We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

St Martins Lane London Hotel

#101 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
45 St Martin's Lane, London WC2N 4HX, England
Special Offer
Up to 25% off, Book Today
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Write a Review

1,499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    874
    404
    130
    64
    27
See reviews for
131
654
115
365
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1499)
  • Mar-May only
    (349)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (425)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (350)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (375)
All months
There are newer reviews for St Martins Lane London Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Nr London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

We got engaged here last year, and returned for the the first 2 nights of our honeymoon this year. Both times we have stayed in a Garden Room (Travelzoo special offer) The staff here are exceptional - extremely genuine and friendly, and on each occasion they have been utterly delightful and eager to help in any way. We found complimentary... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
victoriastewart, Hotel Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review

Many congratulations on your engagement & wedding, it’s really important to us when guests celebrate such special events and we love to share in these magical, happy occasions. We hope that by reading this you will come back & please do let me know at that time! More 

Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

This hotel is very modern and designed for the 'in' crowd however they made us feel very welcome and at home. We missed having tea/coffee in the morning but after mentioning this to the reception staff they immediately supplied us with a tea tray & kettle. Nothing was too much trouble. We even tried their delicious cocktails. It was expensive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
victoriastewart, Hotel Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review

We love to welcome all out guests as if into our own home and it’s so nice to read that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully you will have an opportunity to stay again and enjoy another cocktail or two, please contact me at that time. More 

Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
35 hotel reviews
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

We had stayed at the St Martin's Lane 4 or 5 times before (my wife just loves it), most recently last weekend (as a birthday present to my wife and because it fitted nicely with our first anniversary). What's the first thing the gentleman at the reception says when we walk up to check in? "Good morning, Mr [X], have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
victoriastewart, Hotel Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review

It’s embarrassing to read that, despite your previous enjoyable experiences of the hotel, we let you down on this occasion and it is disappointing that service was not more consistent. As a regular guest, I have written to you separately to discuss your feedback as I appreciate that you have taken the time to write a full review and I... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

From the moment we left the taxi the staff were super helpful - we managed to check in early and were shown promptly to the room. We stayed in a deluxe room, which was very spacious and the bathroom was amazing - they had even left candles with matches to have a lovely bath. We had room service for breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
victoriastewart, Hotel Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us, many thanks for the great feedback and can’t wait to welcome you back to the hotel in October. Please do let me know your exact dates so that I may personally oversee your stay. More 

london, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

If you want to stay somewhere cool and stylist in London without all the pretentiousness, snobbiness then the SML hotel is for you. Its defo my hotel of choice when I stay in London and I've stayed at pretty much all the major 5 star hotels. The rooms maybe small but what they lack in size they make up for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
victoriastewart, Hotel Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for a great review, it’s really appreciated and we all love to hear such kind praise for the service. Hopefully you will be back again soon & please always let me know if I can help. More 

londra
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

Cool inner design with nice cromatic games and avant-garde furniture both in the hall and bar. Staff very friendly, excellent housekeeping service and all this in the very centre of west-end, near covent garden. I used also the Gym which can provide lots of different free classes and free entrance for the guests of the hotel. The Restaurant Asia de... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
victoriastewart, Hotel Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review

We’re delighted you had a chance to enjoy so many elements of the hotel, including GymBox and Asia De Cuba. We look forward to welcoming you back again to enjoy the hotel. More 

Kent
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

Everything was great about our stay. Our room wasn't quite ready on our arrival so we were shown to the bar for complimentary Champagne. The suite was lovely. Location perfect. On our first night, the noise outside was unbearable from about 4am through to 7am as there was some work going on. The only downside was the set up with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
victoriastewart, Hotel Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review

I am so pleased that you enjoyed most of your stay with us, sorry that Bungalow 8 was not more gracious in its welcome and appreciate that the style is different to Light Bar. I am also sorry that external noise outside our control disturbed your first night and hope that this will not stop you returning to us on... More 

south east
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

Just returned from a visit to the st martins lane hotel for my wifes birthday. All I can say is it was fantastic, from the greeting we got whilst checking, the rooms, service And the location could not be better. The hotel also gave us complimentary cocktails in the cocktail bar which we thought was a really nice touch, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
victoriastewart, Hotel Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for such lovely comments, we’re so pleased that we were able to create a memorable birthday experience and start the celebrations in style. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon. More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

Was on a bussiness trip to london.. stayed in this hotel.. the hotel was really good . the restuarent asia de cuba was having a good food and was very generous in terms of money and rates.. the staff was welcoming and active.. there was no such time in the restaurent when i was waiting for something to come every... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
victoriastewart, Hotel Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review

I am delighted that you had time to enjoy all the hotel has to offer while staying with us and only sorry that it was such a short visit on this trip. We do hope that you will be able to return to us for a longer stay next time! More 

Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

After having read some of these comments we felt that we must share the amazing experience we had whilst staying at your hotel in January for the start of our honeymoon. Upon arrival we were greeted by the hotel manager who was amazing; so polite and friendly. The reception staff were extremely welcoming. Our room was stunning; fantastic bathroom. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
victoriastewart, Hotel Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the lovely comments, we’re really thrilled to know that St Martins Lane was part of a magical honeymoon experience. We look forward to welcoming you back for your Anniversary, if not before! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

562 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (352)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (50)
Viewed
Bathroom (49)
Viewed
Room/suite (109)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
View from room (19)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (107)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (180)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Deluxe King with Private Patio (45)
Viewed
Penthouse (63)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (27)
Viewed
Superior Queen (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Staying in Covent Garden

Neighborhood Profile
Covent Garden
Whether you're headed here to check out the multitude of shops, theaters, cafes, pubs, and restaurants, or simply to be among the multitude of people who pass through this pretty part of town, you'll love soaking up the festive and historic atmosphere in and around Covent Garden. Even if you don't have tickets to the opera or a show at one of the many famous theaters here, don't be surprised if find yourself captivated by some impromptu act of a street performer wowing the crowds in Covent Garden's Piazza. If you do have tickets, you'll be pleased to note that many of the local eateries accommodate theatergoers with prix fixe menus, early dinners, and later than usual opening hours. 


Explore this neighborhood

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question