We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1,073 London hotels

Shakespeare Hotel

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22-28 Norfolk Square, London W2 1RS, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Shakespeare Hotel to your Saves list
Shakespeare Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
39%
Ranked #689 of 1,073 hotels in London
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014
Céline F
  • Overview
  • Reviews (337)
  • Photos (108)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (33)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

337 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    86
    97
    47
    76
See reviews for
97
83
32
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nantes, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My girlfriend and me booked a night for a great weekend in London, but actually in this hostel, only the staff is kind. However they can't fix all the problems it as in this hostel. From the bed to the bathroom the hostel is old and bad maintained. Don't sleep there, the price is awfull compared to what you get.... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Shakesp_Management, Manager at Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We are really sorry, for the problems you had during your stay in our Hotel. We have , our own staff, that checks the rooms on a regular base and all the faults are reported daily by the housekeeping department. Did you report the problems at the reception ? Regards More

Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location and the staff were helpful...but seriously...my bathroom is a unit from a campervan stuck in a corner of my room!! There is barely enough room for the 2 if us to be in the room together. The beds are uncomfortable and the breakfeast is atrocious!!!!! The Shakespeare should only be an absolutely last resort because everywhere else in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Shakesp_Management, Manager at Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sirs, I am sorry you had such a bad stay in our Hotel. We are a budget hotel 2 starts , but we offer 3 stars services. I am really surprised, about your comment. We are really sorry again. regards More

Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for 3 nights before travelling north. Chosen because it was near Paddington Station and hotel was advertised as 2 star. Place was disgusting. Dirty and torn carpets. Bags of dirty laundry left in hallways. No lift, no offer to help with luggage. A group a overseas students caused havoc every night. Running up and down the stairs, in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Shakesp_Management, Manager at Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

You stayed, very long time ago, and things are totally changed. Regards More

Albury, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We were booked into this hotel for 2 nights mid July and one night late July. For our first stay we were located in a twin room (after booking double) on the fourth floor, the stair cases were barely wide enough to take our suitcases up and they were so steep! The room was clean enough. We spoke with reception... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shakesp_Management, Manager at Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sirs, I am really sorry, you had such a bad experience in our Hotel. I am the manager, and i was not aware of the fact, that you asked for me so many times, nobody told me anything about your problems. I am trying to investigate your case, with the staff and also about the problem of the taxi... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

it was very great to stay in this hotel. people are kind and very helpful. the breakfast was good. it's great located. room are simply but just enough for us with tv and tea commodities. in one word : perfect!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shakesp_Management, Manager at Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sirs, We are glad you had a good time in our Hotel. Your comment is precious for us. Best Regards More

Seminyak
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Stayed for two nights in July. Booked Twin Bed but the room located on 4th floor and hotel had no lift. No offer to help us with our bags. The alternative room was offered on ground floor however it was a double bed with a skylight which meant there was light in the room all night long. Housekeeping standard was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shakesp_Management, Manager at Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sirs, We are glad you had a good time in our Hotel. Your comment is precious for us. Best Regards More

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed here for 12 nights with my mum. We booked last minute and were thankful for a hotel that could fit us in. Attractive from the outside; neat, tidy and clean on the inside. Staff were always very helpful. Breakfast was basic continental but more than sufficient. Room was small but enough space to move, open suitcases etc and clean.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Shakesp_Management, Manager at Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sirs, We are glad you had a good time in our Hotel. Your comment is precious for us. Best Regards More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in July 2014. The hotel is spread over 3 joining buildings - which look quite attractive from the outside. Once indoors you become quite aware that this is a very basic hotel, we booked for room with own bathroom, there are rooms with shared bathrooms and they cater for large groups to stay in dorm... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shakesp_Management, Manager at Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sirs, We are glad you had a good time in our Hotel. Your comment is precious for us. Best Regards More

Athens, Greece
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Very nice hotel, superb location, enjoyed our stay the staff helped us find our way around London. Room was clean. breakfast had some really nice waffles, many european tv channels nice view from room. thanks will come again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dolphin_Management, Manager at Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sirs, We are glad you had a good time in our Hotel. Your comment is precious for us. Best Regards More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stayed at the Shakespeare Hotel for two nights as a short break in London. My bedroom was a single room on the third floor. It was a long walk, if you having problems with stairs, please ask for one of the rooms on the first floor. The Room was ok , it was a nice tiny clean room. The hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dolphin_Management, Manager at Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sirs, We are glad you had a good time in our Hotel. Your comment is precious for us. Best Regards More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Shakespeare Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Shakespeare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shakespeare Hotel

Address: 22-28 Norfolk Square, London W2 1RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Shakespeare Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Shakespeare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn London
Shakespeare Hotel London, England

108 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (101)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in London with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Breakfast
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
31

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Shakespeare Hotel and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Shakespeare Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer