We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1,073 London hotels

Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Whitcomb Street, Trafalgar Square, London WC2H 7HG, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar to your Saves list
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
88%
Ranked #136 of 1,073 hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
LoredanaBe
  • Reviews (517)
  • Photos (89)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (125)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

517 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    281
    178
    38
    14
    6
See reviews for
84
222
18
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

No doubts about the location it is fantastic! But the room allocated to me and my husband was terrible small. We could not fit comfortably in the "double" bed. After a sleepless night, the very next day I went to complain to the reception,the guy was working there was not interested , and he wants to charge me more for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Please accept my sincere apologies with regards to the size of bedroom which you recieved however we do have a range of differing bedroom sizes across the hotel. As you mention we do have larger bedrooms available but these are charged at a nightly premium as not... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I have stayed in many London hotels and am very fussy and can honestly say that for the price this rivals some of the five star hotels we have stayed in, in terms of comfort, cleanliness, service and amazingly central location. It doesn't look much from the outside but once inside we were greeted by the charming Diana, who made... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Thistle Royal Trafalgar Hotel. Im glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that Diana and the rest of the team looked after you. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Paul Knightley General Manager More

Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst on a weekend away with friends. The first thing I noticed was the beautiful aroma in the reception. The room was fine, could be better if there were some drawers, but clean and the bed was so comfortable and huge! The hotel provides a left luggage service which was appreciated! Just a few things... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback with regards to your recent stay with us at the Thistle Royal Trafalgar Hotel. I was please to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Please accept my apologies with regards to the billing error can I assure you further training will be carried out with the team to prevent this... More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel off Haymarket appeared clean and tidy. My partner and I were greeted warmly and offered seats inside or on the terrace (chose to sit inside). Table was clean but my chair a little grubby with a spillage on it and what appeared to be watermarks on the cutlery. We were offered to have the sparkling wine at the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent afternoon tea at the Thistle Royal Trafalgar. Im glad that overall it was an enjoyable experience and I hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Paul Knightley General Manager More

Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I booked this hotel because I wanted to stay in this block for personal reasons. It was the worst decision of my trip to London. The first night at 12:30am, somebody from the front desk called in saying there was a leak in my room. When I explained that there was no leak and I had just taken a shower... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Please accept my sincere apologies with regards to the issues that you experienced as clearly this is unacceptable. However, it was important that we accessed your room as there was a serious leak into the room below the one which you occupied and we needed to find... More

Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Thistle Trafalgar Square is a great stay, with good location and good customer service provided by the hotel staff. The nearest tube is at Leicester station, with 8mins walk to the hotel. Interior of the room is very clean and tidy, room is quite big then i expected. Hotel staff are super friendly and willing to help you on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Thistle Royal Trafalgar Hotel. I was pleased to read that the team had looked after you and that you had an enjoyable stay. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Paul Knightley General Manager More

dorset,uk
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife booked this hotel as part of Birthday surprise for me. We were greeted at reception with a friendly and welcoming Marta. We were given a complimentary upgrade,bottle of wine and chocolates for my Birthday which was a lovely surprise. The hotel is in a good location for any sight seeing needs and suited us because we were going... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Thistle Royal Trafalgar Hotel. I was pleased to read that the team had looked after you and that you had an enjoyable stay. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Paul Knightley General Manager More

Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've used this hotel several times for business. Excellent rooms, excellent staff, great breakfast and it's well located to all things you would need to do while you're in London and it's only 5 minutes walking distance from Oxford street and any public transportation to any place u would need! Perfection! It was alSo my first time to fall asleep... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Thistle Trafalgar Hotel. I was pleased to read your positive comments about the team and that you enjoyed breakfast! I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Paul Knightley General Manager More

England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

nice place, 100 yds to traf square and 100 yards to Leicester sq the other way. Comfy beds, nice decor, clean and tidy. Staff really friendly and breakfast if buffet style but good (even though chairs and tables were a little too cramped in). Omlette station at breakfast. Slightly on the expensive side (though not in comparison to others) as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul K, General Manager at Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Thistle Trafalgar Hotel. I was pleased to read your positive comments about the team and that you enjoyed breakfast! I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Paul Knightley General Manager More

Bellevue, Washington
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This will be a short review but everybody has already said it: great location, SUPERB Front Desk staff as well as Dining Room and Bar, quiet, quiet, quiet, excellent A/C (pushes out cold air and doesn't make a noise). Executive King was large for one person but I'm worth it! Found out Executive Kings on lower floors have more room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar

Address: Whitcomb Street, Trafalgar Square, London WC2H 7HG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, LondonMarketing.com, Otel, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Trafalgar, London Hotel London
Royal Trafalgar By Thistle London
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar London, England

89 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (64)
Viewed
Room/suite (37)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in London with
any amenities

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style
#103 Luxury Hotel in London #121 Business Hotel in London #124 Romantic Hotel in London #182 Family Hotel in London
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
There aren’t many genuinely quiet streets right in the heart of London. But they do exist - and we’re on one of them. In fact, you might never guess that Piccadilly Circus and Leicester Square are within a few minutes’ walk. The Royal Trafalgar has the City on one side, Whitehall on the other and history everywhere you look. The National Gallery is literally next door, as is the square that shares our name. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
108

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar and other travelers.
1 question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer