We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

St Martins Lane London Hotel

#76 of 1,054 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
45 St Martin's Lane, London WC2N 4HX, England
Special Offer
Up to 25% off, Book Today
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
St Martins Lane London Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,761 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    1,060
    467
    140
    67
    27
See reviews for
166
779
123
410
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1761)
  • Mar-May only
    (381)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (655)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (350)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (375)
All months
There are newer reviews for St Martins Lane London Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Nieuw Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

It has quite a rep, for being high end, a bit snooty, over-priced party hotel with small rooms etc. But I have stayed here a couple of times, for a longer period of time, and every time it was a thoroughly enjoyable stay. The decor is very modern, so either you like this, or you don't. The cheaper rooms are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jesper S, Director of Room at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review

We’re so pleased that you have enjoyed some long stay visits with us and we are delighted that you enjoy the complimentary access to GymBox (we also offer complimentary gym kit laundry for our guests so they can make the most of the gym experience during their stay). It’s always our aim to create a ‘home away from home’ experience... More 

London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

We have stayed in St Martins Lane 5 times in the last 18 months and apart from 1 occasion have never had any problems. The rooms are great very modern, we like having a bath so you have to go up in the rooms to get one but we have stayed in 5 different rooms and can't really complain about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jesper S, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Donna for such a detailed review and it’s lovely that you have highlighted so many elements of the hotel that you enjoy. We, too, are delighted that you have become a regular guest, your support of the hotel is very much appreciated and please be assured that we take any service failure very seriously. The Light Bar is... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

I enjoyed my stay here - this was my third time. It is in a very good location, the rooms are well proportioned, clean, comfortable and stylish. The staff on the front desk are friendly. I can recommend this hotel. It's good enough that I don't have much to write!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jesper S, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review

A short and sweet review is always wonderful! Thank you so much for taking the time to add your comments and it’s great to know that you continue to enjoy the hotel. We can’t wait to welcome you back again and please let us know when you are next in town. More 

London
Level Contributor
318 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

The hotel is located in the middle of everything and right near the English National Opera. Despite being in such a busy area, it is very quiet inside, well minus the lobby area, that seems to be busy with people going to this amazing restaurant on the ground floor right near the bar area where people even dance late at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jesper S, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review

Great review! Thank you so much and we’re really pleased that you enjoyed the location, Asia De Cuba, Light Bar and your room. We do like to create a relaxed party atmosphere in the outlets and it’s good to know that everything met your essential requirements for a great stay. We look forward to welcoming you back and please let... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Great reception, great lobby, hip bar friendly staff but rooms a little tired. In need of renovation but didn't totally spoil a good experience. Only problem was at checkout when they charged me 75 pounds on a fully prepaid booking claiming it was for a currency exchange mistake. What BS is that??? Prepaid is prepaid. My objections fell on deaf... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jesper S, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry that your enjoyment of the hotel was ultimately impacted by less than attentive or gracious service in relation to any additional charge on your folio, and we appreciate the additional frustration and disappointment caused when we did not appear to respond to your subsequent correspondence. Please accept our sincere apologies that, at this time, we have... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

I hated it. The staff seem more concerned with how they look than helping guests. I waited 45 minutes for tea and toast. Others came in 15 minutes behind me and had their breakfast order taken. I think the staff, complete with their Armani model looks and poor grasp of the english language, should be re-trained. I would never stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Jesper S, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Terry, we are sorry that your stay in March 2011 fell below expectations and if we had been aware of any concern during or after your stay, we would have taken the opportunity to investigate where we may have let ourselves down in terms of with service procedures and departmental training. In the subsequent year, we have focused on... More 

Sandnes, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Me and my husband stayed at the St Martins lane hotel for a weekend during the London fashion week. Although the hotel was fully booked and the restaurant and bar hosted venues daily, the staff still maintained to bring us excellent service. The were all helpfull, polite and really did their best to make our stay perfect. The design of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jesper S, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Maris, we’re so very pleased that you and your husband enjoyed the buzz of London Fashion Week in and around the hotel, and thank you for the great comments on service, design and location in particular. Thank you also for promoting the hotel and we can’t wait to welcome you back when you’re next in London, please let us... More 

UK - Warwickshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is now our third visit to this hotel and it always impresses. I decided to upgrade to the romance themed offer as a christmas gift to my partner and was pleasantly surprised by the way in which the room was made up with candles and rose petals. The main downside to two of our stays here is when you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jesper S, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and your kind comments on the candles/petals layout are very much appreciated. Please accept our sincere apologies for any disappointment with the champagne deliveries - whilst we prefer not to leave champagne in an ice bucket in the room prior to arrival (to avoid bottle floating in melted ice), we... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Hotel is really central and very friendly staff! Price is a bit high but think that is while it's in London!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jesper S, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great comments on staff and location. Our rates will fluctuate in line with demand, however our website always has promotions and packages and we hope you’ll have an opportunity to stay with us again when you’re next in London. Please do let us know at that time and we look forward to welcoming you... More 

Brevard,NC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Wife and I had a five day stay at a greatly reduced rate, apparently due to the off season. Also Had terrific airline rates. We were enthralled with our location in Covent/Leicester section of London right next to Trafalgar Square. We are about 35 years older than the usual clientele and the hotel is what I would call edgy. However,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jesper S, DIrector of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review

We’re absolutely delighted to know that stay at St Martins Lane was ‘unforgettable’, that really makes our spirits soar and thank you so much for the great comments on the hotel, the location, the service and the staff. It’s always our ethos to create a home away from home experience for our guests – irrespective of age – and we’re... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

629 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (398)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (53)
Viewed
Room/suite (118)
Viewed
Bathroom (55)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
View from room (19)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (135)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (180)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Deluxe King with Private Patio (45)
Viewed
Penthouse (63)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (27)
Viewed
Superior Queen (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
One Aldwych
One Aldwych
#29 of 1,054 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,008 reviews
Fitzrovia
Sanderson London Hotel
Sanderson London Hotel
#42 of 1,054 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,177 reviews
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#35 of 1,054 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 247 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
ME London
ME London
#112 of 1,054 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,375 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Covent Garden

Neighborhood Profile
Covent Garden
Whether you're headed here to check out the multitude of shops, theaters, cafes, pubs, and restaurants, or simply to be among the multitude of people who pass through this pretty part of town, you'll love soaking up the festive and historic atmosphere in and around Covent Garden. Even if you don't have tickets to the opera or a show at one of the many famous theaters here, don't be surprised if find yourself captivated by some impromptu act of a street performer wowing the crowds in Covent Garden's Piazza. If you do have tickets, you'll be pleased to note that many of the local eateries accommodate theatergoers with prix fixe menus, early dinners, and later than usual opening hours. 


Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay