We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shakespeare Hotel

22-28 Norfolk Square, London W2 1RS, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shakespeare Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Shakespeare Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

501 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    51
    147
    141
    65
    97
See reviews for
145
131
48
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (501)
  • Mar-May only
    (127)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (140)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (122)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (112)
All months
Salzburg, Austria
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

+ Great Location (2 min to Paddington Station = very good access to public transportation including most airports) + quite and nice surounding area + good breakfast + friendly staff - small rooms, bed... well

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dolphin_Management, Manager at Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bernhard, Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are very happy with your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed yourself and we hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Shakespeare Hotel Management More 

Zichron Yaakov, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were a family of 4 and got the basement room with private bath. The room was awful- small, noisy (we heard the subway each time it drove close by which was always and starting from 3am seagulls screamed constantly through the ventilation system or somewhere) bathroom was a tiny nook with no air No windows and no air to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dolphin_Management, Manager at Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Avi P, We must apologise that you did not enjoy your stay. We take great pride in satisfying our guests so we are really disappointed that we could not do the same in your case. We understand that you were not happy with the basement room, but for that reason we may sell it a bit cheaper. But other... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A very nice hotel, located in a peaceful neighbourhood, a lot of cafés and restaurants nearby and a few general stores. A beautiful garden-park in front of the hotel. I required special assistance with some sensitive medicine I was carrying and the staff provided it even before the check in time. The staff was very polite at all times. My... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dolphin_Management, Manager at Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dyani, Thank you very much for your kind words. We really appreciate our guest's opinions and take great satisfaction when we see our guests happy and satisfied. We will pass on the message to the rest of our team. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Shakespeare Hotel Management More 

Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very close to Paddington and cheap which was the main reasons for choosing. Check-in was quick and luckily only on level 1. The room was basic but did the job. Loved all the plug outlets but wish it had free wifi. I was worried from reading other reviews but it was fine for one night. We opened up our balcony... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dolphin_Management, Manager at Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cdandoy Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We appreciate your opinion and are glad you enjoyed your time at the Shakespeare Hotel. We hope to see you again. Regards Shakespeare Hotel Management More 

Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The location is great and the breakfast was adequate and convenient. We had a family room for 5. There were 5 single beds in the room and even though they were singles, they still seemed like small beds especially for my tall husband. The room was clean, but seemed dingy due to the scuffs and cracks on the walls. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dolphin_Management, Manager at Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Snulie, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience with us. We appreciate your opinion and use all reviews in order to benefit us. We would like to start off expressing our satisfaction and that you found our new wall plugs filled with several adapters and USB inputs, useful. We know that now in a fast growing... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Where do I start, we arrived at the hotel and checked in, going up to the room we expected to be in a double as paid for, we were in a room with twin beds. Next the door did not lock so anyone could get in! When I reported this to the receptionist she was incredibly rude and told her... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dolphin_Management, Manager at Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear poofacepanda, Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We would like to apologise that you did not receive the experience you expected. We try very hard to constantly improve our standards whilst keeping our prices as low as possible and therefore such a negative comment is a very huge blow to us. We do however, appreciate your comment as we... More 

Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

After booking this hotel & than reading some of the reviews I was a bit apprehensive about staying here but my experience was good. Staff very friendly & helpful, room was cleaned everyday. Yes the rooms are small but all you need when your travelling & in a great location easy to get around either by walking or transport. Breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dolphin_Management, Manager at Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tracy M, Thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and will pass the message on to the rest of our team. We will take note of your points, we are trying to constantly upgrade our breakfast service, but we also should inform you that our Traditional... More 

Heumen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

We had a good sized room, breakfast was great and location of the hotel is excellent. Hyde park and Oxford street at walking distance and Paddington station around the corner. Not suitable for people who have problems walking stairs but otherwise great hotel for budget price. Next time we come to London we will definiteley return to this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dolphin_Management, Manager at Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sandra K, We are very glad you enjoyed our hotel and we thank you for sharing your experience with others on TripAdvisor. We will pass the message of your satisfaction on to the rest of our team and we hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards Shakespeare Hotel Management More 

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015

The hotel is absolutely horrible. We were initially allocated a room in the basement. Underground tube passing near the hotel was shaking the basement room every few seconds. We were then moved to a top level floor. The room was very small and dusty. The heating wasn't turned on after several requests from us. My wife got sick after staying... More 

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dolphin_Management, Manager at Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Saydul_bashar, Thank you for reviewing our hotel. You characterise out hotel as absolutely horrible but yet ignore our gesture of good will, as we tried our best to reorganise our reservation data in order to take your request seriously and change you to a better room which you demanded. In addition we operate our central heating from the reception... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

354 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (151)
Viewed
Room/suite (63)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (191)
Viewed
Amenities (7)
Viewed
Double Room (23)
Viewed
Other (25)
Viewed
Quad Room (29)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (20)
Viewed
Single Room (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)
Viewed
Triple Room (24)
Viewed
Twin Room (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.0 mi away
Dolphin Hotel
Dolphin Hotel
#672 of 1,052 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 397 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caring Hotel
Caring Hotel
#442 of 1,052 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 628 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#713 of 1,052 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tudor Court Hotel
Tudor Court Hotel
#628 of 1,052 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 500 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tune Hotel - Paddington
Tune Hotel - Paddington
#302 of 1,052 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,188 reviews
0.0 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#570 of 1,052 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay