We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1,075 London hotels

Shakespeare Hotel

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22-28 Norfolk Square, London W2 1RS, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Shakespeare Hotel to your Saves list
Shakespeare Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
39%
Ranked #679 of 1,075 hotels in London
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
NZer888 Auckland Region, New Zealand
  • Reviews (309)
  • Photos (108)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (31)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

309 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    80
    85
    44
    71
See reviews for
87
71
31
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel in July 2014. The hotel is spread over 3 joining buildings - which look quite attractive from the outside. Once indoors you become quite aware that this is a very basic hotel, we booked for room with own bathroom, there are rooms with shared bathrooms and they cater for large groups to stay in dorm... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Athens, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very nice hotel, superb location, enjoyed our stay the staff helped us find our way around London. Room was clean. breakfast had some really nice waffles, many european tv channels nice view from room. thanks will come again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dolphin_Management, Manager at Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sirs, We are glad you had a good time in our Hotel. Your comment is precious for us. Best Regards More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the Shakespeare Hotel for two nights as a short break in London. My bedroom was a single room on the third floor. It was a long walk, if you having problems with stairs, please ask for one of the rooms on the first floor. The Room was ok , it was a nice tiny clean room. The hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dolphin_Management, Manager at Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sirs, We are glad you had a good time in our Hotel. Your comment is precious for us. Best Regards More

Richmond Hill, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My family and I stayed in a quad room on the third floor for three nights in May. Pros: This hotel far exceeded my expectations of it. The rooms were clean, had plenty of space for our luggage, and had modern finishing. Bathrooms were small, but looked clean and modern. I'm frankly surprised this is a two star hotel. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dolphin_Management, Manager at Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sirs, We are glad you had a good time in our Hotel. Your comment is precious for us. Best Regards More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was on the top floor which meant a lot of steep and narrow stairs. My room was very small but also very cosy. It had everything I needed and it was very clean. It was more than enough for me since I was away most of the day. The included breakfast was great. I would appreciate a free Wi-Fi.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dolphin_Management, Manager at Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sirs, We are glad you had a good time in our Hotel. Your comment is precious for us. Best Regards More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

The Hotel is placed near underground and RER station. There is also a station of the BigBus tour. The room is little, but clean. Pleasant staff. You can get adaptor or a hair dryer from the reception. You can also use the wifi, but for additional payment. There no elevator and the stairs are not so comfortable for lifting the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shakesp_Management, Manager at Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sirs, We are glad you had a good time in our Hotel. Your comment is precious for us. Best Regards More

Fortaleza, CE
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

This was a very pleasant surprise. Nice, clean, well located and with a fair rate. There was a beautiful garden outside. A few bars and restaurants if you don´t want to go very far. The only bad thing was the no elevator type.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shakesp_Management, General Manager at Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there Aline, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It is our pleasure to accommodate and leave our guests satisfied and enthusiastic. Due to the fact that out hotel is in a Victorian building, it is against the law to restructure the floor planning, therefore a list is not available for... More

Hamburg, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

I stayed for a week with a school class from Germany. Everyone, even my fussy students, were very satisfied with our stay. Full marks for friendly service and location. Of course the rooms are small, but that's London for you. I wouldn't hesitate to go and stay at the Shakespeare Hotel again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shakesp_Management, General Manager at Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Henry, Thank you for your very kind words. The motto of our hotel is to respect the customer, respect the environment and reward hard working team mates in order to offer the best possible service. We were very happy to accommodate your group and we look forward to seeing you all again in the future. Remember, taking the time... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We booked a double room and were given a cramped dorm room. I wouldn't have minded had it been nice but it was obvious that they tried to squeeze rooms/WCs into every little space. Just not a nice atmosphere as soon as you pass reception! One staff member, a young and tall lad, was lovely but another was unapologetic and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shakesp_Management, Manager at Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sirs, we are really sorry that you did not have a nice stay in our Hotel. In order to investigate better, i would like to know what room number you had and what time you spoke with the rude receptionist. Regards More

Florence, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Perfect location near Paddington + within easy reach of Hyde Park. Norfolk Square is a quiet and elegant haven and ideal as a base for sightseeing. A wonderful hotel with a really friendly, welcoming and caring atmosphere. Very nice room and the staff very helpful! We'd definitely go back again in the future. The room wasn't large but tastefully decorated,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shakesp_Management, Manager at Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sirs, We are glad you had a good time in our Hotel. Your comment is precious for us. Best Regards More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Shakespeare Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Shakespeare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shakespeare Hotel

Address: 22-28 Norfolk Square, London W2 1RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Shakespeare Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Shakespeare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn London
Shakespeare Hotel London, England

108 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (101)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Free Breakfast
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
31

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer