We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thistle Kensington Gardens

#227 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
104 Bayswater Rd, London W2 3HL, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Thistle Kensington Gardens
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Thistle Kensington Gardens
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    486
    141
    24
    13
See reviews for
242
486
38
163
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1182)
  • Mar-May only
    (361)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (237)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (273)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (311)
All months
There are newer reviews for Thistle Kensington Gardens
See the most recent reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

The location of the hotel cannot be faulted, overlooking the Park and walking distance to oxford street (10/15 min walk), we also walked to Harrods and the Natural History Museum from the hotel quite easily. The rooms are good, small but clean and they look really good especially the bathroom. The staff are also very nice, friendly and helpful. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights with my husband and 14 year old American granddaughter. I requested a family room and got a double room with a king size bed and camp bed. There was hardly any space between the camp bed and one side of the king bed but both beds were comfortable. The room and bathroom were spotless but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

I stay at this Thistle quite a lot, on business, but this was a personal visit. I like the hotel's facilities, the rooms are compact but perfecty fine. The rooms at the front of the hotel can be a little noisy as the emergency services do love their sirens, clearly lots of traffic to avoid at 3am! The food is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens and for choosing us to stay for both business and personal use. Thanks also for your positive comments about our friendly team. Have you signed up to our 'Signature' Loyalty programme? The way Signature works is very straightforward. The more you stay with us, the more benefits... More 

Berlin, Germany
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

The hotel is in a very good position. Across the road from Kensington Gardens, 100m from a tube station and near a very busy and multi-ethnic restaurant district. Once inside the hotel, however, things are not so good. If the hotel had been reasonably priced, I wouldn't have bothered writing this. But at a cost of £1300 for 6 nights,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens. I am sorry you did not enjoy some aspects of your stay with us. Some of our standard rooms are smaller, and for a long stay I can understand that this may have been an issue for you, however we have much larger front facing rooms and... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
6 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

A very friendly hotel with an excellent Restaurant. All staff very attentive and polite. Very close to all attractions esp. the Hop off and on Bus. From this location went to Trafalgar Square, Westminster Abbey and Harrods. Also went to Coventry Gardens (great shops) Walked to Hyde Park to visit Princess Diana's memorial (beautifully set out). Went for a cruise... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Management response:

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens. I am glad the central location of the hotel allowed you to easily commute around London and see the sights. I look forward to your return. Billy and team. More 

Oldham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Two months prior to our stay I emailed the hotel requesting a high floor and adjoining rooms for the two executive rooms that I had booked, on arrival we had been allocated rooms close by on the second floor,when I queried this I was told that as this was only a request it could not be guaranteed and they only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens. I am sorry we were unable initially to meet your request of a room allocation on a high floor. This should have been actioned following your email and notice you provided. However I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return.... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here on Friday 29th June. The staff were friendly, efficient and professional. We were upgraded to the ninth floor and had a fabulous view, room facilities were fantastic, the room and bathroom were immaculate, very comfortable beds and opening windows, as well as air con. Really enjoyed our stay, would return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Management response:

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens. I am delighted both you and your daughter enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon. Billy and the team. More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed 23rd to 28th May. Our stay did not start well as the air conditioner did not work in our room and London was 30 degrees. When maintenance could not easily repair it they moved our room and also our luggage. Our thanks to the night manager for his help with this. The next morning they had to move... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens. I am sorry to hear about your initial issues when arriving into your room, however I am happy that the team dealt with this and upgraded you into one of our park facing rooms. Thanks also for your comments about the team and in particular the restaurant... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

The hotel is located in a good location within walking distance to Bayswater and Queensway tube stations. The hotel breakfast was very good with lots of choices. However we were disappointed with our room. We were placed on the mid-upper floors facing the back. We didn't care much about the view (as we were out most of the day) however... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Management response:

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens. We are in the process of upgrading our WIFI capabilities to offer better coverage and download capacity. As you will see from previous guest reviews we have larger rooms facing onto Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens. These can be requested and booked in advance or you can... More 

England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in a double room. The room was very small, but it was very modern and clean and most importantly the bed was really comfortable. Booked the room through lastminute.com, so paid £100 for the night. Don't know if I would stay here again, I think for the price and size of the room they could offer... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens. We have many flexible rates dependant on when you wish to stay, and offer bed and breakfast rates also. Our Hyde Park & Kensington Garden front facing rooms are larger than our standard rooms, and also have a King Bed. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

254 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (216)
Viewed
View from room (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (84)
Viewed
Bathroom (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question