We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1,065 London hotels

Mitre House Hotel

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   180 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1TU, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )
Hotel amenities
Mitre House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mitre House Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #561 of 1,065 Hotels in London
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Foxyvegaschick Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    145
    94
    40
    23
See reviews for
76
107
26
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (347)
  • Mar-May only
    (68)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (112)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (110)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (57)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was a subpar hotel, even for the price. I was on the 4th floor in room 409, which seriously needs some work on the window - there was a constant cold draft coming from it, right next to the bed. I had to ask for extra towels and stuff them in the cracks, which only partly solved the problem.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

First impressions from the outside were good but inside was a but fawlty towers. The welcome was cold and brisk, the decor dated. The room was basic and in need of modernising. The bed was uncomfortable and the creaky floorboards in the room above were annoying. One good point was the powerful shower but the bathroom was very dated but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed one night at this hotel...room was nothing like the pictures, very small, dingie and cold huge gap under the door and bad draughts from the window, no duvet on the bed just sheets blanket(thin) and bedspread. Worst cold night i have ever spent in a hotel. Breakfast was awful it says full english ....1 piece of bacon 3 mushrooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lechlade
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just stayed for 2 nights and considered the Hotel, not the best, but very acceptable for the price. Lots of contractors vans in car park when we arrived by car, but staff were helpful and found me a space. Although they state that car parking is available on a first come first served basis, it is a bit worrying if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Malta
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was not at all pleased with my stay at this hotel. Yes it is a good price and not too far from London centre, but that didn't make up for the terrible customer service. The manager was so rude and obnoxious for no apparent reason. Other people at the cash followed this attitude Also little details which were inconvenient... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mongolianeye, Manager at Mitre House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us during 5 nights in September 2013 (even though it states that you were here in January 2014) I have no recollection to having met you but none the less we have taken on board your feelings regarding the floodlights and the location of the safety deposit boxes. The floodlights are... More 

Cornwall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we stayed there for 3 nights in Oct, We found the hotel faultless for the price that we paid, As we booked the wrong date they changed our stay date to a week later with no extra cost . All staff were friendly and polite, We will definitely stay there again when we return to London

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
東京
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
35 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel does not located central London but Paddington station and bus station is very near from the hotel. We ride bus toward city center because it leaves very often and useful.Quiet surrounding because of it locates quiet residential area where street tree stands in a row. Room is little bit small but room rate is reasonable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My partner and I stayed one night at the week end and found it pleasant. The reception staff were helpful and we managed to have a laugh with them. The room was comfortable however probably a little too warm and not a good view. But after all I didn't go to London to stare through the window. Breakfast was nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We felt our stay here was satisfactory and served it's purpose. It featured a fantastic location. The premises were a bit worn but cozy. The breakfast service was very speedy, and the food standard/acceptable - could've used offering of fruits maybe but otherwise ok. Our only recommendation to owners would be to upgrade the window(s) out with dual panes for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I am totally on board with the 'Management Response' to some of the negative reviews. This is a friendly, well located, budget hotel - yes the rooms are small with some odd noises from heating and floorboards but it must be remembered that this is a 2 star and cheap for a central London location. There are many positives including... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mitre House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitre House Hotel

Address: 180 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1TU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Mitre House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Mitre House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitre Hotel London
Mitre House Hotel London, England

69 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (70)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (22)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay