We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Strand Palace Hotel

#364 of 1,055 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
4.0 of 5
Hotel website
372 Strand, London WC2R 0JJ, England
Special Offer
Staycation Package
Strand Palace Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ranked #364 of 1,055 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Chris_Jeblons
Write a Review

4,686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,223
    2,124
    871
    288
    180
See reviews for
495
1,451
725
1,038
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (936)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (4686)
  • Mar-May only
    (1100)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (1174)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (1196)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1216)
All months
There are newer reviews for Strand Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Spent a week here in April 2013, the room was great. Clean, well maintained. The full english breakfast was very good, I would highly recommend adding that to your stay. It will make things easier for your sightseeing adventures, if you're not worrying about breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wesela B, Assistant Front Office Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your kind words. We are glad to hear our services and facilities have meet your expectations and you found the Hotel to be a great place at an affordable price. Your comments will be shared with our staff and your compliments about breakfast will be passed on to our Head Chef. We hope... More 

Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Some 5,000 homes and businesses in central London were left without electricity 1th of April after an underground fire caused a huge power cut. We had to leave The Strand Palace hotel as everyone was evacuated of security reasons and lack off power. The staff was extremely helpful and we were all transferred to other hotels in London without any... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wesela B, Assistant Front Office Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are delighted to hear such a nice review from a satisfied guest such as yourself and we thank you for your understanding in this unusual situation where the evacuation of our valued guests was absolutely necessary. We are grateful for your kind comments of appreciation and will share them with the entire team. Once again, thank you... More 

Paradise, Newfoundland, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Booked this hotel off the internet for four couples first visit to London. Was extremely pleased with the location, it was totally city centre. Buckingham Palace was next door & all the sites were walking distance. The concierge desk was very helpful as we used them lots. Traditional English breakfast was included ans very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ilona D, Guest Relations Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to learn that we welcomed you to The Strand Palace Hotel for the first time and that you had an enjoyable stay with us.We are looking forward to your next stay. Kind regards More 

newcastle upon tyne
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed here for four nights, upon arriving at check in we were greeted warmly, efficiently, payment for the stay is taken at arrival, I had preordered a mobility scooter from an outside company and concierge had it ready and waiting, first class. We were in an executive double room which overlooked the The Strand, rooms are spacious, large bed,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ilona D, Guest Relations Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your glowing review of your recent stay with us. Your wonderful comments are really appreciated. I am thrilled to hear that you had such a good experience with the Strand Palace team. We are looking forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards More 

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

a great hotel for visiting London especially if going to west end. The staff at hotel were wonderful, we arrived in London at 9 am but this was not problem the hotel had our room ready. Well worth a visit

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ilona D, Guest Relations Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive comments and for your kind words about our staff. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It will be pleasure to welcome you again in the near future. Kind regards More 

New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here two years ago. This visit was not as good. Here's the differences…1. The towel rack in the bath only had room for one set of towels. Towels for the second person were put in the wardrobe. No place to leave them in the bathroom after the first use. 2. Toilet paper holder was about 1" from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wesela B, Assistant Front Office Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. We appreciate your comments regarding our room and bathroom facilities, meal quality and Wi – Fi connection. At the Strand Palace Hotel we strive to provide superior experience and service for every guest and we regret we failed on this occasion. Your feedback will be shared... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have always loved the Strand Palace Hotel (before & after its face-lift). It's in a wonderful and lively location that is so full of energy that it re-charges your wound down batteries from the word go. Covent Garden is simply divine and anything worth visiting is within walking distance if you aren't in a rush. The hotel is cheery... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wesela B, Assistant Front Office Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at the Strand Palace Hotel. We were pleased to hear that your stay was comfortable and that you have enjoyed our central location. We certainly look forward to your return visit in August. Kind regards, More 

Wirral, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I spent a week-end in London to see a concert, and other events in major art galleries. My room, which was on the 9th floor, was small, and I was concerned about the wall mounted TV set close to the bathroom entrance, as a taller person may bang into it. The bathroom sink was too small to let me fill... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wesela B, Assistant Front Office Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your lovely comments. We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with your stay and we would like to assure you that your feedback regarding the wall mounted TV and size of the bathroom sink will be communicated to the concerned departments for evaluation. Once again thank you for taking the time... More 

Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a great place to stay for location. Literally when I come back this is where I will stay again. Hotel is nice not luxury but nice enough. Room was comfortable. Only things that could be better - a more comfortable bed - curved shower curtain rods (easy investment to make a shower more comfortable). Showering in a hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wesela B, Assistant Front Office Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your kind review. We truly appreciate your comments about our rooms and location; we also would like to thank you for your suggestion regarding the shower curtain, which will be shared with the relevant Head of Department and looked into. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, More 

Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

For me, it is a "too big" hotel but the location is great, that's mainly why it is a place to repeat. Also, for London, I believe it offers a good value for money proposition. Rooms are big enough and confortable, me and my husband were there with our 12 years old daughter and it was very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wesela B, Assistant Front Office Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Strand Palace Hotel.We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

627 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (601)
Viewed
Bathroom (86)
Viewed
Room/suite (230)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from room (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (92)
Viewed
1:15
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (153)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Staying in Covent Garden

Neighborhood Profile
Covent Garden
Whether you're headed here to check out the multitude of shops, theaters, cafes, pubs, and restaurants, or simply to be among the multitude of people who pass through this pretty part of town, you'll love soaking up the festive and historic atmosphere in and around Covent Garden. Even if you don't have tickets to the opera or a show at one of the many famous theaters here, don't be surprised if find yourself captivated by some impromptu act of a street performer wowing the crowds in Covent Garden's Piazza. If you do have tickets, you'll be pleased to note that many of the local eateries accommodate theatergoers with prix fixe menus, early dinners, and later than usual opening hours. 


Explore this neighborhood

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question