We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1,073 London hotels

Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Whitcomb Street, Trafalgar Square, London WC2H 7HG, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar to your Saves list
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
88%
Ranked #143 of 1,073 hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
DaphneCat Birmingham, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (528)
  • Photos (89)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (127)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

528 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    286
    183
    38
    15
    6
See reviews for
86
230
18
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed one night only, wish it could have been more! Superb location. Lovely staff - my friend and I were both upgraded, and the rooms were fabulous. Very clean. Also, 25% discount on the car parking fee from the car park round the corner. Great hotel, would definitely recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My husband and I stayed here over the Aug bank holiday weekend. This is the second time we've stayed at this hotel and it was perfect this time around as it was the first time. We see this hotel as a small boutique style hotel. It has a small restaurant with both in and outdoor seating. Small seating area and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here for one night over the bank holiday weekend, and i must say after staying at the Thistle Piccadilly this really did restore my faith in the Thistle chains! Yes there was a problem but the way it was handled was fantastic and to me that's the most important thing! We had an issue with plumbing in our room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stratford upon Avon, England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We have stayed in many different hotels in London and in several different locations. If you want to to be near to The West End then this is about as convenient as you can get. Situated between Trafalgar Square and Leicester Square but in a relatively quiet street. There are many London hotels that charge stupid prices but this is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liege, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have spent 3 nights there and we only have good comments. The location is ideal because it is very central, close to most of the todo for a city trip in London. The personal is very warm and welcome. The room was great and we did enjoy a lot our stay! To be recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Thistle Royal Trafalgar Hotel. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Paul Knightley General Manager More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed 3 nights at this hotel. The room was disappointingly small. The room service was poor quality. Good service and good location if you really want to be smack bang in the hustle and bustle. It wasn't our cup of tea due to being too busy / noisy and the room so basic.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. With regards to the size of our rooms we do have a number of larger bedrooms available in our Executive and Junior Suite rooms which are far larger and have some added touches... More

Norton, Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is a great location, really close to Trafalgar Square and Leicester Square and off the main streets so it is quite on a night away from all of the crowds. The room that I had was a standard double room which was big enough for me as I was there by myself. My parents had a bigger room however... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Thistle Royal Trafalgar Hotel. I was pleased to read that you and your parents had enjoyed your stay and that the team, particularly Andrea, had looked after you. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards, Paul... More

South Wales
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for two nights during a recent visit to London (15th and 16th Aug). I had spent 1 night at the hotel previously on business so I knew what to expect. I booked an executive double room and while the room wasn't huge, it was spacious enough, tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Thistle Royal Trafalgar Hotel. I was please to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us and that the team looked after you. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel later in the year. Kind regards Paul Knightley General Manager More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel for a night on Sunday 10th August as it was my boyfriend's 40 so I had planned a break in London. When we first arrived, the room was not ready but the receptionist was very apologetic and she immediately decided to provide us a free breakfast without my prompt. We couldn't wait until the room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Please accept my sincere apologies that your room was not ready on your arrival but I was please to see that the team looked after you. Please let me know when you are next coming to stay and ill try to get you the same room! Kind... More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

No doubts about the location it is fantastic! But the room allocated to me and my husband was terrible small. We could not fit comfortably in the "double" bed. After a sleepless night, the very next day I went to complain to the reception,the guy was working there was not interested , and he wants to charge me more for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Please accept my sincere apologies with regards to the size of bedroom which you recieved however we do have a range of differing bedroom sizes across the hotel. As you mention we do have larger bedrooms available but these are charged at a nightly premium as not... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar

Address: Whitcomb Street, Trafalgar Square, London WC2H 7HG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, LondonMarketing.com, Otel, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Trafalgar, London Hotel London
Royal Trafalgar By Thistle London
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar London, England

89 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (64)
Viewed
Room/suite (37)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in London with
any amenities

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style
#108 Luxury Hotel in London #123 Business Hotel in London #132 Romantic Hotel in London #186 Family Hotel in London
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
There aren’t many genuinely quiet streets right in the heart of London. But they do exist - and we’re on one of them. In fact, you might never guess that Piccadilly Circus and Leicester Square are within a few minutes’ walk. The Royal Trafalgar has the City on one side, Whitehall on the other and history everywhere you look. The National Gallery is literally next door, as is the square that shares our name. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
108

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer