We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mitre House Hotel

180 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1TU, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mitre House Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mitre House Hotel
Review This Hotel

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    146
    95
    40
    23
See reviews for
76
108
26
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (350)
  • Mar-May only
    (68)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (112)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (110)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (60)
All months
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

Hotel clean and very helpful staff. Good breakfast........only missed sausages with English BF. Located just 5 min away from Paddington station it makes travelling very easy. Reachable by walk is Hyde Park, Oxford street etc. I sure will return to London & Mitre Hotel. Thank You. Ivan & Jesmond from Malta.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

This was a subpar hotel, even for the price. I was on the 4th floor in room 409, which seriously needs some work on the window - there was a constant cold draft coming from it, right next to the bed. I had to ask for extra towels and stuff them in the cracks, which only partly solved the problem.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Mongolianeye, Manager at Mitre House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel after your recent visit. Your shower cable was replaced immediately you had reported it was faulty.The other comments are hard to defend other than these buildings are 150 years old and due to settlement over the years the dimensions are not as accurate as a... More 

Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

First impressions from the outside were good but inside was a but fawlty towers. The welcome was cold and brisk, the decor dated. The room was basic and in need of modernising. The bed was uncomfortable and the creaky floorboards in the room above were annoying. One good point was the powerful shower but the bathroom was very dated but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

Stayed one night at this hotel...room was nothing like the pictures, very small, dingie and cold huge gap under the door and bad draughts from the window, no duvet on the bed just sheets blanket(thin) and bedspread. Worst cold night i have ever spent in a hotel. Breakfast was awful it says full english ....1 piece of bacon 3 mushrooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Mongolianeye, Manager at Mitre House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, thank you for taking the time to write of your one night stay in December 2014, I would like to apologize for your unhappy experience and for not responding immediately. As you have chosen to complain publically my response is to ensure that to avoid repeating this uncomfortable experience you should express your feelings at the time to... More 

Lechlade
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

Just stayed for 2 nights and considered the Hotel, not the best, but very acceptable for the price. Lots of contractors vans in car park when we arrived by car, but staff were helpful and found me a space. Although they state that car parking is available on a first come first served basis, it is a bit worrying if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Malta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

I was not at all pleased with my stay at this hotel. Yes it is a good price and not too far from London centre, but that didn't make up for the terrible customer service. The manager was so rude and obnoxious for no apparent reason. Other people at the cash followed this attitude Also little details which were inconvenient... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mongolianeye, Manager at Mitre House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us during 5 nights in September 2013 (even though it states that you were here in January 2014) I have no recollection to having met you but none the less we have taken on board your feelings regarding the floodlights and the location of the safety deposit boxes. The floodlights are... More 

Cornwall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

we stayed there for 3 nights in Oct, We found the hotel faultless for the price that we paid, As we booked the wrong date they changed our stay date to a week later with no extra cost . All staff were friendly and polite, We will definitely stay there again when we return to London

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
東京
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
43 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

This hotel does not located central London but Paddington station and bus station is very near from the hotel. We ride bus toward city center because it leaves very often and useful.Quiet surrounding because of it locates quiet residential area where street tree stands in a row. Room is little bit small but room rate is reasonable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

My partner and I stayed one night at the week end and found it pleasant. The reception staff were helpful and we managed to have a laugh with them. The room was comfortable however probably a little too warm and not a good view. But after all I didn't go to London to stare through the window. Breakfast was nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

We felt our stay here was satisfactory and served it's purpose. It featured a fantastic location. The premises were a bit worn but cozy. The breakfast service was very speedy, and the food standard/acceptable - could've used offering of fruits maybe but otherwise ok. Our only recommendation to owners would be to upgrade the window(s) out with dual panes for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

82 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (70)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question