We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mitre House Hotel

2.0 of 5 180 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1TU, England
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mitre House Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mitre House Hotel
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    146
    95
    40
    23
See reviews for
76
108
26
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (350)
  • Mar-May only
    (68)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (112)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (110)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (60)
All months
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel clean and very helpful staff. Good breakfast........only missed sausages with English BF. Located just 5 min away from Paddington station it makes travelling very easy. Reachable by walk is Hyde Park, Oxford street etc. I sure will return to London & Mitre Hotel. Thank You. Ivan & Jesmond from Malta.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

This was a subpar hotel, even for the price. I was on the 4th floor in room 409, which seriously needs some work on the window - there was a constant cold draft coming from it, right next to the bed. I had to ask for extra towels and stuff them in the cracks, which only partly solved the problem.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

First impressions from the outside were good but inside was a but fawlty towers. The welcome was cold and brisk, the decor dated. The room was basic and in need of modernising. The bed was uncomfortable and the creaky floorboards in the room above were annoying. One good point was the powerful shower but the bathroom was very dated but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

Stayed one night at this hotel...room was nothing like the pictures, very small, dingie and cold huge gap under the door and bad draughts from the window, no duvet on the bed just sheets blanket(thin) and bedspread. Worst cold night i have ever spent in a hotel. Breakfast was awful it says full english ....1 piece of bacon 3 mushrooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lechlade
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

Just stayed for 2 nights and considered the Hotel, not the best, but very acceptable for the price. Lots of contractors vans in car park when we arrived by car, but staff were helpful and found me a space. Although they state that car parking is available on a first come first served basis, it is a bit worrying if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Malta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

I was not at all pleased with my stay at this hotel. Yes it is a good price and not too far from London centre, but that didn't make up for the terrible customer service. The manager was so rude and obnoxious for no apparent reason. Other people at the cash followed this attitude Also little details which were inconvenient... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mongolianeye, Manager at Mitre House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us during 5 nights in September 2013 (even though it states that you were here in January 2014) I have no recollection to having met you but none the less we have taken on board your feelings regarding the floodlights and the location of the safety deposit boxes. The floodlights are... More 

Cornwall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

we stayed there for 3 nights in Oct, We found the hotel faultless for the price that we paid, As we booked the wrong date they changed our stay date to a week later with no extra cost . All staff were friendly and polite, We will definitely stay there again when we return to London

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
東京
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
41 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

This hotel does not located central London but Paddington station and bus station is very near from the hotel. We ride bus toward city center because it leaves very often and useful.Quiet surrounding because of it locates quiet residential area where street tree stands in a row. Room is little bit small but room rate is reasonable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

My partner and I stayed one night at the week end and found it pleasant. The reception staff were helpful and we managed to have a laugh with them. The room was comfortable however probably a little too warm and not a good view. But after all I didn't go to London to stare through the window. Breakfast was nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

We felt our stay here was satisfactory and served it's purpose. It featured a fantastic location. The premises were a bit worn but cozy. The breakfast service was very speedy, and the food standard/acceptable - could've used offering of fruits maybe but otherwise ok. Our only recommendation to owners would be to upgrade the window(s) out with dual panes for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mitre House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitre House Hotel

Address: 180 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1TU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Mitre House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Mitre House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitre Hotel London
Mitre House Hotel London, England

82 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (70)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay