We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1,075 London hotels

Thistle City Barbican

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 Central Street | Clerkenwell, London EC1V 8DS, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Thistle City Barbican to your Saves list
Thistle City Barbican
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
40%
Ranked #612 of 1,075 hotels in London
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
emskidelarue Chester, United Kingdom
  • Reviews (1,629)
  • Photos (209)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (222)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

1,629 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    163
    437
    444
    290
    295
See reviews for
137
348
201
581
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
oxfordshire
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I was delighted to see a Concept 2 rowing machine in the otium gym as not everywhere has one. However it is in severe need of maintenance. These machines have a lever that changes the drag factor (broadly the rate at which the fan slows down after each stroke changing the effort requried to re-accelerate). A sign of a poorly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear Mark88man , Thank you for your review of the leisure club . I was very sorry to read your review , There is no excuse for the poor standard of service you experienced from the team on duty or for key pieces of equipment not functioning and for this I do apologise . Please be assured that I have... More

Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Participating to research conferences implies that certain accommodation has been taken care by the organization committee. This hotel was, on the list, last, but still it was there, and all the above ones were full. What an experience!!! We got there just before midnight. At check in, the receptionist could see that there was a booking, but there was no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for writing a review of the hotel . I was sorry to read that you had such a poor experience on check in and that you did not feel that my manager on duty was concerned about the problems you encountered . Please be assured that we take you feedback extremely seriously and will act upon... More

Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed there this weekend with a friend as we were attending at a gig at hyde park, we were able to check in early which we were very grateful for. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, the room was nice and clean, the breakfast was lovely and there was a massive selection. Unfortunately didn't have time to use the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear Emskidelrue Thank you for writing a review of the hotel . I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and would recommend us to friends. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion . Best wishes Jane and team More

West Lothian, Scotland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel is good value, breakfast was excellent. The hotel is in need of refurbishment but is clean. The rooms are clean and average size for London. The staff were very friendly and helpful, particularly the receptionist who helped me with problems with my reservation. The hotel is only a ten minute walk from Old Street tube station (Northern Line).... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear Gord 1983 Thank you for writing a review of the hotel . I was very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and would return. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion Best wishes Jane and team More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Problem in using a debit card as a running tab on room- credit cards only. Pool very small and not as in photo - only 2 loungers and hardly any room by side of pool. Definitely not for relaxing nor a "spa" experience in my opinion. All treatments fully booked for months in advance - let far too many people... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for writing a review of the hotel , I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your time In the leisure club . The club has two treatment room which are very popular and treatments are booked directly with the company that operates this facility , I am sorry that your travel agent did... More

Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Not sure how often star ratings are awarded, but the 4th star for this hotel seems to have dimmed a little. It is still a very good quality hotel - comfortable, well staffed and good facilities, breakfast was fine and the hotel is in a great location. But my room was quite stuffy - no air conditioning. Also the bathroom... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear Mr Wilkinson Thank you for writing a review of the Thistle Barbican , we appreciate your constructive feedback and I am pleased to read that you will return. I have noted your comments in regards to your room , we are just about to embark on a project to change some of the facilities in our standard room bathroom... More

LINCOLNSHIRE
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
11 hotel reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Near City Road in Clerkenwell, not far from Jamie Oliver's 15 restaurant, but don't rush. Hotel clean but seems a little dark and dated, lot of dark wood. Staff very helpful, rooms clean and comfortable and for London rooms on offer price were reasonable value. Bar prices ridiculous, breakfast as part of room price OK but I wouldn't pay nearly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear JRWD Thank you for writing a review of the Thistle City Barbican I am very pleased to read that we were a good city base and that you would use us again. We appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back on a future occcasion Best wishes Jane and team More

Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I spend two nights in a single standard room and sadly, I would not recommend this hotel for future guests. I booked the hotel via booking.com and I should have ben charged the money for the room upon arrival. However, the money was charged from my card 10 days earlier and I was told that it is not possible to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear Lenka Thank you for writing a review of the Thistle City Barbican . I am sorry that you had initial issues with your reservation , our promotional rates which are available on Booking.com are advance purchase and non refundable I am sorry that it was not clear when you booked . In regards to the pre-authorisation that is taken... More

Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is well located in the center of London not very far from the Barbican underground station and has some shops next to it. We had taken a triple room thinking we would have a big room as we had seen in the pictures on the hotel's website but we had a double room with an extra uncomfortable bed.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for writing a review of the Thistle City Barbican . I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us but sorry that you found the room for 3 a little small . Our breakfast selection is very good but I am disappointed that you felt the team were unfriendly . Thank you for... More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Well located,closed to the Barbican Centre, the hotel has a very friendly and helpful staff. Amongst them I would like to mention Vanessa and another member who was working on 22nd june evening. We did not like the room we were given and soon we were changed to a better one. Breakfast is quite ok. English breakfast, orange juice, fruits,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear Encarna 1 Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Thistle City Barbican . I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and will pass your comments on to the reception team in regards to the service you received . We appreciate your feedback . Best wishes Jane and team More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Thistle City Barbican, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Thistle City Barbican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle City Barbican

Address: 120 Central Street | Clerkenwell, London EC1V 8DS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle City Barbican 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, LondonMarketing.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Despegar.com so you can book your Thistle City Barbican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle City Barbican London, England
Thistle City Barbican Hotel London

209 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (154)
Viewed
Room/suite (50)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (56)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Within walking distance from Old Street and Barbican tube stations the Thistle City Barbican provides easy access to the whole of London and its many attractions. We have convenient transport links for King’s Cross & Liverpool Street National Rail as well as St Pancras International station for Eurostar.Ideally located on the edge of the City of London, with the financial district just minutes away, we are also in a prime location for business travellers. Our dedicated conference facilities with 13 flexible meeting rooms will cater for business meetings, corporate special events, private dining and banquets for up to 170 delegates.Inclusive with your hotel booking you can enjoy the Otium Health & Leisure Club to work out, for a refreshing swim or simply relax and de-stress in the Jacuzzi, Sauna and Steam room. Whether you are here for business or leisure our Otium Health & Leisure Club has all you need to make your experience complete.Thistle City Barbican Hotel features 463 bedrooms including Standard, Deluxe and Family rooms as well as Suites. All of our guestrooms, meeting rooms and public areas are equipped with BT Openzone Wi-Fi internet access. For guests travelling to the Hotel by car there are 10 car parking spaces available which are allocated on a first come first serve basis. Alternatively there is a NCP carpark within walking distance. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
463

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer