We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shakespeare Hotel

2.0 of 5 22-28 Norfolk Square, London W2 1RS, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shakespeare Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Shakespeare Hotel
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    102
    105
    56
    81
See reviews for
107
97
35
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (381)
  • Mar-May only
    (89)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (109)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (119)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (64)
All months
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I'm just back from staying in this hotel for the weekend with a group of friends. I was a little unsure of what to expect but I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. The location is great, 2 mins to paddington station and about a 15 min walk to marble arch The hotel is old fashioned but is clean... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Do not stay at this hotel...ever!! The rooms were appallingly small. Every time someone wants to use the bathroom the door hit the bed. The bathroom was so tiny you couldn't get changed in it. There was no room to put your suitcases anywhere and we got a wonderful view of the tiled roof. The towels were very threadbare and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, Scotland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I'm in the awkward position of giving a good review which might eventually lead to the hotel price going up! My room at the Shakespeare Hotel was - Clean, warm, & quiet, facing the square. Comfortable bed. Small Ensuite, a bit chipped & a bit mouldy but clean. WHITE towels, HOT water, dodgy shower holder, laminate floor, flat screen TV,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shakesp_Management, Manager at Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Petal Power, Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate you took the time to give us a comment. We can assure you that the price does not go up in regards with the quality of the comments :) Prices in London tend to be above average, so we try our best to offer a budget price to our... More

Madrid, Spain
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is very good when it comes to services, comfort and cleanliness, but you can put as a paste, which has many stairs and has no elevator, regarding the city, it was the first time we visited London and we liked it, we plan to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shakesp_Management, Manager at Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RafaelM, Thank you for your nice comments and we are happy you enjoyed your stay. Regarding the stairs, we fully understand that this is inconvenient, we hold Victorian listed buildings and are not permitted to install an elevator. We hope you understand the history of the building, however next time please request a room on the ground or first... More

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here in december last year for 3 days in london, 10 minute walk to hyde park 2 min walk to a tube station, nice clean hotel, breakfast was good, staff were good also let us keep our suitcases in the hotel for the day after we checked out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shakesp_Management, Manager at Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kerry Smith Thank you for your nice comments. We are glad that you were satisfied and hope to see you again. Kind Regards Shakespeare Hotel Management More

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The room was tiny (like most budget european hotels) but clean. We got a room on the 4th floor facing the park in front of the hotel so that was nice. Its okay if your trip is only for a few days. Sadly for us, it was the first leg of our 3 week trip so we had really big... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Shakesp_Management, Manager at Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anix A, Thank you for your comment and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us in London. It is of great pleasure to us to achieve customer satisfaction. We can guarantee you that our hotel is not in the outskirts. But in the central zone of London, with major tourist attractions such as Hyde Park and Oxford... More

Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

First of all, the location is really good. It's next to a underground station and in the center of London. Unfortunately, it's really old and too small. I was with my school class for 1 week in London, we had to sleep in the "basement". It was hard to sleep, because the underground was really loud. The service is friendly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shakesp_Management, Manager at Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Daniel P, Thank you for taking the time to write a comment. The hotel is a traditional Victorian building known for its architecture and we do all we can to preserve this. We are however constantly looking to renovate our rooms and try to mix modern facilities whilst preserving the Victorian sense of the building. We are very glad... More

1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

I don't know how the other reviews this hotel and gave it top marks. This is the worst hotel I've ever stayed. The room not even closed to any of the pictures on its brochures. The whole building is so run down. The carpets on the stairs were ripped and dirty. The stairs were so narrow and no elevators. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Shakesp_Management, Manager at Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tommy C, Can you please be a bit more specific. All of our career has been dedicated to upgrading our service as much as possible in order to satisfy our guests. Leaving a comment like this may be discouraging but we will take this opportunity to understand what exactly it was that upset you so that we can avoid... More

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

Location of this hotel is lovely as it is near the Paddington undergound and the Paddington Station. We had booked two rooms for three nights in late September. When we check-in, we were told that the rooms were at different buildings. We were shcoked as we booked the rooms in June but they could not arrange the two rooms even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

is more like a hostel than a (3stars!) hotel ... is fairly clean with employees who speak very bad English. Breakfast, included in the price, is just acceptable. The only very positive note it's the location: very central London ! As a base to sleep in London, it is fine. Just that, no more.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Dolphin_Management, Manager at Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pierop_11 We are very upset after reading your comment. All we can do is apologize and re assure you that we are doing all we can to improve our customer service. The hotel is a 2 star hotel, not 3 and we have improved our service and can guarantee you that all of our staff now speak excellent English... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Shakespeare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shakespeare Hotel

Address: 22-28 Norfolk Square, London W2 1RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Shakespeare Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Otel, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Shakespeare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn London
Shakespeare Hotel London, England

122 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (115)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay