We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kensington Close Hotel

4.0 of 5 Wrights Lane, Kensington, London W8 5SP, England
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kensington Close Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Kensington Close Hotel
Write a Review

1,800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    649
    482
    256
    156
See reviews for
298
622
90
350
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1800)
  • Mar-May only
    (374)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (385)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (650)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (391)
All months
There are newer reviews for Kensington Close Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

If I ever need a hotel in London, I´ll come back to the "KC": nice looking, modern, very well located with High St. Kensington and Hyde Park. Rooms are ok, but no pictures on their walls and no fridge. This is my only "but" I just spent 3 nights and during the days I was so busy, I didn't spend... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Justin J, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington Close Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GloriaMT73 Thank you for your recent review on the Kensington Close Hotel. I was happy to read that you enjoyed such a great time in London. We are sourcing pictures for the walls and this will come in time. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kindest regards Justin Jolly Guest Relations Manager More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel twice now and thoroughly recommend it to anyone, the staff were all friendly and helpful. Rooms clean and tidy. Good location with tube station short walk away. When I am back in London this will be my hotel of choice

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Justin J, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington Close Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sally K Thank you for returning to Kensington Close Hotel and for the review. I will be sure to pass on your praise to the team. We hope to see you back in the future Kindest regards Justin Jolly Guest Relations Manager More

Swindon
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We changed from our usual London Hotel to the 'KC' to give it a try. Whilst it is pleasant it didn't really match up to the billing. The room was OK, but every wall was blank, no pictures, no hand tissues, no fridge, the power shower wasn't. The TV 'froze' a number of times, not what you would expect of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Justin J, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington Close Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Richard B Thank you for your feedback on the Kensington Close Hotel Although the majority of the rooms have been recently refurbished we are still sourcing some finishing touches’ to make the rooms more homely. We haven’t received negative comments with regards to the shower pressure or television signal recently but I will have the engineers check on this.... More

Bridgend, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Having previously given up on this hotel a few years back I was really surprised this week when I had to no choice but to stay there again. The Kensington Close is now back on my list of London hotels. A major refurbishment has made the hotel a lot nicer than it used to be. Public areas have undergone a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Justin J, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington Close Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DarrenMathews Thank you for returning to Kensington Close Hotel and for the review. It is great to see that after a time away from us, you have returned to see the improvements made and we are back on your list of London Hotels. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kindest regards Justin Jolly Guest... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

This hotel had a big refurb prior to Olympic Games in 2012. Really nice looking, modern hotel. Beautiful bar and lounge area. Reception is a bit of a mess. It always seems to take ages to check in or check out and staff there are not the slickest. You have to pay to use the health club unless you book... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Justin J, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington Close Hotel, responded to this review

Dear StephenA970 Many thanks for your recent review on The Kensington Close Hotel. Thank you for noticing the changes that have been made, a lot of investment has been made and we are still making improvements to our rooms to match the areas already completed. The reason for the nominal charge for the use of the facilities in the Health... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

After researching reasonably priced hotels in the kensington area I finally chose this one because of the spa. Nowhere in the fine print of expedia was it written that there would be a surcharge to use it. My friend had checked in before me and had messaged me to warn me how small the rooms are and that she'd moved... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Justin J, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington Close Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bestbrit78 Thank you for your feedback on the Kensington Close hotel. I am sorry that you we did not meet your expectations and that you feel that you were not fully informed when making your choice when booking. The descriptions on our website are quite comprehensive and the charge for the use of the Health Club and Spa facilities... More

London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We are a couples staying there for a few days for visiting friends and relatives. The location of the hotel fit our purposes and convenience to all places in London. We were allocated a room in the part of the hotel which was recently renovated. Obviously it was clean and well maintained. Unfortunately the room was very small and we... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Justin J, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington Close Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Vincent Y, Thank you for your feedback on the Kensington Close Hotel. I was great to see that you have enjoyed your stay in one of our refurbished rooms for your recent stay. Although cosy, I’m sure you will agree that they are exceptional value for money and in a great location. Should your travels return you to the... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

On arrival there was no one to great us and then we had to join a queue of 14-15 people who had just disembarked from a bus. When we approached the desk the receptionist said there was no space for our child and we emphasized that we had put that on the booking and she said "oh, yes let me... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Justin J, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington Close Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Vmehdi, Thank you for your feedback and the additional information requested. I would like to apologise for the poor arrival you experienced in the hotel and the room. Having received the additional information requested, I have been able to address these issues with the relevant team members in order to put corrective measures in place going forward. As you... More

Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

The hotel is in a fantastic location. The rooms were clean and comfortable, though a little on the small side even after paying for an upgrade. Any noise was caused by neighbouring bedrooms or over loud people walking along the corridors. My only criticism is that during breakfast coffee was spilt all over my leg and nothing was done. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Justin J, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington Close Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michelle S, Thank you for your feedback on the Kensington Close hotel. Further to our correspondence from and to you directly, I trust this matter is resolved. Kindest regards Justin Jolly Guest Relations Manager More

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We had a twin room in this hotel and it was definately in need of refurbishment. The carpet was marked, there was a burn on the desk, the wardrobe interior was old chipped paint. The shower over the bath was fine but there was only a small shower curtain which meant the floor was soaking after a shower. The public... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Justin J, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington Close Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Elizabeth W, Thank you for your feedback. It was a disappointment to see that we did not meet your expectations during this stay. We are in the midst of a refurbishment of our budget rooms and be assured that all our bedroom stock will soon reflect the standard of décor experienced in our public areas. Kindest regards Justin Jolly... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Kensington Close Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • High Street(33)
  • Tube station(23)
  • Very small(17)
  • Great location(15)

Additional Information about Kensington Close Hotel

Address: Wrights Lane, Kensington, London W8 5SP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kensington Close Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 708
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kensington Close Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Close London
Hotel Kensington Close
Kensington Close Hotel London, England

423 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (363)
Viewed
Room/suite (99)
Viewed
Bathroom (52)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (49)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Other (135)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (61)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay