We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Garden Hotel

5.0 of 5 2-24 Kensington High Street, London W8 4PT, England
Hotel website
Offers & Announcements
FREE ENGLISH BREAKFAST
#164 of 1,054 Hotels in London
1,046 Reviews 4.5 of 5 stars
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Royal Garden Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Royal Garden Hotel
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    303
    76
    43
    27
See reviews for
155
365
74
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1046)
  • Mar-May only
    (310)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (257)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (251)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (228)
All months
Beccles, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Not cheap but you get what you pay for. Friendly, helpful staff. Lovely big room and en suite. Comfy (huge) bed. Great location, whether you want to go for a walk in Kensington Gardens, a trip to the Albert Hall or jump on the tube at South Kensington (Piccadilly line). We will be back..... Soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
64 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Fantastic location , nice safe area , close to all major attractions , quality rooms with contemporary furnishing and all requisite international travellers requirements ..tidy, clean , good shower, large bath ..everything you need ..will definitely stay here again next time we're in Central London

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed one night in this hotel with my wife. Overall, the experience was just about OK with a balance of pros and cons. Pro 1. The location is excellent - right next to Kensington Park. Turn the corner and you're at Kensington Palace. 2. The price is reasonable - at the lower range for a 5 star hotel 3.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jonathan L, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback and I appreciate the pros and cons. I'm glad to hear that on the whole you had a good stay. I'm pleased to see we were able to be flexible on your later check in and parking. I apologise that we could not accommodate an earlier check in and I do hope we... More

Toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We just returned from tea for three of us and don't have much regard for either the food or service. I asked for filtered coffee instead of tea and was brought a cup of nescafe tasting coffee. Usually you get pressed coffee in a pot and can see the grounds. No one asked to refill my cup. My wife and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jonathan L, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. As you can see from previous reviews, we often receive positive feedback with regards to the food, service and atmosphere of the Park Terrace restaurant so I am surprised and disappointed to read your review. Our afternoon tea service is especially well thought of and is often fully... More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
47 hotel reviews
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This property is far better after its refurbishment a few years ago. Staff were welcoming, however i had some issued with visa cards as from a foreign country. Was resolved after 24-Hours, however make sure if your not from the United Kingdom that the right card swipe is used otherwise you may get a double charge on your credit card.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jonathan L, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind feedback. I am pleased to hear that the staff and facilities were both welcoming and comfortable. It is also great to hear that our well situated location made your journeys around London easier. We look forward to welcoming you again soon, Best wishes, Jonathan Lowrey General Manager More

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice hotel, great rooms, good location if you want to walk or run in the parks. I did not eat at the hotel so cannot comment on the food. Management - YOU NEED TO ACTION THIS. When I pay £260 for a room without breakfast, charging £20 for WIFI is a DISGRACE.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jonathan L, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review of the hotel and feedback regarding WIFI. We do offer complimentary WIFI to all guests that book directly with us. Please consider using our website, www.royalgardenhotel.co.uk or phoning our reservation team for future bookings. We hope to welcome you again soon, Best wishes, Jonathan Lowrey General Manager More

Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my second stay. At first I had upgraded to a garden queen which is spacious and overlooking the beautiful Kensignton gardens, but then I saw my friends standard queen for 80 pounds less and it was quite lovely with a city view and certainly large enough for one so I moved. Staff very helpful, friendly and accommodating. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jonathan L, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. At the Royal Garden Hotel we strive for excellence in our service and were pleased to see this was achieved through our friendly and accommodating staff. On your next visit, our Concierge Team would love to help guide you to the many nearby charming areas that Kensington has to offer. We hope to... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived at hotel to be greeted by friendly receptionist who checked us in with no hassle. However, this was the only positive experience. We stayed at Royal Garden for one night & throughout our stay we never came across one accommodating member of staff. On numerous occasions, whether entering the hotel or sitting in the bar or lobby we were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Jonathan L, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for leaving your review on your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you found our reception staff helpful and that they were able to accommodate your early check in. I was disappointed and somewhat surprised to read your comments regarding your stay and do wonder what circumstance could have arisen to have... More

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I always feel like home in this place , perfect location , good restaurants and great view . Book the Kensington palace view as it is extremely photo perfect view also try the Chinese restaurant it's one of the best in town

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jonathan L, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review. We always want out guests to feel at home so I am pleased to hear this was the experience you had. I will pass on your compliments to the chefs in Min Jiang restaurant. We look forward to your next stay, Best wishes, Jonathan Lowrey General Manager More

Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here 2 nights for work in April, can be described as an excellent hotel. Rooms are spacious, clean and the beds are as soft as anyone can wish after a hard's day work. The Chinese restaurant on top of the hotel serves classic Chinese Beijing duck which tastes amazing. Together with a nice glass of wine and a spectacular... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jonathan L, General Manager at Royal Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review. The Royal Garden Hotel strives to provide a relaxing and comfortable experience for our guests so I'm pleased to learn that our facilities made your trip more enjoyable. I hope you will be enjoying the Beijing duck again soon in our Min Jiang restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.... More

Do you own or manage Royal Garden Hotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Royal Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Garden Hotel

Address: 2-24 Kensington High Street, London W8 4PT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Garden Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 394
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Tingo, Agoda, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, LondonMarketing.com, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Royal Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden London
Hotel Royal Garden
Royal Garden Hotel London, England

529 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (230)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (73)
Viewed
Bathroom (34)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (25)
Viewed
1:21
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (69)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (217)
Viewed
Amenities (31)
Viewed
Executive Room (46)
Viewed
Garden Room (26)
Viewed
King Room (48)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (83)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (38)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay