly. A good location, near subway and Saint Paul's Cathedral with some nice pubs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Orsi T, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review

Dear Paula R, Thank you for your kind review. I was delighted to see that you were satisfied with our Team and the service. I am sorry you were not satisfied with the strength of the wifi- we are currently working on improving this service. We hope to see you back in Citadines Barbican! Kind Regards, Orsi More 

France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

+ : Room is nice and well isolated for noise between rooms - : never seen such a poor wifi (sometimes even impossible to connect) and first entrance to the room is common with your neighbor and when he's entering his room it sounds as if he's coming in yours !!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Orsi T, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review

Dear Echos63, Thank you for your review. I am glad to read you found the room at your preference. I am sorry though you were not satisfied with the wifi and the interconnecting rooms. Please note we are currently working on the improvement of our wifi service, so this should be fixed shortly. Regarding the room, as we are undergoing... More 

Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed two nights last week. The place is basic as far as the rooms are concerned when compared to alternatives of equivalent price. I unfortunately forgot a couple of items in the fridge in a bag that were a gift to take home. Only half of the contents were food (there were non-food gift items also). When I called... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Orsi T, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review

Dear Stephenkemp1, I am extremely sorry to see your experience at Citadines Barbican was negative. Please rest assured this is not the general service we provide, our Team is polite and helpful on similar occasions. The policy is, in fact, to throw away food items and as far as I have been informed, this was the case with your left... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
303 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

We chose Citadines as a good basic hotel for a Friday and Saturday night, located only 15 minutes walk from Liverpool Street Station and not far from some good restaurants and pubs in Liv St and Whitechapel area. The rooms include a small kitchenette but are very small. There didn't seem to be any housekeeping (cleaning room, making bed etc)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Orsi T, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review

Dear DTM56, Thank you for your review and for rating us 4 on the scale. I am delighted to learn that the majority of your stay was positive, I wish to apologize for the entrance door though. In fact we had problems with the buzzer, which has been fixed immediately the week after. At the same time, our Team has... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

99 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (80)
Viewed
Room/suite (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Thistle City Barbican
#623 of 1,053 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 2,126 reviews
Clerkenwell
Malmaison London
Malmaison London
#231 of 1,053 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 858 reviews
Holborn
Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
London City Suites By Montcalm
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#238 of 1,053 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Clerkenwell

Neighborhood Profile
Clerkenwell
Owing to its proximity to Smithfield Market – the site of an ancient meat market which remains in operation today – Clerkenwell boasts a plethora of globally renowned restaurants, fabulous local eateries, and some of London's favorite pubs. This isn't merely a focal point for all things foodie though. Spend enough time wondering through the area's maze of streets and you might become accustomed to the litany of slinky models passing between Clerkenwell's handful of fashion houses. Far outnumbering the models are craftspeople and designers, many of them are more than happy to welcome visitors into their studios and showrooms.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay