We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Academy

4.0 of 5
Hotel website
21 Gower Street | Bloomsbury, Fitzrovia, London WC1E 6HG, England
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase
The Academy
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #566 of 1,049 Hotels in London
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014
DSergi DSergi
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    184
    99
    53
    32
See reviews for
69
148
53
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (476)
  • Mar-May only
    (108)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (131)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (118)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (119)
All months
There are newer reviews for The Academy
See the most recent reviews
uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and were disappointed from the moment we walked through the front door. Pop music was playing too loudly, the place looked tired and very uninspiring. Our check in was fine and then we went through the winding corridors to our room and couldn't help but notice the carpet didn't look clean and the walls were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
DSergi
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

I booked this hotel on the recommendation of a friend as well as a fact that Rocketmiles offering bonus United Airline miles. Based on the prior use I was not expecting to find a quaint well presented beautiful little hotel. This hotel is centrally located within walking distance of the theater district in the West End and some of London's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lawder S, Area General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear DSergi Thanks for the great feedback. I am so pleased that our hotel exceeded your expectations and that you appreciated the charm of this discreet townhouse hotel. I hope you will be back again on your next visit to London Best Regards Lawder Smith Area General Manager More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night having booked on late rooms. I was expecting classy but sadly that wasn't the case. From the radio blasting out pop music from magic fm to the tired and stained decor, this place really needs to get its act together as it could have been so much better. That said the room was spacious and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our property is of course an old Georgian building dating back to the 17th century hence the charm and character. I am however sorry that our hotel fell short of your expectations on this occasion. With regards to works being carried out, we have already made significant in... More 

Williamstown, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

I stayed for 10 nights. The hotel was in the perfect location. My room was on the third floor in the back of the hotel and very private. The staff carried my bags up the stairs and the internet was good. Whenever I needed assistance, the staff was very responsive and kind. Due to the time of the year, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. With the University College London (UCL) on our doorstep, it is indeed a very popular destination for academics. With a 2 minute walk to the front door of UCL and Goodge Street, Tottenham Court Road and Euston Tube stations all within walking distance, it makes perfect sense. Whilst... More 

Munich, Bayern, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

We stayed for 3 night and got a upgrate to a suite. The room was quiet ant the W-lan good. Staff was freindly and helpfull. The room was nicely furnished and quiet big for London. Unfortunatley there was no ketlle or Nespresso machine in the room. The hotel is close to the National museum and the Tube station. Wen did... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our suite rooms are very generous in size as they are also used for families which is again a very popular feature for this part of London. During your next stay with us please try the breakfast - you will not be disappointed! Thank you once again for... More 

Sheffield, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

Very helpful staff. Room booked as part of a "Show and Stay" deal was more than adequate. Beds were very comfortable. En-suite shower (no bath), plenty of hot water. Mini bar fridge tucked away in wardrobe was difficult to access, if only to chill our own beers in and it didn't chill them. Room was on the 3rd floor up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. The Show & Stay package bookable through a 3rd party agent is very popular with the West End on our doorstep and I am glad to see you found our location suitable for this purpose. Unfortunately due to the age of the building and the fact that it... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014 via mobile

We were excited about our stay at the hotel, however the standard did not measure up to the promise. Not by a long shot. The air conditioners in the wing we were allocated were out of order- so they put up mobile ones. Jumbo jets generate less noise. Rendering it impossible to actually sleep in the room. My collegue and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us. We have a couple of rooms with portable air conditioning units at the moment as we are in the process of replacing all our old systems which I hope guests will find beneficial in... More 

London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014 via mobile

My stay at the hotel was only 1 night. The hotels location makes it a great place to stay for short trip to London. You are in the centre of London located just walking distance away from the very centre. The hotel staff were friendly, helpful and welcoming. The single room I was staying at was convenient. But a little... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. As mentioned through a number of other reviews, our location is ideal for all travellers due to its positioning in relation to the university, Oxford Street, West End and all your major transporting links. We have a number of single rooms and they all vary in shape and... More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

Booked a suite for a joint birthday weekend with my daughter, quite small, dark and stuffy as windows not easy to open (old sash style) beyond secondary sliding glazing. Air -con ok but better to have some fresh air occasionally in such a small room. Bathroom tiny but functional, toilet roll holder broken. Overall despite it being on a weekend... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our Junior Suites, also used as family rooms, are normally well complimented for its space due to the high usage by families over weekends - 32 square meters. We are one of the only hotels in the area that actually offers family rooms without charging for two rooms... More 

Fajara, Gambia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

The Academy hotel has "victorian" rooms with a touch of modernity. The room was warm and cozy making it easy to relax after a long day. The staff were with very helpful and professional and were always available to offer assistance. Located with in walking distance to the British museum, theatres and galleries the Academy is the ideal place to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. As highlighted through your review, we are indeed a very convenient accommodation option for business travellers with excellent transport links within walking distance and also having the West End on your door step. Thank you once again for your favourable review and feedback. Kind Regards Andrew van Eeden More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

81 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (48)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
1:39
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighborhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighborhood

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question