We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thistle City Barbican

3.0 of 5 120 Central Street | Clerkenwell, London EC1V 8DS, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thistle City Barbican
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Thistle City Barbican
Write a Review

1,798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    511
    493
    303
    315
See reviews for
155
388
214
672
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1798)
  • Mar-May only
    (458)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (444)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (499)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (397)
All months
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is far from heathrow so it will cost you close to £50 in a cab but it is close to the tube so you can get around London easily while you are there... I stayed in the annex and only stayed for two nights ... The room is tiny and looks really dingy.... the breakfast is gross...runny eggs.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Actually I was expecting a bit more from a Thistle Hotel. This one at Barbican has two buildings and I stayed at the building across the main one. I chose this hotel because of its location (I had a business meeting closeby). Otherwise the location is not the very center of London. I wouldn't stay here if I went for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jane h, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear Hector Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel . I was pleased to read that you had a comfortable stay and that you felt the hotel was value for money . We appreciate your feedback and would like to wish you a Merry Christmas Best wishes Jane and team More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed Friday 19th December 2014 in a nice room with twin beds. Outstanding value for money at £67 particularly in view of its proximity to the City of London. Reception staff are superb. Very helpful and efficient. The only drawbacks were the poor choice and reception on my TV and inadequate signage of the hotel. It is just tucked off... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jane h, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear Steve P Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay . I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion Merry Christmas Jane and team More 

Gravesend, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here this weekend, was a little worried about the area. But is literally 30 minute walk from St Pauls/Central so happy with location, and of course great access to tubes and buses. Actually a really lovely hotel, clean with great service as soon as you arrive. We stayed in a premium double room which was very clean, comfy bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jane h, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear Rebecca Thank you for writing a lovely review of your stay . I am really pleased that you enjoyed the facilities and service we offer. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion Merry Christmas Jane and team More 

Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

It was a great Hotel we had a nice time in the swimming pool,room was good,the first night we had dinner in the restaurant a bit pricy but good, Then when the four of us went to the bar were we spend over 100 pounds the first thing the bartender told me was.Lower your voice sir we speak qauetly here??????... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jane h, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay . I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us , but disappointed to read about the customer service you experienced in the bar and for this I do apologise. Thank you for your feedback which we appreciate . Merry Christmas Jane and team More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at this hotel on Saturday 20th December 2014 for a concert at Barbican Centre. Could not have been better, 10 minute walk from concert hall and 10 minute walk from Barbican Underground. Hotel Staff excellent as was the breakfast. Twin room was ideal. Thanks everyone.Steve Jones + Friend

Was this review helpful? Yes
jane h, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear Steve Thank you for your lovely review of the hotel . I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed the facilities and service we offered . We appreciate your feedback nd look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion . Merry Christmas Jane and team More 

Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My main concern is that my room was too hot, even with the radiator turned off. I had a choice of windows open to cool the room down, or traffic noise. I understand that it is marketed as an upper tier hotel, but next time I'm in London, I'll be booking into the Holiday Inn on Commercial Road. If you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jane h, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear Phil Thank you for writing a review of the hotel . I was sorry to read that you were not completely satisfied with your stay and found your room too warm . Our standard bed room product does not have air conditioning where as our premium room type does. I was also disappointed that you did not enjoy the... More 

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived really early & the room was ready to check in. Clean room & nice size. Short walk to tube stations (Old Street or Barbican) Bar opened late & the breakfast was superb. Great Trip all round. Paid for parking but the local roads are free at weekends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
jane h, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear Warren Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel I was really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us . We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion . Happy Christmas Jane and team More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Its was centrally located and easy to move around to center of London. Rooms and restaurant were good. There is a small business bar that allow's meetings etc to happen if needed. Always a taxi close by. Front desk always had 2-3 people so there was no waiting.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jane h, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear Geoff P Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay . I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us . We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion . Merry Christmas Jane and team More 

Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked this hotel for two nights through lastminute.com, and was not sure what to expect on arrival. However, this hotel was wonderful. Breakfast was included, as was use of the pool, sauna and gym if we wished. The room was spacious, with lots of storage, and included a minibar if we wanted to use it. The bed was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jane h, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for writing a great review of the hotel . I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed the facilities and service we offer. We appreciate your feedback and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back on a future occasion . We wish you a Happy Christmas Jane and team More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Thistle City Barbican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle City Barbican

Address: 120 Central Street | Clerkenwell, London EC1V 8DS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle City Barbican 3*
Number of rooms: 463
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thistle City Barbican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle City Barbican London, England
Thistle City Barbican Hotel London

227 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (184)
Viewed
Bathroom (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (60)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Other (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (44)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Other (14)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay